Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Triumph Thruxton Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.3

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

7 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chuck

Santa Fe, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2009-05-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I always wanted a Bonneville since I was a kid, but went through a series of Jap bikes (plus a couple of Beemers) before I got the Thrux. This bike is fantastic. Airbox eliminator, K&Ns & re-jet gets me 70+ r/w hp. It handles great, has just the right amount of power, and as is mentioned in most reviews, the bike gets so much attention whenever I stop, no matter what bikes I'm riding with. Mostly I do day rides up through the mountains, but did a 1000 mi. three day trip last Fall OK. I am thinking about bar risers as my 64 y/o neck feels some strain after a few hours.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

g oma

baltimore, Maryland

Reviewed on 2007-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the most fun you can have with your clothes on. Absolute blast for carving corners. Will probably upgrade to a corbin gunfighter, and change handlebars, as I also like to tour. Got the matching Triumph bags, but am disappointed with the tank bag...should be magnetic instead of straps...already melted straps trying to attach to tank. Great looker though and a real attention getter. Everyone wants to know how old it is...ha ha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Alex

Roanoke, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 2nd bike. After having logged 9,500 mi on my H-D XL 1200, I decided I needed something more maneuverable and also lighter. The Thruxton, with the inverted handles and 130 lbs lighter than my H-D, became my choice. I've had it for about 10 days and have logged over 700 mi. It has awesome maneuverability and leaning capacity. The seat is a bit hard for me after 3 hours. But the forward lean does not bother me at all (and I have lower-back degenerative disk disease and some curvature of the spine). I should have test ridden this bike two years ago before buying the H-D. But it's here now!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

roger bowman

asheboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2006-08-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had this bike about a month and a half now and I think I can honestly say that this is my favorite bike of the three that I've had. This thing is so much fun it should be banned. I really enjoy getting up into the mountains with this bike because it handles so well and is so flickable in the curves. It also makes good power once it tachs about 4500rpm. The gearbox ratios are also well matched for this engine. The riding position takes a little getting use to but it really isn't that bad. I have spent several times in the saddle for more than a couple of hours at a time and I thought the only thing that might need to be changed would be a little more padding in the seat. Overall this is a great bike and I give it a 5 star rating. The best thing about this bike? It reminds me of why I began riding in the first place.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wambo

Portland, Oregon

Reviewed on 2006-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I grew up with pictures of Triumphs, BSA's and airplanes on my wall. I've finally gotten my Triumph after all these years, and I'm not disappointed. All of the plus'es of a classic Brit bike with none of the negatives (ie, leaking oil or electrical problems). I'm fine with the regular bars also-It's not as bad as many say it is. The stock seat is still being broken in and may still need to be replaced for more than 100 miles, but otherwise is OK. The power is far from overwhelming but not disappointing with good torque all around. Handling is better than you would even imagine from a "classic bike" with steel tube frame. I've already scraped the pegs without any difficulty. She is so much fun to ride! I get more people admiring her and making comments than almost any bike I've owned. And it just keeps getting better as she gets broken in. Although the picture of the bike here is black, mine is yellow which looks awesome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sam S

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just bought this bike 3 days ago. I have been jonesing to get back into bikes for quite some time. I am most recently coming off a crotch rocket phase (a few Kawi ZX's). I could not bow to the cruiser age, or feel the urge to climb aboard another plastic covered rocket. I was torn between (soon to be released) Ducati classics and the Triumph. The prestige and styling (true retro) sold me immediately. I felt an immediate kinship as soon as I climbed into the saddle. This is what motor biking is about...emotion...pure emotion. Although it does take some getting used to (riding position), it really is very compliant. I have 363 miles in 2 days - it can't be too bad! Power is a twist away. It is moderate as compared to today's super bikes and even the hooligan bikes (speed triple), but very capable. If you are looking or classic ageless styling in a competent and capable performer, the Thruxton just may be the answer.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patty S

Clermont, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-02-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Triumph Thruxton

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned many bikes, but for Classic looks, sporty feel and handling in the real world, you can't beat the Triumph Thruxton. No matter where I go or who I ride with all eyes fall on the Thruxton when we stop for fuel. It looks that good - especially in Caspian Blue, a deep rich color that mimics one of the colors used to paint original versions of the Thruxton first produced in the mid-1960's. I have fitted my bike with the Triumph color-matched flyscreen and a centerstand. The screen takes a bit of wind off of my torso at speed. The stand makes the little bit of chain maintenance that I do very easy. It does not interfere with cornering clearance for most street riders. I have heard many men complain about the clip-on style bars. I don't know what they are talking about, I can use them just fine for hours. As a 52-year old woman who has had carpal tunnel from GSXR's in the past my answer to these men is "shut up and ride, it won't kill you!". Do a few push-ups if you are that weak! I love the looks, feel and handling of this modern classic machine, I will own this Triumph for many seasons.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 7 of 7 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: