Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (13)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-08-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought a 2012 Road King Classic after owning a 2001 Superglide. When I first rode the bike, I did not like it because it felt like a scooter, especially if you buy it out of the showroom. It sounds like a Suzuki. But put on Vance pipes and now it sounds good and makes a big difference on how you feel on it. I am starting to enjoy it more with every ride. If you're used to a Dyna, you're going miss the first three gears of the quick respondence that the Dyna's offer. you're also going to miss leaning in the turns. But overall, this bike you get a lot of miles in before your body feels exhausted. I also feel good in being tall and weighing 200 lbs. The bike fits me better. It takes a little getting used to the weight but you can't feel that weight until you brake and come to a stop. In the look department I think this bike gets an A+.
- harley owner, arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike. I had a Dyna Low Rider for years, and it was time for a touring bike. I walked around this bike after reviewing it on the web. The 5th gear noise is not a big deal at all. The engine does run hot, but I live in Naples, FL. It gets hot here people. I made some changes the are listed below that really helped cool the bike down.
- Bill Konn, Naples, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Absolutely love this bike. I waited until I actually had a few miles on it to review it. Now that I do (5000+), I can say that this bike is made to run! It looks great! Turns heads wherever I go! The engine has more than enough power to do what I need it to do. I am not a stoplight-to-stoplight kind of person but, then again, this bike wasn't designed for that either. On the highway it rolls effortlessly at 80+ and still had the guts to pass trucks and such. I have had it faster but that is classified! The cruise control is a nice touch too. In town, it turns great and I don't feel like I am trying to steer a tank. Great stopping distance too. Even my wife enjoys the ride. Only thing that I would have changed on this bike (other than the pricetag) would be the things I have already changed...the bars, seat and adding highway pegs. I will probably do a Stage 1 upgrade and put on some V&H Big Shot Duals but that is a want, not a need. I rode several bikes before choosing this one (Sportster, Wide-Glide and Heritage Softail CLassic). This one is IT. If your riding habits run like mine, 60% trips under a hundred miles and 40% day/weekend trips then you won't be disappointed. I have no doubts I could take this machine on a three-month long cross country tour with no problems. As for the issues you may have heard about like 5th gear noise, engine heat, etc...I haven't had a problem. Does the bike sound different in 5th gear? Yep. But if I wanted complete quiet, I would have bought a Honda....or a washing machine. ..or just stayed home. When you ride this bike, you know you are on a Harley. If you are expecting something else, I would say get something else. Does the engine get hot...well, duh, it is an air-cooled V-Twin. If you are at a stoplight or in a lot of stop-and-go traffic, you WILL notice some heat. I imagine the Stage 1 will help with that but honestly, I haven't noticed it enough to say it is a problem. I live in Oklahoma and I bought the bike in February. It is now August and through cold months and hot months I haven't had any issues with this bike. If you get one, I doubt you will be disappointed.
- J. Stubblefield, Lawton, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently traded in my '05 Wide Glide for an '07 Road King Classic, and I absolutely love it. No factory related problems at all...but a bit of a problem when I took delivery, a consequence of adding new V&H header pipes and mufflers prior to drive-out. It seems that V&H didn't do a very good job of testing the new 96 engine with their exhaust systems, and as a result their exhaust mappings were not up to date. I rode the new bike for a day, and after nearly getting run over a couple of times (when I rolled on the throttle trying to overtake someone, and the damn thing died on me), I took it back to the dealer. After 3 days of to'ing and fro'ing between V&H and The Motor Company, they finally got an exhaust map that would work. Fortunately, the dealer did the right thing and put me on a demo bike, so I wasn't without a ride during this time. All in all, I love it. Plenty of power with the new exhaust system and Stage 1; lots of bling, and a very comfortable ride. I haven't seen the need to replace the bars like lots of folks have, but I'm a tad over 6' and I have long arms, so I don't feel as if I'm reaching. Not a single problem related to over-heating, and the clutch whine in 5th gear is barely noticeable. I typically try to get into 6th gear as soon as I can...it just rides too smoothly there not to.
- JTN, Notre-Dame-du-Laus, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best damn bike I have ever owned. If you can't handle the heat, ride a Honda. I wouldn't sacrifice the power or the cool points. This bike gets moore looks than most custom choppers. I would buy a couple just for my friends if I had the cash...
- smeow, somewhere, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-22 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like this bike. Very easy to handle and comfort for my bad back was important to me. I just got the bike the other day and did the engine break-in. I think all in all, this bike is the total package. My only complaint...the pipes are too quiet, but we will soon fix that!
- Munkeyman, St.Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just began riding this year and was a little intimidated on rushing to ride the Road King. Thankfully, I made the right decision and love the bike. This motorcycle is so well balanced that is a joy to manuever. In my opinion, this bike is the definition of classic. As noted in other reviews, the engine does run hot in short slow rides. Otherwise I have no other issues and am glad I made the right decision.
- Drew, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first Harley and will never buy any thing else again. The only thing is the sound from the stock pipes. I put a set of after market pipes screaming egales still not the sound I wanted. They say the only way to get the sound I want will cost me a lot of $. Does any body know any other way? I was looking at maybe drilling some holes in the baffles but don't know if this will this hurt anything.
- SGMMP1, Fort Meade, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike probably about 4 months now. I traded my '06 Sportster in after having it about 6. I've got about 4000 miles, 2800 of which were 2 round trips to Indiana and back. This bike is at home on the interstate. You can run 6th gear from 50 up to 90 without breaking a sweat. In the city though you do notice the heat from the engine. In the summer it's horrendous at stop lights, but as long as you're moving it is ok. I give reliability 5 stars because I haven't had a single problem yet. hasn't lost or burned oil, and it's started on the first try every time. Performance gets 5 stars as well. Once you're moving, this thing handles better than my Sportster. It's rock solid at high speed, and it can really get up and go when you want to. May not want to race a sport bike, but you've got most cars beat. Comfort gets 4 because you're gonna have to upgrade if you make a lot of long trips. The floorboards don't move out, so my feet seem like they're way too close to the engine. Without highway pegs, your legs are going to kill you after a couple hours. On the 10 hour trips I take I have to put the passenger boards down and use them to help stretch my legs. A backrest is also a must. It wouldn't be a big deal, but if you buy one from Harley, plan on spending 600 bucks. On a more positive note, the windshield is the perfect height, I actually like the stock seat, and the electronic cruise control is about the best feature on this thing. Quality. It gets 4 because it's definitely above average. But on a bike that is this outstanding, you find things to nitpick. The little wire catches on the windshield vibrate and makes noise. The engine gets really hot when stopped. The front brake makes a lot of noise at low speed, at least with my wire wheels. The transmission is noisy. And once again, I wish the floorboards were adjustable. Just an afterthought... everyone complains about the noise in fifth gear. This is because fifth gear is cut differently than the others, with the exception of 1st. First is also noisy, but you hardly use it so you don't notice much. It's not a bad noise, just a whine, but I have already gotten used to it.
- Evan, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-18 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my Superglide for this beauty, should have done it sooner. Being on the short side, I was a little concerned about its size. The dealer said - go take one for a ride. I went back & took delivery of a white one the next day! This machine just crusies effortlessly. I did not know what I was missing. The wife enjoys it as much as I do. I hear lots of complaining about heat, tranny, etc., but not mine. 6 speed is spaced perfectly, no need to do any motor work with the bigger motor. Will try not to chrome it. Yeah right.
- tom bennett, staten island , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased in August and have logged 6K miles since. So far have had a starter fail and a low oil situation. Both handled under warranty. Major changes: swapped the stock seat out for a corbin, chromed it out, and moved the handlebars back. Very nice ride. I enjoy being able to remove the windshield in the hot weather. Turns the bike into a more sporty ride.
- Mr Magoo, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-09 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Best bike I've ever ridden. Easy to shift, drive, ride, and it is super clean - none of the typical confusing buttons and switches that the other bikes have. Compared to my Goldwing, I should have bought this Harley sooner. My only gripe is that HD parts are somewhat pricey, although but the wife looks really fine in HD gear, whoaaa!
- jim, crofton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike was roasting me until I installed screaming eagle pipes. Now it runs like a rocket. 5th gear makes a lot of noise...it can be irritating. Honestly, you don't need 5th gear. Gears 1-4 get you to 70+ right now....go right through 5th and into 6th and hope the cops are sleeping on the job. 6th gear runs great all the way down to 50 mph with no lugging and still plenty of roll on torque. My only complaint is the s.e. pipes don't sound like a Harley should. I had a 04 Duece with s.e. pipes that sounded awesome...loud pipes save lives.
- Rico, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: