Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (274)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2017-07-04 2006 Yamaha Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only had it for a month,it's ok very heavy and a little difficult at parking lot speed.ive owned big bikes before this ones different not sure if I'll keep it.
- Al, Fort dix n.j.

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2014-07-29 2006 Yamaha Roadliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In the Motorcycle Safety Training class, the instructors tell you that riding a motorcycle is inherently fun. So therefore there is no reason to go crazy on the road or make your bike anything more than it already is, because you are already having fun. You do, however, want your bike to do what you want it to do. that's what the Roadliner S gets accomplished. You want power, it's there. You want good ergos, it's there. You want a stiff frame that doesn't do anything it isn't supposed to, you got it. With so many choices out there, I am sure there are other bikes that do something or the other better than the Roadliner S, but if you appreciate the complete package of feel it in your seat acceleration, a superb chasis, unique and beautiful styling and unsurpassed reliability, this has to be, without a doubt, the bike for you. It is for me.
- Jim, Norco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-07-14 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a beautiful 2006 Road Star stock. It rides great and has plenty of power. I look forward to many rides/tours.
- Max, Sunrise, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-07-09 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a super clean stock 2006 Road Star Silverado. I love the bike!! It has plenty of power with two up, smooth riding and excellent handling for a bike of its type. I'm looking forward to many tours!!!
- Rider, Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-15 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in August of 2011, with 1,300 original miles on it. I bought it from a Navy sailor in Chesapeake, Va. He had it stored for a few years while deployed to Iraq. He came back, and was expecting to be deployed to Afghanistan, and needed to sell to help his wife and child out, and I got a great deal. It was just a base model when I bought it, and completely stock. I have since upgraded the entire bike, because I like it so much. It rides like a dream, and has not had any glitches, whatsoever. It has plenty of power, and outruns my Roadking, and my buddy's Screamin' Eagle Deuce that has the 1550cc engine. I have fine tuned this bike, and did not require rejetting of the carb when fitted with the SpeedStar pipes which are manufactured by Yamaha and the K&N upgrade. I did not purchase a sissy bar or rear rack as I prefer the Retro-Classic looks of the bike without that garb. The addition of the fender tips with the flared fenders really set off the looks of this bike. I also bought a set of the OEM mini engine guards, as I thought the larger one looked quite gaudy. I bought most of my parts online, and have about $1,500.00 in upgrades, bringing my total investment up to $5,800.00. I just had it appraised for $8,500.00 last week. It now has 4,500 miles on it. I will be buying another set of whitewall tires in the near future, as the originals have become a bit hard...to be expected after six years. If you're considering buying a very dependable cruiser, buy a RoadStar!!
- Walt, Evart, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-11 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had purchased a 2nd hand 2006 Roadstar recently with approximately 18,000 miles on the clock for $9,000 (Australia). I had sold a brand new 2011 Victory Vegas as I was very disappointed with the transmission and the poor treatment from the dearlerships. I am very happy with this bike as I prefer not to have fuel injection and I like a well behaved and smooth transmission. The bike could do with a sixth gear and more horsepower. It's an easy bike to live with! It's easy to jet carby and adjust lifters with one end being hydraulic. Also it has rather simple pushrods as opposed to 3-4 feet of cam chain as in the previous bike.
- Jason myers, Mayfield, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-01 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Road Star Silverado new for Christmas 2006 (thank you wife) and have enjoyed it for many miles. I occasionally commute to SoCal for work, 740 miles round trip, and have not had any breakdown issues. We just completed a 3,900 mile ride to Memphis, Tennessee and had one minor issue: I added a BAK recently and an adjustable PMS screw. At 100 miles west of Albuerquerque, NM, I lost the PMS screw (I failed to install the spring and washer that holds in the screw) and had to pull the choke at idle or the bike would stall. With a 50-mile tail wind, high elevation and no PMS, I got 59 mpg!!! The bike runs trouble free and the engine mods give this bike some get up and go in the midrange with tons of low end torque, over 102 ft. lbs. at the rear wheel.
- dthorny, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-11 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everyday I get on, it feels like the first time. There is plenty of power and looks. A lot of friends have H-D's and say, take mine for a ride - wrong! A Road King with big juggs and cam and all the other so-called parts, can't compare. Comfort is day and night. When it's time to fuel up, they have to use high octane, and still ping along, and don't forget the added octane booster. Whenever taking off at a stop, somehow someone always misses a shift. Is it me, or don't these guys know how to shift, or is it running too hot? My only complaint is tire wear. I'm on my third set in 17,000 miles. Normal, I don't know and can live with that. Plenty of miles and tires ahead. Ride safe.
- GRAYLORD, WEEKIE WACHEE, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-06 2006 Yamaha Roadliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Roadliner as my first bike because it is a big air cooled v-twin that looks good. However, after riding the bike several weeks I realize this is far more than a good bike. It's a great bike. The engine produces a ridiculous amount of torque that just keeps coming on endlessly. The engine is so smooth that Yamaha had to build a "pulse" into it so it shook a little. The wide "beach bike" handlebars make have the cables hidden inside them and give you a comfortable and easy riding position. There are two sparkplugs per cylinder for complete ignition and max combustion efficiency. The frame is aluminum so the bike is amazingly stiff and you can throw it around pretty easily for a big cruiser. Like all modern bikes, it's fuel injected, computerized with oxygen sensors and LED taillights. I personalized mine with some cool aftermarket parts but the D&D slip-on muffler made a significant performance improvement. On the downside, gas mileage is only about 44 mpg combined city/highway. I just came back from Daytona Beach bike week and got tons of complements on my bike.
- dave, jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-29 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a Dragstar which I thought was a great bike but after colliding into a crash barrier (The Barrier won)I was bikeless. After about 6 months with the insurance paying out I looked to the Roadstar and boy was it worth the wait. Far far superior to the Drag. Smoother, more comfortable, and beleive or not, easier to handle. Only poor point is the MPG more expensive than my Merc but wow what a ride!
- the GOG, Bedford, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-19 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Visually beautiful bike. Mechanically perfect, so far (3000 miles). Riding by myself, the bike handles and performs impeccably. Riding two up is ok, but highway performance is lacking. My wife and I are a 350 lb package and anything over 60 mph seems to be a struggle for the drivetrain. The seats are good for about 45 minutes drivetime, without a break. Other than the highway, limited top end, the bike has been wonderful. Not to mention the bargain basement price.
- ccjj100, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-15 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have this bike & 07 Harley Davidson Custom Deluxe. Like the Harley, Love the Yamaha. On trips over 100 miles, this was always bike of choice, but now finding this bike getting used 75 percent of time. Guess it's time to sell the Harley. I am sold on this bike.
- E. C., Corpus Christi, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-29 2006 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had this bike for 2 years and enjoyed it immensely. The 3" Hard Kromes were extremely loud! Loved it. Not so much the neighbours! Torgue was awesome and no problems to speak of. Engine rattle was hard to ignore but several mechanics said it was normal so I just let it rap away. Besides the pipes pretty much drowned out the knocks.
- Bill Plancke, Burlington, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-19 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2006 V Star 650 Classic in September 2009. It's a perfect fit for my size, like others have commented...not too big, not too small. Corners great, suspension is very forgiving of the bad Dallas roads (potholes galore and I haven't bottomed out yet), and the weight is perfect. Every chance I get to take a twisty road I take it, it's a blast on this bike! Only 2 complaints: 1) exhaust was too quiet 2)clutch lever/friction zone way out there at the end of lever travel. Both were easily fixed. that's one thing I love about this bike is there are more and more aftermarket components being released. Overall, I am very satisfied. A lot of people often mistake it for an HD Fatboy (I removed all badging for a cleaner look). I'm quick to correct them and they usually respond....a Yamaha? Really? :)
- John, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-18 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Midnight Venture Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over 350000 miles in 40yrs of riding on the road and I saved the best for last. It just don't get any better than VENTURE. One ride on this bike will get it done.
- richard drake, ada, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-09 2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lots of motorcycle for the $$! Starts every time on the first revolution of crankshaft regardless of temp. With stage 1 installed, (pipes, intake, advanced cdi) pulls like mad at 10,000 ft asl. Rode up MT. Evans 14,000 ft, will smoke rear tire without holding front brake. Ride with H.D.'s on highway at altitude. They Just fall behind....Good looking too. R.
- Rick Woods, Keystone , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-30 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got over 2,000 miles on my '07 Strat and can confirm that the reviews in this forum are an accurate description of the Star Stratoliner S. Yamaha put a huge amount of research and development into creating the Roadliner/Stratoliner and no significant improvements have been necessary since it's introduction in '06. Even though it's air cooled, the dry sump, oil cooler, and other internal innovations reduce heat so that the huge engine runs much cooler than one might expect. My dealer said you should get over 200,000 miles before needing any major engine work! One concept that hasn't been mentioned is that the Stratoliner could be viewed as two bikes in one. It's got huge amounts of torque for a very satisfying bottom end and that classic cruiser feel...cruising along at 2,000-3,500 rpm is a very relaxed, comfortable experience. However, if you want to hit the throttle, the bike wakes up and becomes a monster...extremely fast and agile for a bike this big/heavy! The adrenalin rush from 2,000 rpm to 5,000 rpm is immediate and significant...more like a high rpm sports bike than a cruiser. There may be faster motorcycles out there, but the Roadliner/Stratoliner has more power/speed than any sane person would ever want. For the rest of us...it's got just what we need!
- Kevin Rochat, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-12 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Fit and finish is top notch. Gobs of power. Very well engineered. The seat is pretty darn firm and the reach to the handle bars is pretty long and I have long arms to begin with. Other than the seat and the reach, this is the perfect bike. The removable windshield and back rest come off and go on very easy and stay put when attached. Head light is bright and the chrome and attention to detail is fantastic. The gas mileage is comparable to the other bikes this size which is 33 mpg around town (would be better but I can't stop twisting the throttle wide open) and 42 highway. It would be great if the gas tank was 1 gal bigger so fuel stops would fall in-line with the rest of the pack but it is what it is. The windshield does a great job of blocking most of the wind. If I compare this to other comparable bike and rate on scale of 1 - 10 it would go like this. HD - 6, suzuki boulevard - 7, honda vtx 1800 - 8, victory - 7, Stratoliner - 9, no bike is a 10 so don't get your hopes up to see one listed here. They all have their faults.
- Claytonthebrain, Cambridge, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-31 2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I chose the '06 V-Star, 1100cc for my first bike. I just bought it last week and it is awesome! Great from a stop, handles very well. I know I will enjoy years of riding on this bike!!! I have looked at many bikes in the past month and this was my ultimate choice.
- Steven Koldys, Springfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-27 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my Road Star for 2 1/2 years and had not one issue with it. It is very comfortable, plenty of power and even though is over three years old, it is still more powerful than the newest Harley's out there; they are still trying to catch up with Yamaha! Definitely a must have for long trips as it is very forgiving and looks great on the road!
- Carlos, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-24 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded my midweight (900vn) in for the 06 Strat last Nov. Had 6,000 mi on it at purchase. Just completed 5,000 mi RT from Houston to Tacoma, WA via midwest, Montana, Idaho, etc. On some interstates I cruised at 85 to 90 for 2-3 hr stretches. The Yami performed flawlessly. I can't begin to explain what an incredible performer this bike is. Over mtn. passes (11,000 ft. Monarch in CO, for example) on twisties, in 100 degree plus heat, never a miss. I will add fairing when I can afford it, but for now, I'll keep enjoying every pulse of the strats powerhouse twin, its balance and smoothness. A big TX 'hats off' to Yamaha for making the best cruiser you can ride.
- Woodlands Rider, The Woodlands, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-09 2006 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 33 years old and never had a bike growing up. I always knew I wanted one so this is the one I got! Love it, rides good and has enough power for a new driver like myself. What I like best is the balance it seems effortless to move around. Vibration on the highway is noticeable at 120km/hr but does not wreck the experience for me. New riders this is the bike for you!
- Big Jay, balgonie, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-30 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the most comfortable and fun motorcycle that I have ever had the opportunity to ride. My last bike was a Suzuki and I find the difference to be like going from a VW Bug to a Cadillac. I look forward to riding my Road Star each and every day.
- Clint, Lake Worth , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-22 2006 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my second bike. But I have ridden several different bikes. This is a great bike it's got comfort, style and plenty of torque. The only thing missing is a sixth gear. Who needs horse power when you have vast amounts of torque? I have raced a few Harley's such as a roadking, fatboy, and streetglide and beat them all. I rode the newer 2008-09 roadstar and wasn't impressed. The fuel injection isn't as good and they cut some of the bulk out of the bike and it takes away from the feel. If you want a beefy, powerful, great looking bike then buy an older roadstar. Oh yeah and there are TONS of accessories for this bike.
- Ryan, Louisville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-21 2006 Yamaha Roadliner Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Check this out! My wife bought me the bike for my 50th. It has a powerband at any rpm. It handles better much better than smaller bikes. This bike kicks butt!
- joe, red bluff, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: