Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic Cruiser reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.6
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

ccjj100

boston, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2010-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Visually beautiful bike. Mechanically perfect, so far (3000 miles). Riding by myself, the bike handles and performs impeccably. Riding two up is ok, but highway performance is lacking. My wife and I are a 350 lb package and anything over 60 mph seems to be a struggle for the drivetrain. The seats are good for about 45 minutes drivetime, without a break. Other than the highway, limited top end, the bike has been wonderful. Not to mention the bargain basement price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bill Winkle

Williston, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Been riding this bike for about a year now. I commute back and forth to work about 26 miles one way. My last bike was a Harley Sportster that I put 127000 miles on. I've been riding since I was 14 and I'm just past the double nickle now. I ain't slow but I'm careful. The V Star is low and although about 4 hundred pounds heavier than the Sporty, is much easier to handle. It's low ground clearance and floor boards took some getting used to. I still scrape them on hard turns. The Harley lumbered along and the V Star likes to wind-up like all true Japanese rides. The noise is different but you get used to it. I run 80 on the interstate pretty regularly without any problem. I thought the shaft drive would be smoother and quieter than a belt but it is about the same. This bike has very nice looks right off the floor. Lots of chrome. Nice big tank. For looks and price this bike has everybody beat. Technology wise it has some very unique features. The ceramic coated cylinder walls, heated carburetor and adjustable mono shock rear suspension make it quite technologically sound. Only bad part is the oil filter. You have to pull the pipes to change the oil. Needless to say there have been some choice words for that design. don't just sit there go get one and put yourself out in the wind.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DTM

Wilmington, Delaware

Reviewed on 2007-06-02

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After 8K miles in 12 months, I don't really have any major complaint. Everything I know about it now, I knew when I bought it off the showroom floor: 5 gears, floorboard clearance, oil change gymnastics, plastic chrome, and less than perfect seat. I may be forgetting others. But I would still buy the same bike over again. I love the looks and still get compliments. Also the handling, reliability, mileage (50 mpg I think the manufacturing quality is excellent. I do wish the exhaust was a bit louder; it seems like Yamahas sound so smooth, but not tough (e.g. a sewing machine). If I had the money to burn, I might get a different saddle and exhaust. But it's great for me the way it is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Smith

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2006-10-07

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my '01 Yamaha V-Star 1100 for one year now and have logged just over 27,000 miles in all conditions including mountainous areas, etc. This bike is Top-Notch in every way. It's very reliable and I couldn't be more pleased with it. I bought it used with 14,000 miles on it and it now has 41,000 miles on the odometer. I ride daily in all conditions except for major rain or icy conditions. This is my primary transportation and my daily therapy! It's got good power even in the higher elevations on long up hill grades (no need to downshift and no need to ride with the throttle wide open like I've heard the 650 model requires on long grades). Even riding two-up with my 200 pound son on the back we held our speed effortlessly on a long, steep uphill mtn grade. The only negative is the oil filter being internal, but a $230 relo kit fixes this and pays for itself very quickly with 10 minute oil changes... :) This bike is very rider-friendly and comfortable. The foot boards and heel/toe shifter are awesome - I wouldn't have a bike with pegs again after riding one like this! I'm routinely getting 44 mpg and this includes my daily commute which is 135 miles per day round-trip (95% freeway miles) from sea level up into the mountains at 4200' elevation where I live - long up-hill grades in a couple places. Even cruising at 75-85 mph it's smooth and comfortable with power to spare. I'm getting good mileage out of my tires too so it's not hard on tires by any means. I give two thumbs up to the 1100 V-Star both as a commuter bike and a freeway cruiser!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

phil

roswell, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2006-09-06

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought this bike at the end of May. Easy to handle and maneuver. I would reccommend this bike to anyone who wants to make a classic out of other parts than the everyday Silverado. They all look alike. My bike is the raven with flames. The paint job could have been better (too many ripples). The V-Star low w/s that I received with the deal is a headache. All the cables are always up against the windshield. If it's not dealer installed, take your chance aftermarket.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
2.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

phil fields

roswell, New Mexico

Reviewed on 2006-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This will get you there and back. I traded in a 750 Aero for this bike for the extra weight and cubic inches. Cruising at 75- 80 mph all day long no problem. Easy to handle and maneuver. I got the raven with the flames; paint is a little less than a top quality job (too many ripples). I also got a V- star windshield with the deal (16" LOW). Go for an aftermarket windshield, clutch and brake cable are always on the windshield. The Silverado WS may be all right due to the curvature, next to none on the (cheapie) that's Mine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Daron Gray

Sealy, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 06 Black Cherry V-Star 1100 in April of this year. I love it. It handles great, and is comfortable on long trips, except for the stock seat. If you plan on riding any distance you WILL need to upgrade your seat. It handles the curves good and is very stable at highway speeds (70-80 mph) I'm getting good mpg (about 45) There is some vibration with the bike on accerlation but I believe the carbs are out if sync. But overall performance is outstanding. I love the look and feel of the bike. I would recommend to new or experienced riders. It is that easy to handle. Good Job Yamaha
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Terpturner

Upperco, Maryland

Reviewed on 2006-05-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Cudos to Yamaha for an excellent ride! This bike is Roomy & Comfortable! Handling is also a breeze. The motorcycle looks like it's larger twin, and I really love it's looks. Extremely satisfied with my 2005 V-Star! If you buy one, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pat

Kansas City, Kansas

Reviewed on 2006-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased the two tone gray V-Star 1100 Classic last month, and I absolutely love it. It is a smooth riding bike that is very stable at highway speeds, has great acceleration, and true "old school" styling. I highly recommend it!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Neil

Denver, Colorado

Reviewed on 2006-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha V star 1100 classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and one that I'll keep for the rest of my life. Comfortable ride and with the hyper-charger and jet kit the guts to take on the Rockies. I'm very happy with the ride, performance and reliability. This bike is a great place to start.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: