Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers Reviews (19)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-05-13 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 6100 miles, I have to say that this beast is a unique machine. Not many out there, and being a former Harley owner, I now notice that this bike is few and far between on the road. People look at it, and love to hear the rumble of the v-four with help from after market pipes. I have had a stuck float, a current issue with the cruise control, the inherent chirp, and some exhaust fumes from either a leaky pipe or a rich fuel to air mix. The stock seat is a sorry representation of comfort, and Yamaha should be ashamed to sell such a piece of torture. But the ride is smooth, the power is great, it runs on regular gasoline, and it is one of the most beautiful bikes on the road today. I really like this bike after nearly a year of ownership. If you try one, you will buy it.
- J.R.D., Newell, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike a couple of months ago and I am so glad I did. It's heavy as hell but I like that. It's a very smooth ride and handles quite well for it's size (though it does take some getting used to). I have added a new exaust system (bubs) and it added some horse power and a deeper throaty sound. I also added a slightly smaller wind shield and a light bar with halogens. I could not be happier with this bike. I'd better be, I'll be paying it off for some time. I have experienced no problems with it so far. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
- denn grimm, west hills, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-27 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After not riding for almost 10 yearas and being an old diehard Harley rider, the RSTD is more than a pleasant surprise. The only thing I do not like about the ride is the chirping between 55 & 65 mph, at first it drove me nuts. I have spoken to several dealers as well as factory reps. & they all say it's inherent to the beast. If that problem were taken care of by Yamaha R&D it would be perfection on 2 wheels. All in all as an owner of 13 bikes (mostly HD's)in my life this is as good as they get with the exception of a litte chirp & a little less inflated ego.
- ED MOORHEAD, REMSEN, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-14 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike since August 2006 and let me tell you it's a great ride. I got off a Harley Davidson Electra Classic for this ride and I'm glad I did. The power and comfort of this machine are outstanding. After a short test ride around the block I knew this was the ride for me. I hear some folks complain about the seat comfort but let me tell you, I tried the Corbin and a week later I sold them. They were just too hard and wide at the nose. I highly recommend this ride to those that enjoy touring and cruising. I love the detachable windshield and backrest. It turns the bike into a totally different ride. And who can overlook the cruise control? It's just a great bike a a great price.
- Frank, White Sands Missile Range, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is very big and very comfortable. You don't feel the added weight of a passenger when riding two up. It handles well at high speeds. It also has the torque and power to get out of the way in a hurry. Gets great gas mileage. I do mostly hiway riding and get 36 to 38 miles to the gallon. Great choice on my behalf.
- john schmahl, north babylon, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-18 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had Goldwings, a Yamaha FJR, and numerous BMW's over the past 20 years. When the new bike bug hit me I decided I wanted to look at something that had more character and would serve my wife and I well when we took trips to Colorado. The tour deluxe caught my eye so we took the plunge. I now have almost 5000 miles on the bike and can't imagine a bike that would do a better job of riding around town or heading out on a 2500 mile trip. This bike can do it all. Not exactly a Goldwing and not exactly a FJR, but a very good blend of both. I added the driving lights, luggage rack, and a Mustang seat so far. You have an endless amount of accessories that will allow you to personalize the bike to your taste. Factor in a 5 year unlimited mileage warranty with roadside assstance for a reasonable price and I don't see how you could beat it. The build quality and fit and finish rivals any bike I have seen. It is a great ride and I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a bike that will give you endless miles of comfortable riding. I also like the fact that it is not sealed up in all that plastic.
- Don, tulsa , Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-30 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't say I've ridden them all, but this bike was a perfect choice. I ride it daily for errands and though it is a bit heavy, the bags are convenient. I'm still playing with adjustments for comfort, and think a new seat is the best option, but I haven't had a complaint yet from a passenger. It may not be a Harley, but then again, it has a five year waranty. All in all, a great buy!
- Kevin, Tampa Bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-16 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, the bike is great, no question...But filling the tank is the WORST. The access is too shallow. The tip of the handle barely has room to fill without spilling. Whoever designed the access should be sent back to design school. If you hadn't noticed, this really bugs me. OTHER WISE, A GREAT RIDE!
- bob bivona, san pablo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-05 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike definitely fits me and what I need in a bike. There are only a couple things I would change. I'd have FI instead of carbs and a reverse gear would be nice as this baby is heavy. But I love to ride it, and once it is moving, it is weightless and easy to control in most any situation. Although, I do not believe this is a beginner's bike. I can't wait for the weather to break so I can get back to riding again.
- John Lehner, Bucyrus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-10 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a Honda and three Vulcans I was looking for something with plenty of looks, comfort and go. The Royal Star has 100% delivered on this along with having a huge range of dress up and performance goodies. My wife and I ride together two up, all the time and she LOVES the Royal Star. Riding in Perth is awesome because it is year round, so our Darth Vader with a chrome attack is out and about both for work and play...I also have the small clutch whine irratation however it is still the best bike I have ever had!!!
- Iain Tait, Perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-04 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2006 Royal Star and since Mar of 06 till present have managed to put over 10000 extremely hard miles on the bike. I am a demanding rider. I often ride 2 up and love to climb mountains with full gear for 2. When I ride alone, I ride hard with the likes of 102's from Victory and or significantly modified Harley's. I never worry about getting left behind. The bike seems to be bullet proof. I may buy another bike to supplement my chopper desires but will neve get rid of this one.
- Nathan Symanski, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-15 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned Yamahas, Hondas, and one old hog and if you took the best parts of all 5, it wouldn't even come close to the RSTD! This is one solid, reliable, put a smile on your face machine! I've looked at some 2007 models of Yamaha & other bikes, but when I compare them with my 05 RSTD, they don't come close either! I wouldn't trade this bike for anything, even a 50,000 dollar O.C.C. built by Junior himself! I might trade it for a newer RSTD, but that's about it.
- jim jacobson, burnsville, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-06 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The only problem I have had with the bike is a clicking noise in the rear end at about 3,000 miles. I had to go back twice to have it fixed. The first time it started again before I had gone 100 miles. I was a little peeved at this point but no problems since. My wife and I have traveled on it and she loves it. The bike has been extremely reliable. I am not out to impress anyone with loud noise and a Harley logo on the side. The bike does exactly what you ask of it with no problems. Who knows maybe I will have 100,000 miles on it before the 5 year warranty runs out.
- James Hutchinson, Centreville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-11 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming from a Honda Sabre 1100, the Venture is an excellent bike for cruising even with 2 people on it. Going down the Keys was a real pleasure. Wish to have a little more power on the turnpike, you have to downshift ( 2 people on it ) to feel confortable to pass a car. My next bike will be a Honda Goldwing, lot of money but.... Overall, very pleased with the Venture.
- Alain , Royal Palm Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-22 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is broke in. The power band is awesome in the higher rpms. I opened her up and she roars. I had a fuel leak due to a piece of dirt causing a float to stick. In the shop for 5 days, but she seems to be doing fine now. I am happy with this bike, and hope it will serve up many more smooth, powerful, and happy miles. I had mentioned the seat was hard in the first review, and it still lacks comfort, but I installed some highway pegs to shift my legs which has helped.
- Jim, newell, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-27 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in August of '04 (2005 model)but I just wanted to write a review on the RSTD. The machine has 21,500 kms (13,271 miles). Myself and a buddy who rides a 2002 Midnite Star left Ontario for California on May 27/06 and returned via Vancouver and TransCanada Hwy #1 on June 6/06. We put the bikes through some very hard riding. 11 days and 10,000 kms later the Royal Star and the Midnite Star both performed flawlessly. We rode anywhere from 10-14 hrs a day...(crazy for 52 yr olds eh?). I can't say enough good things about the Royal Star...what a machine and a head turner. Would buy another one again.
- Brian White, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-21 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Performance is great as well as balance. I had to change the seat and I chose the mustang with driver backrest. The stock seat made my tailbone hurt after riding a half hour or so. Great looking with plenty of good looking accessories available. Two up riding is great also with the passenger being comfortable too.
- Bob Geresti, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-18 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looked at the Tour Deluxe when introduced in 2005. Passed at that time because my 1st generation Venture Royal (1990) was in perfect condition with only 34000 miles on it. Being an old Moto Guzzi rider over the last 30 years, The Venture was a revelation, and had everything I liked in a touring machine, especially the cruise control for my arthritic wrists!! Leaving Florida this past May (2006), for a 3 week trip to the west coast, it was phenominal, couldn't be happier. I highly recommend this bike.
- ron hewitt, new smyrna beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-19 2006 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been a rider for going on 35 years now. I have worn out several fine machines. Harley FLH, Honda GL1500, Harley Heritage Softail, Suzuki GS650L, Yamaha Seca 750. This Royal Star has the combined features, that I like on a bike. This thing is almost as comfortable as it is flashy! The miles just slide by. And as soon as it is broke in properly. I am dying to roll on that power! My first impression would be that it has the look and comfort of a Road King, with the handling and power or the GL1500. A wonderful combination.
- Benny Frasier, Sonora, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: