BMW Dual Sport Reviews on Cycle Insider (52)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with BMW Dual Sport Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Steve from United States says:

I finally got my new K1200 GT. It is a used 2007 with less than 2900 miles and was significantly less than the original new' sale price. After riding

Read More (52 reviews)

Have you owned a BMW Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally got my new K1200 GT. It is a used 2007 with less than 2900 miles and was significantly less than the original new' sale price. After riding motorcycles for over 30 years and currently riding a BMW R1100 RT for a State Police Department, I can give some experienced opinions about the K1200 GT. Best bike ever? Who can really make that claim? Best bike I've ever ridden? Without question, yes. Over the last 3 decades having owned and ridden more than 20 varied models from a long favorite 1974 Honda CB 750 Four I crossed the country on after college, through various sport bikes, FJs, Gold Wings, Harleys (both for work and play), this bike is the answer to what I wanted. Being close to 50 years old now and still a professional rider as a highway patrol, and survivor of a few unfortunate impacts with cars and roads, this bike has the attributes I wanted. Looks, which are of course subjective, speed which is undeniable, handling beyond what anyone short of a professional racer on a closed track could fully utilize and most importantly for me... long distance comfort while still feeling the essence of being on a high performance motorcycle. I cannot name flaws worth mentioning when talking about this bike. Perfect? For me, yes. It is remarkably stable at speeds reserved for closed courses (130+). It has precise rock steady handling, ideal wind protection and is adjustable as desired. It also has amenities like no other. I can't imagine who could ride this bike and then choose another to buy... except for the price, which like I said, I got at a significant discount. If you can afford it, buy it now... otherwise save up for it. If you don't you are settling for something short of it. Sometimes that's OK; I've had to do that for years and enjoyed most every bike I've had before. Now I'm spoiled, ruined for anything else. Ride safe, enjoy what you have, live within your means.
- Steve, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-11-19 2007 BMW K1200R Sport Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
"The "Rocky Balboa Bike" of Sport Street Fighters's go the distance" Last Bike 2009 Yamaha FJR was a great bike but... Rider for over 45 years and was looking for a "Bucket List" Bad Ass that had it all! Power, Extraordinary Handling with Touring Comfort Capabilities. Finding a "The Diamond" for sale at a Highly Reputable Yamaha/Honda ATV/Boat/ Motorcycle was aided by Cycle Trader.com 's search/notification App. 2005-2007 BMW Sport Bike's 1200 Inline 4cyl 13:1 Compression , German Engineering and research was a natural attraction. These are Real Machines for Motorcycle Enthusiast who dedicate time to strict maintenance! Not recommended for the casual owner. High Compression, High Horsepower, High Heat make it imperative you to maintain and be vigilant. The prior owner came up short. Traded in @ a Jap Bike Dealer fortunate for me. West Oakland had a Tiger by the tail with the cooling system but came through in the end result.
- Ron Baker, Vero Beach FL

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-09-30 2007 BMW F800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike had a complete failure of the fuel pump just after I bought it. It was expensive to replace. I use this bike 95% of the time for commuting and then 80 mile round trips for pleasure. It gets 55 mpg average and over 60 mpg on the freeway. After owning it for 7 years, I'm upgrading to a Honda touring CTX 1300.
- Dave, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-26 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since my last review I added 10,000 miles on this bike and my opinion has changed as now I like the bike even more. In the last couple of years I have ridden quite a bit more on the weekends but probably the most inspiring was the day I took off at 3 in the afternoon and did not stop until I reached Canada. The bike was fantastic as the luggage and gear that is readily available for it worked wonderfully and the bike was almost perfect. The only reason I say almost is that the seat is good for a couple hours of riding and then you are in pain. So I had a custom seat made that I wish I had for the trip to Canada but at least I will have it for the next trip. The positives are the great mileage, adequate power, ease and pleasure of riding the bike and reliability. The main negative is the BMW seat is not good for long trips and the headlight could be a bit brighter. If you can only have one bike I recommend an Enduro motorcycle as this class of bike will enable you to do the most varied kind of riding.
- George Doria-Medina, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-24 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's excellent - all around just an excellent, reliable, comfortable bike. When looking to start riding I went to all the websites, read the articles about what cc engine to start on, what style of bike is better and this bike is it. This is a bike that you can learn to ride on then really grow into.
- Brandon, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-09 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many motorcycles, some tourers and other cruisers. I have never experienced a motorcycle so well balanced in handling, power, quality of fit and finish and ride ability under all conditions. This K1300GT has it all. At first, I was a little intimidated by the massive amounts of power this bike lays out, but got used to it in short order. When cruising on the freeway and going 80 mph. the engine hums at 5k rpm. but you never feel it because it is vibration free (or almost). It has such great balance on the engine and it pulls away from anything at highway speeds, making it a great "get out of the way" machine. Riding two up couldn't be easier with the ESA II suspension system that allows you to adjust your ride to any condition and number of passenger and/or bags. This bike purrs in mountain riding and handles the wickedest turns with ease.
- Mike A, Murrieta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-14 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: It's a very reliable bike, very nimble with great torque. It's a great fit for all category riders from entry level to novice. Cons: The side view mirrors could be extended about another inch for better rear sight. The front windshield doesn't do a whole lot in deflecting wind. Bottom Line: It's a great buy. I highly recommend purchasing it. It handles great on twisties and straits. I've never had a problem. Just do routine services and you're good. I'm getting 12k on my tires before replacement.
- Kuan, Escondido, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-15 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this 2007 F650GS a week ago. I've been riding every day and taken some short trips. I averaged 69.2 mpg the first tank. (WOW). I added a taller windshield, and a trunk for now. I also have a 2008 650 Suzuki Brugman, and have had many other bikes in the past. This BMW is way too much fun, with great mileage.
- RonBo, Arvada, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-14 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought an F800GS and love it. I had intended to sell my faithful thumper but every time I clean it up and take if for a ride I decide to keep it. It is a wonderful all around bike that will take you anywhere in the world on either tarmac or dirt roads. I especially love it on the roads of Baja. The 60 to 70 MPG it gets isn't bad either. Unless a really good friend comes along that will appreciate and love this bike like I do, I think I'll just keep it and use it for city runs in traffic.... I can't part with it!
- Ken Decroo, Running Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-07 2007 BMW R 1200 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, after 20K miles, I am happy to say that I am still very satisfied with my R1200R. I haven't found any other motorcycle I would even consider trading mine in on yet (yes, the wife still loves hers too).<br /> As expected, the BMW has been flawless in the reliability department.<br /> Whether you want to take a leisurely ride in the country, or a spirited ride on the twistiest roads you can find, this bike is more than equal to the challenge. Although the R1200R did not seem to get some of the press of the other performance motorcycles out there, I would have to say for real world, everyday riding, it's hard to beat.<br /> The only negative thing I can say is the wind protection is a bit lacking. But hey, it's a naked bike, what do you expect, get the hand warmers.<br /> What do you have to lose? Go take one for a test ride. Go on the twistiest road you can find and don't be afraid to push it past 4500 RPM coming out of the corners. It will pleasantly surprise you with more than enough torque.
- Bob Moyer, Thompson, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-14 2007 BMW R 1200 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put 10k miles on this bike in 4 months. Weekend mountains and canyon twisties, San Diego to LA slabbing, San Diego cruising, and a recent 1200 mile weekend. Rider comfort is superb and this is a smooth machine. I had some initial issues with the seat, but after changing to a high seat I can ride for hours with no discomfort. This bike has all the get up and go a body could want and handles the tightest corners like a dream. The suspension was obviously not designed for someone as fat as I am but it does a remarkable job. Have I mentioned I love my R1200R?
- eddiepat62, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-23 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike! Handles any type of riding conditions. Does anything it is asked to do.
- R CURTIS, MONTVILLE, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-03 2007 BMW R 1200 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Kinda fun on the twisties but it ain't no touring bike. Commmuter or weekend warrior just fine, but don't try to go for a long highway trip.
- Gary, Mojave, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-15 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I sold my 1997 K 1100 LT to buy this bike and I couldn't be happier. My dealer has always serviced my bikes and without a doubt these guys have always been top shelf. As far as the bike and performance, I feel like I died and went to heaven. It corners like a dream, it has more juice than I will ever need and the acceleration just makes me remember the old muscle cars I had when I was a teen. It is just darn fun to ride and it meets the inbetween requirement when I feel like riding a sport bike and when I want to have a passenger and tour a bit. I can't say enough good things about this bike
- Patrick J, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-22 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Could a 64 year old guy re-enter street riding after thirty years afoot? Perhaps with the right ride. It would have to provide smooth substantial power, be a nimble turner; feature powerful brakes; have a comfortable riding position and be techy enough to please the picky ex-engineer. Enter the F800ST. I found a fine a pre-owned '07 in April of '08 at a friendly NC BMW dealer. I loved it at my first somewhat awkward ride. I still do. This bike is a natural. A perfect re-entry machine. It does all things well. Power - It can seem oh-so-modest in the torque department with a gentle right hand but still blast off at stoplights with equal ease. Twisties - Face it, motorcycling is all about turning and this bike has it down; precise turn entry, ease of lean, stability over bumps with silky roll-on at turn exits. It loves transitions. This is confidence inspiring and even forgiving to the relative newbie. Stopping - Front brakes feel a bit squishy under the right hand even after bleeding, but are powerful with smooth progressiveness both on and off. Easy to modulate which is essential to avoid evil lockup or ABS operation on hard stops. Some nose dive, yes, but entirely manageable even for a retread rider like me. Rear brake twitters the ABS in hard stops occasionally but no grief in that regard. Comfort - For me just the right combo of upright seating position with forward lean to balance the wind lift at speed. By straightening my (long) arms a bit I can ride upright if I choose, but the forward lean feels natural. Windscreen could be a bit taller for wind protection and may face an aftermarket switcheroo. My knee positions pick up engine heat on cold days. Hot days in stop and go can warm the legs a bit but not uncomfortably so. Not much wiggle room on this seat but still for an hour or two between stops not a problem. Techy - yes! Light alloy abounds; the instruments charm; the belt drive is quiet; the engine is just smooth enough for comfort but sends the right vibes into the bike to let you know it's there; the fit and finish are precisely what one might expect from BMW, perfect. In sum, this bike fits my needs for around town and reasonable length fun rides perfectly. Sons (younger w/Ducati 1000S2R &#038; older with BMW R1200ST) drooled over it, and that alone would surely make an old guy smile!
- Ron Coddington, Willow Spring, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-05 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for 40 years. I am not a hard core rider, but love to ride (about 5-8000 per year). There is no one bike that fulfills all things for all people, however of all bikes, the K-GT comes closer than any bike I have known. The handling, power, comfort, safety, looks, and reliability are all fantastic. It is just a plain pleasure to ride.
- Charlie Hall, Bellevue,, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-23 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike corners, cruises and tours like all the best of everything I've owned. The only thing I could find to be critical about is the 6th gear. My 1150 had what seemed to be an overdrive 6th gear. My new 1200 seems to be geared a little lower in 6th. Still if you can afford it, I believe this to be the best bike around.
- Matt Hoffstetter, Vancouver , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-07 2007 BMW R 1200 RT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned other sport touring models, but the 1200 RT is bar-none the most incredibly good riding machine I've ever owned. Intuitive in the corners, 52 mpg on the road, and extremely good for long distances. I've found that for those that complain that it won't do the distances I would reply, break it in. This bike doesn't really wind out until a few thousand miles. Number 2, get a new seat. I have the Rick Mayer and have easily done 700 to 800 miles in a day. Number 3, change windshields. There are a number of windshields that are better for wind protection. The Boxer engine is easy to work on and will save you money if you can do your own valve adjustments. I've had mine for 2 years now and not one problem with even the smallest things. It is a perfect bike that needs to be ridden.
- Bruce, Mill Spring, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-25 2007 BMW R 1200 R Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For me, this bike is the perfect combination of speed, power and agility. It has performed flawlessly under every condition I have encountered. It serves very well as a daily commuter and a weekend hell-raiser. It has more than enough torque to pull through the corners. There is no need to downshift to pass, but it's too much fun not to. The suspension inspires confidence in any situation even when traveling over unexpected gravel roads, wet roads, or tight West Virginia switchbacks covered with dirt and leaves. You can't truly appreciate this motorcycle until you decide to push it hard through the twisties. Thanks to the ABS, it is forgiving enough to enter curves way too fast, yet powerful enough to torque your way through in style. 109HP and 85ft lbs of torque! Who could ask for a better balance? I would recommend an R1200R to anyone looking for a fun bike that will help increase your riding abilities so much so that my wife has one too.
- Bob Moyer, Thompson, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-17 2007 BMW F 650 GS Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Thank God and thank my wife. I've owned a Suzuki 750cc Intruder and a Suzuki SP500cc street/trail bike, but I've never owned a bike in this size range that could run so smoothly after reaching speeds of 60 and above as does this 2007 F650 GS that I now own. I am in love with this bike, or so my wife tells me. This bike is beautiful and big and streamlined, when a guy my size rides it the bike appears to others that it's large enough for me. I am so happy with it I just want to go buy another just in case BMW forgets to make a bike this nice again. You might think the heated handle bar grips are for sissies but trust me they will make a sissy out of most riders and they'll be thankful. One personal safety note, if you plan on doing any serious mud and trail riding I would invest in a set of true trail tires since the ones that come with the bike are better suited for the pavement. This bike has larger dark wind screen, ABS breaks that can be turned off and on for street and trail riding, tension control knob to increase tension when you let your wife on the back and a digital clock on the dash so you won't be late for work. Two very good books that come with bike explain how to do just about everything you need to know how to do to your new or used bike. The other book is an excellent maintenance schedule. I can't remember them all.
- xzoup, Little Rock , Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-16 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First I must confess I am a newbie rider. Finished the MSF Basic course, received the certificate 2 weeks later, following day at the DMV for the written and that Saturday drove away with the F800ST. However during the 2 week wait period I went looking at bikes trying to decide what to buy. I didn't want something too small and grow out of quickly nor too large/heavy to handle as a new rider. The first place I visited was BMW by advice of my Brother-in-Law who owns 4 bikes, one of them being a BMW K1200R. The Blue F800ST grabbed my attention immediately. Great looking bike, period. The price vs. CC's forced me to look at other Mfrs. Visited Kawasaki, Yamaha, Suzuki, Honda and even HD. There is no argument one can get a lot of bike for the price going Japanese but can one get the performance, safety and service that BMW is known for? I bounced around my purchasing decision several times and ultimately came back to BMW as that was the bike I was glued to from the start. I decided the extra $ was not going to alter my life and I will get what I really desire. Aside from perhaps the Italians, few can beat German Engineering. Now for the review: OK, I'm new to riding so what do I really have to compare it to? The Yamaha 250 from the MSF Class? I can only honestly say it's the easiest bike one can imagine to ride through the twisties as well as on the freeway. It's lightweight and simple to turn at low speeds. It seems to make up it's own mind when executing a turn in a smooth fashion. It's spontaneous with the slightest push/pull on the grips. What a fun and exciting bike to ride! Seat is comfortable and although my longest ride non-stop had been approximately 120 miles, I had no discomfort except for my right wrist which has nothing to do with the bike, but as being new to riding perhaps gripping the throttle too tightly. Cruise Control would have been a good option for BMW to include on this model as they do emphasize this bike as the Touring version of the F800S. Pros: ABS Brakes may be controversial to some, but it can prevent a spill. Fortunately I have not had to use them in any emergency stop yet, but I feel good they are there when needed. Handling of this bike is nothing less of awesome. Computer is nice and already came up with one warning that the front tire pressure was low. It's those little things that make this bike seem safer to ride. Cons: 70 mph plus one gets you a head-full of wind. An aftermarket 4 inch taller windshield will take care of that. Also, as with most bikes, the stock exhaust is heavy and restrictive. I installed a Remus exhaust and not only it sounds sweet, but tests show an increase of 10 to 12 HP plus removing the lag/slight hesitation from starting out from 1st gear. Lastly, there is some heat coming into the left fairing and onto the leg although nothing major and actually would have been better if the hot air were to have been distributed to both legs for those cold days. Conclusion: When I decide to get a larger (touring) bike for long trips, I plan to keep this as the bike of choice for the enjoyable handling through the mountain and coastal roads!
- Steve G, Westlake Village, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-03 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode my Adventure back home to Virginia in two days and it inspired more confidence at night and on busy wet mountain highways than any bike I've ridden before. But what I'm really excited to report is how well it handled on the dirt and gravel mountain roads around our property in West Virginia. The ABS brakes were fantastic at slowing me down in a controlled manner as I entered sharp turns too quickly. I'm sure they saved me several times. I felt like a kid with a new dirt bike. Then at the end of the day I could ride 2 hours home with the comfort of a touring bike. I would strongly recommend buying a GS Adventure.
- Peter Zazanis, Oakton, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-29 2007 BMW R 1200 GS Adventure Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
GS Adventure: 2007 My first taste of a GS and this flavor will be with me forever. Actually bought it and had never even ridden one before. My experience: I am 45 and been riding for 33 years and have ridden just about everything you could imagine. I have raced amature motocross, street raced a formula road bike, AMR back in the day and dabbled in Trials, no competition but still own a Honda TLR. Admittedly, I only have about 2000 miles on my 2007 GS, but I probably have more then 2000 smile and grins from it. No one should ever really buy this bike for off-roading (In my opinion of course). But everyone should ride a BMW GS just once to experience just how comfortable, controllable and safe you will feel riding this motorcycle. Comfort: I have had several, ok, over forty, motorcycles, motocross bikes, trials bikes, street cruisers, exotic six cylinder Honda CBX's and many others. When you ride the GS you will find you are in the most ergonomically correct position for riding. I have seen people add the highway foot pegs to the GS's - to eaches own. Controllable: I recently took an advance motorcycle riding course offered by the DOT, CT. It teaches you some best practices in motorcycle safety. Panic stops, avoidance of road objects, sudden swerve maneuvers etc. Thinking I had nothing to learn after 30 plus years on the road, I was wrong. Riding the GSA, I was cheating the course. Riding Figure- eights in tight boxes drawn on the ground. Combining acceleration through three gears then adding panic stops. Everything they could think of to simulate dangerous situations for a motorcyclist. The GS could have probably done it all by itself. The GSA With ABS stopped in just over half the distance of any bike out there in all the braking tests. You could hit the brakes for everything they were worth and the ABS did the rest, it was unbelievable! You stop straight in line with total control of the motorcycle. Safety: I would strongly suggest adding or ordering ABS package as an option. It by it's self is the best friend you could have to trust with your life! This is the first motorcycle I have owned with ABS I can not say enough about it get it. It could save your life! The suspension is like riding on air with the long suspension travel, you glide over some pretty tough stuff without a flinch. When set up properly for your weight, riding style and ability, there's really nothing this bike won't do short of motocross. The handling is steady, nimble and very responsive. You can toss it around on the street like a toy. It feels sturdy, smooth and sure footed and if you're into dragging your knee around the corner I invite you to do so. I can't believe how much you can crank such a tall bike over and still feel stable. With road tires on it of course. Now if you want to get goofy, the GSA I ride will nail a wheelie for as far as you ae willing, or daring to ride one. Up through the gears 1st, 2nd, and try third it's tall but very manageable on the rear wheel! And did I mention fun as hell? My overall rating is five stars! They only thing I would ask BMW for is just a pinch more HP. But it certainly has enough for the average rider @ 103 HP. I just am spoiled after spending many years on some real hypo machines. Happy trails, Keep the shinny side up!
- Lee Tetreault, Newtown , Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 BMW F 800 ST Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently traded my 2006 F650GS for a new F800ST. I liked the 650 very much but it was not well suited for longer trips. The 800 is a more all purpose bike for both short and long runs. The extra power, 6th gear, smoother gearbox and drive, more comfortable seating and riding are all well worth the small additional weight and price. Super easy to keep clean and looks fabulous. I added most options and love all the information available with the on-board computer. I'm not sure yet if this is even a flaw but the motor does generate quite a bit of heat, handled well by the radiator and fan but still runs up the left fairing. Not very noticeable when the bike is moving but in traffic or stop and go, it does get a bit warm on the left side. Too bad the heat could not have been distributed more evenly and you'd have a great leg warmer in winter or cooler weather. In any case, it's not much to complaint about - more an observation. All the other superb features and quality far outweigh this minor issue.
- Tom, Prince William, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-07 2007 BMW K 1200 GT Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In recent years I have owned or ridden extensively a CBR600, VFR 800, Monster 900, VStar 650, Magna 750, SV100S, ST1300A, Tiger 1050 and most recently purchased the K1200GT. I still own the Tiger 1050 and if I could only have one bike, the Tiger would win hands down. It is the best all around bike I have ever ridden and is reasonably priced. However, when I really want to put some miles on the added amenities and storage of a bike like the K1200GT are nice. Prior to the K1200GT I had the ST1300A and was quite happy with the ST with the exception of the heft of the bike and lack of cruise control. With a bike designed to really cover the miles, cruise control is great. Though it was possible to add aftermarket cruise to the ST, I decided to look at other options. The R1200RT and FJR1300 were appealing but overall package of the K1200GT ideal for me and worth the extra cost compared to the FJR. I was very hesitant to get rid of the ST that I was pretty happy with, but after getting the K12GT I was very glad I did. The ESA, heated grips &#038; seat, cruise control, ideal power delivery and many of the other features of the K12GT get a lot of attention but for me one of my favorite features of the bike is the ability to adjust the handle bars. With any bike I get fatigued by staying in the same seating position for hours. The ability to change the handlebar height in the middle of a trip coupled with the cruise control make this bike just wonderful for eating up miles. I must admit I do like the Tiger a bit better for being an all around bike, but to cover a lot of miles over several days I'll take the K12GT and enjoy every minute of it! PS, some of the problems you read about with the new K bikes do exist on my bike and I would still buy it all over again.
- R Tuck, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: