Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (39)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-03-21 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, so whoever wrote that blurb about this bike couldn't be farther from the truth. This bike is incredible for ripping around the city. Throw on some lowers and a trunk and you have a very comfortable touring bike, so it's like two bikes in one. There's lots of power and that person seemed to moan a lot about the stereo system. Well...it's a bike! If you want a better stereo, buy a car. With all that aside, the stereo sounds great and I would be willing to bet you'll find yourself turning it down when out for a ride. The 6th gear is, YES, used on the highway! Talk about complaining about the obvious. you're not going to rip around the city in 6th. I previously had a bike with only 5 and I'll tell you this much, on the highway, it's super nice to have the 6th. Strap on some highway pegs and a driver's backrest and you're in for one comfortable drive! I recently took my driver's backrest out and forgot how much pull is with this bike. Hold on and rock out!
- Gordon MacDonald, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have read a few of the bad reviews on here and I think they just are haters. I had a totally custom 1994 FXR prior to owning my 2007 Street Glide. I did not want to really change into getting a bagger because some people (my wife) look at them like they are old man bikes.... this couldn't be farther from the truth! My FXR was nice but could not be ridden on long rides because it became uncomfortable, the Street Glide is not. It is great having the Fairing, Stereo, Bags, and the overall comfort. My bike came with the 96 inch 6 Speed, granted I have added a couple of things to it. I installed True Dual Thunderheaders and a Vance and Hines fuel pack, and I have no complaints abot power what so ever. My FXR was really fast, but it should have been it was stroked to a 96 inch with a hot cam, exhaust, carb, and everything else, and only weighed 520 pounds. At times I do miss my FXR, but as soon as I take a ride on the Street Glide I forget all about it. Do yourself a favor and really take one out and ride it, it will change your mind like it did mone... I promise. Have fun, and keep the shiny side up!
- Gary, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-07 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely LOVE my Street Glide. After several bikes in a twelve month period I found the perfect fit for me. I love to travel long distances and this bike is perfect for me. I live in west Texas and it is windy each and every time I ride, yet on the Street Glide I don't feel like I am fighting the wind. Initially, it felt like the bike was giving off a lot of heat and I added the heat deflectors, which work great and I'll remove for winter. I am a woman, and I feel that Harley made this bike for me alone. I have put 6000 miles on it in a 4 month period and look forward to some major road trips.
- Kris, Abilene, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-11-02 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 07 Street Glide in August 07 and love it. I have ridden 1,500+ miles to date, and I have enjoyed all of them. The deep cobalt blue paint is an awesome color, but unfortunately it is not offered for 08. The new 96/1584cc engine with the six speed transmission is a nice upgrade from the 88/1450cc-5 speed. The sixth gear is a must have, and reduces about 400 RPM at 70mph. The new transmission shifts smooth and works great. I added the Rinehart 'True Duals' and had the stage 1 upgrade (Hi Flow breather + EFI download) from the dealer to increase performance over stock. The H-D FLHX is a great touring motorcycle with true Harley Davidson styling. The Harman/Kardon CD player rocks, and makes long rides more enjoyable. The 'Bat Wing' fairing keeps a lot of the wind off of you, but you still know you're riding a motorcycle. This is one of the most popular H-D models, and it has a very strong resale value. I have owned seven Harleys before this, and this is probably my favorite. My previous favorite was my 2003 Screamin' Eagle Deuce (FXSTDSE). I have had no reliability issues with any of my previous Harleys, and I was confident buying another H-D. No regrets!
- Capt. Czyk, Vicksburg, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third motorcycle in as many years. I have found my keeper. This is an amazing motorcycle in all respects. Yes, it has some of the minor pet peeves that Harleys exhibit, but they are no surprise. This bike has loads of power, great handling ability, comfort for long distance rides and the coolness of a street (city) bike. The fairing, dashboard and Harmon-Kardon stereo are a pleasure to have. For me I have found the Street Glide to be a versatile, powerful and fun bike that is also a great looking machine. If you get one, you won't regret it. Start your own adrenaline rush. Be safe and have fun.
- E. L. GOLD, TORONTO, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Since I did my 2000 mile review I have but a few more miles on the bike. I added a Cobra fuel processor, Screaming Eagle performance slip-ons, stage-one air cleaner kit and a H-D oil cooler. The bike runs great. No heat or other issues at this point. I'm getting ready for the 5K service (done by me) and will let you know if I find anything wrong. Overall I have no complaints at this posting.
- rick, philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned or ridden all models and this is #1. I have only had one problem starting and this was due to a loose nut on the primary that was allowing the bike to go out of time. Once the dealer found the problem it was good as new! Very fast, handles well and I got 54mpg on a trip to Laconia this summer. I have had it for 5 months and will hit 5,000 miles before Sept. The radio makes a world of difference, I don't know how I made it this long without one. The whole package has to be the best idea Harley has ever had! Get out and ride, you will find you love it more and more!
- A. Kline, South Williamsport, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-09 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for as long as I could walk and have had street bikes since I got my license in 1989 when I was 17. I have owned dirt bikes, sport bikes, and cruisers. I have travelled many miles on Harleys, but this is the first one of my own. I am very impressed with the bike. They styling is most attractive. The performance of the 96 cubic inch motor and ergonomics make you feel like you are on a much smaller/lighter bike. It is very nimble and cuts through the twisties almost effortlessly. The bike is an absolute blast to ride. The Harmon Kardon stereo system with easy connection for the iPod is a huge plus too. I think this bike has something for everyone. Styling, comfort, storage, performance, tunes, and that heart thumping Harley sound. If you are in the market for the last motorcycle you will ever need to buy, don't pass up the Street Glide. It is awesome.
- Adam Lallier, West Orange , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked this bad boy up. I traded a 2006 FLSTCI in on it and I'm glad I did. There is no comparison. The new 6 speed and 96 cubic inch has so much more power and handling is awesome. It does get a little hot but it's a Harley and that's the way it is.
- bob pieri, west pittsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-28 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded my 2007 Softail Deluxe in I owned for 5 months and bought the 2007 Street Glide. Lost some money in the process but worth every penny. Much more comfortable for the bigger man and my wife is much more comfortable. I would recommend this bike to anyone, and love the sound of the radio.
- Mat, Forsyth, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-20 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say this is the sweetest bike I have ever ridden. I had a Fat Boy before I bought the Street Glide. The FatBoy was a great bike but the ride does not compare. I just got the bike back from my 1000 mile service and they also dyno tuned it...WOW! I put on rinehart true duals and a race tuner with a stage 1 kit. I also went with the sundowner touring seat. Very comfortable. I don't really notice any heat problems. But just let me say, this bike screams. I absolutley love it. If you're thinking about getting one I don't think you'll be sorry.
- Rob Patrick, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several bikes over the past ten years. Most recently was an '06 Fatboy (good bike but needed sixth gear). The '07 FLHX came out and I just had to have it. I ride 60 miles round trip to work and needed something with storage and a windshield. My FLHX is by far the best bike I have ridden. I love the 96 inch motor and the six speed. Longest trip so far has been almost 300 miles in one day (just to get lunch). I average almost 40 mpg IN TOWN and get 45 on the highway. Way to go Harley, keep builing them like this and you have a customer for life.
- Joseph, Las vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm spoiled - I've owned too many dang bikes. 3 Sportys 79, 84, 93, a 93 V-Max (only for the strip - I lied), a 1997 100 inch Softail custom build, a 1995 ZX-7R Ninja (cuz I was still fast), an 1100 Suzuki, 2 different Fatboys 05/06 (great all around bikes), a 2002 Road Glide (MY #1 Bike, I thought I needed to slow down) a 2004 V-Rod just because HD finally built a liquid cooled, screaming fast bike to be proud of, and one of my absolute favorite bikes I have ever swung a leg over is my 07 FLHX. It's full-on bagger without all the excess baggage. Kinda like a bagger/chopper. No heat problems to report, and 90% of my riding has been in El Paso where the temps are HIGH!! I would not suggest this bike to a new rider- it's still a handful. BUT the new 6 speed tranny is near buttery smooth as any jap bike I've owned, the new 96 motor has power and torque in ANY gear, and the new Harmon Kardon radio blows the old stocker (and my replacement Sony) out of the water. When I went shopping I was going to buy another Road Glide -up until this point I would swear 'ol Willie G. made a deal with Lucifer because that bike is the most capable bike they ever made. I wrestled with my conscience cuz I fell in love with the FLHX based on paint. I NEVER do that. I have ALWAYS owned black bikes. It was kind of a rule - BUT - this DENIM SILVER is sooooo cool. I used to spend at least an hour cleaning my black bikes (and polishing out the fine scratches, etc..) THAT IS A THING OF THE PAST!!!!! Now I can clean my entire bike after a day of riding in less than 10 minutes. Bugs don't stick so good to denim paint. I swear to God they REALLY have something here. Anywho, great bike - if you are an experienced rider you will be overjoyed to own this machine.
- usmcsrtsniper1, Antioch, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-30 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned many bikes in the last 17 years. One Custom Evo Chopper, a 2001 Fat Boy, and now the FLH Street Glide, not to mention that I have rode several other Harleys for long distance. FLH is every thing that it has been bragged about by Harley and private owners. After 1500 miles the engine started to loosen up and become more responsive, after 2000 miles the pipes have started to come alive. Being as the packing in the ehaust pipes have expanded and contracted, they are now flowing proper and I get the Harley sound versus the coffee pot perking noise. I think the only 2 things that could have been done better on the bike would be a more padded seat, and replace the wire whip anteanna with a short rubber fly anteanna, but outside of that I am very happy all the way around.
- Dennis Nelson, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2007 Pearl Grey Street Glide about 4 months ago, before making this purchase I did plenty of research and read what ever complaints I could find on the new 96 CI motor and 6 speed trans. All of those complaints seem ridiculous now that I have put down some miles on this new bike. I should mention I have been riding motorcycles for 20+ years, Honda's, Kaw's, Sizuki's and my favorite Harley Davidson. I guess! for someone that is used to riding other motorcycle brands the trans can be a bit loud to them, as for me, coming from a custom V-twin motorcycle background for many years, the feel of this new bike is like a dream, it rolls down the road as if the robber never touches the asphalt. To address the complaints on motor heat, I did notice the heat, but than again, I noticed it on my 80 CI HD FXR years back, if you don't like motor heat, buy a car for your entertainment, your sitting on a motor with two wheels for god's sake and if the trans seems a bit loud to you, why not just run a heavier trans fluid or better yet, invest in some nice Slip-on mufflers to give you a sound that will soon have you forgetting about a little NORMAL noise in your trans. DAH!!! Harley Davidson did a good job on this bike and for the riders that choose to spend the extra for Harley products you won't regret purchasing this bike. ONE LAST THING.. Who in the HD paint department decided that Flat Denim Blue was a good idea to paint factory Harley's, I hope someone had a long talk with him, that color is awful and causes me to have this insane urge to spray clear coat on it.
- BigTonto, Miamisburg, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a cobalt blue 07 Street Glide in February. Installed V&H ovals and a big sucker stage one air cleaner. This bike runs great and is smooth. No noise or heat issues even before stage 1. Handles great, much better than the Sportster, escpecially at high speed. Sixth gear works great, only 2600 rpm at 70 mph.
- D. Gilbert, Friendswood, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-16 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an 07 FLHX last October and never had the chance to ride it before it going directly into storage, whilst I customize it to the n'th degree over the winter months. Wondering if I made the right decision. Read lots of articles, some good some not so good. I recently had a chance to rent a 07 FLHX in Florida for three days. I can honestly say that the FLHX is every inch the bike HD has described and more. Its ease of handling and acceleration is superb. While traveling at high speeds it was responsive and stable. The sixth gear was amazing, it lowered the rpms to around the 2500 to 3000 at 70 mph +. I enjoyed every mile and I mean every one of those miles while on the Street Glide. Am I glad that I purchased the FLHX. Absolutely. It is going to take me another month to take the smile off my face, by that time it won't matter because I will be on my FLHX cruising down the road. It is a must buy. The only recommendation I would make is a taller windshield and a slightly more comfortable seat.
- PHamilton, Kingston, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-05 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, this is my second Harley. My first was a 98 FXSTC that I spent plenty customizing (and still had to have my friend carry my stuff in his dresser). The salesman convinced me to get the Glide instead of the '07 FXSTC and boy am I glad I did. I do both 'bar to bar' and the weekend '200 mile ride' in a long afternoon. We will be doing the Blue Mountains the end of the month and will report back on that one. This bike is fast, comfortable and looks good as well. It's black on black of course and to this point all I have done is the stage 1 with race tuner. The ONLY thing that it needed was to have the clutch cable adjusted. I am very happy with it!
- Jim, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-20 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the bike in Sep 2006 and love it. I agree with others that the engine is not a lugger but within the 2500-3000 rpm range the bike has plenty of power. Harley got it right with the 96inch 6 speed. I have ridden my best friends 2005 Road King and kept looking for the 6th gear. No real problems with the bike. I did change the factory seat out for a Road King seat. The factory seat was like a rock to my wife and I both. The Air Team guage is never correct so a Oil Temp guage is a good fix. Over all this is the dream bike for me. I love it.
- Ervin Weldon, melrose, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, just traded in my Sporster 883 for the 07 Street Glide...folks said it was a big step up.. I should have done it sooner! I am only 5'5, 118 lbs and this bike is has incredible stablility and is low profile. I DID NOT have a lowering kit on the sporty and NO lowering kit on this 07 streetglide. Took it stock. It handles beautiful. I am soo pleased. Today was the first ride, only 70 miles so far but didn't need many miles to determine this was a good fit for me. So much more stable and less top heavy than the Sportser. The 6 speed and smooth clutch are incredible. They say if you can ride a Sportser you can ride anything. I am convinced! don't hesitate on this baby for female riders too!
- Female Rider, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I do like this bike. I have had none of the complaints cited, and 6th gear is usable as long as you are actually moving fast enough to use 6th gear. For a cruiser/tourer combo, I think you cannot do any better than this. And even running it hard, the EFI is getting me about 40 mpg.
- Don, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-15 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a 2005 Super Glide Custom, seen the Street Glide come out and that was my dream bike!Made it happen on 12/15/2006. I love the way it handles, the 6 speed rocks between 75 and 80, radio is great and saddle bags and the chicks dig it! I don't see how anyone cannot like this bike! I am waiting to get vance and hines big shot duals. Love the radio too - it rocks! Can't wait FOR warm weather to arrive!
- Jeremiah Allen, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-11 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned one Honda and two Suzuki GSXR's. I recently purchased my first Harley - a 2007 blue demon Street Glide. This bike looks awesome, runs strong and handles very well.
- Kevin, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2007 Street Glide in late October 2006. This was my 4th Harley. I have owned many motorcycles over the past 35+ years. I have owned Honda's, Kawasaki's, Suzuki's, and a few others but once I bought my first Harley, I was hooked. The FLHX is a dream bike! It handles better than any bike I've ever owned. The six speed is smooth and the motor just purrs like a kitten at 75 or 80 miles per hour. The torque of the new motor is amazing! Passing a car at highway speeds is very quick and responsive even when riding 2 up. My wife rides with me almost everywhere. I had traded a 2003 Ultra for this Street Glide. I had put over 50,000 miles on the Ultra before I traded it off and had ZERO problems with it (Try THAT with a Honda). Harley-Davidson has proved once again that they are by far the leader! The Street Glide is the very best of American Engineering!! I have 1,000 miles on the FLHX and can't wait for warm weather to ride!
- Bob G, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2007 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We purchased our 07 FLHX on 12 06 06. I heard some complaints about these new bikes, was looking to trade up for a new one. Have been riding a 97 FLSTS for four years. Words cannot express the pleasure I get while riding this bike. What's not to like? This bike hauls, handles like a dream and is very comfortable even for a tall rider. Even my wife likes to ride two up, I cannot say that about the last bike we had. Thanks H.D. Job well done.
- Steve, Coarsegold, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: