Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (32)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-28 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am by no means a professional rider. I have been riding motorcycles since the age of 8. I have been ridng street bikes since the age of 14. I have either owned or operated most major manufacturers of motorcycles. This past year, I sold a 1999 Ducati ST2 (70,000 miles), 2000 BMW R1100RT (23,000 miles), and a 2002 Honda CBR 954 (12,000 miles). For the past two years, I have been attempting to find a motorcycle which embodied the betters attributes of these styles of bikes. I enjoy riding through the canyons at every oportunity. I also enjoy the longer rides as well (usually 2500-3500 miles). I have had several people recommend the Hayabusa to me but in my mind I saw a big motorcycle that would be too heavy in turns. I test rode the Honda ST1300 and found it was great on the open road but wasn't enough sport for tight canyons. I felt I was stuck buying a sport bike and modifying it to a sport touring bike or vice versa. I rode the BMW K1200S and K1200R and loved the experience. Additionally, I liked the Ducati Multistrada. I went in to Ducati four times with cash and friends to buy the bike but couldn't get the sales people to help me. BMW was a great bike and at least the sales people wanted to sell a bike. However they didn't impress me that thy wanted my business based on the low trade in value for my bike. I went by a local dealer and stopped in by chance. They treated me fairly and 30 minutes later, I owned a 2007 Black Hayabusa without a test ride. Generally, I can tell in the first 100 miles if I like a bike. The Hayabusa seems to fit me as a taller rider. I feel the position is better than my Ducati yet not as mundane as my BMW. The seats are comfortable. I am six months post op on full knee restructive surgery yet the foot position places my knees at a good angle. I replaced the factory windscreen with Puig smoked double bubble. I bought a throttle rocker for longer rides but every thing else is stock. The Hayabusa is smooth. In town, I average 42 mpg. I was worried it would be a pig in the canyons. I was wrong. The bike has this trust me stability in the turns. Transition from side to side is effortless and the full width of the 190 rear tire gets used. When it's time to go to work, this bike is without equal. Years ago, I rode a BMW K12. I was impressed how stable the bike was at triple digit speeds. The Hayabusa is amazing in this same respect. As indicated, the bike is so smooth and stable it doesn't feel like you're going that fast. On my GSRX 750 and CBR 954, you know when you're in the triple digits. With the Hayabusa, you have no clue. The Hayabusa seems to plain out like a jet ski boat. The bike becomes quiet at high speeds. The Battleaxe BT 055 haven't been a problem in the canyons. Lastly, the one aspect I truly enjoyed about the Ducati was the magnetic pull the bike had in the public. The Hayabusa shares that same animal magnetism. I used to get wow, it's a Ducati. Now I get wow, it's a Hayabusa. I never anticipated the familairity and appeal of this bike. I truly like this bike for all these and many more reasons.
- Dragonram7, SLC, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-12 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned and ridden lots of motorcycles for 42 years and my 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa (black) is the best bike I've owned. It handles excellent, is extremely reliable, has tons of power, and is comfortable compared to pure sport bikes. It is hard to maximize the power potential of this bike without getting into trouble. I gave it four stars for comfort because your wrists will fatigue on long rides but the Busa is not designed to be a touring bike. I added a double bubble windscreen because the standard windscreen allows too much wind to hit your chest and helmet. The double bubble makes a makes a big difference. The Busa does get a little vibration at about 4500 rpm and then it stops at about 5000 rpm but otherwise it's real smooth. Your have lots of torque throughout the power band. It is a great freeway bike (very stable) with lots of passing power. Even when it is windy on the freeway, you will not notice the wind on the Busa. The Busa is too big for around the town riding. Respect the power of the Busa or you will get into trouble. There are tons of after market products for this bike if you feel the need to modify the Busa. I have seen pictures of the new 2008 Suzuki Hayabusa but I'm not sure I would trade up for the new 2008 Busa at this time. The changes weren't that significant to me but the new power mode button is a nice feature. The only other bike I would consider is a Kawasaki ZX-14. Any bike I own must have fuel injection, six speeds, and liquid cooling.
- George, Dublin, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-05 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
That is the only thing I could come up with after riding my new 06 Busa. It is everything that you may or may not heard of. This is the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden at high speed. I am a Suzuki loyalist from age 16 now at 32 I am a Busa loyalist. Go get it and understand the meaning of Suzuki life.
- Dave, Vero Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-01 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I read reviews of motorcycles on the internet since the bike I bought will be my first ever. I read on this site the articles for Busa's and deceide it was the best option. I had to say that EVERITHING said it about the Busa is absolutely true. I love to ride this bike, I ride it every day. The day I bought it I rode more than 460 miles from Citrus county to Miami. I bought it on March 17, 2007 and as for today I have run 2357 miles. It runs excellent in any condition (raining). I think I will own it for the rest of my life. I know I will own other motorcycles in the future, but try making a bike that handles, is comfortable, accelerates and has as much torque as this one - it will be very dificult task to reach. I found it extremely comfortable but I don't like the mirrors which I found as the only thing I dislike when I ride because I need to push my arms to the inside of my body in order to change lanes. I think another part Suzuki can improve is the addition of HID for their line since I have done it myself and found it extremely comfortable for night riding.
- Victor , Miami, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-20 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a number of road bikes in my 30 years of riding but this thing hauls. THIS BIKE is NOT for everyone. A good dose of respect helps you stay out of trouble. If you're looking for a well designed, dependable, good looking cruise missle you've found it!! If you stay out of the throttle, the mpg isn't too bad either.
- Dave Kraft, Rochester, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-03 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Currently own '02 Honda 919, a '06 GSXR1000 and the '06 Hayabusa. The Hayabusa is a GREAT all around bike. Good long distance freeway eater. Good twisties carver (not as good as the Gixxer, but hey...) and a good daily rider. Only thing the 'Busa lacks are a set good brakes, front and rear. Everything else is GREAT!
- Steve , Ramona , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-01 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding this beast for 8 months and he shows me something new every time. If you were to go to an amusment park, this would be the thrill of a life time, and be certain, the line is gonna be long. This is my 2nd bike and I don't care to discuss the other, let's just say this is one bad Busa.
- ken marshall, baton rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-15 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 30,000 miles on my 2004 model. I commute every day and do the twisties whenever I can. I've done a fair bit of touring, too. Quite a bit of my riding has been two-up; the other half loves getting on the back. It'll go like a cut cat if you want. Or it'll meander lazily around town all day. Power delivery is linear, and it makes a fantastic amount of torque through the rev range. It'll pull cleanly from as low as 1,500 revs. The suspension is fully adjustable, and the chassis is nice and taught, which all make for a great, confidence-inspiring ride. It's a pussycat under 5,000 revs; get over that with a crisp twist of the wrist, and it's 'Jekyll and Hyde' personality reveals itself in an eye-ball flattening way. Rider comfort levels are good, and pillions are well catered for. Reliability? Absolutely no problems. The Busa is a bit like a Swiss Army knife on steroids: it does everything, and does lots incredibly well. I never get tired of riding the thing ... boredom doesn't fit into the equation. The perfect bike? Arguably, there's no such thing. There's always something to gripe about, regardless of how trivial. First up, the brakes aren't great. Upgrades needed here. On the standard set-up, you could be forgiven for thinking that your pads are knackered or your discs are glazed. Given the Busa's horsepower, torque and mass, the brake issue is a bit hard to excuse. Fit and finish are good, but they're not up to the standard of the likes of Honda. The Busa doesn't like really tight, twisty roads ... horses for courses, I guess. And it's probably not the greatest track-day weapon. But if you're a serious track-day type, you'd probably buy one of the Gixxers. Oh yeah, and then there's the screen: it hides the top of the instrument panel. Double bubble fixes that one. All in all, I wouldn't part with my near perfect Busa. Best bike I've ridden. My next bike? A new Busa, of course. Try one - you'll never become bored.
- rider, melbourne, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, first of all, I have to say this is it. You gotta love it! This bike will be around for years to come. It demands a great deal of respect but also gives back tenfold. The first trial began with an unexpected response of horsey-power that I haven't seen delivered on anything stock. If I had to sum it up, the "Busa" will go "Nuts" in a second with a slight twist of the wrist. Although powerful, she can be tamed and ridden like anything else. Just be patient and take the time to develop a relationship with her. It will come. This is one of those situations where you develop a feeling for this bike. After you do that, you'll become one with this bike and "everything else" becomes foreign. ------Enter the "BUSA"------
- Big John , Tulsaa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say about a 'busa that hasn't already been said. Traded my FZ1 (loved that bike) and never looked back. I put 9,000 on the 'busa in 7 months. Lots of open road riding, and with soft bags, a great sport tourer. Fits my LOOONG body well. The thing I hate most is always being asked "How fast have you had it?" Oh well, sometimes you just must be patient. 'Busa is rock solid, no problems, just wish I could get more mileage out of the tires. If you want to join an exclusive club--get the 'busa. Nothing on the road like it!!
- Paul, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-29 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
People think because I am a female, I automatically have a 600 - NOT. I ride the beast of the road - the 'Busa. This is a powerful bike. Too much throttle can be going from 0 to 90 when you don't want to. I have bought my last bike. The new man in my life, my 2005 red 'Busa, will be around for a long time.
- Carolyn, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-29 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the 'Busa. Lots of power!! One twist of the throttle and you can go from 0 - 90 in a flash. Definitely not a bike for beginners or the faint of heart.
- Carolyn, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Do you want to fly? Just hop on a Hayabusa and getting ready for takeoff. This is definitely a fun machine with controlled power below 5000 rpm and head snapping power above. Handling at speeds up to 170 mph (so far) is like being on a monorail - very stable with absolutely no shimmy or shake. I'm in my mid 40's and this bike has provided a mid-life crisis fix! After 3 months of ownership, I still get excited every time I ride. If you have been pondering purchasing one of these machines, don't hesitate. Life isn't about how many breaths you take, its about how many times your breath is taken away. This bike will do the job!
- JV, Philly Burbs, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-19 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2006 1300R from a dealer in south Jersey today, and my first impression on the bike is WOW! The dealer first tried to get me on a ZX14; the bike felt a little more comfy in riding position (foot pegs & seat) but was heavier and had that plastic cheap looking molding on the sides. The Busa looked and felt better overall. Having trading in my 1st bike a Ninja 500 (2000 miles) I was not certain I could handle such a leap in cc's, but to my surprise the Busa 06 is as tame a house cat in the lower rpms. Riding back home I found it handles the turns like a smaller 600 sport bike. It is flickable and stable on the road, takes bumps and train tracks well. I got none of the looks and stares while riding my 500 ninja like I get from my new Busa. Infact, people moved out of the passing lane just to see me open up, and open up I did! Push it up to 5000rpms in any gear and house cat becomes tiger with a scary pull!!! Throttle control is important in this area. Ask me if I happy, yes I am!
- Jeff, Atlantic City, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-14 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike that I have ever owned. Everyone said I was crazy for buying this bike. I have had it now for 4 months and LOVE IT!! I have been riding with some large groups and have now had the chance to ride many other bikes and every time I am ready to get back on my 'Busa. I have taken it to the mountains several times and it handles great. The curves on 180, 60 and 128 were easy to handle on this baby.
- Mike S., Lawrenceville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-14 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a bullet train on two wheels. Very stable, super smooth, lots of great power, wonderful suspension (the best for a stock bike), great paint, and it's beautiful to look at. But in my opinion, some of the hype is just that. The fit & finish is just about average. It handles well, but not great in my opinion. The kickstand is not a good design; the bike fell off the kickstand the first day I owned it while I was detailing it in the driveway. The clutch lever and lower fairing got trashed and had to be replaced. However, a great bike overall. It has much more overall power than my other bike, a 1982 Suzuki GS 1100E. The old GS feels like it has more torque (it has an 1168 kit) but the Hayabusa is much faster. I am very happy with it except for some small details...Great Bike!!! LONG LIVE THE HAYABUSA!!!
- David Collum, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-07 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First impressions: throttle response is absolutely awesome, best I ever felt on any bike and I've owned 8. PROS: Surprisingly manueverable for it's size and corners very well too. YES, it is as fast as everyone says it is! CONS: swept back handle bars fatigues the wrists. BUSA's run extremely hot, alot of heat coming off engine onto legs. Wind screen is about 1/4" too low for me, I have to move my head to see gauges. Front brakes could be better, but are sufficient. Despite these pesky cons, I love my BUSA and absolutely love riding it. There's a reason whys BUSA's still get looks and stares!!!
- Todd, Harker Heights, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-05 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been racing the quarter mile almost every Sunday for a year and three months. No problems. Awsome Bike.
- Bill Farnell, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-31 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay, Okay... I took her to 140! Holy @$&*!!! Funny thing is, now, when I got the bike at hwy cruising speed, 80 or so, the thing hardly seems like its breathing. After one high speed run, all of a sudden theres an extra pair of legs there! 80 mph is awkwardly s-l-o-w on this thing. Heck, except for the wind, 120 feels no different than 40. Now I understand everything I have been reading about. This bike leaves the rider feeling completely safe at ANY speed! This is the reason why it takes so much control to ride one of these! It's not at all that the bike loses control. It's the rider that loses control! It's just undescribable what this bike feels like when it's fast. The only way to get the words out of your gut, is to do it again. It's just to easy to go fast, really fast. I will never want another H-D again... this bike is mine...
- me, Antelope Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-27 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's all been said before but I'll say it again. This bike is awesome. It's my 3rd bike, after owning a Suzuki Savage 650 for 3 years and then a GSXR600 for one year... I considered buying a ZX-14 based on performance alone, but that thing is UGGGGLY. With the Busa you get the total package. The first day I took it out, I parked it in front of a shopping center and within 15 minutes I had 20 people stop and look at it for several minutes. People are just amazed by it. Word of caution though; his bike REQUIRES a touchy grip on the throttle. Too much at the wrong time will get you into trouble. Cornering on it is effortless. Sure it's not as light as a 600 or even a 1000, but it feels light. It glides along so smoothly and banks into turns like it's on rails... wow. If you're in the market for a bike, consider this one. The price is great. Consider what your getting for $11,000 - Comfort, performance, reliability, and of course, street cred. You wont be sorry!
- dave m, baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-22 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a GSX 1000, that was the only bike I knew of because of my co-workers. I went to my dealership and that is when I first met the busa, I've been in love with her ever since. I'll never cheat on her. Because it was my first ride I was told to take it slow with her. Now with 1500 miles a power commander KN filter D&D slip on, custom map and Jet Dyno, now I ride her till I hear her D&D scream. that's right I'm in love with my busa, if you get one you'll fall in love too!
- Leon Hodge, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-07 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're thinking about a Hayabusa as a 1st, 2nd, or 10th bike... stop thinking and get one! I had not ridden in about 6 years when I purchased my 2006 Black/Gray in June 2006. I rode it right out of the dealership lot just like I had ridden the day before. It's very tame if you want it to be and if you can control your wrist. It rides very stable at high speeds and can handle turns very well. It weighs nearly 500 lbs but it sure doesn't feel like it. If you're a brand new rider and get a Hayabusa, be sure to get framesliders installed because all new sportbike riders WILL lay the bike down. I don't mean that you'll wreck, just that you will drop the bike at some point and scratch up the sides. It will happen. So be aware of that. As I said, this bike is very tame if you take it slow and keep it below 5k rpm. It won't feel like it's the fastest bike on earth... until you keep twisting and realize there is a beast resting between your legs. I give this bike 5 stars for everything except comfort, because the bike heats up quickly and you'll definitely feel the heat on your legs. that's my only little gripe. So forget about getting a smaller bike if you're simply afraid of the Busa's power and weight... because they can be managed. If you are considering a sportbike and can afford the Busa, deffinitely get one. You'll be glad you did.
- Charlie Busser, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-07 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I purchased a maroon and black one about a month ago and I think it was the best choice I made for a sports bike. The power really comes on the second you twist the throttle. At first I was skeptical about purchasing the bike since I haven't ridden in over 10 years but after getting use to it I would recommend this bike for anyone looking for a powerful sports bike. Also I had the opportunity to open her up to see what she could do when I was riding with a few friends of mine at a local race track and I tell you the bike will fly. 150 mph came up in a matter of seconds. I was truly impressed how quickly I got there. The only complaint I had was trying to keep the front wheel on the ground in 1st gear. Even after letting off in first and going to 2nd I was still able to catch the guys before getting to 120 mph. I have five simple words to describe the experience of the bike. Amazing, amazing, amazing, amazing, amazing.
- Marvin Washington, Oxon Hill , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-06 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before Superbikes there were supersports and I've been on all of them. From the big KZs to the katanas. I have made it a point to own the fastest production bikes on the planet and It looks like I'll have this Hyabusa for quite some time. At 265 pounds, on a football players frame, there isn't a 600 or a 750 by any manufacturer that can get out of its way for me. But this Suzuki GSXR 1300 is more bike than I had ever dreamed would roll off anyones production line. Even at my weight on any highway, (not that I'm condoning this), with my Hyabusa above 4000rpm the only thing on this earth that can catch me is another Hayabusa. I run my bike without modification. With a long enough wheel base to take it out of the superbike class, It has never shown any reluctance at all when I ask it to stand its rear wheel at 60+ mph and smoothly move through the next two gears. This bike when pushed 2000 rpm over the red has shown me 136 mph in first gear. (on a track)
- John Sarace, Temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-23 2006 Suzuki Hayabusa 1300 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Obviously, I'm no giant and considered a smaller bike. After sitting on this beauty, I realized it was actually lower than most and just putting your hands on her grips....sold. You just can't stop thinking about the bike and what it does to/for you. Plenty of power-WHENEVER-doesn't matter, just don't sneeze at the wrong time. Handles like a dream anywhere! Straight, curved, bumpy, rollar coaster, you'll love every one of them. Always respect the busa and know that you'll be respected by others on this powerplant. No need to prove it-unless you just want to smile more, but that may hurt your face. If your are casually looking for a bike, don't sit or ride on this one or you will take it home.
- JANITOR4U, Parker, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: