Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes Reviews (29)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-04 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Highs - The modern UJM - it does almost everything OK, and many things very well. It's a tremendous value. - It handles light touring and two-up riding. - It's nice upright riding position soothes my aching mid-forties back (after the past several years on sport bikes). - It's a very reasonable sporting alternative to an all-out sport bike. - The engine pours on the power above 8,000 rpm. and up past 13,000. - It has a light, easy and consistent shifter. - The Harleys can't keep up. - It's 100% reliable over four years and 4,000+ miles. - It's averaged 55-60 mpg so far. Lows - It could use a bit more torque at low rpms. - The clutch is a little tricky off the line (minimal freeplay). - The seat height is a bit tough on my inseam. - You should use both headlights on low/high beam. - The suspension could have more adjustments. - The brakes will fade a bit in the twisties.
- T. McConnell, Waukesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-12 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in 2010 PO did a wonderful job of upgrades to front suspension with R6 forks and front brake calipers and braided lines, LSL sliders, Fender Elim. heated grips, FZ1 bars, Puig screen. Handles tight corners extremely well with bike leaned over. Throttle and clutch takes getting used to as throttle is small tolerances and clutch is short to engage. Rear brakes maybe too good as locking up rear tire is too easy to achieve. I recommend using only fronts as they're good enough to stop the bike with 2 fingers without losing traction. Initially thought seat was stiff but after 1700 mi trip with no pain feel seat is perfect. Bike handled high desert crosswinds, drenching rains, and snow like a pro. 50-60mpg average. My friend's 06 Honda CBR F4i was only getting 37-40mpg.
- Kern, Union City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-13 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 8th bike and is by far the most exciting one. I also own a XVS-1100 that stays parked most of the time because the FZ is such a joy to ride. She handles the twistys well, runs like a scalded cat (156 mph indicated), and looks great. The only drawback is that butt killin' seat! I plan to customize it myself soon. Still, all in all, I love this bike.
- Kenny DuBois, Freeport, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been without a bike for a year until I finally decided on this one. I'm able to sit up or lay on the tank at higher speeds. I can keep up with the rockets no problem or blend in with the cruisers at the lower RPM scale. This bike really comes alive at 9000 rpm, being the red line is at 14000. You have to be careful though once you get to cozy with it, you won't realize how fast your going until you see the strobes in the mirror. I took it for a 500 mile trip and got the expected sore backside but the bike did well.
- Gamet, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my FZ6 for a little over a year, and have absolutely ZERO complaints. Great gas mileage, fast (enough for me anyway), sexy, and still as fun as the first day I got it. I originally wanted an R6, and still do, but I'll hold on to this baby for quite a while. Couldn't recommend a better first bike!
- Jeremiah, La Jolla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just purchased my 06 FZ6S 2nd hand with 3500 kays on it & all I can say at this stage is WOW! Very light, super nimble, useable midrange & a lovely, intoxicating howl up top. Front end tries to leave the tarmac in 1st & 2nd & gets quite light in 3rd too! The best thing about this bike, in my opinion, is that it is completely user friendly. I stepped onto this after 5 years off from riding & by the end of the test ride it had all come back to me. It is fun, friendly, fast enough & completely un-intimidating. A better example of a UJM I cannot imagine. I cannot fault the handling, brakes are progressive & sharp, engine is willing & smooth & the fuel injection means that hot or cold are the same, responsive! If I had to be really picky, the engine produces a noticeable vibration around the 5-6K range & the clutch take up is extremely narrow. But have already gotten used to this & it doesn't detract from what I believe is a truly astounding package for the money. I can hardly get through the day without taking it out & have no plans except to enjoy it. If you're considering a sports machine but don't like the idea of the 'racing crouch' or if you're just plain sick of heavy & hard to move machines (ala 1200 Bandit), then give the FZ6 a try, you won't be disappointed! Will post an update when have gone for a long tour up the NSW coast. Until then, see you around.
- Chris, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was between the FZ6 and the Honda 599. I went with the FZ6 after reading reviews online. I can say all reviews were right except the negative! I purchased a 2006 FZ6 after riding a 1986 VF500F Interceptor. I can tell you a lot has changed in the last 20 years. The ride is smooth. I can barely feel small bumps in the road and railroad tracks are smooth riding as well. The review about the FZ6 being faster than the SV650 are true as well. I faced off with a friend who has an SV650. He beat me off the line, but by the time I was half way through 2nd I blew him outta the water. My 14k redline was no match for him. The FZ6 is an amazing machine and easily worth the money when compared to the Honda 599. The FZ6 gives you a half fairing that deals with the oncoming wind excellently. The underseat exhaust looks great and sounds great and I don't have a problem with high heat. Also, a side note for anybody looking to put saddle bags on it. I purchased a set of saddle bags and they work perfectly. No problem with heat what-so-ever. The bags even came with bags to cover them in case of rain. I can't begine to tell you all the things I love about this bike...you'll just have to test ride one or go out and BUY IT!!!! P.S. My only problem with Yamaha on the FZ6, NO HELMET HOLDER ON THE 2006!
- Corey, Green Bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-27 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for nearly 20 years and have had everything from trail to cruisers and sports bikes. I Recently up graded from the 98 Fazer to the FZ6. This is by far the best bike I have had the privilege of owning. Only thing is the seat but that doesn't surprise me for all the millions of dollars of research they still can't make a comfy seat. The clutch is tight but not a problem. As for the seat I have had it reupholstered with softer foam at little cost. This bike and I will be together for a long time. SMOOTH LINES.....
- troy maddison, Adelaide, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike after a 10 year absence and all I can say WOW! It's like I never left riding, it all came back and I couldn't be happier. It's nimble and easy to ride, I can't wait to get it broke in (10 miles so far).
- G.A. Henderson, Longview, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my FZ for over a year now, I have over 9,000 miles on it and haven't had one problem. The stock Bridgestones still have a lot of tread left. Bike still feels new. I do all my own maintenance. I have changed oil twice so far and I need to replace spark plugs asap according to owners manual. It's pretty much stock except for rear fender eliminator ala Ebay. Looks much nicer. The bike has good wind protection and handles like a dream and carves nice. Throttle is a bit twitchy, not much low end grunt but at mid range and top end, this bike is WICKED!!Thanks to its R6 mill. My best bike yet. I plan on riding it to the ground. I'm not some poser that needs the latest technobike. This bike will always stand out in the looks dept, with its fairing, undertail exhaust, center stand etc..If this were made by BMW, DUC, or TRIUMPH, I would have to have it. I would have paid more for it than I did!! This is the perfect motorcycle for me. RIDE SAFE!!
- Stevo, L.A. county, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-07 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my FZ last week and though I wasn't sure if it would suit me I am VERY pleased. I've ridden all my life and my last bike was a gixxer 1100 back in 94. My wife and I had several discussions regarding what kind of bike to get becuase she has metal rods in her back and can't ride a full on crotch rocket and we were on a certain range of budget. I was leaning toward the SV1000 but she tried to ride on the back with me and it hurt her. She started wanting me to get a cruiser but I knew I could find some common ground. Thus the FZ6, she loves it and so do I. I want lowers for it and a better seat. Otherwise the bike is very smooth and good-looking. I'm just in break in mileage so I haven't got into it too much. My drive to work is about 18 miles hwy, and home I take the hills and enjoy every minute of it. I consider myself to be a very good rider who has ridden many bikes and although I would like to have a CBR1000 or new R1, this bike has made me a believer in less is more.
- marvin, cedar park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-27 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike a few days ago and at first, I didn't think this bike had any punch to it and the steering felt a bit loose (light) compared to the cruisers I've owned. (XVS1100 for 1) Then I had the opportunity to nail the throttle and at speed, this little baby is rock solid and straight as an arrow. At first, my arms ached a little, but now my arms are used to the slightly bent forward position and but now my body adjusted and I don't feel the ache anymore. This is a great bike for me to learn the sporty side of the motorcycle equation and it looks like I'll keep this bike a while before I upgrade to a sportier bike. It rides great at slow speeds, but pick it up a notch and you'll be riding a nice little missile.
- Sanbiker, vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-25 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike brand new, having never been on a 600 before. I crashed it 5 mins later. (Rookie mistake) Minor damage, dent on the gas tank and cracked part of the front cowling. Got back on it, took a breather and off I went. Never looking back. At first, first gear is a little stiff and think that's part of the reason I crashed, but after breaking it in a little more, it rides like a dream. Powerband is a little low on the lower RPM range but that's perfect for starters like me. Once you get more comfortable, be ready for the kick it has at a higher RPM. Overall the bike is possibly the best beginner bike for the price and ride qualitiy. I love this bike, now I truly know what I have been missing all these years riding in a cage. And now all the riding I want to do is on my bike. Thank you Yamaha.
- Moises, Long Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-18 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It seems that the more miles I put on my bike, the greater the power and torque. In the first couple thousand miles I tried to pull the front wheel off the ground and could not get any lift. A friend of mine who is a more advanced rider than I even tried and failed. Now that it has over 4,000 miles, that front end comes off with the flick of the wrist.(a little too easy) I'm trying hard now to keep the front end down. I still love my bike but I am getting interested in a cruiser style bike. I think I may get into trouble with a bike this sporty. I'm liking the Yamaha Midnight Warrior. Lets see what the future holds. Keep riding!
- Donnie, Palm Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-05 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my FZ6 new in April 04. Great canyon carving in San Diego where I used to live...the replica racers could only pull away if they really worked at it. Since this was just my second bike, I didn't know too much at the time. don't get me wrong, this is an awesome bike (great comfort, cornerning, brakes, looks). However, for me, the lack of torque/linear powerband does not cut it. The bike has basically no power until you get over 7000 rpm's. Then, at that point there is a surge of power. I'd rather have something with consistent power and with torque. I always find myself having to downshift to get the power I'd like to have on demand. Also, the buzziness of the bike is bad (contrary to what others may tell you, it doesn't have to be like that). I'm probably going to see/trade it in for a vtwin of some sort...maybe not even a sport bike since I live in Texas now and most of the roads are all straight aways so it doesn't make much sense to have a canyon carver type. Also considering the SV650 but I think it's underpowered from what I've read so I'll probablly look at the 1000.
- Erik, San Diego/Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-26 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With only 650 miles on it, I am still breaking it in. It does everything I want in a mid size bike. It has a bit of vibration at 5500 RPM's but is smooth at 70 MPH. The transmission requires a bit of effort to shift but is not really a problem if you keep it in mind. It has been a quality machine and I can't wait to rev it to the 14000 RPM redline to hear it scream.
- Stephen Sanford, Wake Village, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-18 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the 06 FZ6 as a first bike and to replace my gas guzzlin cager. Considered the R-6 as a possibility, but after seeing the bike in person I knew I needed a "bigger" bike. I researched all possible first bikes, and I knew that buying a smaller 250cc bike would be a financial disaster. Because I would be unhappy fast with power and speed. So I went down to a few dealerships to shop prices and was completely turned off to most all of the popular bikes(due to sticker shock.) I couldnt see spending 3-6k on a used either. Based on a referral to a further away dealership, I drove a few miles out of the way and found a large selection of Yamaha and Suzuki bikes. I talked with an awesome salesman that showed me the differences in the bikes and based on the info I gave him he suggested the FZ6. I liked the price point as well! Long story shortened, I bought the bike & was deathly afraid of riding it until after my MSF course. I now have ridden the bike everywhere, and try to find reasons to go out and ride. The bike has great in city riding characteristics with no bad tendencies. Corners well, brakes awesome, accelerates at a comfortable rate unless you really get on it. My only complaint is the seat. That thing is uncomfortable! Mind you I have not an ounce of fat on me, so it's not like I'm bottoming out the cushioning. In fact, if anything I should be floating on it like a cloud. No, my bottom goes numb after just a few short miles, and no amount of repositioning can fix it. I am now considering paying $350 on a new seat. Everything else about this bike is awesome. If you are new to the scene and want a good sporty bike without a race position, move this bike to the top and compare all others to it as a benchmark. You wont be dissappointed...
- Edogg, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my FZ6 for 2,700 miles and almost 5 months now and I love that bike! It's a head turner and I often get comments on its body. It looks better in person than the pics lead you to believe. People stop me all the time to ask about this bike. It handles great and is plenty fast. Not quite as high top speed as a pure track bike such as an R6, etc, but I've had mine to 153 mph on at least two occasions (No more of that though). It's got a custom gel seat installed by first owner and I like that a lot. Very reliable bike. I like the fuel injection and the comfort of this bike is much better than most sport bikes. This bike is suitable as a high performer, a sport-tourer (even two up is great for 100+miles), or a commuter. It's fun and good for nearly every condition and performs better than any cruiser. My wife has an SV650 and that bike is more forgiving and requires less aggressive riding, but doesn't do everything that this does.
- Seth, Greenville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a fantastic bike. Good seat, good ergonomics, useful mirrors, excellant finish, easy to read digital speedo/tach, economical (I'm averaging 55mpg), fuel injection, underseat exhaust, good motor and a center stand!!!!! There is some vibration around the 5/6000rpm range but this more or less goes away once broken in. For my day to day riding, the "budget suspension" works just fine. The clutch takes a bit of getting used to (narrow bite area) but works just fine. There's a boat load of power higher up the rev range (for those who want it) but more than enough (imo) below 7000rpm. I use mine to commute to work and it's great for this purpose. Yamaha calls the FZ6 the "swiss army knife of bikes" and for once the marketing slogan is spot on. For the money, the FZ6 can't be beaten.
- Dave, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-15 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just wanted to let the tall guys out there know to not be afraid of this one. I am 6'6" and have room on this bike. I had heard that before I went and looked at one and was glad to see I was not cramped. Good choice for an all around fun sport bike.
- Brad L, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-15 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is just about perfect. I ride with some really good sport bike riders who all have some serious machines. This bike has more than enough power to keep up with ANY sportbike. It's not a track bike mind you, but on the street, twisties and highway no one will loose you. Let's face it, how many guys ride 150+ on the street and if you plan on going that fast you need to get to the track. I've seen complaints about the seat and suspension but the seat is fine and better than most seats I've sat on. And for the suspension, it's as good as you can ask for at this price and probably better than everything else at this price. Bottom line, this bike performs, is comfortable and unless you are a true expert who plans on many track days it just can't be beat. I also used to have an sv650 and the 650 does NOT have the same level of performance as the Yamaha. I think I also get most of the complements on the looks as well. Hope this helps for those interested.
- Joe, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-14 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my FZ6 in Feb 05. I have 6500 miles on it . This is a great bike, performance and confort is unmatched, best bike in it's class. I would by another one tomorrow.
- Greg, st louis , Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-28 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched and rode several different bikes from big cruisers to crotch rockets. The big cruisers were heavy and handled terribly. The crotch rockets were uncomfortable and extremely fast. It was between the Honda 599 and the FZ6. I chose the 2006 FZ6 because of the fuel injection and the comfort. What a great choice I made. This is my first bike and it makes me feel like I've been riding for years. The only problem I have is that my right hand goes numb after 40 miles of riding (still working that problem out).
- Jeff Skittenhelm, memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-14 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is ready at ignition to roll and scream! After 2 years & 7 thousand miles I have not had any trouble. Most assuredly the FZ6 does not rattle, vibrate, or need warm up time!!! By the way, this reviewer has had more than a couple of bikes....The FZ6 is top notch...
- shytownbb, redding, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm completely satisfied with this bike as my first street bike. Only faults I have is that it "clunks" when dropping down into first much louder/harder than you'd expect and in bumper to bumper traffic the clutch lever pull makes your left hand tired due to it taking a pretty strong pull. It starts/runs great, handles great, brakes great, looks good.....glad I bought it. And I get between 40 to 44 mpg. Even like the OEM Bridgestone BT20 tires.
- Chris B., Snellville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: