Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000 Dual Sport reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dual Sport

Reviews

28 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

flickmeister

Wesley Chapel, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is so far and away the best performing motorcycle I have ever owned. I have been riding for 44+ years and owned 19 sportbikes since 1978. Nothing is even close. Nothing phases this machine. The motor is perfectly responsive, as is the gearbox & clutch. It handles better and steers lighter than my previous '04 GSXR600. The riding position is the most comfortable sportbike I have ridden. I could easily sport tour on this thing without changing a thing. It is so easy to ride under any circumstances. In traffic, it remains completely docile and tractable. No matter where or how you ride, it never loses it's composure. But when you use that final 1/8th turn of the throttle, you better have a very clear cut understanding of where you are headed. Definitely a split personality with manic tendancies when you pull out all stops and let her rip!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tobey

Littleton, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-05-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My first GSX-R after 2 Katanas and a Honda Shadow ACE, I just wish I would have bought one sooner! This is the bike I wanted since high school, and it was worth the wait. Suzuki does it better than the rest of the Japanese manufacturers when it comes to performance and quality. The track record says it all. After having this bike for a couple of months, I tried my buddy's Kawasaki ZX-10R and it felt like I went from a Ferrari (GSX-R) to a Ford Focus (ZX-10R). The Kawi was brand new but felt loose and jiggly compared to the precision feel of the Gixxer. This bike kicks ASS!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

steve

melbourne, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-04-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had all of the Japanese litre bikes, and this one is by far the best overall of the 4! Power, comfort, etc. Even my girlfriend likes it! I have been riding bikes of all kind for over 30 years. I'm 44 years old, and this bike is just amazing!!! The best ever.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris

san antonio, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have ridden a lot of bikes in my 6 years of riding and I proclaim the GSXR-1000 the king of the road and the lion of the jungle. The handling and control is amazing. The torque alone is ridiculous and supreme.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Brian

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-04-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 2nd bike. I started off on a 600 and this is by far the best bike I have owned. The power is amazing and will kill anything next to it. The body style is amazing, hell the whole bike is amazing and that is all I have to say. If you don't have one, get one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott

Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2007-03-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Of course this is a brutally fast bike...no question. If you're looking for a no compromise all out racer-rep, then this is the one. The bike has gobs of power, and requires you to be repectful of its 150+ RWHP. I wouldn't go as far to say that it handles like a 600 or 750, sorry too much crank inertia to turn in to make a claim like that. It does however get darn close to feeling like a smaller bike though, and if you have the guts to nail it deep into the corners, hang it out and start the throttle exit as early as possible... your 600 and 750 brothers have little chance unless the twisties are short and endless. All in all one great bike...maybe the 07 though will kicks it's ass power wise...???? But you have to be able to get it down to the ground...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James Hay

Highlands Ranch , Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-03-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Ok, over all, this bike is a kick in the pants and I have had more fun on this bike over any other bike I have owned and there has been a few. The only thing that I did not like were the stock tires. ( Batelax sucks ) So I upgraded and the bike handeled 5X better than stock. Power wise there is nothing on the market that will hang with this bike Including the ZX-14. I kill that bike in the Quarter mile by like 2 bikes (maybe it is the rider) but I am turning 9.8 @ 143mph at 5722 ft above sea level which is sick and a whole lot of fun since I have owned it for a year and have got used to the power. I needed something to set my hair on fire so now you have to read the upgrades. On top of all that I still ordered a motor. It is the Big bore kit for my bike taking it from the stock 998cc to 1207cc and from the stock hp rating of 150 at the wheel to 230. I am so stoked I can't wait. By the way after the upgrades I put a whopping 180hp @ the wheel and it rapes the canyons now with daily driving comfort. Overall, I would say if you want to have a bike that doesn't need the upgrades to set you hair on fire and to have a whole bunch of fun then this is the bike for you. Exceptional durability, and quality as always from Suzuki!! Not enough good things to say about the bike!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hammond

Eufaula, Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-03-05

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got my 2006 GSXR1000 the other day. I was going to get the 07 but didn't like the exhaust. I have the red and black and it looks great. Being that this is my first bike I was going to get the 600 but I was like nah. I figure Go Big or Not At All, plus all the extra power just shooting to 100mph in 1st gear is great, too. I would suggest this bike before ever getting a different one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Allen

Hanahan, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-02-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I traded my CBR600RR for my '06 Gixxer 1K. I love it! Obviously it's faster, but it rides smoother, shifts better, and is more comfortable than my CBR. The only edge the CBR has is fit-n-finish...but not by much. Overall a great bike. I couldn't be happier.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Clay

Olive Branch, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2007-02-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Suzuki GSX-R1000

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding this bike for close to a year now and absolutely enjoy the heck out of it! It has crazy power as well as manueverablility. I've put a good bit of money into it but it's been worth it. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 28 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: