Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycle reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.4
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Robert

Parker, Colorado

Reviewed on 2009-11-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Always wanted a Triumph since I was a kid and saw Steve McQueen on one; this is my first street bike, and it could be nothing less. Having relatives and friends with nothing but Harleys, I also wanted anything but. I get comments everytime I park it; it's nice to have a standout machine with a unique sound. Fit and finish is very good, and the lines are perfect cruiser. Could use a little more power, but plenty of time to upgrade to a T-Bird or Rocket Roadster, eh? Great job Triumph!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

marty

stony plain, Alberta

Reviewed on 2007-06-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great ride. I'm now on my second Speedmaster. Had a 1200c Sportster but this beats it hands down. haven't lost to a Harley yet, my friends with their new Harleys can't believe it. After 2000 mi.everything changed, it just keeps getting better. I'm thinking I made the best choice ever, won't go back to anything else.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Port Orchard, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is actually my daughter's Speedmaster which she purchased when I bought a 2007 Rocket III Classic Tourer. However, I put some of the break in miles on it for her plus a few hundred more and was most impressed with this machine. It is light handling, quick, comfortable and built for boulevard cruising, Tail of the Dragon twisties and long haul touring. Paint, fit and finish is excellent but some of the chrome bolts suggest early corrosion. We rode to Daytona Bike Week this year from Pensacola via Enterprise, AL, a 500+ mile day trip each way. I had to pull alongside her on the return leg to ask her to slow down from 90 MPH. The Speedmaster turns heads and commands interest wherever we parked. My daughter is a former Harley owner who traveled throughout eastern and western Europe on a 2002 Superglide but she loves her Speedmaster. I told her I'd buy it if she ever got tired of it. I still have my 1967 Triumph 650 TR6C and the Speedmaster would look great in my garage alongside the old girl.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

William Bell

Littlestown, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike. Much better than the Sportster we traded. Better headlight, brakes, handling, cornering and ground clearance. More comfortable seat too! don't forget, a reasonable price as well. What more could you want? Well maybe a couple of things. I really hate chain drive, maybe a little better fuel economy, all in all little things that are easily remidied with a little help from the aftermarket. I forgot, tons of fun to ride too!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

schwartzkm

McKinney, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-11-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased a 2k5 SM in October of 2k5 and have not regretted my decision. Overall, the bike makes a very good city commuter and runs great on the highway (after a jump from a 16t to 19t front sprocket). The bike handles VERY well and there is plenty of power to do anything one needs to do in the city and on the highway (remember, an 800cc bike USED to be considered a large displacement cruiser). Pros Handling is great on the highway, twisties, and most importantly city type maneuvers (parking lot and slow speed type maneuvers). You will NOT get this from any large displacement cruiser so do not even bother dreaming about the nimble large cruiser. Great looks. The bike is completely unique and always gets the attention no matter who you ride with. HD and HD clone owners drool over how much attention my stock speedy got compared to their 2k+ chromed accessorized bikes. Overall it is a very fun bike to ride because of the first two points. Cons Every bike has cons and this one is no exception. Some of the bolts are already rusting which is completely un-called for! My bike is kept in the garage and I do not ride in the rain. Charge a few hundred more bucks for the bike and put in the proper screws that will not rust! 16t front sprocket is a joke and the dealership should willingly offer to replace this for free. The bike engine feels like it is going to blow up running 85 with my beemer buddies. A 19t sprocket uprade did the trick, however, and is VERY easy to replace $19.00 plus 20 minutes of labor is all it takes. Now I run 85 without any problems at all. Factory pipes make the bike sound like a ladies sewing machine. I dropped 400.00 on aftermarket pipes and it has a really nice rumble. Overall, I would buy this bike again in a minute! Great bike, simply the best I have EVER owned so don't let my cons discourage you. I would ride the bike over all others in its class with all the cons still in place.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Duncan

Virginia Beach, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Definitely has the looks, and isn't a Harley wanna be. Great handling and turn of speed. Had no problems at all, and look forward to every trip. For the money, easily beats any competition.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bill faris

norman, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2006-11-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This speedy has great balance, and the DOHC 8 valve gives sparkling performance for the money. The modest weight makes it quick and agile. I would highly recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Pfeferstein

Columbia, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-10-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
While my chopper was in the shop, a friend of mine loaned me his 06 Speedmaster to go riding one weekend. Less than two weeks later there was a new one in my garage. I've been riding since the mid 70's and have most recently owned a Sporster, an Electraglide and a custom chopper. The Triumph is the keeper. I will never sell this bike, except maybe to get another one. It's quick, it handles, and it looks great. I just love riding this bike. If you have to use the kid's college fund to buy one, don't test drive it. You've been warned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BKaplan

Commack, New York

Reviewed on 2006-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned a 2006 for about 6 weeks and cannot ride it enough. I agree w/love my speedy as the bike is a real headturner. Triumph has outdone themselves with a great performing bike that is NOT a Harley in the Speedmaster. It is also my first bike and it is very forgiving as well as aggressive as you want to play. I am averaging about 43 mpg. and absolutely love the bike. It is something different that is quite noticeable NOT in any way Japanese nor is it a wanna be cruiser. This bike stands on its own and can hang w/ any other cruiser out there. I hope I can report the same at 3500 miles.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

charles johnson

brush creek, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2006-09-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got a 05 Speedmaster in June. I have not put but about 520 miles on her. She runs very well and everywhere I ride she gets the looks. Overall handling is very well and she seems to have plenty of power, the only thing that I don't like is after about 20-30 miles my right hand gets numb. I don't know if it's the bars or just to much tooling...but overall it's a bad bike and she will burn a Harley everytime.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: