Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (15)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-01-05 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike absolutely rips. It shuts down all other 125's and can keep the 250's easy!! Buy it!
- Nick R, Fort dodge, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a year ago and it rips. I have it set up for trails and eduro type riding. I came off a 2004 YZ250f and this is way better. It's lighter and has lots of power. I would suggest buying this over a 250F.
- John, prince george

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-26 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just came off a fully modded 2003 yz125 and got the o6 yz125. The first time I rode I noticed it was unbelievably faster than the 03. It handled 500% better and I was more confident entering corners because of the 15 pound difference. Now when I ride my modded 03 I feel like I'm on an old 80cc two stroke. My 03 is equiped with race tech susp and the 06 is way better. I wish I could rate it higher.
- joe, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-23 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, to start Bobby recommended this bike over a YZ250F to be my transitional bike from a YZ85. He's been there since my first bike (TTR-90) and somehow was able to teach me to actually listen to my dad, because most of the time my dad knew what he was talking about but I didn't believe until Bobby told me. He is always there to offer technical and mechanical tips and always finds a way to squeeze me into the shop to repair my bike before my next race. This brings up the bike portion of my review. This is a great bike to ride. For the first year of riding I realized it had plenty of power to do all of the gaps I was doing. However, I started racing this year and I absolutely love it. I race 125C and 125JR at Lake Geneva Raceway every Friday. I started at 23rd place at the beginning of the year and moved up to getting 4th place. As my needs increased because I was starting to push this bike to its limits I was troubled by a certain 65ft double. I was all of 3rd gear and 4th would cause the power to drop and I would nosedive. So my one suggestion is instead of gearing 48 in the rear to stock equip it with a 50 tooth (Bobby's advice). This increase allowed me the extra power I needed to clear the double and now I can clear it and then some, and if I'm feeling a little to cocky I'll try to throw a whip (NEEDS WORK) =). ***Thanks Bobby***
- Joe Popp, Waukeska, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever owned. It's an absolute blast. What shocked me the most is how smooth the power is. Very fun, fast, and easy to ride. Any one will love this bike.I was a four stroke fan, but not after I got this thing. LONG LIVE TWO STROKES!!!!!
- Brandon, Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-31 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my YZ125 for $3400 from a dealer. I've had it for about 3 weeks and this bike is insane! I love the power delivery... it has a very smooth power band for a 125, alot more torque then I expected from a 2-stroke. don't get me wrong though, this thing absolutely hauls! This thing just pulls from top to bottom. I love how light this bike is. It seems like you can just flick it around, and the suspention is amazing, I love it. I have no problems wheeling and jumping, it really boosts your confidence. The main thing is this bike just goes, I've had no problems with it, it's a rocket! No wonder almost every magazine named it 125 of the year!
- Nick Villarreal, Dewitt, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-10 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! It's extremely fast (compared to my old tt-r 125l), has great suspension, and is really light for its size. I ride just about every weekend with my friend that has a yz250f and I keep up with him the whole way. The bottom line is this bike rips! You should go out and get one right now if you are looking for the best 2-stroke 125.
- Brett, East Falmouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-14 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yes that's right, this 2 stroke is a good beginner bike depending on the person. This is my first real bike and just got it a little while ago. I had little to no experience when I bought this bike and was surprised by the power. The power is smooth so it is very controllable and won't rip your arms off at the shoulder (if controlled properly). This very well could be a great beginner bike for someone my size. It sits a little tall so I would'nt recommend it for shorter riders, but if you use caution when testing the clutch and finding the powerband and don't open it up first try, it could be a great introduction into dirt bikes. My buddies have different bikes, honda's, suzuki's, and kawasaki's and I think this is pretty comfrotable compared to the others. I don't have enough experience to compare reliability, ride or power to other 2 strokes but that dosn't matter to me right now cause once you ride this bike you won't be able to wipe the smile off your face!
- Rob, Enfield, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-02 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for about 3 months and it rips! The power band is obnoxiously powerful and the bike is really fast. It beats my friend's yz250f sometimes when we race. I would suggest this bike for anybody that wants a fast 125 for racing.
- brett, falmouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-22 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is insane...my brother rides a yz250f and I think this bike is much better. It's insanely fast, and the power band hits really hard and carries through. The suspension is set up perfectly for me. It feels so light in the air, and I can flick it sideways rather easily. I used to ride a Kawasaki kx100, and this bike totally dominates it...and the other 125's and 250f's. GO buy one now.
- Chris Valine, Warren, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-10 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike wheelie stands so much. I like it. It especially wheelie stands when you have a Starcross tire on it. Next spring I am moving to a four stroke, though because two strokes are dying out like the KX125. I am getting a KX250F. I love this bike but I am going to sell this bike in a year. The bike jumps awesome. I recommend it to anyone that likes two strokes. Love it - it keeps up with a 250 two stroke.
- me, Martinsville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-05 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a perfect bike in every way. It's very fast, it has great suspension, and it has lots of power. I have had it for about a month and a half and I really like it. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone who wants a fast and very reliable motocross bike.
- Brett, East falmouth, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-02 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is far better than my other Hondas. I jumped from a Honda 85 and man I'm glad I did. This bike is the best bike I've ever ridden. The suspension is great, it's nice and plush. I remember on my 85 I was all over the place. On this one I can ride clear more things, go through ruts faster, and the best of all is the power. Man, this engine is flawless. I ride this huge hill and it bogs down. A little more twist of the throttle and next thing I know I'm wheeling up the hill like nothing. The brakes grab quick, as well and they'll stop you in a rush no problem. The weight is awesome, too. I was at a track where there's a jump that turns into a right turn. I just lean the bike over a little and the bike obeys you great. Let's just put it this way, if you consider buying a 125, BUY THIS BIKE!!!
- Tyler, Stockton, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-12 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2006 Yz125, and I love it! If you're looking for a new bike, this is the way you should go! It is unbelievably powerful, not to mention how strong and how hard the powerband hits! THIS IS ONE FAST BIKE! I've seen stats that rank Yamaha the most comfortable, easiest to control and quickest. Now, I believe every bit of it. I can ride for a long time before my arms start to get tired at all.
- Joshua Shively, Muncie, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-13 2006 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike 2 weeks ago and I love it! I took advantage of Yamaha's financing and got one. I ride it almost every day. It has very very good handling and a great suspension. So everybody that wants to move up from a smaller bike should consider getting a 2006 Yamaha YZ125! Ride Yamaha!
- tommy, Phillipsburg, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: