Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

19 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jim

Loudon , New Hampshire

Reviewed on 2009-01-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding bikes all my life and only twice have I received more from a bike than I expected. They were my 88 Virago and my 2006 1100 Silverado. It is just a fun, predictable ride. I downsized to this from my previous luxury tourer. It is sweet, and the little woman likes riding on this better.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron

Merrillvile, Indiana

Reviewed on 2008-02-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got this bike used last October with only 50 miles on it. I've put about 1600 miles on since then. I love the looks and power. This bike is a great midsize that handles more like a smaller bike. It is low to the ground and has a low center of gravity. It makes this a good fit for me. The fit and finish on the V-Star is second to none.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dcurtis

s.windsor, Connecticut

Reviewed on 2007-04-18

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Purchased new 2007 in early November. The bike is smooth and comfortable. It gets great mileage, looks great and has plenty of power. But, as a first time rider, once I became adapt at the riding and handling of this bike, I started to think about why I did not buy the 1300. I really LOVE this bike, but I WISH I bought the bigger bike...probably will upgrade in 2 years to the 1300 or larger..
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George Park

Harleysville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It looks great and rides even better - plus it has a REAL fuel tank where it should be! Seriously, if you want a bike that is not to heavy and has a TON of after market parts, great Internet-based support and a huge following/riders club you can't beat the VStars. I started with a stock bike and had the seat redone to make it just a little more comfortable without paying a fortune to have it done. I've ridden it all over PA and NJ and found it to be a lively bike that handles great and has enough power to get you where you need to go. I was looking for a normally aspirated, air cooled bike with a shaft drive - they are getting rare. There are no fan or other elecronic noises to take away from the ride and the bike goes on and on. Grab one, have fun and ride safe. gp
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bobby

Indianapolis, Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-12-26

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the 2007 Yamaha V star 1100 Siverado and I am in love! It's December in Indiana and I was just able to put it in the garage for the last time...it finally snowed. Good bike, good power, and stands up to the wind and trucks. Love it!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Thomas J Betlyn

Sewickley Heights, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-11-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Mrs is 5 feet 8, 137 lbs and together with me we ride it with plenty of power to take the hills here in SW PA and cruise easily on I-79. 80 MPH (passing speed) is no problem and the ride is smooth. I have the sand tan liquid silver (Recommend changing the pic on this site to those colors) and I constantly get compliments on it and that's from the ladies! (Makes her mad!) Recommend this Yamaha as a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mitch Spillane

New Berlin, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2006-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the bike new in 6/06 - averaging 2000 fun miles per month. My travel ranged from Wis to Sturgis(road trip) to work (commute around Milwaukee interstate). A true machine- dependable with plenty of get up and go.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Virgil Sanders

Sachse, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike, it has great power, easy to ride, confortable and is a great looking bike. Everyone love the way it looks. It is great for long and short runs. My wife says the passenger seat gets a little unconfortable on long runs, but not too bad. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry Elliott

McLemoresville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2006-09-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Runs very well, plenty of power with two up, a little engine noise but not enough to complain about. The 'shift clunk' everyone mentions is more of a rider problem than mechanical. Shifting at the proper speed and the quicker you can change gears the less clunk you'll get, with a little practice you can slip through the gears as smooth and quiet as an automatic tranny. The only dislike about the gears is the 'whine' at certain speeds, usually around 40 to 50 mph but this quiets above 60. The seat (as any stock seat) could be improved but that would cut into the aftermarket goodie sales. Wind coming under the stock windshield and rolling up over the tank created a whirlwind around my head, so a set of lower wind deflectors stopped that and now the air flow is negative at head/face level. Stock pipes are throaty but I prefer a little more rumble. Backroad touring at 50 to 55 mph with two up gets 50+ mpg, highway riding at 65 mph gets 45+ mpg. Overall with the accessories I've added, the bike is a jewel and very enjoyable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

russell redner

belvidere, Illinois

Reviewed on 2006-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First time rider, great bike! Handles well, very little vibration. I ride every day to work 70 miles round trip. Only two complaints, the seat is a little too hard, and having to remove the exhaust to change the oil filter. The jardine oil filer relocation kit makes it simple to change the filter. The cobra pipes sound great. Harley who?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 19 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: