Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha Roadliner S Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

21 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim

Norco, California

Reviewed on 2014-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
In the Motorcycle Safety Training class, the instructors tell you that riding a motorcycle is inherently fun. So therefore there is no reason to go crazy on the road or make your bike anything more than it already is, because you are already having fun. You do, however, want your bike to do what you want it to do. that's what the Roadliner S gets accomplished. You want power, it's there. You want good ergos, it's there. You want a stiff frame that doesn't do anything it isn't supposed to, you got it. With so many choices out there, I am sure there are other bikes that do something or the other better than the Roadliner S, but if you appreciate the complete package of feel it in your seat acceleration, a superb chasis, unique and beautiful styling and unsurpassed reliability, this has to be, without a doubt, the bike for you. It is for me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bikerstar

Daytona Beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Wow. That would be enough to say about this bike. I recently purchased a new 2006 Roadliner and sold a 2005 VStar 1100. I will not compare the two because you can not. The 'liner' is powerful, smooth, rattle-free and stops on a dime from any speed. The brakes are flawless and do not pull or squeal. The paint and fit and finish is perfect. One bad thing is the seat - it sucks. The torque has to be experienced to appreciate it - I can only say there is a LOT of it in any gear. I had the bike dynoed last week and it has 91HP at the rear wheels and 109 lb/ft torque at stock from the box. I have owned several bikes (two Harleys - 1200 Sportster and a Road King - among them) and I can easily state that no other bike I have owned is even close to this bike. This is a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

linerider

Vermont

Reviewed on 2007-07-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Re-entry rider after 20 year layoff. Have had FZ1, VTX 1800 and 1300, Roadstar 1600, KLR 650, V-Strom 650, XR650L, and a Zuma scooter all in last few years. I want to like cruisers but until now have not been happy with the dump truck like handling. The Roadliner is not exactly nimble, but it handles better than the others. Riding the twisties is fun and doable, with little floorboard scaping. It holds a corner and doesn't wobble or stray. The motor is awesome, no big burst of power at any one point, but super torque right from the bottom. Have not hit the rev limiter yet, something you can do easily on the Roadstar or VTX's. Stock pipes sound good for now. Comfort is great under 65 mph; after that the cruiser feet-forward position means you've got to hang on. On the highway, twist the throttle and leave the cars behind effortlessly. The fit and finish is excellent. The brakes work well with no drama. The fuel injection works great too, no flat spots, surging or hard starting. don't buy it if you don't want people walking up to it and asking questions. It's a great looking machine. All and all a great purchase and a lot of bang for the buck. Try one out!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Luis de Melo

Cornwall, Ontario

Reviewed on 2007-06-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have owned 3 new Harley's since 1993. Went Yamaha in 2002 with a Road Star Warrior, then a touring 2004 Road Star 1700. Missed my Warrior for power and handling. Saw the Roadliner S and tried it. It is a Power cruiser, a wonderful handling machine, and a smooth touring bike. What can I say! I bought one and I have not been disappointed. Congratulations Yamaha! You have built the ultimate Power cruiser. I am 54 years old and having the best time of my life on this bike. When you crank the throttle you don't feel a breeze! You feel a perfect storm....
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark B

Apple Valley, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2007-05-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am now 49, and hadn't ridden since I was 19. This is the first bike to grab my attention by looks only since then. After my test drive I was hooked and had to have it. I am closing in on 3800 miles, and eagerly await the weekends so I can put on another 500-600 highway miles. Low speed handling in parking lots is great, as are highway speeds. You can't go wrong with this one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Tavares, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-02-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 5th bike, and my last one was an 1800cc. My Roadliner S out-performs my last bike in all areas. You can't say enough positive things about it. Yamaha has out-done themselves with this bike. This bike actually becomes a part of you when you jump in the saddle, it goes exactly where you want it to go. Can't wait to have all the accessories done. Love it!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mr. Jeffro

Springville, Alabama

Reviewed on 2007-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had 5 Harleys in the past. I had been wanting a new scooter for the last few years, however, price and maintenance was at the top of the list. I researched many bikes including the Harley Road Kind. I even had a chance to ride the Road King for 200 miles. When I was finished riding the Road King, I knew I was not going to purchase one. I looked hard at the RoadLiner and read every possible article I could find. I finally test drove a Roadliner and could not believe how this bike handled, braked and accelerated. I purchased a Roadliner S and have had it for 6 months with 5500 miles on it. I made several mods and have 102 RWHP W/ 132 lbs. ft. of torque. I never regretted purchasing this bike. THE BEST BIKE I HAVE EVER OWNED.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dwayne Peck Big D

Port Richey, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-11-24

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I HAVE GROWN UP WITH YAMAHA. FROM MY RD350 UP TO MY 04 ROADSTAR THAT WAS MILDLY CUSTOM. I HAVE HEARD MY WHOLE LIFE YOU MAKE THAT BIKE LOOK SMALL. I don't HEAR THAT ANY MORE WITH THE 8 1/2 FOOT ROADLINER! THOUSANDS OF HARLEYS OUT THERE AT PALM HARBOR BIKE FEST AND 1 RED ROADLINER S. YOU'VE GOT TO BE DIFFRENT! NEVER A FOLLOWER, ALWAYS A LEADER. LET ME TELL YOU IT'S GOT A HEADLIGHT THAT FOLLOWS YOU AROUND THE ROOM... I LOVE IT MORE THAN MY ROADSTAR, IS THAT POSSIBLE? YEA BABY!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark

Devine, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had several HD's then I had the Road Star, and now this Roadline S. Folks, now this is a bike. Smooth, comforable, RELIABLE and talk about pulling power. Love the retro look.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kirk Buttle

Marietta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha Roadliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It has been several years since I rode a motorcycle. I shopped Honda, Harley and BMW and fell in love with the style and looks of the Roadliner. I was a bit intimidated by the size of the bike - 700+ pounds, but after 3 months of ownership and 1000 miles, the bike feels very natural and in fact, not big at all. We had 4 Honda bikes when I was in HS growing up, so it is difficult for me to compare this bike with others. One thing I found shopping for a bike was the inability to test ride them - but I feel extremely lucky - the Roadliner is a great bike. It rides great at slow speeds as well as high speeds. With passangers - you notice the extra weight when they move, but the engine, acceleration and the ride is nearly identical. I love the sound, the look and the rumble of the engine. I did have to replace the seats - they were not very comfortable - I purchased a set of Mustang seats and have been very satisfied. This would be my only complaint. Gas mileage is not as good as I had hoped for. I think it may be the city driving and limited highway miles. I have only been on one long trip of 100 miles or more - so this may be my problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 21 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: