Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-12-30 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got over 2,000 miles on my '07 Strat and can confirm that the reviews in this forum are an accurate description of the Star Stratoliner S. Yamaha put a huge amount of research and development into creating the Roadliner/Stratoliner and no significant improvements have been necessary since it's introduction in '06. Even though it's air cooled, the dry sump, oil cooler, and other internal innovations reduce heat so that the huge engine runs much cooler than one might expect. My dealer said you should get over 200,000 miles before needing any major engine work! One concept that hasn't been mentioned is that the Stratoliner could be viewed as two bikes in one. It's got huge amounts of torque for a very satisfying bottom end and that classic cruiser feel...cruising along at 2,000-3,500 rpm is a very relaxed, comfortable experience. However, if you want to hit the throttle, the bike wakes up and becomes a monster...extremely fast and agile for a bike this big/heavy! The adrenalin rush from 2,000 rpm to 5,000 rpm is immediate and significant...more like a high rpm sports bike than a cruiser. There may be faster motorcycles out there, but the Roadliner/Stratoliner has more power/speed than any sane person would ever want. For the rest of us...it's got just what we need!
- Kevin Rochat, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-12 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Fit and finish is top notch. Gobs of power. Very well engineered. The seat is pretty darn firm and the reach to the handle bars is pretty long and I have long arms to begin with. Other than the seat and the reach, this is the perfect bike. The removable windshield and back rest come off and go on very easy and stay put when attached. Head light is bright and the chrome and attention to detail is fantastic. The gas mileage is comparable to the other bikes this size which is 33 mpg around town (would be better but I can't stop twisting the throttle wide open) and 42 highway. It would be great if the gas tank was 1 gal bigger so fuel stops would fall in-line with the rest of the pack but it is what it is. The windshield does a great job of blocking most of the wind. If I compare this to other comparable bike and rate on scale of 1 - 10 it would go like this. HD - 6, suzuki boulevard - 7, honda vtx 1800 - 8, victory - 7, Stratoliner - 9, no bike is a 10 so don't get your hopes up to see one listed here. They all have their faults.
- Claytonthebrain, Cambridge, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-27 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome to ride. The balance is so good that it makes it easy to ride. I am happy with the bike in all aspects. Excellent styling makes this machine a head turner and generates many inquiries about it. As big as this motorcycle is and as powerful as it is, it's a tame and smooth machine giving me a boost of confidence during my rides. The fit and finish is top notch. If you have not seen this bike up close, then go take a look and test drive. You will be hooked on this bike. I have had no problems to date. I very much recommend the Stratoliner.
- Rick, Mesquite, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-06 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just keep finding more things to love about this bike. I live on a main route to Sturgis and have the opportunity to visit with lots of riders. Was told many times it is nice to see a bike that is unique, not a Harley cookie cutter version of a cycle. Tried to ride for MPG the other day and was able to get 45 on two separate rides of 100 miles +. Keeping it under 60 is tough though. The Strat loves to run.
- sodakliner, Platte, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-21 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike. My first was V Star 650. This bike blows away the rest. Ride is smooth, lots of power, well made, and good on gas. Looks and rides very well, and I hope it will for many years to come. If you buy this bike, you will love it!!! To all of you... Ride safe!!!
- Sam, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden a lot of bikes...a lot of very nice bikes and nothing has compared overall to this bike. When I finally decided to upgrade, I was trying to decide between the Strato and the Road Star. I hadn't riden a Strato until hours before I was heading to the shop to purchase a bike. I took my buddies for a quick ride and immediately knew this was the one. It is the most well balanced bike I've ever ridden and the power is amazing throughout. I went on a 1500 mile ride two weeks after I got it and it was very comfortable without a minutes trouble. As a few others have mentioned, I would like a light showing I'm in 5th gear and the glare from the instruments is annoying but I can live with both. I can't thank my wife enough for making me wait. Now I have the perfect bike. Thanks Babe.
- Kelly Cummings, Heber City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was leaning toward a Harley, but I was in the market for a bike in May and the Harley I wanted wasn't going to be in until August-that's the whole summer! I saw the Stratoliner/Roadliner in several MC magazines and the retro styling blew me away. The bike was constantly the Cruiser of the Year. I sat on one at the MC show and was hooked. A salesman tried to convince me that I needed a Honda VTX, maybe in an 1100 for my first bike (they were trying to move the floorplanned ones off the showroom floor) but I held fast and went to another dealer. The dealer I went to answered my questions and concerns, bending over backward to ensure I was happy with my purchase (Thank you, Cayle!). I have 2600 miles on it and enjoy the reliability-it seems to be built tight! Some minor cons however: 1. Checking and topping off the air in the tires is a chore! My big hand barely fits in there. I wind up laying on the ground with the air hose in my hand and hope that the 3 minutes of air doesn't run out! Those valve stems need to be easier to get to. 2. The easy off/on feature of the saddlebags is also its weakest point. The three pins that hold each saddlebag on wear out QUICKLY. My latest fix was pipethreading tape around the shaft of each pin to keep them on tight. 3. I agree with some others who complain about the location of the speedo. There IS some glare at night, it makes a tank bag out of the question and moves your eyes off the road too much to see the gauges. 4. Some high speed wind buffeting is observed when at highway speeds. Takes some getting used to. I also agree that a 6th gear would be nice, as I constantly try to shift up to no avail (oh, I WAS in 5th already-damn!). I see that there is an aftermarket tranny for metric bikes with a 6th gear-wonder if it would be worth the money. It's still a great looking machine and I am proud to ride it. Harley might have the name but metric bikes have the quality.
- Mark Vahlkamp, Timonium, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-06 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 65 years young and enjoy my new toy. I do a lot of highway driving and this bike handles great and is not bothered by crosswinds or sudden wind shifts. I also drive in the city because this bike, for it's size, is very nimble. I get many compliments on it's looks, mostly from Harley drivers.
- JTrickle, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-06 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased 06 Strat Midnight in Jan. 06. First the good stuff. Bought right out of the cardboard box it arrived in. Very Impressed! Plenty of power, very eye catching, and comfortable for the first 4 hours of riding. Can cruise easily up the Blue Canyon grade to Reno with myself, girlfriend and her little puppy with ease. Have other riders and traffic always asking, what is it? Now for the not so good stuff. 3 weeks after purchase developed a headlight rattle that seemed to disappear although 2 dealerships couldn't pinpoint it. Had the Hard Chrome 3 inch Big Straights (pipes), the Power Comander III, and Patrick Racing intake installed and dynoed, before 87 hp, after 94 hp. Bike pops during strong deceleration and because it wants to at times. Couple months ago the speedometer started leaking really bad when I washed it, since then fixed. At night even with the Yamaha passing lights on, my brother's 05 V-star has better illumination from his headlight only. With the windshield on, don't plan on driving at night on a road you don't know. The glare from the instrument panel is right in the line of my eyesite. Just recently it developed an oil leak at the top of the rear cylinder on the back side...the outcome of that one is still undecided (in the shop as I speak). Other than everything I mentioned the bike is perfect...so far! One thing I wish it had though is 6th gear!!!
- dave, citrus heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-24 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This motorcycle was born to cruise but yet, handles very well for a large machine. After 5,000 miles, it's proven to be flawless in form and function. The seat is fairly comfortable compared to other stock seats but the addition of an after market seat seems reasonable if your prone to riding long hours on a regular basis. More power and torque then most any other road machine, and a quick twist of the throttle reminds the rider just how fast it can get to speed.
- RJ, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my gorgeous 99 Royal Star VENTURE for a 2006 STRATOLINER. I fell in love with the silver color combination and the features of the bike. The motor is a BEAST, gobs of torque and power. Riding position is perfect for me, although there will have to be a backrest in my future. I have had to adjust to the added noise of a bike that is NOT watercooled, the added mechanical sounds have taken some getting used to, BUT the motor is fast and roll-on in higher gears is amazing, compared that the magnificient V-4 of the VENTURE. I would LOVE to see a light that indicates when you are in fifth (top) gear, can't tell by riding. The paint is GORGEOUS, the two tone silver is barely discernible as a two tone color, but DEEP and shiny. I loved my 99 VENTURE, but will not miss it as I bond with my STRAT S. What a grand machine.
- Dave Leibold, Williamsburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-10 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I stood the bike up, I knew it was different. Not top heavy like so many others. Performance is awesome and I need to put a few more miles on it to really test top end. My only complaint is the seat. I replaced it at 300 miles for a more comfortable ride. Yamaha service at my dealership is GREAT. They acually called me, to see if I had enough miles for the first service.
- Bill Fullwood, Savannah, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-25 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding all over the world since 1963, Triumph/Harley/Kawasaki/Jawa/Indian, Susuki and several overseas that I can't remember. This is the Bike I've been searching for. Looks, handling and performance are first class. The only negative for me is the heat on the right side, not severe at all but noticeable. There's nothing else to say, it is by far the best bike I've ever driven.
- Tom Paradis, Summerfield, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-30 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looks, power, comfort, all that and 40 miles per gallon......this bike has it all and after its breakin, it becomes an HD.......Harley duster! This is a real performance cruiser. If your thinking about getting a cruiser, don't pass one of these up.
- Jim Lewis, Hamilton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-30 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With just over 300 miles on the bike now. I can say it is the best bike I have ever riden. It looks fantastic, performs fantastic, and the quality, fit and finish is fantastic. This is one bike that makes the Harley riders take notice. They can't find anything to pick apart. Three long time Harley riders have checked it out and could not find anything to complain about!
- Dave, Hooksett, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-25 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 55-year-old kid. I like to go fast and ride the curves. I currently also have a BMW K1200S. I wanted a cruiser and I found the right one. The handling, power, sound, finish and warranty (in this order) were important to me. It's hard to believe this bike does everything so well. The only neg. is dragging the floorboards a little too much. Slow speed handling of this big bike is great. I took a 300-mile trip two days after the purchase and it was a pleasant ride. No, great ride.
- Roy Yeatts, Kernersville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now that I can run the bike, I am thoroughly pleased with its performance. First, gobbles Harleys. Second, it leans with confidence, I scrape the floorboards at will, not because of a lack of clearance, but because the bike leans with stability. Although a 6th gear would be nice, 5th gear allows for high speed cruising at reasonable RPMs. 70 mph at 2800 rpm, 80 mph at 3200 rpm, 90 mph is below 4000 rpm. It keeps pulling beyond 90 but I have not sustained any greater than 90 mph speed. I rode an '05 softail classic 1200 miles in Florida and that took forever to get to 90 and rattled my teeth. Bags are shallow but adequate for around town. If I were taking a multi day trip I'd need a travel bag anyway. Windshield works, makes riding with a half helmet much quieter. Retains drive train noise and the gauges reflect in it at night even when set low. This bike has a lot of pull, especially just below 3000 rpm through 4500.
- Thomas Palmer, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-12 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike in 25+ years and I am loving it! The ride so great, the bike is great and the transmission shifts as smooth as butter. More power than I will ever need but nice to know it's there just in case. Smooth handling. Great bike! Over 40 miles to the gallon so far........
- MRE, Carson City, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-04 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year I decided to sell my V-Star 1100 Silverado. Everything about the V-Star 1100 impressed me: looks, quality, comfort and all for a very reasonable price. Although the V-Star has plenty of power and is comfortable at highway speeds I wanted something with plenty of power to spare in the long run. Living in New England, the winter gave me plenty of time to brood on possible choices for my upgrade. The obvious choice (peer pressure, fashionistas, etc.) was to go for a Harley. HD still have it down when it comes to styling in my opinion. Even though my riding buddy has an awesome HD Road King Custom I was not convinced. So my wife and I went on a biking vacation and rented a Road King (me) and a Fat Boy (she) for a week and rode in the San Diego and Palm Springs area. Fantastic trip. Whilst the Road King had a bit more pep than the V-Star 1100 and looked very cool, I was dissapointed in the power, comfort and build quality. Although nobody will ever ask "WHY did you get a Harley", it did not make any sense to me to dish out all that money for a bike that didn't impress me very much. Then came the news of the Roadliner/Stratoliner. It seemed the answer to what I was looking for. When the press reviews confirmed the performance and quality of the bike, I put my name down and picked it up a couple of weeks ago. It is everything I'd hoped it would be and more. Lots of power (still running the engine in), super handling and super looks. What impresses me most that it is even easier to ride than my previous (easy to ride) V-Star 1100. The bike's balance is excellent and the brakes are superb. The finish is what I've come to expect from Star/Yamaha: excellent. Although I will ride mostly without the sissy bar and screen, I decided to go with the Stratoliner. It is just great to be able to put the sissy bar and or screen on in 15 seconds flat. The bags are very cool and although they are indeed slightly smaller than the HD bags, they will do fine. A single key for all locks is a very nice feature too as well as being able to put the steering lock on from the ignition switch. The rumble from the exhaust sounds great and it's getting throatier. My verdict: a fantastic bike, I love it. Keep your knees in the breeze!
- David, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-28 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After test-driving the Stratoliner, I could feel the power, but the bike is geared so high that you don't have to be afraid of losing control when you punch the throttle. This bike should get decent gas mileage. The windshield caught the wind so much that it took a little effort to get used to it. It was very stylish and comfortable to ride, and as soon as I returned to the dealer, I bought it.
- Terry Pohland, Stevensville, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-05 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Stratoliner S for a couple of months now. I just started riding about 11 months ago. I started by riding a 2005 800cc Suzuki Boulevard. It is a great bike, handling and comfort. I have about 5700 miles on it and even took it on a 2000-mile road trip. I am 50 years old and didn't want to take up riding until my kids were grown. You might think me nuts for moving up to an 1854cc bike with just 11 months of riding under my belt, but after putting 700 miles on my Strat, I don't think so. The Stratoliner S is indeed heavier, but the handling and performance is fantastic (even for a novice). The braking and shifting is effortless. When you want to pass, all you have to do is open the throttle a little and the next thing you know you are turning on your directional to pull back in. I love this bike. I have ridden it in strong crosswinds and the bike stayed very stable. Cons: Aside from the saddlebags being a little small, it is also takes forever for Yamaha to get the accessories you ordered to you. My stainless steel throttle, clutch and brake cables came in after about three weeks, as well as my passing light bar. The rear luggage rack took a little longer (a month). My engine guard and saddlebag guards are another story, they are still back ordered with no delivery date. So if you want to buy one of these great bikes and trick it out, you will have to be patient. Yamaha is behind the power curve on accessories. <br /> Yamaha also should have put a more comfortable seat on this bike. After 40 minutes, my bum gets sore. I bought a gel seat cover to help. Also the speedometer reflects about eye level off the windshield at night. A handlebar bag should block the reflection. <br /> Pros: A lot of power when you need it, easy shifting, great handling, great looks, fantastic sound out of the pipe, very stable on the road, love the self canceling turn signals and detachable windshield and sissy bar. The speedometer with built in tach is beautiful and functional. In addition, I like how I can lock my helmet to the bike with the strap under the seat. Even with the cons, I love this bike. I don't foresee me needing another. I love tricking it out, but most of all riding it. It is one nice ride.
- David Lambert, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-10 2006 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live about 3 months a year on Maui, and recently purchased an 06' Vespa GT200 to run around the island, which was great fun! It was so much fun that I bought a Vespa 06' GTS250 when I returned to LA. Even more fun! I got up to 80mph and 70 mpg. No noise, no vibration, just twist and go. However, it was a little scary on California freeways. Thus began my search for something larger and heavier that would be more suitable for longer hauls at high speeds. I started riding 45 years ago, but haven't owned a large bike since 1986. It didn't take long for me to catch up to today's' choices in cruisers: there's Harley and a large array of Japanese bikes that try to look, sound, and vibrate LIKE a Harley! H-D deserves a lot of credit for creating and promoting the Harley mystique...buy a Harley and you join a fraternity with thousands of other Harley owners who seem more interested in "belonging" than in riding. And then there is the Stratoliner "S" This is not a Harley wanabee. It is not like other Yamahas. This is truly a bike for those of you who are independent thinkers capable of seeing past the labels and it begins with the design. This bike is Art Deco from front, to the pointed taillights in the rear. Even the streamlined bags wrap smoothly around the back to complete the aerodynamic look. The chrome strips on the tank make the entire design flow. The high quality chrome is in abundance. There is no mistaking this for a Harley. It is distinctive and stylish. I love it! My real interest in this bike is about fit, handling and performance. At 63, I no longer want to stretch my upper torso forward over the tank, and bend my feet behind me. I want to sit upright and have my feet forward to be comfortable. I also want a bike that does not feel "heavy" with the sensation that it could tip over with the slightest mistake on my part. Just sitting on the Stratoliner in the showroom, I felt comfortable and confident. The bike seemed to have great balance as I shifted my weight from side to side. A 2-minute road test was all I needed to make up my mind. It was a done deal! I have had the bike for a few days and 200mi. This is ONE GREAT bike! Admittedly, my testing is limited by the break in restrictions on RPMs, but here are my initial impressions. It sounds great as soon as you start. It is not loud, just a deep, melodious rumble. The hydraulic clutch is easy to operate. A slight tap into first gear is smooth and "clunk" free. Take off is smooth with no jerking. Going through the gears is smooth and positive. Shifting at 2500rpm in each gear maintained a beautiful, vibration free ride. In fifth gear, 2500rpm produced about 65mph. I tried to fight off the urge to ramp it up past the 2500-RPM break in limit, but gave in for a few short pops. I quickly discovered there is plenty of power left in fifth gear above 2500rpm...no need to downshift to pass. A brief pass at 75-80 and I let off the throttle. Totally exhilarating! The windshield did its job and I felt no noticeable helmet buffeting. On city streets, I found the braking exceptional. The dual front discs do their job and I never used the rear. Stopped at a long light, neutral was very easy to find from first...just a slight tap with the heel. The turn signals self cancel after a 15-second delay. I love this feature. (I always forget to turn the darned things off.) I also like the "SELECT" trigger on the left grip, which scrolls through odometer, trip set, clock functions. More than anything, it is the way this bike handles that sets it apart from other large cruisers I test-drove. It feels light and nimble for a machine that tips the scale at about 750lbs. I wasn't intimidated by slow, tight turns as I was on the H-D Road King. It seemed I was on a V-Star 1100! Riding in traffic around town was effortless and my confidence grew with every mile aboard this beast. Beautiful, powerful, and easy to ride! There is no better cruiser on the road! Now I'm off to Maui for 2 weeks and I know I'll be anxious to get back to run up the mileage on this bad boy. Oh yeah!
- Marv, Encino, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: