Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motocross Bikes

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Johnboy

Agat, Guam

Reviewed on 2009-11-27

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Sweet powerband, awesome suspension, and extremely lightweeight compared to the four strokes. Great job Yamaha!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

K Skeen

SLC, Utah

Reviewed on 2007-04-17

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a 2006 YZ250F and bought it after riding 125s and some 250 2 strokes over 30 years. I figured everyone was gushing over them, and they must be great. The 250F was fun in some ways, but I never felt confident on the bike. It did not turn, despite getting the Dubach kit, and I was always saving my pennies for the day it blew its guts. My lap times were slower on it than I was on my 2004 YZ125. My son wanted a 2 stroke YZ250 so I bought this bike and figured I would ride it. The next day, my 250F was up for sale. This bike is easier to ride than a thumper and corners way better, and it feels about 20 pounds lighter. I will never go back to 4 strokes. I race over 40 Vet int.class. Great job Yamaha, this bike rocks!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Carl Stringer

West Palm beach, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Had the bike for 4 months and several MX practice sessions. It's a power monster. When it's on the pipe, I can keep up with 450s. It does take some skill to moderate the power band - it's very fierce. I find myself struggling midcorner sometimes as the power comes in very hard. Very reliable, but it does need a good spark plug to work. I find the seat a little hard after a full day of riding - but that is a small complaint. Can't beat that 2-stroke sound.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David West

Lagrange, Illinois

Reviewed on 2006-12-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Yamaha has done a swell job on this machine. It's faster than you can think, or want, plus it's light. If you are a two stroke fan, it's the bike to go with. I love it. I haven't touched the motor in a year of racing and hard practicing and it still wants to rip out of my hands. And no, it didn't slowly get a little slower so I didn't notice. It's still just as fast as it ever was. I've never owned a bike like this one. Nice job Yamaha. Nice job!!!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

S Williams

Grapevine, Texas

Reviewed on 2006-10-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the 06 YZ 250 and have enjoyed every second of it. It is a great bike even in stock form. It handles great, very fast, and is easy to work on. I hope that Yamaha keeps making this bike for years. Very easy to upgrade with after market parts, should you choose to. This bike loves to fly and handles turns like it is on rails. I have been riding 2 stoker's for 30+ years and this bike is 1 of the best there is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger Carlson

scottville , Michigan

Reviewed on 2006-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
'Ok here's the scoop on this. I called up and got this and a couple of other bikes for the kids. When it got here, I was a little worried about the performance end. I fired it up and was taking it easy, I took a couple small doubles set up off a table top and got a little too much in the power band. Needless to say, I had a sore rear but when I got back on and rode it around, this thing is all about business. Not saying anything bad about fours but man if you sell yourself short coming up on the face, this thing will set you back in the slot in no time. It has more power then anything I have ever been on. Now that the break in is almost over, it's getting smoother all the time. I can't believe I wanted to sell it the first day I had it. Thanks guys for this and for the kids it is the best thing we have done family wise...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

trent miller

flemington, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-03-10

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am coming off the 4-stroke scene. This bike is more than competitive with the four strokes. I think it is give and take. The two stroke handles much better, but it also wears you out much quicker. Not a problem if you're in shape, which I am not! The only thing I did to mine is added the handle bar mounts off the 06 four strokes which handle the 1 1/8 bars and put protaper bars on. don't ask why Yamaha didn't issue the bike that way from the factory. I guess they feel that we 2-strokers are not worth it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

kadeem

coatesville, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2006-02-11

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
When I first got my YZ 250, I was so happy. I had a 2001 yz85 when I hit 13 I needed a new bike so I got one. It's "my last bike I'll have." When I first got on it to the time I kicked it to the time I hit the kill switch I was in heaven. I did a wheelie up my back yard and from there on, it been the only thing I think about. My girl friend gets mad but hopefully you'll see me racing this year. "Ride, race, live"
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dylan

Fillmore, California

Reviewed on 2005-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Before this bike, I had a 1990 WR-250. It did okay until I started the track. Then it didn't have enough power for me at least, so I went and bought this a few months later when I had more experience under my belt. It was what I was looking for. the first day I got it I cruised around but couldn't do wheelies until I noticed the 12 feet black stripes on the driveway and that my tires were starting to get worn because it had so much power I couldn't wheelie I could only burn out.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jerry McNeill

Shreveport, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2005-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZ250

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went back to 2 stroke on the 06 yz250. I still have an '03 yz450, but just found it didn't turn and was not real flickable. The new 250 really flies, will turn on a dime and feels like a 125 on jumps. I couldn't bottom out the suspension if wanted to, it is much easier on the 450 to bottom. This bike has me back to the basics, I have to review all I learned on the 450. The bike is as fast or faster than my 450 and is so much easier to turn. Once I get the suspension dialed in, I will really feel comforable on it. This bike gave me confidence on the track that the 450 didn't give me. I ride the over 40 class and it reminds me of my old modified '98 250, except lighter. If you want a 250 with the flickability of a 125 then the '06 YZ250 is for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: