Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

9 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

dthorny

Phoenix, Arizona

Reviewed on 2012-01-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my Road Star Silverado new for Christmas 2006 (thank you wife) and have enjoyed it for many miles. I occasionally commute to SoCal for work, 740 miles round trip, and have not had any breakdown issues. We just completed a 3,900 mile ride to Memphis, Tennessee and had one minor issue: I added a BAK recently and an adjustable PMS screw. At 100 miles west of Albuerquerque, NM, I lost the PMS screw (I failed to install the spring and washer that holds in the screw) and had to pull the choke at idle or the bike would stall. With a 50-mile tail wind, high elevation and no PMS, I got 59 mpg!!! The bike runs trouble free and the engine mods give this bike some get up and go in the midrange with tons of low end torque, over 102 ft. lbs. at the rear wheel.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick Woods

Keystone , Colorado

Reviewed on 2010-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Lots of motorcycle for the $$! Starts every time on the first revolution of crankshaft regardless of temp. With stage 1 installed, (pipes, intake, advanced cdi) pulls like mad at 10,000 ft asl. Rode up MT. Evans 14,000 ft, will smoke rear tire without holding front brake. Ride with H.D.'s on highway at altitude. They Just fall behind....Good looking too. R.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Wayne

Airdrie, Alberta

Reviewed on 2007-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding motorcycles off and on for the past 30 years. I bought my Road Star in August 2006 well let me tell you if you purchase this bike you won't regret it. It has endless power and is very smooth. No vibration and handles like a dream. I've changed the exhaust pipes to vance and hines long shots, changed the stock seat to the Mustang seat (very comfortable), and added lots of chrome accessories. This bike turns heads even at the Harley dealer. The only problem that I had with the bike is the the bar that holds the running lights and the signal lights on fell off just as I was getting home from a ride - broke off right at the weld. Luckily I caught the bar just before it was about to land on my front fender. Called up Yamaha right away, they told me they had a problem with that type of light bar and reassured me that it wouldn't happen again. The dealership sent someone out the next day to pick up the bike and was fixed the same day. Now that's customer service! Thank you Yamaha. Once again this a fantastic motorcycle. See you on the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dave

St. Johnsville, New York

Reviewed on 2007-03-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Kinda of favor Yamaha, but from coming from a Yamaha FZ6, which is a great bike in it's own ranks, I didn't know what I was missing. No wind noise, smooth, and comfortable. I added right off, chrome fender tips, slash cut COBRA pipes and highway pegs. 1700 CC Monster... No pork here.. It's a riders bike....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

scott

findlay, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-08-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've ridden Harleys and Gold Wings all my life. I must say I was very suprised when I test rode this bike . 1 week later I had one in the garage. So far it has been very dependable, lots of power and torque. I love the looks of it. Also, with some headlight and turn sinal visors, a little extra chrome, it has that ole' school look I love. Harley heritage riders have to take a second look.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Darren

Croydon, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Road Star I got is perfect. With the 1600 engine for the power, how could you go wrong. The bike had only 8000 miles when I bought it but now it has just over 13000 miles from riding. Repair wise so far has only been brake pads and oil change. A couple of stripped out screws but no big deal. The people at the dealership were all very friendly and helpful with me making the Road Star my bike. I would go back to them again for my next bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Paul

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-08-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2006 Road Star midnight Silverado after riding a friends for about 30 miles one day. I dumped my Harley and had the Road Star two weeks later. The bike has been trouble free and gets more comfortable every day it is ridden. I have an 80 mile round trip commute daily to work. I have taken it to the Rocky Mountains of Colorado for Star Days 2006. 2430 miles round trip. This ride included a couple of 500 mile days. Only complaint is the passenger pillon could be a little more comfortable for passengers. The bike had good power with two people and large touring bag on backrest. Fuel milage is good. Have not broken 50mpg yet but I do get very close when ridden with care. I think this is the best ride for my money.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Barry

Greensboro, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2006-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought the bike one month ago and had the dealer install Mustang seats and straight pipes (Double D.) The bike sounds and rides like a charm. With the Mustang seats I can ride for hours with no fanny or back fatigue. I love the looks of the bike and get plenty of compliments. Lots of power and torque. Only one problem. On the turns if you lean a reasonable amount you hit the drag plate which is disconcerting and potentially dangerous.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Charles Cox

Odessa, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-06-09

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Road Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I walked in and picked out this bike last winter I really did not know what a wonderful experience I was about to have. I have been hitting the road on the weekends going a little over one hundred miles at a time. Talk about fun those little trips have been. Taking in the bike rallies and poker runs. I love this bike. Every one thinks it's a Harley. (Grin)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 9 of 9 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: