Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Star Classic Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-03-19 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2006 V Star 650 Classic in September 2009. It's a perfect fit for my size, like others have commented...not too big, not too small. Corners great, suspension is very forgiving of the bad Dallas roads (potholes galore and I haven't bottomed out yet), and the weight is perfect. Every chance I get to take a twisty road I take it, it's a blast on this bike! Only 2 complaints: 1) exhaust was too quiet 2)clutch lever/friction zone way out there at the end of lever travel. Both were easily fixed. that's one thing I love about this bike is there are more and more aftermarket components being released. Overall, I am very satisfied. A lot of people often mistake it for an HD Fatboy (I removed all badging for a cleaner look). I'm quick to correct them and they usually respond....a Yamaha? Really? :)
- John, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 650 Classic 2 years old with 1200 miles on it. After doing much research, it was the most recommended first cruiser. I understand why. I only ride single, so it has plenty of power to maintain hwy speed and put the big nasty trucks behind me. I also find myself looking for a sixth gear at times. The bike does garner many compliments, and looks incredibly sexy without the pillion seat and back rest! It now has 6000+ miles and I am considering upgrading to an 1100.
- Charlie, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-12 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Power: Good for one rider. With a passenger it becomes noticeable but not terrible. It'll still do everything it did with one rider. The exhaust produces a beautiful mellow thump. It isn't loud but I prefer quiet. Has great low end torque it does fall off noticeably quick but it gets going quick. Comfort: The bike itself isn't that small, it's actually pretty large considering the engine size. I am tall and find it comfortable unless going a long distance (150 miles or more one way). Styling: Great, absolutely one of the most gorgeous bikes I have seen. Classic lines that are definitely an attention getter. Handling: Pretty good for an overgrown cruiser. It'll corner real well and doesn't break loose. The suspension is wonderful. The adjustable shock is great! Even with it set on hard it isn't uncomfortable and I've never bottomed it out. Dependability: I hear excellent, put almost 2000 miles on mine in the 4 months I've owned it. It doesn't leak oil so that is a plus. Engineering: Great! Everything flows well and works great. Everything seems very sturdy and there is little plastic throughout this bike. Everything is fairly easy to work on for the home mechanic. Overall: Excellent bike and I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to ride. It's a great first time bike or an all time bike. It rides great and has good enough power for just about anything and looks great. Lots of motorcycle for little money. Yamaha did good, now if they would only put a 6spd in it, we'd be set. Definitely plan to buy another. They didn't go to great lengths to look like a Harley either. They went with classic style and made it their own.
- E.S. Thomason, Beaumont, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-01 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like others out there, I have been a buddy seat passenger for many a mile, always wishing I could be the one driving but felt too unsure, too intimidated. This summer I took the safety course on a 250cc and thought I owned the world. Then the moment of truth came. My husband and I shopped for bikes and decided on the V-Star 650 for the great looks and appeal. Informed that this was to be MY bike, as he loves his 750 Virago, I flipped out. I have graduated from city streets in the daytime to highway riding at night and LOVE THE BIKE! Beautiful, responsive, easy handling, comfortable and ALL MINE!! May I say I am a grandmother of two who will be 62 in 2 months. Move over, here comes Gramma! Thanks Yamaha for the V-Star.
- Diane Ivy, Muskogee, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-21 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the 2006 V-Star 650 in April of 2006 after not riding for over 20 years. I ride it to and from work (21 mi. round trip) four days per week and it gets great gas mileage (50 MPG or better). It handles great and has enough power for me riding alone. However, when riding two-up with my wife I wish it had more power going up some of the steep, winding roads here in the Arkansas Ozarks. Another thing I don't like is the bike vibrates significantly when I hit speeds of 65 MPH. I wish it had a 6th gear. However, overall, it is a lot of bike for the buck and this is something I can't complain about. One other thing to mention is that a mechanic at the Yamaha dealer told me that if you change the oil regularly, you can get 150,000 miles out of this engine. that's nice to know.
- Andy Gray, Eureka Springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never ridden before and in May I took the MSF course. I reasearched another 2 months before deciding on the V-Star. Since I have never ridden anything before other than the 250 bike in the MSF class It's hard to compare with other bikes other than looks. V-Star is the best looking by far. When I went to pick up my bike it had been raining that morning and the roads were still a litte wet. I was a little worried about riding. I left the dealer and I was so freakin impressed with the handling and smoothness of the bike. It handled great. It has been raining alot lately and the bike has just been great on the wet roads. After riding in these conditions my confidence in this bike has been boosted tremedously. And I can't say enough for those sunny days either. If your debating on which bike to get, this is the bike. Especially if your a smaller sized rider. The bike fits and feels perfect. The bike is a little quiet and the seat could be a lttle uncomfortable at times, but I plan to get those changed out soon.
- M. G., Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-17 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is about my 7th motorcycle and I actually came down from a shadow 1100. It is a very nice bike and yes it does look good. The only thing I dont like is the vibration at highway speeds but it is a smaller engine than I am used to. Over all I would recommend it for a first time owner or someone like me who is looking for a nice ride to and from work.
- steve, rockford, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-29 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my V-Star classic. The only thing I will be doing different to this bike is putting on an aftermarket exhaust, other than it being very quiet, it handles great and looks just as good. Deffinately highly recommended.
- Chris Kidwell, Union, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-23 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 650 V Star Classic. This is my first bike and I ride to work from Corona To Orange almost every day with no real problems but at about 65 mph you can here a rattle in the engine and it revs like it is looking for a 6th gear, but it has never let me down as far as performance. After about 100 miles, you begin to loose the comfort of the seat but you can upgrade. My bike is all stock and could use some after market upgrades like louder pipes for the 91 freeway. I don't like the plastic parts and wish there were after market chrome parts but this is a great first bike.
- Jim VanNewKirk, Corona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for getting back into riding..Handles nicely..great pick up. It is an attention getter, that old school look. Only complaint was too quiet had pipes switched & only pipes that fit are Vance hines on the 06's..v star 650..with out modifing..brackets.Also had to switch out seat for more comefort on long rides... But well worth it for the $$$...
- Marcus, Col Hgts, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-10 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first real cyle... I have been tootling along on a 70cc honda passport for several years. August of 2004 I took the 3 day saftey course. The entire summer of 2005 I was shopping and comparing, after all I have been wanting a bike since my 20's and I wanted to buy just the right one! The spring of '06 I decided it was do it or forget it. I purchased my pearl white 650 classic and admired it in the garage for three weeks (rainy weather). Then on a very sunny sunday I put all fears and shopper remorse behind and hopped into the drivers seat. It was so sweet, the feeling I had been waiting for. It is never too late... did I mention in August I'll be 50?
- Sandy McNash, Chisholm , Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-28 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good bang for the buck. I have ridden sport bikes for years (last bike was 1996 YZF-R6). I tried an H-D Sportster (883 and 1200) and found out they drive like a truck. The V-Star is as smooth as butter and looks like a MUCH more expensive bike. I bought it and drove it straight from the dealer to my home (300 miles) at 65-80 MPH. The stock bike is definitely NOT a high-speed bike but for around town and short highway runs, it is well worth the money. I intend to add V&H short shorts pipe, Enferno BAK (big air kit), jet kit, and some look 'purdy' bits. Forums say that hop ups REALLY wake this bike up. I got a good deal on the bike, helmet, rain suit, 5-year YES warranty, Memphis Phat's windshield, title, taxes, and registration. I guess that's an 'ok' deal...but it is WAY LESS than even a base HD 883 Sportster.
- Jay Raxter, Gastonia, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-13 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first motorcycle and I love a great ride and a great price. You can't keep me off this thing on those nice days. So for a first, bike buy away folks.
- greg blouin, portland , Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-19 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike, though I've ridden dirt bikes in the past. It's a great bike with excellent handling. I have only one dislike: it's too quiet, I will be changing the exhaust soon. Regarding the appearance, if you don't like a lot of attention, this is not the bike for you.
- Tim Porter, Wurtland, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-04 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll say at the onset that I just started riding in April 2005, and I've never ridden anything else. I bought the V-Star because after doing the homework, it was recommended as a great "starter" bike. I go into the dealership for parts and I look at other bikes, and for a while, I thought I'd get something "bigger." Now, I don't think so--not forseeably, anyway. This bike is forgiving, easy to handle, and it is fast enough for me. Probably my only complaint is that it revs high at highway speeds, but it's made to rev and it doesn't hurt the very durable engine. If it had a sixth gear, it would be better, but it's a terrific cruiser as it is. I plan to do a few mods this winter - tire and brake upgrades and aftermarket pipes and more induction. Other than that, it will be a while before I replace this comfortable, easy to handle, and quick bike. Did I mention that it really looks good, too?
- Christopher Werkman, Bowling Green, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-01 2006 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike and love it. I have ridden a gixxer 600 and for a cruiser the 650 is great. The only thing that I didn't like was the engine - the top covers are plastic along with the gauge pod.
- Jon Burgess, Marietta, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: