Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (51)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-02-26 2006 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. I'm smaller then most but this bike fits great. I have found that this bike is great on the track and on the tight trails.
- Jake, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-05 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike absolutely rips. It shuts down all other 125's and can keep the 250's easy!! Buy it!
- Nick R, Fort dodge, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-27 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sweet powerband, awesome suspension, and extremely lightweeight compared to the four strokes. Great job Yamaha!
- Johnboy, Agat, Guam

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-17 2006 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used and it has some pretty good mods on it, but the bike handles great and has great HOLESHOT power and jumps like a champ. It is a very reliable bike if you maintain it well. The only problem I had with it is a little piece of gunk in the carburetor. Other than that it has never quit on me. Great bike!
- cord, citra, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-17 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 2006 YZ250F and bought it after riding 125s and some 250 2 strokes over 30 years. I figured everyone was gushing over them, and they must be great. The 250F was fun in some ways, but I never felt confident on the bike. It did not turn, despite getting the Dubach kit, and I was always saving my pennies for the day it blew its guts. My lap times were slower on it than I was on my 2004 YZ125. My son wanted a 2 stroke YZ250 so I bought this bike and figured I would ride it. The next day, my 250F was up for sale. This bike is easier to ride than a thumper and corners way better, and it feels about 20 pounds lighter. I will never go back to 4 strokes. I race over 40 Vet int.class. Great job Yamaha, this bike rocks!
- K Skeen, SLC, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-19 2006 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Okay this is an HONEST review, not just best bike ever!!! This bike is fast and very jumpy. This bike is great only if you could handle a race bike. This bike is so jumpy that my brother who rides a YZ250F, thinks it is too jumpy for him. I really like it though. One of the only bad things on this bike is the seat. On Saint Patricks Day I rode so hard I broke the seat off!! I just went off a jump and then it was only half on? Maybe it's one in a million things, but I'm not sure. Maybe it's just because I took my side panels off? The seat isn't that comfortable but it's very controllable. I stand up a lot anyways. The powerband is well, great!! Look, this is a great bike and I recommend this to anyone beetween the hieght of 4 ft.5in.-5ft.4in.
- Robert, pahrump, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2006 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine back in May. Rode it around the pasture for about an hour...loaded it up in the trailer and hauled it and some others out to Arizona where I ran it on a 3.5 hour trip through the hot desert! Never a complaint from it! It was a pure pleasure to ride. Later that week, we went to the local track where I rode it for almost 3 hours straight! Love it! Turned it in in October to get the valves replaced by Yamaha and it runs like the proverbial clock!
- Tom Stewart, Wetumpka, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2006 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. I have the 2006 50th anniversary YZ250F (Black & Gold). The suspension is great, it rips through the woods great and even on the motocross track, it's great! I would recommend choosing the YZ250F! I am 20 yrs old and this is fast enough for me. I'd probably kill myself on a 450F, haha! This is a great bike! GO YAMAHA!!!
- Matt Novak, Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2006 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best 85cc out there. The first time I rode it, I nailed on the gas and the powerband kicked in and it flipped on top of me. Therefore this bike is extremely fast.
- joe, brookfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a year ago and it rips. I have it set up for trails and eduro type riding. I came off a 2004 YZ250f and this is way better. It's lighter and has lots of power. I would suggest buying this over a 250F.
- John, prince george

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the bike for 4 months and several MX practice sessions. It's a power monster. When it's on the pipe, I can keep up with 450s. It does take some skill to moderate the power band - it's very fierce. I find myself struggling midcorner sometimes as the power comes in very hard. Very reliable, but it does need a good spark plug to work. I find the seat a little hard after a full day of riding - but that is a small complaint. Can't beat that 2-stroke sound.
- Carl Stringer, West Palm beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-16 2006 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my YZ about a year ago and I had it for awhile and my friend got a CRF250R and I didn't think I could keep up with him so I wanted to get a 250 but I just rode around with him a few times and realized this bike is plenty quick to keep up with a 250. It is a great bike for wheelies, has a good balance point and is easy to keep up. I have only flipped it once and it was pretty good. I slid out of my riding pants and it went over and broke the rear fender and bent the bars a bit but other than that it is a great jumper. I made a 35ft double no prob with not even half throttle in 3rd gear coming out of a turn. It is a great bike and you should get one if you think you can handle this beast.
- cody, East Peoria, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-03 2006 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a sick bike. It does everything well. It is a little bit hard to get it to whip around turns and it is a little heavy. Otherwise, it's a sick ride.
- Nick , East Hampton, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-23 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha has done a swell job on this machine. It's faster than you can think, or want, plus it's light. If you are a two stroke fan, it's the bike to go with. I love it. I haven't touched the motor in a year of racing and hard practicing and it still wants to rip out of my hands. And no, it didn't slowly get a little slower so I didn't notice. It's still just as fast as it ever was. I've never owned a bike like this one. Nice job Yamaha. Nice job!!!!
- David West, Lagrange, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2006 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my YZ 85 about 1 year ago. I have just about everything done to it. I will out run 125's like nothing. If you want a bike that will scream and out run anyone else, buy a YAMAHA.
- Hank Watkins, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-14 2006 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last time I rode competitively was in 1985 on an '83 YZ250...Bob Hannah was all the rage. Yamaha was about 7 years into the Monoshock, and aluminum frames were only seen on 2001: A Space Odessy...well a 7 year old son will get your juices flowing again and we are about to kick off a father/son tradition that will have us together every weekend, he on his TTR50 and me on my YZ450F. What a bike! While I miss the whah, whah of the two stroke, the equal distribution of power throughout the band on this four stroke is incredible. I find it a lot easier zipping around the track and not having to work through so many gears...the handling is ultra smooth. Yamaha was always my choice back in the day, and I'm glad I've gone back.
- Anthony Perrotta, Red Bank, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-08 2006 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden many other bikes but none as fast and powerful as this. The 250F Yamaha is great! The strongest pulling motor all the way up to over rev. This bike pulls and keeps pulling. This bike is balanced very well and has AWESOME suspension. If you're looking for a good bike, I recommend going with Yamaha. Ready to race right out of the crate.
- Travis Coleman, Fedscreek, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-23 2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the 06 YZ 250 and have enjoyed every second of it. It is a great bike even in stock form. It handles great, very fast, and is easy to work on. I hope that Yamaha keeps making this bike for years. Very easy to upgrade with after market parts, should you choose to. This bike loves to fly and handles turns like it is on rails. I have been riding 2 stoker's for 30+ years and this bike is 1 of the best there is.
- S Williams, Grapevine, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-23 2006 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently sold my 2003 YZ450F and picked up a new 2006 YZ250F. The 250 is SO much more user friendly than the 450 was. The 450F was an AWESOME bike, but it was a lot of work to ride. If you made a tiny mistake, you paid for it. The 250F is just as capable for me, and WAY easier to ride. It is more fun to ride because it is so easy to get it to do what I want it to do. The bike has enough power that is very linear, and the new suspension is OUTSTANDING!!! The new fork is truly a top performing unit, and the new shock with low and hi speed compresion is GREAT!!!
- Jimi, Mountain Home, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-14 2006 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far, this is the best bike I've ever ridden. I've owned 6 Yamahas over the years and this thing is head and shoulders above the rest. It turns on a dime, the brakes are perfect and the adjustability of the Pro Tapers are phenomenal. The power delivery is smooth and predictable. It cranks easier than any two stroke I've ever kicked. Only complaint for me, as with every new bike I get is that the suspension is too soft for my weight. Once I get the heavy duty springs it'll be perfect.
- Walt Gilreath, Lincolnton, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-26 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just came off a fully modded 2003 yz125 and got the o6 yz125. The first time I rode I noticed it was unbelievably faster than the 03. It handled 500% better and I was more confident entering corners because of the 15 pound difference. Now when I ride my modded 03 I feel like I'm on an old 80cc two stroke. My 03 is equiped with race tech susp and the 06 is way better. I wish I could rate it higher.
- joe, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-23 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, to start Bobby recommended this bike over a YZ250F to be my transitional bike from a YZ85. He's been there since my first bike (TTR-90) and somehow was able to teach me to actually listen to my dad, because most of the time my dad knew what he was talking about but I didn't believe until Bobby told me. He is always there to offer technical and mechanical tips and always finds a way to squeeze me into the shop to repair my bike before my next race. This brings up the bike portion of my review. This is a great bike to ride. For the first year of riding I realized it had plenty of power to do all of the gaps I was doing. However, I started racing this year and I absolutely love it. I race 125C and 125JR at Lake Geneva Raceway every Friday. I started at 23rd place at the beginning of the year and moved up to getting 4th place. As my needs increased because I was starting to push this bike to its limits I was troubled by a certain 65ft double. I was all of 3rd gear and 4th would cause the power to drop and I would nosedive. So my one suggestion is instead of gearing 48 in the rear to stock equip it with a 50 tooth (Bobby's advice). This increase allowed me the extra power I needed to clear the double and now I can clear it and then some, and if I'm feeling a little to cocky I'll try to throw a whip (NEEDS WORK) =). ***Thanks Bobby***
- Joe Popp, Waukeska, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever owned. It's an absolute blast. What shocked me the most is how smooth the power is. Very fun, fast, and easy to ride. Any one will love this bike.I was a four stroke fan, but not after I got this thing. LONG LIVE TWO STROKES!!!!!
- Brandon, Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-17 2006 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very good torque around the corners. Suspension perfect for moto or enduro. Easy to fix. The bad things are that the pipe sticks out a little to far and sometimes burns you and is hard to find the right combination of oil and gas. Doesn't suck up a lot of gas - only have gone through 3 and a half tanks. It beats all of my friends and really throws some rocks.
- Nick, Columbia, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-16 2006 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my YZ85 and so far I love it. It's fast and can keep up with the bigger bikes. In my opinion it is the best bike in it's class.If you want something that is fast and reliable get the YZ85.
- Taylor C., New Haven, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: