Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (20)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-31 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started riding bikes when I was 9 years old. Now i'm 29. Simply, this is the best 600cc bike so far.. and I have no words to explain about the beauty of this bike. The performance too.. I don't think any other 600 can beat this for many many years... Thanks to Yamaha.
- Tyronne, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-13 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So much fun to ride. I live up in the Rockys and there are lots of twisties and lots of open straights. Nothing better than zinging around the empty road ways on a spring day. A machine that puts a smile on your face automatically.
- Dubo Jones, Ennis, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for 5 months now and can't get enough of it. I an always looking for an excuse to get on it. The only problem I have had so far is a head rattle. The seat could be a little softer but I guess I will just have to get harder to compensate. The only thing I may do is gear it down a little. I don't like the fact that you can get the wheel off the ground by simply rolling on the throttle. Other than that, this bike is more than able to make you poo on yourself : )
- Kevin Gardner, Lafayette, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is by far the baddest bike I have ever ridden. Fast, flickable, and it screams up top. Oh yeah and the girls go nuts over it. If you have the chance to get one do it, and make sure you get it in Blue.
- Jbomb, Pickering, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-03 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been awesome since I bought it, I ride all the time which you could probably tell by the mileage. But, in the past month and a half the engine has developed a knock only when I start it up, it doesn't matter if it's cold or hot. It happens every time I start the bike. It also has developed a stall, like when I coast to a stop light it sometimes stalls for no reason. Although I'm sure there's a reson but I'm not a mechanic so I couldn't tell you. I have done all the maintenance as per the owners manual so I'm not sure what the problem is. Other than that, I love the bike; it's mean looking and stylish and of course, fast. I would definitely recommend this bike to someone looking for a 600. I just hope that Yamaha will take care of this problem like I think they will. So we'll see tomorrow when I take it into the shop, and I will keep it posted on what the problem is, so that maybe I can save someone the headache I have got on the problem. Also, please email me if anyone else has had this sort of problem with their R6. Thanks for reading and have good, safe riding.
- yamadog, TOmball, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-30 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Still rocks. You know all the good stuff so lets point out some of the not so good stuff. Okay, in the manual it says to shift down through the gears at 15mph. Every time I do that, it doesn't go into the lower gears smoothly. It doesn't go into them at all. I have to let the clutch out to grab it and then down shift to the next gear. Annoying, but I don't down shift like what the manual suggests so no problems when not doing it that way. Sometimes when I upshift from first it goes into N instead of 2nd. Might be me but it has happened too many times especially when I know I used enough force. that's about it. Other than that, this thing still rocks. Wish both lights came on like a car and then have high beams. The one low and one high seems stupid to me.
- Smokin Flobb, Miami, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-23 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First sportbike I have owned but not the first I have ridden. Handles extremely well, better than any cruiser, what can I say? It's a sportbike. This bike is as fast as you want it to be. The speed and power is there at your command. A lot of people say it lacks power on the low end. In racing, you might want that at the low end but in bumper to bumper traffic, you want a little room so as not to jump and smack into a bumper. Great bike acceleration 0-60mph in 3 secs, top speed 167mph. Great looking bike better than any other 600 out there. The only gripe, and it's a small one, would be to be able to have the shift light come on when ever I want instead of starting at 10,000rpm. I normally shift around 5 or 6 in the city and would be cool to see the light come on sooner. Sometimes it's too noisy in the city to hear my stock exhaust. Great bike! If you are looking for a 600, this is the one to get. Comfy too.
- Hooked on sportbikes, Sin City, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-13 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since it first came out, I had my eye on it. Now I own one, and now people try to keep an eye on Me. This is my first bike, so truly, I'm learning. I've read other reviews, and it seems I should take the bike to the track more than staying in the street. The bike is definitely a natural screamer--especially above 8 RPMs. I still mostly baby the bike, though; learning things as I go. I wring the neck when I can, but I'm more so paranoid of the police trying to wring my neck, so I chill. I mostly ride to & from work. I've seen 120 mph, and will see more.
- 2 Men-E, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-12 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has it all. I haven't had it long but I have ridden many bikes and the R6 is definitely the smoothest and most comfortable of them all. It's tight though turns and the new fly by wire throttle system makes accelerating much smoother and easier to control. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Micah Stair, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second R6 and it is truly awesome. It is an absolute change from the 2004 R6. The handling is smooth and the throttle only keeps you wanting more. Great bike for just learning and knowing the ropes.
- JustRide, Westfield , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Man, this bike is sweet... everytime I roll on the throttle the bike feels like it keeps on asking for more. I know I have to stay below 8800 RPM but from time to time it's just so hard. I hit well over 10K RPM and this thing is a real rocket. After hitting more than 150 MPH on this thing, it's all tunnel vision.
- Anonymous, Ontario, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-30 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As an Import Tuner owner I never thought I would own a bike cause my car had everything I wanted: Performance, Style, and Reliability. One thing it has working against it: Gas Prices. So I set out to look around at a few things that were better on gas. Owning a bike seemed like a joke to me. Me, own a bike, my friends got a great laugh out of that and so did I. Until a few weeks ago I went into a dealership and sat on a Yamaha R600. I thought hey, this is actually kinda cool. Then I looked over at the R6 and it stole me away. So, after a week to think about it I went back to the dealership and put a downpayment on it and recently took it home. First day of riding I can't say enough good things about this bike. Great feel, awesome Controlable power, and overall the experience was so great I had to write a review of it. I recommend this bike to any first time riders and also experienced riders. The R6 has a bit of something for everyone.
- JB Blackshire, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-21 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike, my first was a 2003 R6 and the difference between the two is night and day. With a complete stock setup I prefer this to my previous bike which had after market headers and had a pipe. Looks beautiful, drives beautiful, sounds beautiful. Thumbs up to Yamaha once agian for a superior product.
- Mikel Reber, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-13 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far the best 600 ever produced. More fun than my GSXR 750. Drops jaws wherever I go. Enough said. Only problem is girlfriend says she feels like shes going to fall off. But small price to pay. That back end is wicked.
- JT Rodriguez, Bloomington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-25 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since Feb. my 50th anniversary has been nothing but brilliant! The power, the handling, and the reliability (so far so good) it is all there. I'm tired of hearing about power lacking in the low RPMs...if you want to spend that much time there, do NOT get this bike! The new R6 is glorious.
- Adam, Lemoore, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my bike in Feb, rode it a little right at the beginning (weather permitting) and then continued to put more miles on it. I cannot explain in words how this bike operates. It turns into corners so effortlessly, and its acceleration is top notch. If you think you have ridden a fast sport bike then I encourage you to try to hop on this one and take it up around 11,000-14,000 rpms, it is a complete rocket ship. I tried finding a blue model for a while and nobody had them but luckily Rosenau called me when they knew they were going to be getting one. My bike never hit the showroom floor, it was sold before it got off the truck, and I have no regrets at all about buying this bike. I get compliments from people all over, and the lucky few of my friends (very experienced riders) who I have let ride it, want to sell their current bikes and get one ASAP. Yamaha deffinately did it good with this one, just glad I waited to get it.
- Michael LePage, Oakland, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-10 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the 06 R6 blue and white and absolutly love it. Rode it all weekend and racked up 700 miles on it. Absolute dream bike. Power is there and so is the handleing. Would reccomend it to anyone.
- Dan Harrah, Warminster , Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-03 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I bought me one of these bad boys 2 days ago,( Blue ) and I love it. Even though I have to keep the RPM down till break in, I can tell you already, it's a screeeeemer. I was told theses are limited addition bikes, but have not seen any info that supports that statement. Regardless, I am keeping mine for a long time......Happy ridding
- Mike, Cedar Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-27 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There's something about this bike that caught my eye. I was in the showroom with a friend of mine and he bought the raven edition. The more I looked at the bike, the more I fell in love with it. After reading up on the bike and checking out a few other 600's, I sold my gixxer 750 and took home a R6 50th anniversary edition (yellow/black). I couldn't be happier.
- Tom, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-02-24 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the first black (Raven) R6 that I could get my hands on (01/28/2006). Comfort: Coming off a Ducati Monster I knew that the need for a powerful sport bike would involve a sacrifice in comfort, however I find the 2006 R6 more comfortable than the CBR600RR. Recently prior to this purchase, I rode a couple of 05/06 liter bikes 600's and this one is more comfortable to me than the others are. I was very comfortable in the first 50-100 miles. Power: Since the first 600 miles limit you to 8800 RPM, I had to wait a bit. After getting the first service at 570 miles, at 601 miles I made sure the shift light was set for 10000/12000 (12500 is the limit to 1000 miles) and "twisted the wick". What a rush! Since this motor is over square, the power understandably doesn't become noticeable until about 5000-6000. However, at about 8000, you get to meet the "genie". My first dead stop launch yielded a level of acceleration that caused a bit of "head-up illusion" and after third gear, a bit of surprise at looking at well into three digits on the speedometer. I cannot wait to see the 16300 or so actual RPM capability. The couple of wheelies I pulled were predictable and fun, as well. Awesome power! Handling: Awesome. It was very easy for me to get accustomed to the behavior of the R6. I was dragging pegs the first day. It goes wherever you command it to. Sound: There is a noticeable "induction growl" that makes for a nice touch for me. The exhaust timbre from the midship pipe is definitely a bit throatier than other sport bikes. In full acceleration, you get to hear the "evil voice of power" going through about 8000. Looks: I've had constant compliments since I bought it a month ago. The Raven with red trim is an intimidating yet beautiful touch ... my son calls it the "BatCycle", which is not a bad analogy. Even a couple of Harley riders took favorable note. Instruments: Very nice layout. The tachometer is very appealing and the digital gauges and controls make sense. The programmable functions are easy to change. Even though Yamaha has admitted that the 17500 RPM redline is incorrect and even has offered to buy back the bike, I say nope, I'm keeping mine. I'm also not changing the tach ... it just looks cool. Kudos to Yamaha! Insurance with Progressive is comparable to other 600 sport bikes ... No big deal. This is an awesome machine. If I lost it, I would go out & buy another one ASAP.
- Paul A. Johnson, The Woodlands, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: