Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport reviews

4.6
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.3
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Dual Sport

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dwayne H.

Milledgeville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2011-01-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The lil' XT is a great dualie as a commuter/off road bike (not highway or rush traffic, mine will do 74 mph. but I weigh 210 pounds). The bike has a nice low seat position (I have a 30" inseam and I can touch both feet on the ground with some to spare). The 6th gear is great on level grounds (but is very tall and will pull it down on inclines). It has electric start (you can get a kick start for this bike for about $130, but it is extremely cold natured). You can take twisties with ease (with the right tires). The bike is a ton of fun to ride even though acceleration is slow (about 8 seconds 0-60 on tarmac and very sluggish after 60). With all that said, this is an excellent bike, and I couldn't imagine not having it (my pure street bike is a CB750). Bear in mind that it's not a KLR650, it is a 225. If you don't hit interstates or have to maintain 55 or higher going up mountains, and you are inseam impaired, this is an excelent lil' dualie. Off road there aren't any complaints. In fact it's light weight and its manuverability are why I bought it in the first place, but soon realized I was driving it more than the CB750 on the street as well. I highly recomend this little bike to anyone.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (13)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scorpia

Green bay, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2009-03-22

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I picked this bike up pretty much new from a local mom and pop bike shop. It only had 700 miles on it and it was affordable, so I couldn't resist. I never had a motorcycle before and the owner said it was a good beginner bike. After riding it home, I agree with him. This bike is soooooo cool and handles excellently! Last weekend I took it up to my cottage and it handles even better off road. I always tell my friends it's a street legal dirt bike with some motorcycle mixed in, and that's exactly what is. You also have plenty of room on the seat. It fits two people perfectly and the shocks absorb EVERYTHING! My neighbor who has three motorcycles and even more up at his cabin is even a little jealous. When my dad (I'm 18 and still living at home) called my mom at work to see if it was okay with her to buy it, we stepped away from the bike for a second and another customer walked in and started eyeing up the bike. So right then and there I put a down payment on it before my mom picked up her work phone. So if you see one of these wonderful bikes on sale, grab it then and there! You will never be sorry with these bikes. They also hold their value VERY well!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Pete Fetzer

Peoria, Arizona

Reviewed on 2006-12-14

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I just purchased this bike about 3 weeks ago, it is a left over 2006 but was brand new. I've been riding for many years but mostly street bikes. This is my first dual-sport in 35 years. Previously I had a 2-stoke 175 which had much more power than this Yamaha. The bike is very satisfactory if you don't need or want to go over 55mph. For trail riding, it is fine and has a very low first gear which is great in the dirt. The seat is comfortable for short rides but gets hard after about 50 miles. Gas mileage is very good, I've been getting about 75-80mpg so with the 2 gallon tank you could go about 150 miles if your butt could take it. After saying all this, I must say I am ready to trade it in for something with more power such as a Suzuki 400. The problem is the Yamaha is so nice and light and handles like a dream and the Suzuki is quite a bit heavier. I just wish the Yamaha could comfortably cruise at 65 on the highway(maybe when it's completely broken in or with someone lighter in weight).
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ernie

Florida

Reviewed on 2006-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I like the bike but I drive at highway speeds quite a bit so I think it could use a bit more power. No reliability issues so far but it's still fairly new. Downshifting to 1st can be a bit of a problem when new it gets stuck in neutral but that seems to happen less frequently now that I'm getting the bike broken in.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T. Wilson

Leesburg

Reviewed on 2006-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For all around riding for riders short in inseam, the XT225 is the best bike available. Even for tall riders, fat riders, and skinny riders, the XT225 is still a great motorcycle for off road riding and touring if you are not into comfort, as in a Gold Wing, and high speeds. There is also a very large fun factor to riding this bike. Rock solid reliability. The only negative is cold starting in the winter. Keep it covered and there is no problem. There are many cures for this problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Griffith

Farmington, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2006-04-29

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my xt the first day of august 2005. I an order in for it and was waiting. It's not like it's my first bike but it is the first bike I have had of this type in many years. Many people still call this type of motorcycle an enduro, probably because that is what they were called originally back in the late 60s early 70s. Anyway, mine does exactly what it was designed to do, for its size type and horsepower. It goes on the highway as well as down dirt roads (not an all out off road cycle). It is a good compromise considering that no one motorcycle can do it all. Good value for the dollar.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DePorter, John A.

Rock Island, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought this bike used from a friend for $900 about 3 years ago and have changed and replaced the normal stuff (clutch, handlebars, oil, plugs)... The only persistent problem is the oil gets excessively dirty in a hurry and needs to be changed more often than it should. I took the baffle out of the exhaust which caused the machine to run hot and subsequently resulted in my having it jetted up to compensate for the lean-ness. The starter has been great and very reliable. The performace is good for a 225 (223, actually) with wheelies easily attainable in 3 gears (although you have to yank on it in 3rd). I wish there was a replacement exhaust for performance upgrade. The headlight sometimes flickers and stoppies are near impossible without pushing forward dangerously due to the skinny front tire. Top speed is 67 on mine so yeah, it leaves something to be desired in that arena, but it smokes from 0 to 67 (although I don't weigh very much either). Get someone riding on it with you and it's a different story though. Overall a great value with parts easily available from nearly any dealer, and most mechanics seems to be able to work on this bike without any problems. Highly recommended.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

loni

Curtice, Ohio

Reviewed on 2005-07-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha XT225

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I think yamaha made a winner, this 2006 model is excellent, it is a smooth and good running bike, and they made an improvement from the 2005 model,(color). I will enjoy this motorcycle for years to come, Thanks Yamaha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: