Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (8)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-12 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The lil' XT is a great dualie as a commuter/off road bike (not highway or rush traffic, mine will do 74 mph. but I weigh 210 pounds). The bike has a nice low seat position (I have a 30" inseam and I can touch both feet on the ground with some to spare). The 6th gear is great on level grounds (but is very tall and will pull it down on inclines). It has electric start (you can get a kick start for this bike for about $130, but it is extremely cold natured). You can take twisties with ease (with the right tires). The bike is a ton of fun to ride even though acceleration is slow (about 8 seconds 0-60 on tarmac and very sluggish after 60). With all that said, this is an excellent bike, and I couldn't imagine not having it (my pure street bike is a CB750). Bear in mind that it's not a KLR650, it is a 225. If you don't hit interstates or have to maintain 55 or higher going up mountains, and you are inseam impaired, this is an excelent lil' dualie. Off road there aren't any complaints. In fact it's light weight and its manuverability are why I bought it in the first place, but soon realized I was driving it more than the CB750 on the street as well. I highly recomend this little bike to anyone.
- Dwayne H., Milledgeville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-22 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike up pretty much new from a local mom and pop bike shop. It only had 700 miles on it and it was affordable, so I couldn't resist. I never had a motorcycle before and the owner said it was a good beginner bike. After riding it home, I agree with him. This bike is soooooo cool and handles excellently! Last weekend I took it up to my cottage and it handles even better off road. I always tell my friends it's a street legal dirt bike with some motorcycle mixed in, and that's exactly what is. You also have plenty of room on the seat. It fits two people perfectly and the shocks absorb EVERYTHING! My neighbor who has three motorcycles and even more up at his cabin is even a little jealous. When my dad (I'm 18 and still living at home) called my mom at work to see if it was okay with her to buy it, we stepped away from the bike for a second and another customer walked in and started eyeing up the bike. So right then and there I put a down payment on it before my mom picked up her work phone. So if you see one of these wonderful bikes on sale, grab it then and there! You will never be sorry with these bikes. They also hold their value VERY well!
- Scorpia, Green bay, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-14 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased this bike about 3 weeks ago, it is a left over 2006 but was brand new. I've been riding for many years but mostly street bikes. This is my first dual-sport in 35 years. Previously I had a 2-stoke 175 which had much more power than this Yamaha. The bike is very satisfactory if you don't need or want to go over 55mph. For trail riding, it is fine and has a very low first gear which is great in the dirt. The seat is comfortable for short rides but gets hard after about 50 miles. Gas mileage is very good, I've been getting about 75-80mpg so with the 2 gallon tank you could go about 150 miles if your butt could take it. After saying all this, I must say I am ready to trade it in for something with more power such as a Suzuki 400. The problem is the Yamaha is so nice and light and handles like a dream and the Suzuki is quite a bit heavier. I just wish the Yamaha could comfortably cruise at 65 on the highway(maybe when it's completely broken in or with someone lighter in weight).
- Pete Fetzer, Peoria, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like the bike but I drive at highway speeds quite a bit so I think it could use a bit more power. No reliability issues so far but it's still fairly new. Downshifting to 1st can be a bit of a problem when new it gets stuck in neutral but that seems to happen less frequently now that I'm getting the bike broken in.
- Ernie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-25 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For all around riding for riders short in inseam, the XT225 is the best bike available. Even for tall riders, fat riders, and skinny riders, the XT225 is still a great motorcycle for off road riding and touring if you are not into comfort, as in a Gold Wing, and high speeds. There is also a very large fun factor to riding this bike. Rock solid reliability. The only negative is cold starting in the winter. Keep it covered and there is no problem. There are many cures for this problem.
- T. Wilson, Leesburg

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-29 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my xt the first day of august 2005. I an order in for it and was waiting. It's not like it's my first bike but it is the first bike I have had of this type in many years. Many people still call this type of motorcycle an enduro, probably because that is what they were called originally back in the late 60s early 70s. Anyway, mine does exactly what it was designed to do, for its size type and horsepower. It goes on the highway as well as down dirt roads (not an all out off road cycle). It is a good compromise considering that no one motorcycle can do it all. Good value for the dollar.
- Mark Griffith, Farmington, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used from a friend for $900 about 3 years ago and have changed and replaced the normal stuff (clutch, handlebars, oil, plugs)... The only persistent problem is the oil gets excessively dirty in a hurry and needs to be changed more often than it should. I took the baffle out of the exhaust which caused the machine to run hot and subsequently resulted in my having it jetted up to compensate for the lean-ness. The starter has been great and very reliable. The performace is good for a 225 (223, actually) with wheelies easily attainable in 3 gears (although you have to yank on it in 3rd). I wish there was a replacement exhaust for performance upgrade. The headlight sometimes flickers and stoppies are near impossible without pushing forward dangerously due to the skinny front tire. Top speed is 67 on mine so yeah, it leaves something to be desired in that arena, but it smokes from 0 to 67 (although I don't weigh very much either). Get someone riding on it with you and it's a different story though. Overall a great value with parts easily available from nearly any dealer, and most mechanics seems to be able to work on this bike without any problems. Highly recommended.
- DePorter, John A., Rock Island, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-27 2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think yamaha made a winner, this 2006 model is excellent, it is a smooth and good running bike, and they made an improvement from the 2005 model,(color). I will enjoy this motorcycle for years to come, Thanks Yamaha.
- loni, Curtice, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: