Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes Reviews (21)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-11-14 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over the last decade I have had many bikes. I started it all off with a 2003 SV650. Some time later, and a few bikes in between, I went with a naked SV1000. Again, it's a beautiful sport bike that was user friendly to beginner and expert alike. Finally after all these years, I have decided my bucket list of bikes must include a SV650 (again). My naked '06 has it all, plenty of performance, very nice curb appeal, and reliabilty needed in today's tough economical climate. I have added everything possible with a emphasis on comfort (risers, lowering pegs and blocks, Laminar Lip, Alaska Leather seat cover and carbon fiber Yoshi exhaust, chin spoiler and hugger. I love the way she feels and looks. She's a keeper.
- josh, Clyde Hill, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-12-09 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All the positive reviews you've read on this bike are for a reason. It's simply a great bike! No matter what situation you put it in, it shines. It's really light and flickable. This bike loves tight technical and canyon roads. that's not to say it lacks everything else, although I would recommend a seat upgrade for long trips. Compared equally, this bike really outperforms everything else out there for the money. Sure you could buy a better bike but for what you will pay, it can't be beat! I'm just over 200 lbs. and when I first got the SV, I got razzed by my riding buddies about it, but as soon as we got into the canyons all the teasing stopped! Trust me you will not be disappointed with the purchase of an SV!
- Nate, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-06 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this motorcycle for about 26 hours. I bought it in Northern Ohio and rode it home, 128 miles, pulled in to my garage with 608 miles on it. I am so impressed with light, steering, gas tank size even. This is my second bike, my last one is as old as I am, an FT 500 Ascot. This SV seems new from the future, different shape, design. I am very excited from going to work on it and going on a long traveling ride on it as well. Also so cheap for a new bike, it has been sitting in a persons garage for 3 years, I have to wash dust off now. At the very end of this thought I am excited to take care of this SV 650 and become older, and learn with it.
- john , commercial point , Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-28 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
7500 miles and running... No real complaints here. Addition of velocity stacks and the shortening of the intake snorkel gave this bike a nice kick in the rear as far as acceleration is concerned. Not that accel was lacking, but a noticeable boost with the additions. If you are on a budget and need to pick and choose upgrades, but also enjoy long rides, do yourself a favor and upgrade the stock seats! Ouch and Ache are all that I'll say about them. Huge improvement with addition of after market seats! I went with Corbin seats, pricey but worth the expense. A wind screen is another very smart improvement, mostly for those who ride the free ways frequently. The Givi A770 wind screen is sporty yet provides great wind protection at the chest level. Givi tends to be pricey, but much like the Corbin seats it's a smart move! If you wanna really set this bike off, add a slip on muffler, high flow air filter and power commander. M4 makes great slip ons at nice prices. All in all, the SV650 is a GREAT sport bike at a budget price. This bike has a huge following and as a result the market offers TONS of accessories for it!
- Nate, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the SV to turn into an economical, sport tourer which it does pretty well - especially the economical part. It has a great motor, frame, brakes, good ergos, OK suspension, and it'll run forever (I hope). Its price is well below anything; insurance and maintenance are cheap; 40 to 55 mpg; it doesn't eat through tires, chains, and sprockets very quickly either. After 14,500 miles I've had no problems with my SV - none. I replaced the rear tire after 8500 miles, the front lasted over 12,000. I added a center stand, a must-have for chain lubing and tire changing. For luggage, a tank bag, tail pack, and saddlebags, good for a week or more on the road. The biggest problem I had with the bike was the seat. I first tried the Suzuki gel seat, but it was worse than the stock. I'm now using a Corbin that was made a little thicker than normal, but I still lost a little leg room. I have to stretch my legs periodically when riding. It's not perfect, but I can ride all day, everyday. I just did over 1900 miles in 4 days and the bike was great. On the highway it was comfortable, even without a windshield. The ergos lean you slightly into the wind, with no weight on your wrists and no neck fatigue from holding your head up. I've really fallen in love with its light weight and don't think I can go back to a heavy bike, but you get blown around a little on the highway from crosswinds and trucks, but it's not too bad. The suspension is where Suzuki saves a lot of money. The ride isn't as plush on the highway as something like a Bandit, nor as composed in the twisties as a true sport bike. An Ohlin rear shock and a Race Tech cartridge emulator should cure this though. Range is good, with the 4.5 gallon tank I'll get 190 miles on back roads before the fuel light comes on, at which time there's still 1.1 gallons left. However, on the highway if you ride between 75 and 90mph the light comes on in about 140 miles. In the rain the rear fender doesn't cover the tire to well, so you get sprayed pretty bad, but that's what rain gear is for, right? Everyone I ride with has larger bikes and the SV has no problems keeping up. All in all I love the bike. It's close to perfect. If I can improve the seat and suspension I think it will be perfect.
- Don, Nashua, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From commuter to canyon carver this is hands down the best bike for the money. Insurance is inexpensive, I don't go through tires/chains/sprokets like on my previous liter bikes and I can ride it all day long in comfort. I've done a few track days and embarrassed many full sport bikes...of course not in the long straights. I plan to wear this bike out and then give it to my son when he turns 16. I will probably buy a new one for myself at that time.
- Rick, Federal Way, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-26 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having ridden a MZ250, a Honda Magna, a Yamaha YZF600, a Vulcan 1500, a Ducati Monster 750, and a Yamaha FJR 1300 I didn't know what to expect from this little standard. I was hoping for decent performance in the twisties and bearable windblast on the highway, I was thrilled to whip through my favorite twisties and was surprised and pleased to find no windblast even at highway passing speeds. The aftermarket M4 exhaust has a gorgeous sound, especially the back burble, and the comfort was more than fine for an hour ride, even more so than the Ducati Monster. To find a bike with this performance at this price is amazing, and if you don't have fun on one of these then perhaps motorcycling is not really your cup of tea. I'll update after the 4K service.
- Geoff B, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-23 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, torques enough to jump out of harms way, after 10 months, 22600 miles without a single worry. I will run this thing to the ground. It's survived two summers and a very harsh winter (I have no car ha!). I haven't had any gear last as long as the brutality I've been dishing out to this thing. Awesome product and to think I've actually bad mouthed Suzuki cause everyone elses brother had a Gixxer! I'm glad I was wrong.
- Ray, LasVegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-06 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had been away from motorcycling for many years when I discovered that I could (and did) purchase a new CT110 in Australia. My CT takes me back to my youth and is the perfect zip around down town ride but not the best commuter and defintely not for highway use. So, I needed a daily rider/highway bike since now I must be on two wheels whenever possible. Our weather here is fickle, it can be sunny and nice on the way to work and cold and snowing on the way home, so I thought about a KLR. The two reasons I didn't get the KLR are it is a bit high for me and (most importantly) it is normally aspirated. I go to work early to beat our miserable traffic and it is cold, very cold; therefore fuel injection is a great bennie. The SV was about all I could afford that was injected. What I really want is a true standard like a Triumph Bonneville but injected and with Japanese quality. A few bolt on mods and the SV is just about what I want (looks aside). This bike has been perfectly reliable and is great fun to ride. My modifications have downplayed the sporty looks of the bike and made it quite practical; people seem surprised when I blow their doors off if they try to ride my tail. My only two complaints are that I can't do much about the jockey style sport bike riding position of the foot pegs and the only tire choices are sporty street tires. Both of these are minor issues and only affect me because I am trying to make the bike more of a standard that it really is. The bottom line is that this is a great bike. The value is unbeatable and while it may not be extraordinary at any one thing, it is quite good at most things which makes it a fun yet practical sporty standard. I would recommend this bike 100%.
- otter, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-23 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a dual sport for years, I wanted a street only bike to add some variety. Not being much of a sport bike fan, I opted for the naked. I love the riding position and the power this bike has. Its V-twin motor is smooth, confidence inspiring, and doesn't let you down when you need to grab hold of a little throttle! Light weight and a relatively low seat height make this a great bike around town and an absolute blast in the twisties! The seat is...well...the seat. It is a step up from the rubber band on my DRZ400S but the rumpus still aches after a couple of hours. This is my first true street bike and all I can say is A+! Oh...and did I say that this bike is SUPER cheap to insure?!?!?! :)
- Arthur, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchaced the bike for mostly driving to work and back to save on gas (at least that is what I told my wife) as my truck only gets 15 mpg. I looked at several bikes and chose the SV because of all the positive reviews here and in the mags - they were all dead on - I love the bike, it performs well in every catagory. For the price and performace - it can't be beat.
- Mark H, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-14 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Back in the day (20 years ago), any bike with decent performance meant 1000cc, some high speed wander/instability, and regular repair/maintenance. Test drive (on V-Strom--+60lb) revealed that this little 650cc twin truly has all the power needed to get arrested or killed. Add light weight, superb reflexive handling, style (2 compliments on 1st day), and it's affordable! Only issues are narrow seat--gel seat ordered, and need for different bars to accomodate stocky, short arm, long torsoed body. Bar-end mirrors & fender eliminator on order for more style. Can't wait to get through break-in.
- morrobayboy, Morro Bay, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-03 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my SV650, I did months of research and bought one. There are many aftermarket parts for it, so you can make it a bike of your own. It's easy to work on and has plenty of power, the v-twin pulls coming out of the turns, you don't have to keep the revs up to go, just give a twist.
- Dave, Novato, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-24 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing! I love it to death! I am very greatful for this site, because when I was looking into this bike I stumbled on this and found the reviews. From that, I decided to purchase the bike. I have not had one regret! I went from a 2001 250 Ninja and needed something with power and I love the looks of this naked bike. Wow does this girl have power! I don't even ride it like I should because I am afraid I am going to get thrown off! It is that powerful (at least compared to my wimpy 250). There is not one bad thing about this bike! I have gotten many compliments on it too, esp the color. Thank you to all who reviewed this bike!
- Kerri, Collins, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-20 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike for the price. Nothing else comes close. You get the riding comfort of a standard bike, with the ability to go plenty fast. My red '06 turns heads, and has people asking, all the time, "What kind of bike is that?" This bike is light, and easy to handle. To sum it all up... This bike is a BLAST!
- PyroMedic, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-14 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm in love with this engine, 90 V-twins are the best. Pulls well from 3000rpm, and takes off at 6000 rpms (in a good way, not unpredictable like most sport bikes). Great beginner bike for a *responsible* adult. Very light, so handles well at low speeds. Comfortable riding position, but like all naked bikes it gets windy at highway speeds. I prefer the look of the '99-'02 models, 2003 and newer have boxy frames. Suspension is not that great, but ya gotta give up something in this price range. $1000 suspension upgrade would make this bike ride amazing. A bigger tank would be nice, 4.2 gallons at 45 mpg doesn't go that far.
- Tim, Boulder, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-10 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is a sport bike no matter how you look at it, very good accel and stops, I wish the front end would come up easier though, I'm so light the suspension dosen't bother me like others have stated. However I do feel like I'm sitting on the tank during hard stops and if I pull a little to hard on the brake... outch, no tank pad in world will fix that. Keep your chain adjusted as it will get loose often at first and this is not a quiet or smooth drive train by any ear. So wear a helmet as to dull the noise, (tricky eh). Overall with 48mpg so far, that's a treat. The price of this two wheeler is so right it's silly to consider another in its class, wait there is nothing in its class!
- jeff, castle rock, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-08 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm short. Was nervous about being on my toes, but this bike is so light, that I have no problem holding her up when stopped. I was also able to get her back up after a dump once. Let's hope it was the only dump I take with her;) I like to tour, however, when I saw this bike 3 yrs. ago, it was on my mind to buy. Finally, I got her. I love her in the city. She gets me out of situations that could have been disasterous. Although I must admit that I like to tour for long hours... the seat on this bike is just not that great. Such is the payoff for buying a streetbike. However, she can absolutly hold up for any tour I give her. I love this bike, and would recommend it for all people.
- Amy, New York-Manhattan, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-02 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my SV650 for less than a month. Yes, I've already put 2000 miles on it. Not hard considering she talks me into a ride just by me looking at her. I am a tiny female, and I've had problems with other bikes that were totally un-maneuverable because they were unbalanced and outrageously heavy, even most of the 250s and 500s I've tried out. I sat on this one in the dealer's showroom and fell in love immediately! Great power, great maneuverability, and for a chick, Great handling! haven't even chipped a nail yet.
- Jenni, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-03 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I thought about this purchase for a long time, whether I wanted the sv1000 or the 650. I decided on the 650 and I was not disappointed one bit. The bike has plenty of power and can get up on the rear wheel with ease. I have only had it for about a month but already have over 1700 miles. I can't pull myself off it. I make up places to go just so I can ride. If anyone out there is in the market for a naked, I definitely recommend the SV650
- Ken McCullough, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-09 2006 Suzuki SV650 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 1500 miles on my sv650 so it's time to give my review on the bike. I did my research before buying the bike and everything I read about the SV was highly positive. I have to say I agree with them all. This bike is just fun to ride, not the fastest thing on the road of course, but it has plenty of power on tap. I've no qualms with the brakes or the suspension, it's very flick-able, and you feel in control. About the only thing negative that I could say would be that at freeway speeds (70 +) you take a pretty good wind beating. I knew that going in, though. I don't like the crotch rocket riding position of the sv650s, so I can live with the wind. Bottom line, the SV is a great bike.
- Ray, freeport, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: