yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers Reviews (16)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-05-19 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Visually beautiful bike. Mechanically perfect, so far (3000 miles). Riding by myself, the bike handles and performs impeccably. Riding two up is ok, but highway performance is lacking. My wife and I are a 350 lb package and anything over 60 mph seems to be a struggle for the drivetrain. The seats are good for about 45 minutes drivetime, without a break. Other than the highway, limited top end, the bike has been wonderful. Not to mention the bargain basement price.
- ccjj100, boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-22 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding this bike for about a year now. I commute back and forth to work about 26 miles one way. My last bike was a Harley Sportster that I put 127000 miles on. I've been riding since I was 14 and I'm just past the double nickle now. I ain't slow but I'm careful. The V Star is low and although about 4 hundred pounds heavier than the Sporty, is much easier to handle. It's low ground clearance and floor boards took some getting used to. I still scrape them on hard turns. The Harley lumbered along and the V Star likes to wind-up like all true Japanese rides. The noise is different but you get used to it. I run 80 on the interstate pretty regularly without any problem. I thought the shaft drive would be smoother and quieter than a belt but it is about the same. This bike has very nice looks right off the floor. Lots of chrome. Nice big tank. For looks and price this bike has everybody beat. Technology wise it has some very unique features. The ceramic coated cylinder walls, heated carburetor and adjustable mono shock rear suspension make it quite technologically sound. Only bad part is the oil filter. You have to pull the pipes to change the oil. Needless to say there have been some choice words for that design. don't just sit there go get one and put yourself out in the wind.
- Bill Winkle, Williston, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-02 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 8K miles in 12 months, I don't really have any major complaint. Everything I know about it now, I knew when I bought it off the showroom floor: 5 gears, floorboard clearance, oil change gymnastics, plastic chrome, and less than perfect seat. I may be forgetting others. But I would still buy the same bike over again. I love the looks and still get compliments. Also the handling, reliability, mileage (50 mpg I think the manufacturing quality is excellent. I do wish the exhaust was a bit louder; it seems like Yamahas sound so smooth, but not tough (e.g. a sewing machine). If I had the money to burn, I might get a different saddle and exhaust. But it's great for me the way it is.
- DTM, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-07 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my '01 Yamaha V-Star 1100 for one year now and have logged just over 27,000 miles in all conditions including mountainous areas, etc. This bike is Top-Notch in every way. It's very reliable and I couldn't be more pleased with it. I bought it used with 14,000 miles on it and it now has 41,000 miles on the odometer. I ride daily in all conditions except for major rain or icy conditions. This is my primary transportation and my daily therapy! It's got good power even in the higher elevations on long up hill grades (no need to downshift and no need to ride with the throttle wide open like I've heard the 650 model requires on long grades). Even riding two-up with my 200 pound son on the back we held our speed effortlessly on a long, steep uphill mtn grade. The only negative is the oil filter being internal, but a $230 relo kit fixes this and pays for itself very quickly with 10 minute oil changes... :) This bike is very rider-friendly and comfortable. The foot boards and heel/toe shifter are awesome - I wouldn't have a bike with pegs again after riding one like this! I'm routinely getting 44 mpg and this includes my daily commute which is 135 miles per day round-trip (95% freeway miles) from sea level up into the mountains at 4200' elevation where I live - long up-hill grades in a couple places. Even cruising at 75-85 mph it's smooth and comfortable with power to spare. I'm getting good mileage out of my tires too so it's not hard on tires by any means. I give two thumbs up to the 1100 V-Star both as a commuter bike and a freeway cruiser!
- Jeff Smith, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-06 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike at the end of May. Easy to handle and maneuver. I would reccommend this bike to anyone who wants to make a classic out of other parts than the everyday Silverado. They all look alike. My bike is the raven with flames. The paint job could have been better (too many ripples). The V-Star low w/s that I received with the deal is a headache. All the cables are always up against the windshield. If it's not dealer installed, take your chance aftermarket.
- phil, roswell, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-25 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This will get you there and back. I traded in a 750 Aero for this bike for the extra weight and cubic inches. Cruising at 75- 80 mph all day long no problem. Easy to handle and maneuver. I got the raven with the flames; paint is a little less than a top quality job (too many ripples). I also got a V- star windshield with the deal (16" LOW). Go for an aftermarket windshield, clutch and brake cable are always on the windshield. The Silverado WS may be all right due to the curvature, next to none on the (cheapie) that's Mine.
- phil fields, roswell, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-27 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 06 Black Cherry V-Star 1100 in April of this year. I love it. It handles great, and is comfortable on long trips, except for the stock seat. If you plan on riding any distance you WILL need to upgrade your seat. It handles the curves good and is very stable at highway speeds (70-80 mph) I'm getting good mpg (about 45) There is some vibration with the bike on accerlation but I believe the carbs are out if sync. But overall performance is outstanding. I love the look and feel of the bike. I would recommend to new or experienced riders. It is that easy to handle. Good Job Yamaha
- Daron Gray, Sealy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-28 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Cudos to Yamaha for an excellent ride! This bike is Roomy & Comfortable! Handling is also a breeze. The motorcycle looks like it's larger twin, and I really love it's looks. Extremely satisfied with my 2005 V-Star! If you buy one, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
- Terpturner, Upperco, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-15 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the two tone gray V-Star 1100 Classic last month, and I absolutely love it. It is a smooth riding bike that is very stable at highway speeds, has great acceleration, and true "old school" styling. I highly recommend it!!
- Pat, Kansas City, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-03 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and one that I'll keep for the rest of my life. Comfortable ride and with the hyper-charger and jet kit the guts to take on the Rockies. I'm very happy with the ride, performance and reliability. This bike is a great place to start.
- Neil, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-29 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very pleased with my purchase of the 2006 VStar classic. I haven't been on a street bike in a few years and was a little apprehensive about getting the 1100. Fortunately, everyone talked me out of the 650 so I went with the bigger bike. It handles extremely well and has plenty of power if you need it. Gas mileage wasn't quite what I expected but I still get around 30-35 miles per gallon. This bike has very good pickup and rides very smooth at 70 or 75. I rode two high dollar Harleys before buying this one and honestly, I think my 1100 is a smoother riding bike. There are two downfalls with this bike; you have to take off the pipes to change the oil and the seat needs to be of better quality, but I can see myself riding for five or six hundred miles a day without any problems at all. Before buying this bike, I was warned about the bad vibration at high speeds but I have experienced none of that and have cruised at a good 80 miles an hour so far. I would highly recommend this bike for anyone, beginners and experienced riders alike.
- Jason Evans, Allen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-09 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE THIS BIKE!!! I've never had a road bike, just a dirt bike as a kid (a long, long time ago). I got this used, 10 months old with only 363 miles on her. Lucky for me, the first owner let it sit in the garage and put chrome goodies on her. After riding for a while I was looking for something with more power. Again, lucky for me, I came across MaxAir. This is a MUST HAVE for any V Star owner. You won't believe the increase in torque and power. I am no longer looking for another bike, just more time to ride this beauty. The local dealer is top notch too, no attitudes like at the H-D dealer.
- Michael Reinhard, Toms River, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-16 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a good bike for my purposes with my size and weight. It makes a good commuter. To me, it is okay for cross country. For my commuting purposes I picked the correct bike. Intake and exhaust mods make a very noticable improvement in acceleration. It's important to synchronize the carbs. Great bike.
- Josh, Denver, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-03 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a good bike for my purposes with my size and weight. It makes a good commuter. To me, it is okay for cross country but it would be nice to have a higher 5th gear or a 6th gear. For my commuting purposes and short range riding (200 miles)I picked the correct bike. For really long distance I would prefer a royal star. Intake and exhaust mods make a very noticable improvement in acceleration. It's important to synchronize the carbs.
- kevin powell, sandy, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has a lot of mods, Mustang Seat (must have) factory windshield, saddle bags, oil relocation kit (must have) jardine slip on exhaust, cruise control, Hypercharger kit. I love my bike, factory seat is miserable for long trips, needs handle bar risers to keep comfortable for long trips, gets 37 miles per gallon on the highway, starts every time, never have to worry about much maintenance. Oil light comes on every once in a while on hard winding roads. Not as much torque as you would like, but not bad. Needs more comfortable grips, and vibration in the floorboards is moderate on long trips. Passenger pegs are very uncomfortable on a long trip, but my wife loves riding anyway. I would recommend a tachometer and a gas gauge would have been a nice feature, but not necessary. Overall, very satisfied, you can't go wrong for the price vs the competition and warranty is good.
- Chris Baker, Fort Smith, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-23 2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 2002 Classic. I almost bought new until I found this jewel in May. Original owner was a slim young lady. I haven't ridden for 23 years, but wanted no less than an 1100cc classic styled bike for my wife and me. I love the looks and the ride is pure joy. My wife loves it. I ride it to work everyday, even if there is a chance of rain. Already put 1200 miles on it since May. Original owner put 6700 miles on it in 5 years. Yes, a Harley would be great, but to have a Harley like this would have cost an extra $12,000.
- Ron Iocono, Middletown, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: