Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2006 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tyronne

London, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2007-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started riding bikes when I was 9 years old. Now i'm 29. Simply, this is the best 600cc bike so far.. and I have no words to explain about the beauty of this bike. The performance too.. I don't think any other 600 can beat this for many many years... Thanks to Yamaha.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dubo Jones

Ennis, Montana

Reviewed on 2007-05-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
So much fun to ride. I live up in the Rockys and there are lots of twisties and lots of open straights. Nothing better than zinging around the empty road ways on a spring day. A machine that puts a smile on your face automatically.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kevin Gardner

Lafayette, Louisiana

Reviewed on 2007-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the bike for 5 months now and can't get enough of it. I an always looking for an excuse to get on it. The only problem I have had so far is a head rattle. The seat could be a little softer but I guess I will just have to get harder to compensate. The only thing I may do is gear it down a little. I don't like the fact that you can get the wheel off the ground by simply rolling on the throttle. Other than that, this bike is more than able to make you poo on yourself : )
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jbomb

Pickering, Ontario

Reviewed on 2007-02-21

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is by far the baddest bike I have ever ridden. Fast, flickable, and it screams up top. Oh yeah and the girls go nuts over it. If you have the chance to get one do it, and make sure you get it in Blue.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

yamadog

TOmball, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-01-03

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has been awesome since I bought it, I ride all the time which you could probably tell by the mileage. But, in the past month and a half the engine has developed a knock only when I start it up, it doesn't matter if it's cold or hot. It happens every time I start the bike. It also has developed a stall, like when I coast to a stop light it sometimes stalls for no reason. Although I'm sure there's a reson but I'm not a mechanic so I couldn't tell you. I have done all the maintenance as per the owners manual so I'm not sure what the problem is. Other than that, I love the bike; it's mean looking and stylish and of course, fast. I would definitely recommend this bike to someone looking for a 600. I just hope that Yamaha will take care of this problem like I think they will. So we'll see tomorrow when I take it into the shop, and I will keep it posted on what the problem is, so that maybe I can save someone the headache I have got on the problem. Also, please email me if anyone else has had this sort of problem with their R6. Thanks for reading and have good, safe riding.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Smokin Flobb

Miami, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-11-30

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Still rocks. You know all the good stuff so lets point out some of the not so good stuff. Okay, in the manual it says to shift down through the gears at 15mph. Every time I do that, it doesn't go into the lower gears smoothly. It doesn't go into them at all. I have to let the clutch out to grab it and then down shift to the next gear. Annoying, but I don't down shift like what the manual suggests so no problems when not doing it that way. Sometimes when I upshift from first it goes into N instead of 2nd. Might be me but it has happened too many times especially when I know I used enough force. that's about it. Other than that, this thing still rocks. Wish both lights came on like a car and then have high beams. The one low and one high seems stupid to me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Hooked on sportbikes

Sin City, Nevada

Reviewed on 2006-11-23

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
First sportbike I have owned but not the first I have ridden. Handles extremely well, better than any cruiser, what can I say? It's a sportbike. This bike is as fast as you want it to be. The speed and power is there at your command. A lot of people say it lacks power on the low end. In racing, you might want that at the low end but in bumper to bumper traffic, you want a little room so as not to jump and smack into a bumper. Great bike acceleration 0-60mph in 3 secs, top speed 167mph. Great looking bike better than any other 600 out there. The only gripe, and it's a small one, would be to be able to have the shift light come on when ever I want instead of starting at 10,000rpm. I normally shift around 5 or 6 in the city and would be cool to see the light come on sooner. Sometimes it's too noisy in the city to hear my stock exhaust. Great bike! If you are looking for a 600, this is the one to get. Comfy too.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

2 Men-E

Alexandria, Virginia

Reviewed on 2006-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Since it first came out, I had my eye on it. Now I own one, and now people try to keep an eye on Me. This is my first bike, so truly, I'm learning. I've read other reviews, and it seems I should take the bike to the track more than staying in the street. The bike is definitely a natural screamer--especially above 8 RPMs. I still mostly baby the bike, though; learning things as I go. I wring the neck when I can, but I'm more so paranoid of the police trying to wring my neck, so I chill. I mostly ride to & from work. I've seen 120 mph, and will see more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Micah Stair

Knoxville, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2006-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has it all. I haven't had it long but I have ridden many bikes and the R6 is definitely the smoothest and most comfortable of them all. It's tight though turns and the new fly by wire throttle system makes accelerating much smoother and easier to control. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JustRide

Westfield , Indiana

Reviewed on 2006-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2006 Yamaha YZF-R6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my second R6 and it is truly awesome. It is an absolute change from the 2004 R6. The handling is smooth and the throttle only keeps you wanting more. Great bike for just learning and knowing the ropes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: