Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-03-05 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Lightweight No Problems This is a great bike. In fact, I haven't found one I like more. The handling is smooth; contours are comfortable; it runs well and I have never had a problem. It is very quick and easy to maneuver.
- Erin, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rode bikes for a while now...racing motoX as a teen. My previous (actually I still have it) bike was a YZF600R. I've ridden all other sport bikes in the 600 class and a few of the litre bikes. Bar none, this bike is the best. Here's why: Best balance of weight and power. My 600R had plenty of power for the streets but was hefty at well over 500 lbs wet. The R6s has MORE power and weighs in 100 lbs lighter. Midrange is great. The new R6's have to put out double-digit rpm's to generate the power this one does in the 7-8k range. In traffic, that means a ton because you don't have to run the bike at those crazy revs in order to have the power the instant you want it...plus less vibration at lower rpm's. Comfort. Not nearly as comfortable as the 600R, but hands down more comfortable than the new R6. A good compromise between the two I'd say. Overall, if you're like most of us - a commuter and an occasional weekend twisties warrior, this is the one for you. Even if you want a little track day action, this one will not disappoint.
- David, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-25 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is incredibly fun to ride, handles extremely well, and has good power. It will pull the front tire off the ground with ease. However, the only complaint is the ergonomics on long rides the legs get a little sore after about 45 minutes. I would definitely recommend the bike to anyone that has any experience with super sport bikes.
- matt, beaverton, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-20 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second Yamaha bike but my first sports bike and I have to say it's a winner....hands down! The bike that I brought was a Raven '06 R6S and the black really looks good. The bike is comfortable and I feel at one with this machine. I have not broken it in yet but I will after this weekend. Not sure if this is a good starter bike because of the power and very fast speed of the bike. After you hit 2nd gear the bike pulls like a stallion and really takes off. One can go to 0-100 in about 6 seconds give or take a few mph. I use the bike to commute to work, weather permitting, and to just ride around the local area. I highly recommend this bike. Ride on, ride safe.
- Supreme, Alexandria, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-17 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought My R6S in Feb 06. I've ridden the GSXR 600, the Kawasaki 636, and the Honda 600RR, and I think my bike is better than all 3. If your thinking of getting a bike pretty soon this is the way to go especially if this is your first bike.
- Qa'id Shakir, Gwynn Oak, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-27 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome all around sport bike for a reasonable price. Yamaha is known for lightweight and this bike is no different at 355lbs, and it packs a punch. You won't find a better middleweight class bike than the R6. The lightweight and response make for razor sharp handling. In addition, in my opinion, not only is the R6s a little cheaper, but it looks better. A good buy for the price
- Ryan, Contoocook, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-13 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has delivered so much in such little time. It's my first bike and I jumped right on and took off. I then put my girlfriend on the back and I couldn't even tell the difference. Everything on it is so smooth and precise. It is a great bike for any level rider.
- David Spataro, O' Fallon, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-12 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First sport bike but definitely not let down. It is comfortable even on long trips (150-200 mi.). Speed and acceleration just makes you smile. So far, it has topped out at 151!!! Raven black looks great and gets many comments. Great bike.
- Travis, Columbia , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-29 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really enjoy riding it. I got the raven color(so much better than the Yamaha blue). It turns heads everywhere. The power delivery is smooth, as well as the ride. At 100 mph it's smooth as silk. It takes the twisties extremely well and carves corners into them. The ergonomics are better than on the GSXR. Since I am tall however, my legs get a little uncomfortable after an hour or two without moving them.
- Chris, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-25 2006 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! So much power; I've only experienced about half its power so far. Contrary to what many people have said, this bike is a great starter/beginner bike, but that's for me, at least. Just finished the MSF course over the weekend, with no prior motorcycle experience, and picked up this baby 2 days later. Make sure you're responsible enough and respect the bike enough if you decide to make this bike a first purchase, or you'll kill yourself. Unfortunately, the R6S lacks some of the goodies that come standard on the 05' models and the new model 06 models, but it's still great!
- Robert, Glendale, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: