Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Triumph Bonneville Black Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Bruce Boof Larsen

Mandurah, Australia

Reviewed on 2007-05-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Over the years I have had many different motorcycles, but my heart has always remained with Triumph. Although the early models were somewhat non oil retainers and not very reliable, Triumph has stepped up to the plate with the new Bonneville. It took a long time for me to decide to go back to a Bonneville, as I had ridden many thousand K's on my previous one in the hot Pilbara heat of Australia, and spent a lot of time repairing and rebuilding the old girl. Reluctant as I was, I dived in and purchased the 2006 model, and believe me, what a fantastic bike it is. If you want something that is a real bike to ride without all the modern technology that will make even a 17 year old look good, buy a japanese sports bike. But if you want a bike that feels like a motorcycle, rides like a motorcycle, and dosesn't cost a kings ransom to maintain, then this is the bike for you. The good lady and I go touring on the Trumpy, fully loaded saddle bags and tank bag, and guess what, it's the perfect bike for cruising through the southwest or doing long stints at a time just soaking up the scenery. If you want to go a heck of a lot faster, book a plane ticket. For me, I will stay with Triumph's Bonneville until I am unable to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lanon

Wichita, Kansas

Reviewed on 2007-03-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Bonnie black is just what I was looking for. Love the retro looks and it's black (the only true color for a motorcycle). The Bonneville is not for everyone. If you want a sport bike buy a Busa, if you want a cruiser, get a VTX, if you want a motorcycle with soul then go for the Bonnie, classic looks with modern, reliable mechanics. I like the upright standard riding position, seat height is perfect for me and I really enjoy the look on someones face after they ask what year it is. The biggest problem is now I have to change it. The Bonneville platform screams at you to add personal touches. There is a fantastic network of New Boneville owners that are constantly making their Bonnie theirs. Seems to be addictive. Had mine for less than a month and have had two UPS deliveries so far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

raygunriot

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reviewed on 2007-01-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I feel like James Dean on my new Bonnie. I also own a '73 Bonneville. I have to say that Triumph really did a beautiful job recreating an icon. To me, the look of a classic British bike can not be beat. I did have to make a few adjustments, and change a few components to make the new girl fit my requirements. I do wish Triumph would add an overdrive to the transmission though. All and all, I love my Bonnie!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Howie

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2007-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
The Bonnie is a fun bike with lots of character but there are a few things to consider before buying one: minor- I had an oil leak from the cylinder wall with 2K miles on the bike. Fixed under warranty and did not reappear. One night it stalled 3 times....I restarted it with the petcock in reserve (tank was full) and it didn't stall and never had the problem again....starting it normally with petcock in normal position. Major (to me)- make sure your back can handle the HARSH riding rear shocks. I tried aftermarket shocks and they made little to zero difference. Every bump in the road sends jolts up your spine and bucks the bike. If that doesn't bother you.....you'll love the Bonnie. For me, my lower back was so sore after taking such a beating on it....I couldn't sleep. So I sold the bike. I wish the bike didn't ride so harsh....my sportbike and Nomad feel like Cadillacs compared to the Bonnie's ride. But like I said, if you can get past the harsh ride of the bike.....I couldn't.......you will enjoy the Bonneville.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josh Nickelson

Franklin, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought a brand new 2004 Bonnie. I chose the bonnie with the least amount of chrome so that I Could black it out. I added 18" black ape hangers, straight fishtail pipes and the old chopper tail light. I purchased an eye brow for the head light and bobbed the rear fender 3",and slapped a 170X60X16 on the rear. I'm 26 and I am approached constantly and being asked if the bike is a '60 or '70 model. This is what I was going for and I love getting the "nice bike" comments from other riders. I like this bike because it is a standout design for not a lot of $$$
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Howie

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2006-07-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Got my '06 Bonneville Black as a 2nd bike for alternate commuting (have an '02 CBR1100XX also) and for relaxing weekend rides. This bike has been great in the 1k mi I've logged. I've done the re-jet, with Triumph Off road pipes, air injector removal kit, and added a centerstand. Now much better sound than stock (which is totally muted) and has more kick. This bike is suprisingly quick too and very stable even at 85mph. It handles great, feels light and is really a joy to ride. For $6995, I think it's a heck of a deal and looks great. My first Triumph and very pleased so far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave Sax

Brighton (England), United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2006-05-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 790cc Triumph Bonneville was purchased with nearly 13,000 miles on the clock. In Cardinal Red it looked good,even when standing still. It had a centre stand, tacho and Norman Hyde pipes as extras. The bike looks good for a modern copy of a classic; I've been stopped and talked to more with this bike than any other I've had, it attracts admiring glances and it does look attractive in my view. Great bike overall.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

N. Mark Harvey

Columbia, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2006-05-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Bonneville Black

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The first thing you notice when you get on the bike is how everything falls into place naturally. You sit straight up, no stress is put on your arms and wrist, and the clutch and brake are spaced close enough even for small hands (they aren't adjustable). The ride is everything easy. It's very stable at low speeds and just as much at the higher numbers. This bike feels confident and instantly makes you relax everytime you get on it. There's enough power on tap for any sane application, and its delivery is buttery smooth. The brakes are more than adequate and have a good feel to them. My only complaint is the shift action is slick from 1st to 2nd, so finding neutral takes a little practice. The Bonneville isn't for everyone. In terms of modern bike technology, it's not razor sharp in any particular area, and I'm pretty sure most Bonneville owners appreciate that fact. But if you want a bike for the sheer enjoyment of riding, then ladies and gentlemen, look no further.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: