Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-10-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm still riding the Classic although the 2014's are looking good. No problems with the bike so far other than corrosion around the rear rim which caused a slow leak. I got it cleaned up and we're good. 5th gear is still noisy but not a problem. Ride safe.
- Wayner, Fredericton, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just had the bike serviced for the fifth trip to Sturgis, South Dakota. It was my only regular maintenance required for the past 21,500 miles. No surprises, it has exceeded my expectations of a big touring bike. I did 1,836 miles on her in 36 hours last year returning from Washington State. I'm 65 and found it to be very comfortable for that type of long distance riding. Heat; yes, Noise; no. It's all original except for two new rear tires, seems that 10,000 to 12,000 miles are all that I am able to get. I consistently get from 48 to 52 miles per gallon, not bad for a big bore tourer. If you can get your hands wrapped around a used one you won't be disappointed. Stay verticle and keep the shiny side up. Good riding in 2010.
- steve, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-28 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the bike. No negatives at all. I have the quick release for the tour pak and also have a second shorter windshield. It is like having two bikes. I'd buy another one tomorrow.
- Murray Downey, Saint John, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-19 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There may be a few folks out there that believe they may not want a 2007. Well it's going to be 3 model years soon. My bike has not giving me one problem. I do take good care of it. That is not hard to do. Heat is an issue. HD big twin and stock exhaust is a cooker! Any big twin is going to be hot. As long as a air cooled mill is moving foward it is OK. This bike is still stock. I will maybe one day spend the scratch to up grade it. But if if ain't broke don't fix it.
- Mike Scobie, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
2 years into Harley EG Classic ownership and I still love the bike. Not much saddle time in in 2008 due to a summer of rainy weather but what time I did get was a pleasure. I don't care that 5th gear is noisy or that the engine gets hot. Once I hit 6th gear, nothing else matters. It doesn't get any better. Ride safe in 2009.
- Wayner, Fredericton , New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi from Brazil. My Glide 2007 is perfect in all manners. It is a passport to make new friends and admirers everywhere we go. She does well on climbing and descending hills as well as winding roads. In open roads I use 6th gear and let it go. Sometimes when we get to some small towns I reduce speed of course. The nice thing about that is to hear her strong and robust noise. I pay attention to the roads. My wife, the passenger, tells me that some car passengers take pictures. Sometimes in rural areas with farms I respond to waves people give. I make my own list of music to hear during my voyages. It is wonderful to feel that other people are happy because of my choice. This is the machine.
- Decio, Santos, Brazil

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I both ride Harleys and have for several years. Our family has owned Hondas, including a Valkyrie, Yamahas, and Kawasakis. We take at least one, sometimes two, on long motorcycle vacations per year. Some of these are close to 4000 miles per trip. Of all the bikes we have had the HD-EGC is the best overall on the road. It is comfortable and easily accommodates a bunch of luggage. Its handling in town is very comfortable even fully loaded. Yes in stop and go traffic the 96 inch engine generates more heat than my 88 twin cam did. It also generates more torque and all the speed and acceleration you can use. Brakes are great and the handling even loaded is superior to the Japanese bikes. If you can't get there comfortably on this bike don't go. Zero problems; I love it.
- Roy Bradshaw, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-26 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi All, I have just picked up my new 2007 Ultra Classic (after waiting 4 months) and mind you I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews that I read on this site. Four weeks ago after reading these reviews I sent off several emails to three different Chapters around Australia explaing the problems I had read about and if they were experiencing the same. I received back some really good response and was advised on how to fix these problems. I was told to put on a Powercommander iii usb to remap the fuel & a set of Vance & Hines Exhausts which I did. I rode the bike home from the dealers which was 300klm's from my home in Hervey Bay and had no problems with noise in 5th Gear or heat from the pipes. I was also told to put Synthetic Oil in the Gear Box. The only problem I found was getting used to a new riding position after riding an Anniversary Deuce for the past 5 years (much more comfortable, miss the old girl in that aspect) but for Power & Performance; MAN I will have to watch my speedo or I can see myself getting a few speeding fines. This bike has GRUNT!!!! Will write another review after I've put up some serious miles. Going on the Nat Rally to South Australia so that will be a good test.
- Peter Crane, Hervey Bay, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned a 2007 Classic for 2 weeks now and have put on 2170 miles. Finished a 5 day tour through Montana, Idaho, BC, and home to Alberta. Not one negative issue about this bike. In stop and go traffic through Missoula Montana with temperatures in the low 70's the bike put out a bit of heat but it is an air cooled engine and this should be expected. The gear whine in 5th can be heard but not objectionable. Power of the new engine combined with the 6 speed transmission gives ample power in any situation. Whether going up steep grades or accelerating to pass, the power is there. This is an engine that does not require any peformance work to satisfy a need for more power as far as I am concerned. I purchased the bike for strictly touring and it meets that need. The engine is much quieter then the 88 engine I ran previously. Comfort and fit for a guy my size is perfect. The fuel injection is a first for me and I enjoyed just hitting the start button and not adjusting a choke or waiting for the engine to warm to get a proper idle. No oil consumption on the trip. There was never a hint of pinging or preignition during any part of the trip. Manufacture date for this bike was January of 2007. This machine will meet my needs for the foreseeable future and I am a satisfied purchaser.
- Blaine, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I only have 1100 miles on my new EGC, but I have enjoyed all of them. I previously owned a Honda VTX and although I enjoyed it, there is no comparison to my new bike. I am scheduled to have my first service this week and will keep you posted on the overall rating as time passes, but up until now everything is looking really great. I purchased the black color because I personally think black motorcycles look the best and believe it or not they are the cheapest color...
- LTCKFC, Phenix City, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many Harley's over the years (1995 Road King, 1993 FXLRC, 1995 Dyna Glide, 2002 FLHT and others). This new model is the best ever! It has it all. The 6th speed allows smooth cruising at 80 plus. The radio and general electronics are superb. The attention to detail is wonderful (paint, chrome etc). The handling for a big bike can't be beat. The power and power band throughout all the gears is dialed in perfect. New to Harley owners should understand a few things unique to these great machine: They are air cooled and now with the bigger engines will feel hot when in traffic stops. You will get engine and running gear noises at times that come and go. This is Harley character and all Harley. Never lug these new 6 speed engines. I use 6th gear when cruising straight and level about 2800 rpm or so. I never use 6th while climbing hills. Let them warm up a minute or two before blasing off. These big iron engines need a little time to even the heat and get the oil moving. Other wise, ride it like you stole it!
- BIGGUMS, Lewistown , Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in the 2004 Softail Heritage with the Big Bore. HC pistons, and 211 cams. The 2007 Electra Glide Classic is much tamer, but what a ride. Bike is extremely comfortable, handles excellent, and has enough power to keep a grin on my face! No issues with heat or six speed.....In fact six speed is awesome! I have SE mufflers and Stage I air cleaner set up and these are definitely worth the investment. Bottom line.....After 40 years of biking, it doesn't get any better than this!
- Sam Greene, Mansfield, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-29 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my EG - Classic 2 weeks ago and couldn't be happier. Pleasure to ride and no noise complaints. I wasn't even aware that there was an issue with a whine in 5th until a friend asked me if it bothered me. I've now gone out of my way to listen for excessive 5th gear noise and there is nothing to listen for. So I guess I'm one of the lucky ones (or totally deaf). I just keep motoring on.
- Paul Skakum, Gainesville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-05 2007 Harley-Davidson Electra Glide Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
OKAY, enough with the heat and gear noise. I have another problem, though it's not that serious, I think. The first four weeks I rode the bike I had absolutely no problems with the new H-D security system (passive fob). In fact, I kind of liked the way it operated. Now I'm on my Texas Big Bend National Park ride in December and in the middle of NOWHERE, the bike would not start following a fuel stop and 20 minute break. Now listen closely. When I had the fob in my pocket (jeans) the security system worked fine. But after several fuel stops, and wrestling to get the fob and fuel cap key out of my pocket (both were together on a key chain), I placed the fob & key in the windshield bag. When I returned from the gas station break, the bike would not start. DEAD, nothing, zilch, nada. I looked at my buddy (Nomad driver) and just knew what he must have been thinking,at least mine starts. Well, I thought a minute and took the fob out of the bag and walked away from the bike, 20 feet and returned. The scooter started right up like nothing happened. It did the same thing a few more times during the next six days, but it always started after walking away with the fob. No H-D dealers in Houston or Bentonville, AR know what's wrong if anything. At my 2500 mile checkup my selling dealer had no clue as to why it happened and could not duplicate the problem so as to fix it. Has anyone out there had the same problem? Harley needs to check this out. As long as the bike starts after walking away, there's no problem. But what if-
- Bob, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: