Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (9)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-27 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hve ridden dirt bikes and four wheelers most of my life and just went straight to an R1 because I knew I would later want the extra 400cc. I love it! It's scary fast. I would never get rid of it unless I bought another.
- josh , leesburg , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-21 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had an R6 for 4 years and loved the handling of that bike. I grew up riding dirtbikes, four-wheelers, etc. I was a little nervous about going to a liter bike because of the increased weight and length. I always rode with 750s and 1000s with my 600 and I kept up just fine and could out corner just about anyone. My 06 R1 has done nothing but amaze me from day 1. The handling is every bit as good as my R6 was, and the feedback in the rear is much better, increasing my comfort level. The brakes work amazingly, and the power is fantastic. The only complaint I have is how Yamaha has 1st gear being so tall, and I miss taching out this bike like I used to do on my R6. Although I love the roll-on power that's on tap at anytime. If your thinking of getting a 1000, but you love taching out gears, look into a 750. If you just love riding and can't get enough power and want to be lazy about doing wheelies, shortening on-ramps, and not shifting as much, get a 1000. I put 9,000 miles on my R1 last year and only replaced oil, oil filters, and a set of tires. I had 17,000 miles on my R6 and only replaced the oil, oil filter, tires, and put a new chain and sprockets on it right before I sold it. You've gotta love Yamaha!
- Bryan, Newton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-08 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You know before upgrading to the R1 I was a bit nervous about the bike's raw power. After owning it for only a few days, I realized that the bike is incredibly refined. The power is there, but it's totally smooth and within your control. I haven't ridden other liter bikes, so I can't offer comparisons. I will say that the bike is everything I hoped it would be on performance and fit/finish. I still think it's one of the most gorgeous bikes on the road.
- David, Latham, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-26 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first 1000cc bike and it is great. The only bad thing is it can get uncomfortable due to the seat position pushing you into the tank. Other than that, it's fun to ride and very smooth. I would buy it again.
- Rider, San Marcos, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-31 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now that I've put some miles on it and officially broke it in, I can honestly say that this is one heck of a bike. The power above 8k is absolutely amazing. I have had it above 130 mph in 3rd gear. Except the wind blast and the blur of the scenery, it didn't feel like I was going that fast. The bike is very smooth and stable at high speeds. Not everyone will appreciate this though. There are those who want to feel the speed. that's fine. There are other bikes that fill that niche. BTW.... The Raven R1 has got to be the sexiest bike on the planet.
- Stimey, Puyallup, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, good performance, excellent response and handling. Even at high speeds it has superb acceleration more than one can handle. Eye catchy styling, surely one cannot go wrong with this bike.
- Shelley Kataria, Edison, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-28 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the 50th anniversary editon. I have had the bike for a month now. Majority of miles on it was all in the canyons. My last bike was the 02 GSX-R 750. So far the bike is amazing can do more than I can handle. First gear 98mph, 2nd 128, 3rd +140. This bike responds to the input with surgical precision. This bike is all about fun. Just hold on and go!!
- Rogue Rider, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-17 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took it home in a truck and a day later rode it 850 miles on traffic free roads. Compared to the 99 R1 I owned, first gear is real tall. Thought it was broken at first. Does 104 in first gear when it just hits the rev limiter. I use this bike for everything from track days (on a good day 270miles on big willow) to touring. Have ridden it across the country with no problems.
- Kevin , Del Aire, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-04 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is off the hook. I just bought it bout 3 weeks ago. The first week I put 500 miles on it. I can't unleash the power within until I hit 1000 miles; I take care of my toys. BUT, I already had a chance to take it 70 in first, and I'll tell you what, HOLY MOLY, wheelies NO problem. Even in third at that speed, still no problem, maybe even forth. Unbelievable pull, raced a 954RR and beat it. Gas mileage is 55 average, ripping on it and cruising. I go riding in groups of 15 and more, and I get all the stares and chicks. I owned a 500EX then a 636 after, I'll tell you what. HUGE DIFFERENCE.
- Tim, Detroit, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: