Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Chip

Wake Forest, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Started riding in '64. Gave it up in '99 but couldn't stand it anymore. Just bought an '06 as a 'last year's model' ... but who can tell? I've ridden American, Japanese, British, German, Spanish and Italian bikes. This is the best yet for pure fun and day trippin'. My only complaint is the windshield that could be better ... but, since many of my bikes didn't even have windshields, it's a minimal inconvenience. The old saying 'Try it, you'll like it' really nails this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JWalter

Richmond, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-12-20

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since I started riding again 8 years ago (now age 55 - which is also my cruising speed) I've had 4 bikes. This one has less torque than the first 3, but I like it best. The power is adequate, even for two. It's smooth, has a lovely baratone growl at high speeds, great comfort, classic looks, and good mileage (55). Most people think it has twice its 650cc displacement by its looks. I bought it 1 year old with 1200mi in October & have driven it about 1000mi before the weather turned cold. I think this one is a keeper. As nothing is perfect: haven't been able to stop the front brake from squeaking and I miss the tach I had on my last bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J.D. Carpenter

League City, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-08-01

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Smooth as glass at any speed up to 90mph, no reason to take it faster yet. The clutch took some getting used to, but once I got found the friction zone it's okay. Very little maintenance required. A beautiful bike. There's a little bit too much plastic, tubeless tires w/ mags vice spokes and a sixth gear would be nice, BUT with this MSRP you have to surrender a bit somewhere. Overall, this is an absolutely fantastic and very fun bike. For the money, I don't see how you can beat it. I ride it every day it isn't actually pouring down rain and get withdrawls on the days when I can't ride. Nearly 2300 miles in about 6 weeks of riding...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Russ Sexton

Grand Rapids, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-07-04

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The V star 650 is just right for Me and I love it. It handles great and looks great to. Theres not much I'd change on the bike maybe new Pipes and a rack on the back. I will mostly ride it to work, and just short trips after work and on my days off it's just fun to get out and Ride again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ghosthawk

Louisville, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2006-06-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's been 24 years since I sold my 73 RD350 and this bike is so much more comfortable. The handle bars are easier on the shoulders than my old bike with a 2 inch setback. The footboards allow for comfortable leg and foot positioning. I am disappointed that there is no oil dipstick and you have to have the bike standing straight up to look at the glass port at the crankcase bottom. Not an easy thing to check on your own on the road without a center stand. It does rumble a little bit when you reach 60 mph but not afterwards. Overall, I love this bike and find it an acceptable size. I get many compliments on its style.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Patrick

Siloam Springs, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2006-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike, as I have never ridden before, other than a rare mini or dirt bike here and there. Saying that, I've found this to be a very smooth handling bike. There is a little vibration at around 60-65 MPH on the highway, but other than that, the bike runs and rides very well. After a 125 mile ride two weeks ago, my tail bone ached quite a bit, but that was more from being a new rider than from bike comfort. A new saddle may be in my future! I have received quite a few compliments on the bike, especially since the Silverado package looks so great! I am contemplating a few accessories, though, like changing the turn signals to the Arlen Ness medium sized turn signals, removing the windshield faring, and I'm contemplating changing the pipes within the next year to one of several different manufacturers. I'm also considering adding some more chrome, and in the long run, a possible paint change with some custom graphics. This bike is primed to be ridden just as is, or to be changed and added to. I really like the product, and, for the money, I think that this bike stacks up well to the Honda and other competition.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

eagles_shadow

Rapid City, South Dakota

Reviewed on 2006-04-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So far, we have been wonderfully pleased with our choice of the 650 V Star Silverado. The only complaint that either of us have is that one tends to become butt sprung rather quickly on the stock seats. Reading different forums, apparently this is a problem with most purchasers. When buying a top of its class bike, you should not have to spend any more money for a comfortable seat.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

dskelton

League City, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-03-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 2006 V-Star Silverado before I knew how to ride. The bike stayed in the garage for four days while I attended the motorcycle safety course. Now I ride it every chance I get... to work, on errands, to meetings. It's great on gas, easy to handle, and I have enough storage space (with my sissy bar bag) for quick market trips, or hauling my laptop around. Looks great, rides great, a bargain at the price!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rose "Putts"

Roseville, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-01-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding for just one year. I learned on a 1982 Yamaha 650 Maxim and for my birthday my husband got me this 2003 V Star Silverado, and I had one major complaint. The clutch was way too hard for me to get used to because it would not grab until the lever was nearly all the way out. My husband tried to adjust it and then the handle would be floppy. After investigating the problem, we found out that this is a problem with all 650 V Stars. We found someone on Ebay that created an adaptor that eliminates the problem. We bought it and now the clutch is normal. Other then that, I love the looks, feel, and ride of the bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

TWFM

Graniteville, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2005-11-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V Star Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Overall for the price, you get allot with the saddle bags, windshield, shaftdrive, etc. As far as comfort, the bike begins to vibrate around 60 and above, however, it is not that noticable. It cruises well @ 70 mph. The front wheel begins to wobble a little @ 85 mph. Had the bike up to 90 and the throttle was about 3/4 open in 5th but had to back off due to the front wheel wobble. This bike is good for short cruises. After about an hour, your tailbone begins to ache, however, that may be related to my age or maybe a better seat. I have received several compliments on this machine. It is a beatuful bike! I am getting between 150 and 160 miles to reserve on gas. A 6th gear would have been nice. Cannot beat the price for what you get!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: