Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (138)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-05-24 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike three years now and am closing in on 40k miles. I've had several long road trips with many 700+ mile days, including a 4,200 mile trip through British Columbia, down the Pacific coast to So. Cal and back to Colorado. The bike is dependable, fast, light, comfortable, cheap to own, easy to maintain, fuel efficient and fun to ride one or two up. I'm taking my honey on a jaunt to Mt. Rushmore and the Badlands this weekend and know it'll perform flawlessly. I've considered other touring bikes like the Victory CCT, but that bike's size and crappy gas mileage make me realize I already have the best bike for my riding style. I fully expect to reach 100k on this ride.
- Gary Smith, littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-01-03 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one class act. FJR - best bike for the money. I have put 8k miles on mine since I bought it and have enjoyed every mile whether it's the beat back and forth to work or a weekend outing. Once again, Yamaha sets the mark.
- James Lowry, Atlanta, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-04 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Highs - The modern UJM - it does almost everything OK, and many things very well. It's a tremendous value. - It handles light touring and two-up riding. - It's nice upright riding position soothes my aching mid-forties back (after the past several years on sport bikes). - It's a very reasonable sporting alternative to an all-out sport bike. - The engine pours on the power above 8,000 rpm. and up past 13,000. - It has a light, easy and consistent shifter. - The Harleys can't keep up. - It's 100% reliable over four years and 4,000+ miles. - It's averaged 55-60 mpg so far. Lows - It could use a bit more torque at low rpms. - The clutch is a little tricky off the line (minimal freeplay). - The seat height is a bit tough on my inseam. - You should use both headlights on low/high beam. - The suspension could have more adjustments. - The brakes will fade a bit in the twisties.
- T. McConnell, Waukesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-06 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 LE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome!!! The local dealership is a great place to deal with. I have bought seven bikes from them. I live in Florida and still will only buy from them. I have owned every bike on the market. Yamaha is the best Japanese bike when you put the right parts on.
- Bill Reynolds, Palm Coast, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-12 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in 2010 PO did a wonderful job of upgrades to front suspension with R6 forks and front brake calipers and braided lines, LSL sliders, Fender Elim. heated grips, FZ1 bars, Puig screen. Handles tight corners extremely well with bike leaned over. Throttle and clutch takes getting used to as throttle is small tolerances and clutch is short to engage. Rear brakes maybe too good as locking up rear tire is too easy to achieve. I recommend using only fronts as they're good enough to stop the bike with 2 fingers without losing traction. Initially thought seat was stiff but after 1700 mi trip with no pain feel seat is perfect. Bike handled high desert crosswinds, drenching rains, and snow like a pro. 50-60mpg average. My friend's 06 Honda CBR F4i was only getting 37-40mpg.
- Kern, Union City, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-27 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hve ridden dirt bikes and four wheelers most of my life and just went straight to an R1 because I knew I would later want the extra 400cc. I love it! It's scary fast. I would never get rid of it unless I bought another.
- josh , leesburg , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-02-12 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine used in 2008. It had less than 2000 miles. I ride this thing everyday to work and home so it is a real workhorse. It is one fast, smart and futuristic bike. It's got tons of power, lots of electronics, ABS, an electric adjustable windshield, electronicly controlled fuel injection, heated grips, and ABS. It's got so many suspension adjustments front and rear that I have to consult the owners manual. Pros: Set to soft, the suspension soaks up those superslab commuter miles with comfort, and on weekends it can be set to run twistys with grace. It rockets up to speed. It stores tons of stuff in the hardbags, it stores even more with the additional rear top box. The electric clutch means you shift fast without letting off the throttle. The ABS equipped brakes stop you fast, even when it is raining hard. It's comfortable on long trips and there is enough gas and gas mileage to ride for 200 miles. Cons: All that motor and a filled gas tank means that this thing is not only heavy, but it's also top heavy. Then there is the seat height: too tall for my 29 inch legs. As this thing comes from the factory, short guys like me find it way too easy to drop... and I have dropped it a few times. So I bought a pair of Soupy's Performance adjustable lowering links which allow me to take an inch or more off the seat height. I also had the front end triple clamps lowered by half an inch. But this is still a top heavy bike, and not so easy to muscle around the garage or a parking lot. Beware.
- DougA, Springfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-21 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an R6 for 4 years and loved the handling of that bike. I grew up riding dirtbikes, four-wheelers, etc. I was a little nervous about going to a liter bike because of the increased weight and length. I always rode with 750s and 1000s with my 600 and I kept up just fine and could out corner just about anyone. My 06 R1 has done nothing but amaze me from day 1. The handling is every bit as good as my R6 was, and the feedback in the rear is much better, increasing my comfort level. The brakes work amazingly, and the power is fantastic. The only complaint I have is how Yamaha has 1st gear being so tall, and I miss taching out this bike like I used to do on my R6. Although I love the roll-on power that's on tap at anytime. If your thinking of getting a 1000, but you love taching out gears, look into a 750. If you just love riding and can't get enough power and want to be lazy about doing wheelies, shortening on-ramps, and not shifting as much, get a 1000. I put 9,000 miles on my R1 last year and only replaced oil, oil filters, and a set of tires. I had 17,000 miles on my R6 and only replaced the oil, oil filter, tires, and put a new chain and sprockets on it right before I sold it. You've gotta love Yamaha!
- Bryan, Newton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-05 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lightweight No Problems This is a great bike. In fact, I haven't found one I like more. The handling is smooth; contours are comfortable; it runs well and I have never had a problem. It is very quick and easy to maneuver.
- Erin, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-13 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 8th bike and is by far the most exciting one. I also own a XVS-1100 that stays parked most of the time because the FZ is such a joy to ride. She handles the twistys well, runs like a scalded cat (156 mph indicated), and looks great. The only drawback is that butt killin' seat! I plan to customize it myself soon. Still, all in all, I love this bike.
- Kenny DuBois, Freeport, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been without a bike for a year until I finally decided on this one. I'm able to sit up or lay on the tank at higher speeds. I can keep up with the rockets no problem or blend in with the cruisers at the lower RPM scale. This bike really comes alive at 9000 rpm, being the red line is at 14000. You have to be careful though once you get to cozy with it, you won't realize how fast your going until you see the strobes in the mirror. I took it for a 500 mile trip and got the expected sore backside but the bike did well.
- Gamet, Muskegon, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-12 2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where do I start? I've been riding for almost 30 years and owned a wide assortment of bikes and I can honestly say that this is by far the best bike I've ever owned. Last year after doing some research on the FZ1 and the R1 I decided to go test drive both. The R1 has power, the FZ1 has that AND everything else. Guess which I came home with? The FZ1 has all the power anyone on the road could ask for. Crack the throttle open at 110 mph and you had better be hanging on because it will try to throw ya! It will easily keep up with the much more expensive sportbikes and you won't have to stop and stretch your back out or try to get the feeling back into your wrists after 50 miles. It has great ergonomics and with the replacement of the stock seat one can easily ride all day. The only minor things I didn't like about the bike were easily replaceable and not too expensive. I replaced the hulking heavy muffler with a much better looking, better flowing and better sounding Leo Vince. The driver's seat I replaced with a Corbin. I got rid of the flimsy plastic back fender with a Competition Werks fender eliminator and replaced the front signals with flush mount LEDs. For an experienced rider that wants a bike for more than just flat out speed, the FZ1 can't be beat. I wouldn't however recommend this bike for a novice rider because it does have the potential to gain control of the rider at higher rpm. Not a problem for us experienced riders (that high rpm power is a trip!), but a newbie could easily lose it.
- EviLar, Jacksonville, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-03 2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has telepathic handling, quick take-off, lots of power, great top end and a comfortable riding position. It is a great all-around bike. It just needs a luggage system and you are ready for anything.
- Road-Rider, Lithonia, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-08 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You know before upgrading to the R1 I was a bit nervous about the bike's raw power. After owning it for only a few days, I realized that the bike is incredibly refined. The power is there, but it's totally smooth and within your control. I haven't ridden other liter bikes, so I can't offer comparisons. I will say that the bike is everything I hoped it would be on performance and fit/finish. I still think it's one of the most gorgeous bikes on the road.
- David, Latham, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-25 2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After putting about 15,000 miles on my CBR, I changed over to the FZ. I primarily bought it because it would be more comfortable for my wife when she rides with me. I was slightly disappointed in the comfort of the front seat. It has also taken some getting used to the upright seating, but it is growing on me. After replacing the 17-pound stock pipe with a mere 7-pound Yoshi (race baffle) and installing a Power Commander USB III (custom mapped) and a BMC air filter, I have noticed a considerable difference in power. I have seen where other people have written about a buzzing around the vent above the speedometer. That was easily remedied by a little black silicon around the edges. I will be replacing the stock front seat soon. I can't stand to sit on it for more than about 60-70 miles (partially because I lack padding on my buns). Overall, the bike is a great buy for under $10k.
- Daniel, White Springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-09 2006 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I couldn't have asked for a better bike to ride. Handling and performance are unreal. Power is in your right hand when needed. This is the first street/touring bike I have ever owned and it is a thrill to get on the FJR every time to ride. I just made a trip from Port Angeles, WA. to Houston, TX. and had the ride of my life. I went 2700 miles in 3-1/2 days. I was in the saddle 650-700 miles per day. The ease of cruising @ 80-85 MPH on the FJR at 4-4500 RPM with plenty more on the throttle, and the response of the bike at that speed was excellent. Fuel consumption for the whole trip was around 45 MP/Gal using Unleaded Reg the whole trip. Getting on the freeway from the on-ramp I was over the speed limit in most cases and had to throttle back. Handling rush hour traffic in LA with the YCC-S Yamaha Control Chip System clutchless electronic system was A-1. Only had to put my foot down once in heavy traffic and just throttle thru traffic for 2-hrs. didn't miss clutching at all. No left hand fatigue in traffic. Shifting with the toggles up and down made it simple. Only drawback was the comfort of the stock seat. It was comfortable for the first few hours of the day. I missed getting my Corbin Seat for the trip by a couple of weeks, other than that I would recommend the FJR1300AE to anyone who wants a great sport/touring bike. It handles like a dream whether you are doing canyons, mountains, or deserts straight or curves. What a ride! I can't wait to throw a leg over the seat again.
- Bobby Briggance, Port Angeles, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-07 2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second motorcycle. I started riding in March on a 2002 SV650 and upgraded in July to my 2006 Yamaha FZ1. This bike rides very well and power is easy to manage. The bike is extremely fun in corners, comfortable on the highway, manages traffic well and is a great all around bike. My butt got too sore with the stock seat so I upgraded to Corbin - very comfortable. The bike buzzes at 4,000 to 4,200 rpm but then settles out - gets annoying and is a very common problem. After 2,600 miles the bike is getting smoother and less twitchy. The Power Commander III I installed has also helped smooth out the bike. It does have a small fuel tank - can typically go 150 to 200 miles before fueling up. Also suspension is a bit firm, need to adjust. This bike turns heads and gets people out of their cars just to see what kind of bike you're riding. This is an AWSOME BIKE, great all around performer.
- Stephen, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-31 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding bikes when I was 9 years old. Now i'm 29. Simply, this is the best 600cc bike so far.. and I have no words to explain about the beauty of this bike. The performance too.. I don't think any other 600 can beat this for many many years... Thanks to Yamaha.
- Tyronne, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my FZ6 for a little over a year, and have absolutely ZERO complaints. Great gas mileage, fast (enough for me anyway), sexy, and still as fun as the first day I got it. I originally wanted an R6, and still do, but I'll hold on to this baby for quite a while. Couldn't recommend a better first bike!
- Jeremiah, La Jolla, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-26 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first 1000cc bike and it is great. The only bad thing is it can get uncomfortable due to the seat position pushing you into the tank. Other than that, it's fun to ride and very smooth. I would buy it again.
- Rider, San Marcos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2006 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second FJR. I bought the 2005 used with 5,000 miles. I lucked out and found a new 2006 in June of 2007 and snapped it up! Just the fact that this is my second one should speak volumes. Every bike has issues. These are the issues I will be working on with this rocket. 1.) The throttle is a jerk. I like to gas it the second half of curves and with this bike, you have to work at it to get it smooth. 2.) The seat sucks after about 100-200 miles. Are there many stock seats out there that actually do not suck after a good ride? I will be putting a Corbin modular seating setup on it. Also, the seat wobbles if you set it to the upper level. 3.) The windshield could be harder (less flexible). If it was the same thickness material as most, it would not flex so much. The group I ride with all have differnets makes of bikes: BMW, Suzuki & Honda. This Yamaha FJR1300 is second to none of them. This bike loves to take trips. It eats Harleys for a snack and dines on most others for meals. You can treat it like a crotch rocket and it begs for more. If you can only have one bike, this is the one!
- Andrew Bauer, Copley, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2006 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just purchased my 06 FZ6S 2nd hand with 3500 kays on it & all I can say at this stage is WOW! Very light, super nimble, useable midrange & a lovely, intoxicating howl up top. Front end tries to leave the tarmac in 1st & 2nd & gets quite light in 3rd too! The best thing about this bike, in my opinion, is that it is completely user friendly. I stepped onto this after 5 years off from riding & by the end of the test ride it had all come back to me. It is fun, friendly, fast enough & completely un-intimidating. A better example of a UJM I cannot imagine. I cannot fault the handling, brakes are progressive & sharp, engine is willing & smooth & the fuel injection means that hot or cold are the same, responsive! If I had to be really picky, the engine produces a noticeable vibration around the 5-6K range & the clutch take up is extremely narrow. But have already gotten used to this & it doesn't detract from what I believe is a truly astounding package for the money. I can hardly get through the day without taking it out & have no plans except to enjoy it. If you're considering a sports machine but don't like the idea of the 'racing crouch' or if you're just plain sick of heavy & hard to move machines (ala 1200 Bandit), then give the FZ6 a try, you won't be disappointed! Will post an update when have gone for a long tour up the NSW coast. Until then, see you around.
- Chris, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After four months and 3500 miles, I'm still in love with my FZ1, although I've begun to see some small faults. First, the good: About 500 miles or so ago (after an oil change) the engine quieted down to silky smoothness. Still the occasional rattle, but otherwise it sounds like a sewing machine. Really nice. This thing's still a beast, however, with really ridiculous power. Until I started driving for max mpg, I was doing my morning commute - average about 40 mph - and never leaving second gear. Just for giggles, sometimes I'd drive it at 40-50 in first just to hear the engine howl, and got no complaints from the bike. The FZ1 handles like a champ and is a blast in the twisties. I still find the factory seat to be very comfortable and have no plans to upgrade it. Other reviewers' comments on wrist pain are strange to me, 'cause the ergos on this thing don't put any weight on my wrists whatsoever. Now, the bad: After about 2000 miles, I began to see what they mean when folks complain about the twitchy throttle. I see it particularly when I drop power going around intersections; when the time comes to power back up, it takes a half second or so. This could conceivably be dangerous if you're not expecting it, as the power comes on fast and furious. I understand that this comes about due to environmental requirements imposed on the bike, and that Yamaha still hasn't cured this problem, but it's a problem nonetheless. I've gotten used to it and, in all honesty, kind of like the quirkiness of it, but others are not so enthusiastic. The tank is way too small, and you're lucky to get 130 miles out of it before the last fuel bar begins to blink. I commute almost 50 miles per day and have to refill every other trip. No big deal, but it's something to consider if you're looking at the FZ1 as a long distance cruiser. On the whole, this is a truly magnificent bike with more power and performance than any sane individual could ever want.
- kevin lindsey, fairfax, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Anyone who modifies this bike for performance has a death wish, I agree. I looked at the Bandit, the 919, and the FZ1. The Bandit was all engine, the 919 was excellent but low-tech, but the FZ1 has it almost perfect. I love the suspension, the brakes are excellent, and yes, the engine and tranny are noisy, but I'm hoping 20w-50 after break in will fix that. I love the dashboard, it has everything you could want. This bike is way too easy to ride fast. I wanted something modern for what is probably my last bike, having come from a '82 GL500. haven't bothered checking the mileage yet, but I will update after break in. I will order the Yamaha seat upgrade for sure. The fairing is perfectly sized, but the bars put too much weight on my wrists. I will just try to turn them up a bit and see if that helps. After I get a little more used to it, I might not have such a death grip on the bars, though.
- Don, Banks, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-03 2006 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 2K miles on my bike since I bought it in December and it's been great. I ride it almost daily as a commuter and on the weekends I play around with the local crotch rocketers. I get beat in the hard twisties by the Duc'sters. I can literally ride figure 8's and what not around them in the parking lots while they are working back and forth just to back out of a parking spot. This bike is well balanced... I only have to put a foot down at a stop if I'm going to be there for more than a second. It's as fast as hell on the pipe and will pull the front up in 3rd and run away from the Ducs. My engine is really clattery and noisy but nothing seems to be broken yet. I'll be back with a longer test for durability. Fantastic bike for the money.
- Randell Rogers, Herndon, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: