Yamaha Scooter Reviews on Cycle Insider (23)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Scooter Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Scooter? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-10-14 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It appears ugly but it grows on you. It's not fast but it's not dangerous. It doesn't have a ton of storage but certainly enough. It's not light but it's stable. OK, so it's not pretty, fast, or light, and tall people need not apply. So why do I love it? I have never owned such a high quality scooter. It treats me to 74 mpg. with decent capacity. The unusual handling is completely predictable and solid. The brakes are wonderfully predictable. It's whisper quiet as a scooter should be and has a smooth as glass ride. You'll notice big bumps but never jarring. It's completely highway capable. But I only use it to get to the curvy roads. Did you ever take a chance at work or in school and make friends with the weird kid that was a little bit different but interesting? Then found you became best friends because he had so much personality and was truly a good person and a dependable friend that was up for whatever it was you wanted to do? Well, You should have!
- Boston Dan, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-10 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's just a smooth ride at 55/60 and the handling is great. I have had several scooters. The Vino is the best all around for me.
- ray, waynesville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-08 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this for my son last year because his 50cc Vino slowed down so much when going up hills that he was holding up traffic. I didn't realize until we parked it next to the 50cc Vino that it is quite a bit bigger. I am short and can barely tippy toe touch the ground on it while sitting at edge of the seat. My inseam is 29". It rides great for a scooter and has a lot of pick-up when taking off. I think that it would feel more stable if it had bigger wheels though. The battery is easy to reach if you need to recharge it, unlike our 50cc Vino. The styling is nice, and I like the choice of kickstands. It seems weird to me that it will not start if the kickstand is down. This is inconvenient for me, because it is hard for me to use the kick start without the kickstand being down. We bought this used and it has always been a little trouble to start. We usually have to kick start it while pressing the starter button. The housing for the headlight is really expensive if you run into the wall and break it like my son did. I think it may have to stay broken unless he wants to pay $250 for a new one. The front leg shield was also cracked, but it is under $100 to replace that. Go figure.
- Terri, North Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-15 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The day I bought my Morph I knew it was a different kind of scooter. The lowhand waves from those on REAL bikes makes me chuckle. I also had to get used to the what the heck is that you're riding comments. Great bike quiet and smooth just wish I could find someone in Wisconsin that has one. Over all it gets 6 stars in my book!!
- fred, lomira, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-28 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
No issues, has been a complete pleasure just wish the seat was a little more cushy for the tushy on the long runs.
- Kevin, Center Moriches, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-25 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden the Morphous on the freeway to and from work, rain or shine since I purchased it in April 2007. Yep! Definitely the winshield has to be replaced for a much higher one. The wind slows me down to 60-65mph when I could go 80mph on staightaways. Besides that it's fun to ride and my wife likes riding with me.
- Adrian, Medford, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2006 Yamaha Vino Classic Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my old Vino and I loved it!! I took it everywhere and it never failed me. I only traded it in so I could get something a little bigger so I could have a passenger. I wish I still had it. I miss my Vino! Great bike for any 'round town' driving.
- Renee, Georgetown, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-21 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Perfect for the mission for which it was designed: urban commuting. It has a buttery smooth engine and automatic transmission which will leave most cars behind at the stoplights. It'll top out at 75-80 mph yielding about 60 mpg in the process. It was not designed for interstate highway cruising, so you shouldn't expect that. Between the small trunk over the rear wheel, the underseat storage, and the $7 cargo net I purchased at Walmart to clip on the chrome railing around the rear seat I can take 8 sacks of groceries plus a 12 pack of soda home from the grocery. Amazing! The long wheelbase yields two things: a great ride over bumps but also an annoyingly wide turning radius. But enough of the mundane stuff. My girlfriend, not a motorcycle person, took one look at it and fell in love with the jet pack styling-- she wants to ride all the time! People like to ask about it, so be prepared to show it off, including the digital instument panel with a fuel gauge that flashes and counts the mileage upwards once you have about 60 miles left in the tank. Overall quality is excellent although one of the body panels on mine doesn't quite fit like it should. Also, the black body panels show every scratch. Overall, however, I'm really happy with mine.
- Jim C, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-04 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love my bullet, as I call it. Only downside I have found is the seat, could have had a larger back rest and a little softer! I added an after market windshield which helped immensely. My husband rides a 1100 Silverado and I go anywhere he goes. HAVE FUN!
- Kisses, 0pelika, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-26 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Vino 125 by Yamaha is a fun little ride! It corners great, is comfortable, gets great gas mileage, and with the windscreen, gets going down the road at 53 mph easily. So far I like it a lot.
- Paul Simonson, Arroyo Grande, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-24 2006 Yamaha Vino Classic Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my '06 Vino Classic in April of 2006. Out of the box, it topped out about 35 MPH and got just over 40 MPH after the break in time. The mileage is excellent running 100-108 MPG, saving me lots of money over the spring through fall. I work in the same town I live in so I am able to ride it to work. It is great fun to ride and handles really well. The only complaint would be that the seat isn't the most comfortable when taking longer rides. In 1200 miles, it has given me no problem and I plan on putting a lot more miles on it. Overall, I think it is a great machine and I would highly recommend it to anyone, as long as they aren't looking to go real fast.
- Dan, Hudson, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-06 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looked a long time to find a bike that was different, but still had great lines. Rides great and looks teriffic.
- Gary Nevins, Elm City, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for something that would do at least 40 plus mph cruising speed and it has that and more. But needed to slow her down after a very short time to continue my break in period in which I already had 200 miles on it. 0 to 30 is great too. It will keep a head of traffic at 30 to 35 mph. I have a windshield too! P.S. I love it, bought it brand new Sept 2006 from a dealer.
- gene maas, highland, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-01 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has great gas mileage (about 80 miles per gallon). In city driving, I keep up with traffic pretty well. It has excellent handling. It is also a head turner!
- sylvain, sherbrooke, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-30 2006 Yamaha Vino 125 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So the first 600 miles (the break in period) are sort of a drag. No running at high speeds for long periods are a thing of the past now that mine is completely broken in. It gains 5 mph easy for top speed and accelerates much smoother and quicker. MPG are in the realm of 75-80. I still think the gas tank could be larger than 1.2 gallons, although it is funny leaving the gas station after filling up with premium for less than $3 bucks. One thing I noticed recently is the exhaust sounds louder after being broken in. At 50mph, the engine cannot be heard at all because of the wind. Just recently purchased a 1 gallon gas can that I mount on the accessory rack with a bungee cord for the long trips into remote areas. I've rode my scooter along the Pacific Coast Highway 1 right along with traffic no problem. Took a ride from Ventura to Santa Monica on 1 tank of gas! This scooter does great in the hills and is a blast to ride through canyons. Top speed I've hit is 60mph on a slight downhill with no wind. On flat ground with no breeze, it can hit about 52-55mph at full throttle. Before the break in period you'll be able to hit 45-50. Night riding is also great fun, and the headlights are extremely bright and light up the entire road no problem. I'll be selling my scooter soon to upgrade to either a 250cc or 400cc for longer rides & freeway driving.
- DJ Mike, Ventura, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-24 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 2006 model and I have owned it now for a few weeks. So far I've been using it for my 25 mile a day commute. I couldn't be happier with the way it performs in traffic. The CVT transmission is very fluid and has no issues with pickup speed. I've been pretty easy on it while it is still in the break in period and mostly keeping it under 45. My wife likes to ride with me and finds it quite comfortable. Today we rode for about 5 hours with only two short breaks cruising around the countryside. The engine, while no sport bike, was able to move both of us along just fine on it without ever seeming to lack for power. I did quite a bit of research on this before I bought it so I think I'll try to fill in some of the blanks I wasn't sure of from the reviews that you can find online. 1st off, the bike has room for 1 full face helmet in it's large under seat storage area. A second helmet must be secured to the sear using a supplied helmet lock. The trunk, although handy for snacks and water isn't really that big, however the added room is quite appreciated. It is not able to hold a helmet and had a curved ridge because of the suspension and rear tire. The LCD screen has very nice readability during the day, and is extremely great at night. It is colored red so that it does not take away from your night vision. It also has a built in Clock, Fuel trip, 2 additional trips, the standard Odometer, oil change reminder and v-belt change reminder. The mirrors are a bit small but are adequate; I don't think I'll change mine. There are two small vents under the windshield that shoot air out around you from between the LCD screen to either side, at higher speeds this keeps some bugs from making contact with my helmet, but not all. The windscreen does what it was intended, however not in the way that it is comfortable to the rider. At speeds 50 and under it rides like a dream and wind is not even an issue, at 55 and over you do start to feel increasing wind. I've got mine up to 70mph for a few moments just to see how it felt and wind buffering was high, nothing to throw you off balance but very noticeable. At the time I had my wife with me and it did not make for the most comfortable ride. I believe I'll buy a larger one but only install it when I'm going on a long trip, other than that it wouldn't really help out very much and I do like the looks of the bike the way they are. The last thing I would like to say about this scooter is the size of it. I don't know why but when you see photos of this bike the scale is all off. It is much larger than you think. Riding around, it's about 1ft to 1 1/2ft longer than most sport bikes and it's more on par with the length of most cruisers. Combined with the wide aft section (which I do like) and the low stance, I get more waives from bikers on Harleys and V stars. Half the time I don't even think they know what it is. So to wrap this up, for the money it has a lot of small touches that make it very nice to ride around on in traffic and on the larger roads. It's powerful enough for 2 on the hwy without fear of being ran over from behind and great on the gas (about 67mpg for my driving, I have high hopes after the break in at hitting 70). Cons would be the wind buffering with the stock windshield and moderate acceleration. Still much faster than most cars without trying, but far from keeping up with most motorcycles over 300cc. That and it does resemble a snowmobile from the front.
- GageC, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had it for about two weeks and have put about 200 miles on it, and so far it has met my expectations. It is comfortable and has good pick-up. I've been keeping it around or under 55mph as it's still in the break in, so I cannot comment on top speed. The build quality along with fit and finish are nice. I'm getting about 60 mpg. It has good storage options for smaller items, but not for anything too large. The windshield is for looks only and I replaced mine with something larger through Cee Bailey's. I liked it much better then the Helix or Big Ruckuss which are the two mainstream scooters in the same class. (I own a Honda Foreman and Metro, so I'm not fanboy bashing) I'd recommend it to others.
- David, Austin, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-05 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my 600 Honda Shadow in the hope that this would be more comfortable for the Mrs. I never thought I would enjoy it more than the motorcycle, but I've never had more fun riding anything in my life. This scooter is great. Plenty of power and comfort, I am getting about 72 MPG. I only wish Yamaha made a higher windscreen for it, other than that, perfect!
- Dan, New Bedford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-15 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 2006 Morphous for a few months now, and I love it. It is great on gas-approximately 65 miles per gallon and is very comfortable to ride. It is sleek and stylish. The power it has is amazing. I am able to keep up with my husbands cruiser with no problem!!!!. The only real improvement I could foresee would be a higher windshield. There is no defense against the wind. I highly recommend this vehicle to everybody.
- maryr, slidell, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-25 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like the way this scooter handles. Current mileage about 62mpg. Top speed so far is 79mph. I took great care in trying to break in properly. This scooter gets many second looks from Harley riders that are driving at me, they low hand wave. I do not think they know it's a scooter, I still laugh every time as I wave back. I love the low ride height.
- Mike Ross, Carleton, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-14 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can't get more reliable than Yamaha. Yes, it even beats Honda on that note. The Morphous is a great scooter, but it rides lower than most so on occasion you can't see over or even through cars, but because it's got less shifting back and forth when carrying two. Terrific mileage! You'll go a week on a tank of gas when driving to work. One caution: get your dealer to order you a higher windshield. You'll need that protection from debris. Otherwise it's one solid ride!
- Maxi-Scooter Lover, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-17 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my new Yamaha morphous for (approx.) 500 miles and from what I have seen this is one sweet ride. After two fill ups I have found that the scooter gets 60-65 MPG and with the way gas prices are that will pay for it self by the end of summer since I ride 40 miles to work one way. The comfort level is the only thing I might take a bit off for due to the windscreen covers maybe your wrists and subjects you to the full wind. The seat is comfortable and you're able to stretch your legs for the long haul. The digital screen is clearly readable and shows vital info (Speed, gas level etc.). The storage is good with a rear trunk (yep a trunk!) that will hold a couple 20 ounce bottles and a couple paperback books. The bike has a nice sized under seat compartment that will hold a half helmet and a glove box for incidentals. Since my bike is in its "Break in period" I have kept it around 50 mph but briefly had it to 65 mph for a small stretch with still a little more throttle to go (75 mph tops my guess) excellent scooter overall !!!
- Nick , erie, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-14 2006 Yamaha Morphous Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very smooth engine, great acceleration and I just love the way it looks. I am able to store a large full face helmet under the seat. The trunk in the back holds a half helmet or a small bag of grocery. It's great for commuting buzzing right through the heavy downtown traffic. I've got 3 cars but Morphous gets the call everytime due to ease of parking, great gas mileage and most of all ability to get through heavy traffic.
- johnc, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: