Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews (23)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-18 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This scooter is a kick in the butt to ride. Bought it 2 weeks ago (used with 1500 miles). I took a 325 mi. day ride last week. Did everything I could ask for -- twisties, back roads, I-80. Work the gearbox and she stays happy. The windshield is crap and the seat needs some help. A friend of mine has a 1000 Strom (second one) and recently picked up a 650. I rode both of them and liked the 650 better. Felt smoother and more nimble. I also own an '04 Gold Wing, but the 650 is a lot more fun to ride. I'll use the Wing for the long hauls and the Strom for the quick hitters. Ride one if you get a chance. You just might be surprised. I will give an update somewhere down the road...
- Zman, Sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding big bore two strokes off road for over 30 years, I decided to try some street riding too. I talked to friends with Honda 650's and BMW dual sports but nothing looked good enough. I really wanted good street handling and reasonable dirt and gravel road stability. I think I found it. Now I love this bike and can go anywhere. I can highway ride up to the mountains and over them on dirt and back on another highway. It actually performs much better on fireroads than I imagined. Someday I may check out a DL100. The gas mileage is also amazing, an easy 55+ mpg. My only complaint is the transmission sometimes refuses to shift down to 1st when hot unless you shift down through each gear as you are coming to a stop. I've had to take off in 2nd several times when the light turns green.
- Ken Frazier, Arvada, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the V-Strom for approximately 2 months and have 1700 miles on it. This is my 10th new bike in the past 5 years. They include GS1150, FZ1, CBR600F4I, KLR650, 1150RT and a SV650. In general, I really enjoy this bike. It has taken me a while to discover that this is my favorite type of bike. Things that I like include seating position (upright), wind protection, heated grips, centerstand, rear rack, handling, and cost of bike and insurance. Things that I would like improved.... the power. The bike is very reasonable in all respects including acceleration and top end, but it is always nice to have the extra power. The brakes could be a little better also. They stop fine, but the feel is not the best. Overall a very good bike at a great price.
- m redmond, stony brook, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-19 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3 days before my 45th birthday my wife of almost 10 years surprised me with an '06 Zuk VSTROM. Since I just started riding and it being my first bike, it is a dream to handle and you will feel comfortable as a new rider very quickly. Starting out borrowing a friend's '72 honda CB 350 and there is a big difference in power and handling. I love the red with the black. A reasonably comfortable seat though there is an upgrade that will provide even more comfort. There is a lot to upgrade with this bike. Perfect power for a new rider. I'm not looking for speeds much over 80mph, though it can get there pretty quickly. If your looking for a bike for long rides with a passenger, maybe the 1000 cc is a better choice. I'm still breaking this bike in (only 130 miles) so I'm taking it easy...
- Lou Asbaty, Randolph, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-09 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
...make sure you want the 650 because I rode with a friend the other day (DL1000) and couldn't believe how he left me in the dust! :) Really though, this is a great bike and highly recommended. I bought mine used with only 271 miles on it. It has been really perfect with the exception of the windshield and seat. For me, I have a spinal disk issue in my lower back so the lower stature of the stock seat really wasn't good. I upgraded to the DL1000 touring seat and viola! problem solved. I just received my Givi windshield yesterday. I won't get to try that out until spring - bummer!!!! Should be a big improvement. I will be getting a skid plate, oil cooler protector and radiator protector. You can't go wrong with this bike if you like the looks, need a more upright position, or would like an on-off road bike that is more suited to on road but gives you the option to ride in some dirt. Plus, I figure if one buys this bike there will always be a market for resale if it's not for you. Good luck with your decision.
- Gerry , Spokane , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike. But I suggest everyone buy an 07. The new 07 V Strom has dual spark plugs per cylinder. For more combustion. Which should give a little better throttle response. So I love my 06 V Strom, but if your planning on buying one, get an 07.
- jeff wane, Zillah, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-25 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Excellent all around motorcycle. Comfortable, nimble,will go 260 miles on a tank of gas But...Front suspension is too soft for emergency stops. It is really dangerous to try to stop fast on this one! Brakes are good, but soft front and not so good tires make it difficult to stay up in a hard braking event...I have learned it the hard way ...
- Peter Pirogovsky, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-22 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 06 650 V-Strom is one of the best bikes you could buy. For the price I paid there isn't a better bike - not even for twice the price. I rode several newer bikes in the last year to find the bike that would be perfect for me (thanks to my friends and friends of friends) including: 05 Suz 1000 V-Strom, 04 Suz SV650, 04 Kawa ZX-6R, 06 Kawa 650 Ninja, 05 Ducati 620 Multistrada, 04 BMW 650 GS, 03 Honda CBR600 F4, 06 Yamaha FZ6, 06 Buell Ulysses, 03 Harley Ultra Classic Ultra Glide, 02 Honda 1100 cruiser, 01 Honda 1300 ST and a 05 Victory Kingpin and by far the bike that had the best combination of features, abilities and price was the 06 650 V-Strom. And this bike isn't some compromise where you overlook some flaws because of the price. This bike flat out handles. It can do curves, canyons and switchbacks on par with the best sport bikes. Now the engine isn't meant to leave the black commas and do wheelies all day and night but I have had the bike up to 110 with ease (I think it'll go to 120) and I can do the 1/4 mile in under 12 (remember I am a big guy). As far as mileage goes, the first 1000 miles were mostly commuting to work in stop and go traffic and I averaged around 50. Cruising at around 75-80 MPH I get about 55 (that was with 45L givi side cases). Comfort is good as well (2500 miles in 3 months). In fact, I love this bike so much I was planning to get this one because of the price and versatility and later get a YZF600 to have fun with, but now I don't think I need to. Their are some faults with the bike. Frankly, the windshield sucks (both the standard and large available from Suzuki), but that can be fixed with the Madstad V-Strom adjustable windshield mount and/or there are several after-market windshields available. The location of the oil cooler and front exhaust pipe are a little too exposed for my taste and really hold me back from doing more off-road riding, but again they make skid plates too. The bottom line is this is a great bike. For the price you get a terrific handler, fun to ride, economical and versatile motorcycle. I would tell everyone who is thinking about a bike regardless of type to check this bike out first.
- John Cosma 3, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only had it a week and a half and 500 miles, but I love to ride this bike. It's nice and smooth,plenty quick and cruises very nicely on the highway. I don't think you can go wrong with this one.
- Terry Mitchell, Tulsa , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everybody loves their bikes as soon as they buy them and I am amused by those offering reviews after 3 days and 150 miles although I do understand and appreciate their enthusiasm. I went from a small cruiser to the V-Strom because I wanted a comfortable, highway capable tourer but with the agility and snappy performance of a smaller bike. I just returned from a 2800 mile week long trip to the Sturgis area (the week before the rally) and the V-Strom is just terrific under all riding conditions. Capable of speed far in excess of what I will ever need, passing power galore, long-term all day comfort, stable in the wind and all road surfaces I've encountered, 56-58 mpg, totally reliable so far and FUN on the Needles Highway or anywhere else you might want to wring its neck just a little! Chrome? Nope. Classically pretty? Nope. Quick, comfortable, agile, efficient, reliable, competent and capable...Oh, yeah!!
- Woody, Springdale, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-11 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year my 1982 VF750 Honda Sabre was finally towed out. I loved that bike from the beginning - comfort, reliability. handling. I have been hard pressed to find a replacement. I read of the Vstrom 650, sat on it at the dealer (unfortunately no test ride available). It is a little high, standing on balls of feet unless I tilt a little. Power rolls on smoothly. I took my 16 year old son for a ride and he said it feels electric, because of the smoothness. Handling is excellent so far, easily tipped and turned. It is a quiet bike. 1 thing I noticed, maybe because not used to it yet is neutral to first when stopped, have had to roll bike a couple of times to get it engaged. Do not know if this is a problem yet though. But so far am very impressed. Accessory to be added will be a trunk bag.
- steve, staten island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-13 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike, after riding lots of cruisers and standards this bike just stood on it's own. I've had my blue 2006 strom for over a month and thoroughly enjoy it. The seat height is a little high and is intimidating at first but after a couple of rides you begin to like it. The bike is quick and agile for fun rides through the twisties and is comfortable enough to ride long commutes.
- Art, Clarks sUMMIT, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding my DL650K5 for one year straight and it's been wonderful. I ride all year long, don't even own a car. This bike is extremely simple to maintain, plus I've never had it break down on me. After almost 14k miles of riding, I would highly recommend this bike to both beginners and advanced riders alike. I work as a messenger/courier using this bike and it's so comfortable to ride all day long. Plus the gas mileage is excellent, somewhere around 55-60mpg for me.
- Kyle, Woodinville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-02 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've written a couple reviews while waiting for my luggage to finally come in. After 3 months I finally got my trunk and my saddle bags will be here on thursday. I have all my mounts so once my saddle bags get here I'll have them on in 2 seconds. But in the meen time I love my trunk. I've had no problems carring everything I want. Today I went on a 180 mile ride down to the Oregon, Washington border to visit Stone Henge. The trunk is so big I put my helmet, duffle bag,digital camera, 1 liter pepsi, 1 liter gatorade, comb, wallet, and towel, and I still locked the trunk with no problem. Great trunk and great bike.
- jeff wane, Zillah, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-27 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great first bike for me. I am new to motorcycling of any kind and the Vstrom feels so comfortable, I forget that I have been riding for only a month! This bike has a lot of pickup in the city and enough on the highway. I will be looking into adding a laminar lip to the windshield and replacing the rear wheel sprocket to reduce the rpm's at 80 to 90mph and to increase fuel economy. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
- Deke, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-02 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Machine is very well behaved, nothing but smiles. I ride back and forth to work, about 40 miles a day, I just cannot believe how well this bike handles. For point and shoot traffic it's perfect. I have been riding since I was 17, and have owned a bunch of different cycles, this bike sets itself apart in so many ways, you would have to ride it to believe it.
- Ray, Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my DL 650 new about 6 weeks ago, and have ridden it as a commuter in traffic, day touring and in the canyons. My previous bike was a Honda Interceptor (VFR), which had wonderful performance. However, I was unable to get accustomed to the low handlebars and always being leaned forward. COMFORT: The V-Strom is very comfortable - nice upright position with a windshield. I added the Laminar Lip (under $100) which reduces the helmet buffeting by about 80%. I like being relatively high - much easier to observe traffic ahead than on a cruiser. The seat is fine, although I may eventually add an aftermarket seat in order to get backrests for me and a passenger. PERFORMANCE: The power and handling are perfect for around the city and in the canyons. It handles the corners as well as the VFR - which is high praise. The power is fine on the freeway. At 65 mph there is tons of power rolling on in 6th gear. The only regret is that it doesn't have the massive low and mid-power you occasionaly want just for the heck of it. The 650 requires that you go above 5000 rmp for that big hit of power. However, for all practical purposes, it has plenty of power - including riding 2 up. My biggest issue in making the purchase was whether to go with the 650 or the 1000. If you don't need massive low power - just because it's fun - and don't plan major 2 up excursions with luggage, you'll probably be very happy with the 650. FUEL ECONOMY: I am generally light on the throttle, my riding divided about 50/50 between city and canyons. I am delighted to average 58-60 mpg! For comparison, my average was 38 mpg on the VFR. Unlike the VFR, the V-Strom uses regular gas. QUALITY: Everything is great so far. I have had no issues. OVERALL: A terrific bike and a great value. The BMW's seem tempting, but cost a fortune to buy and to maintain. There are very few comparable bikes with the V-Strom's level of comformt, ergonomics and performance - at any price. I bought mine after researching various reviews, and was never able to get a demo ride. Happily, I would make the same purchase again.
- Terry, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-01 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just topped 1k miles on my last ride and thus far, I absolutely love my 'Strom. It's pretty hard to imagine a better all around bike for the money; Suzuki gets a big thumbs up for really hitting the mark with this one. That being said, it's not perfect. My only real complaint at this point is the windscreen. Even in the highest position, I get a little buffeting around my helmet at highway speeds. For normal commuting / cruising around this is not a big deal, but before I take my first multi-day road trip, I will be replacing it with a taller / wider aftermarket screen. Shorter less experienced riders will probably feel a little out of place on this bike, at least initially. For tall folks it's perfect. My wife is pretty short and refuses to ride it for fear of dropping it. Also, while I love the engine and transmission dearly and think it is a lot of fun to ride, this is not a race rep with gobs of power (nor the high insurance rates to match). If your primary objective is to own a bike that will help you lose your license in the shortest amount of time possible, look elsewhere. This is fairly chilled out, laid back bike at heart. However, if you keep the rpm's up between 6-9k it'll make good time. I like the fact that the engine and exhaust are quiet and unobtrusive at normal speeds (though it'll howl when you get up to 7k rpm). Handling is great at both low and high speeds. I couldn't really make use of anything more nimble I think. I cranked up the rear suspension and this has improved the handling quite a bit, works well on the local twisty mountain roads by my house. I might raise the front forks in the clamps as some have suggested, but thus far haven't felt the need. I didn't buy this bike as a 'dual sport' or 'adventure bike but it does handle hard packed dirt roads with ease and does OK in softer stuff / gravel if you are careful. I wouldn't have the stones to attempt anything more demanding than that with it. Fuel economy has been excellent - 51mpg on my last tank (mostly non-highway commuting and back roads blasting) can't complain about that. Love the big luggage rack super practical. Under-seat storage is pretty good too. Seat is comfy although I haven't done a long enough ride yet to really see how my butt agrees with it. Will test that next month. Anyhoo can't say enough good things about this bike it makes me happy every time I ride it hope that Suzuki continues to make these for years to come.
- MK, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-01 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's a little tall for me but still a comfortable fit. The engine and six-speed trans are perfectly mated. The engine tops out a little above about 85mph but eagerly gets up to that speed with a lot of torque. I looked at a number of bikes for being a great all around, do anything bike and couldn't find anything close to my WeeStrom! For the money, it is THE best all around bike you can find. Beginners to seasoned riders will enjoy this bike everyday of the week!
- TC, El Dorado Hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-08 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my DL650K6 in January '06. I have 35 years of riding experience and have owned over 30 motorcycles in my life (all metric). Currently, I own an '03 Honda ST1300ABS and an '02 Honda VTX1800C. This V-Strom replaces an '01 Suzuki DR650SE that I recently sold. I wasn't too sure that the DL 650 would be powerful enough for my riding tastes, commuting, running errands, light touring, etc. - 90% on road. Honestly, I'm amazed at the power that this sweet engine pumps out. It's very comfortable and easy to ride. The transmission has six hears, so I can keep the bike in the powerband easily. I truly can recommend the DL650 to beginners or experienced riders alike. It fits well everywhere it goes.
- auger, walls, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-04 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my new 2006 DL650 on Thursday and put on over 150 highway and around-town miles the first day. It was love at first ride! I only started riding again about a year ago after 30+ years away from bikes and this is my fourth bike in 12 months. After starting with a Buell Blast starter bike off eBay I moved up to the Yamaha FZ6 - a fantastic bike, however, the riding position gave me leg cramps so badly I could barely put my right leg down at stops. After less than a month, I traded the FZ for a Honda Shadow Spirit 750 - a very nice tame bike but not enough power or load capacity for someone my size. I rode the Honda for about 2 months and enjoyed it but one ride on Wee Strom was all it took to pull out the old checkbook yet again! The DL650 is fantastic: <ul> - Great handling and the best balance of any bike I have ever ridden<br /> - Plenty of power even for a monster like me (carrying capacity is over 500 lbs). I am still breaking it in but even at the recommended break-in limit of 5K rpm, you are doing a solid 70 mph. I don't suspect I will ever see the 10.5K rpm red line!<br /> - Very comfortable riding position, a little more upright than the FZ6 and LOTS more leg room. The bike is quite tall, which makes for great visibility although shorter riders would probably need to go to the low touring or gel seat. <br /> - Very easy tuning of ride and comfortable with easy pre-load and damping adjustment front and rear and four different seats available to suit different riders<br /> - Cavernous under-seat storage for smaller items and a nice rear rack for even a very large tail-bag. <br /> - Outstanding engine with great mid-range torque, smooth trannie, very smooth feel and low maintenance <br /> - Great instrumentation (easy to read speedo and tach, fuel and temp gauges, dual turn signal lights, dual trip meters, etc) and lots of little goodies like under seat helmet hangers and locks and place to mount GPS, radio, etc. <br /> - Fantastic lights for night driving <br /> - 5.8 gallon tank and 300 mile range </ul> The DL650 isn't the torque monster the 1000 is but for the kind of riding I do and am planning (long weekend trips and a couple 1000+ milers this summer), it is perfect. For anyone looking for more fun than a cruiser and more comfort than a sport bike, the Wee Strom is a perfect choice.
- Chipgr, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-08 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my Honda Magna 750 for this bike last week. The neat thing about it so far I've noticed is how high-up your riding position is, and feels. It's almost feels like a 2-wheeled SUV, you can actually see over things. It feels a lot more comfortable than a heavy cruiser; mine was just a 750, and even this bike is so much lighter feeling than it. A blast to ride. Light and easy to sling around. I think I've finally found my 2 -wheeled home.
- Dallas, Dalton, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-26 2006 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles since 1971 when I got a Yamaha 60 mini enduro and have been riding ever since. I did months of research waiting until the 2006 were released to see if there were going to be any changes - no changes except color. So I purchased a 2005 blue DL650. For the money, this bike can do it all pretty good. One of my first rides was to Palomar Mt. I went with some friends that have high end sport bikes. It was an enjoyable ride for me as they screamed around the steep twisty turns. The bike performed very well and I was pleased with its capabilities. This is not a high end, high priced bike, but it will run forever and provide you with many hours of enjoyable riding. For an everyday bike, it's great.
- Scott, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: