Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (48)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-09 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I brought this bike new and had to get it lowered. I also put on the reach seat which fits me perfect. I tried some different bikes but wouldn't change my mind for anything else. It get good gas mileage and is good for long rides. I've received good service from the dealership. I just love to ride this bike.
- Jerry, Bonavista

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in May of 2007. Made some changes: vance and hines true duals, screaming eagle race tuner and air filter and had it dynoed. It made it a totally differant bike! No heat problem, tranny a little noisy in 5th but the vance and hines basic mufflers cover that up. Sounds awesome. Bike runs strong. I've put over 32,000 miles on this bike and loved every mile. I also changed to the dunlop elitIII rear tire, getting better tire wear. I added aftermarket rear lowering blocks to lower the rear suspension. I had to reroute the wiring under fender to run on top of fender. I rode a stock 2010 screaming eagle ultra classic this summer at dealer and I perferred my bike to it with the changes I made.
- Dan, Lafayette, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-07 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only been riding for 8 years and this is my 3rd bike. It is an awesome ride and with the 110 kit added at the dealer, it has the kind of power I was looking for in a touring bike. I have nothing but praise for the customer service I have received and I would reccommend this bike to anyone.
- David, Eden, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-01 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 07 Ultra Classic for 21 months now and have put 30,000 miles on it. My wife and I ride together almost always (90% 0f the time). The purpose of this review is to allow others to know how we owners feel about this bike. I have been riding (as a lot of others have) for 45 years and have had a lot of different bikes. My wife and are really enjoy this bike. My mileage is very good and the power now is up to par (made some changes). I was going to change to the IDS and I do not think I need it; there is no more noise than any other bike I have had. It handles very well even at slow speeds. I had a hard time deciding which touring bike was for me. I found it with this bike. We make a lot of trips, some long, and it is very comfortable, even on long days of 800-1,000 mile days. I like to hear my engine so a quiet bike would not do. After 30,000 miles and 21 months I am still smiling. I also have an 1800 of another brand. Other than power, the 1800 has nothing on the Ultra. The Ultra wins in all the other categories. They are different bikes. I added the H-D oil cooler and a fan but the fan is only needed on PGR missions. I did add the mid fairing for heat but I do not have an excess of heat now. I never remove the lower fairing; no reason to. 6th gear was a bit much for the mountains of Alabama but the SE 255 cams took care of that. I can see this will be another 100,000 mile bike for me.
- jim hayes, pisah, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-25 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Initially my '07 Ultra Classic ran hot, at the 1000 mile check-up I had the synthetic oil installed as well as a set of V&H true duals & remapped the injection. It still runs a little warmer than my '05 Road King did but for the most part - Problem Gone! It was my intention to modify the bike this way from day one but I can understand why someone who intended to leave the bike stock would be unhappy. I have not noticed any rattles, pings or whines as some others have reported. This is my sweetest ride ever, I love it.
- joe skopinski, ft. lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-25 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike first day of spring March 21/07. Started driving it as soon as the snow was off the streets. I have found nothing wrong with the bike. 6th gear smooths out over 70 mph. It is a little hot on hot days. What do you expect for a air cooled bike on a hot day? Lots of power and the smoothest ride I have ever driven. Can drive the bike all day with the wife with no complaints.
- Doug Opdahl, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Over 35 yrs, I have owned Yamahas, BMWs, a Gold Wing and now on my 2nd FLHTCU(I). I agree with an earlier review on the Gold Wing being akin to Tupperware and running like a sewing machine. To each his (or her) own. This bike is a real motorcycle. Classic, vibrating, pulsating, cylinders the size of garbage cans, freight train headlights, yada yada yada. I read all the reviews about heat and 5th, 6th gear whine. It's air cooled...what do you expect? You won't get any noise out of a sewing machine either. But you don't get the coveting looks and admiration out of non bikers when you ride anything but a Harley, either. This 2007 machine is everything I was expecting and so much more than my 2006 FLTHCUI was.
- TexasSteven, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the nicest cyles I have ever owned. I just love my machine. The ride is so comfortable for the both of us, it takes both my wife and I anywhere we want to ride with no hesitation, or problems. What class, it is just what I needed to finish out our riding days. Heading into retirement, and out to the old West once more, only this time to sit back and enjoy it on a Harley.
- Ed Kemp, Bellevue, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-18 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Took bike in for 1000 mile check up. Engine noise I have been hearing turns out to be a defective wrist pin or wrist pin bushing. Dealer replaced complete engine. Got very fast service from Harley Davidson on the new engine. Dealer requested it on Friday and had a new one sitting on his floor Saturday morning. Pretty impressive!! But missed out on four really nice days of riding while it was in for repair. Have about 300 miles on new engine with no concerns so far.
- RUSS, Sergeant Bluff, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for over 20 years, though on and off. Past rides were Honda, Kawasaki, and Yamaha, six bikes ranging from 250cc to 1100cc. None can compare to this masterpiece. I love the torque from this 96 cubic inch, and the option for the 6th gear but really haven't had to use since breaking in. Bought the Ultra Classic in white gold pearl, amazing presentation with this color. The stock pipes are quieter, but I do like to hear the great sound system so it's a nice trade off. The fairing and leg fairings do an excellent job for those chilly mornings, and keep the wind from beating you up. This is obviously the largest bike I have owned to date, but becomes weightless when rolling. The wife at a mere 4-11 and 105 lbs just sits back like she's on a cloud... quite content in her own cabin chair! She has yet to use the rear radio controls... I'll keep it that way... ha!
- Rich T, Liberty Twp, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great handling for a large cruiser/tourer. You have to compare the metrics to the Ultra to appreciate it's handling. It will get hot, but remove the lowers in warm weather and the engine heat will not be an issue. I always get the best fuel mileage and I ride with all types of bikes. The torque from the 96 makes it a blast to ride. Did a 1100 mile ironbutt in comfort. Just did a 2300 mile trip to Virginia thru the mountains with wife and trailer in tow. No problems. Power more than adequate. If you want to outrun folks, go get a sport bike. I have owned 7 motorcycles and this is my first Harley. I really like it.
- dan, stringer, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-12 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my review Part 2. This is about after the 1000 mile service on my new 2007 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic. The ride and handling were addressed in part 1. At the 1000 mile service I had synthetic oil put in my bike. I had Vance and Hines slip on ovals, an H-D high flow air filter, and the Cobra fuel management system (FI 2000 R) installed. The excessive heat is gone. The whine in fifth gear is greatly reduced; the bike seems to have much more power and rides smoother. In fact when I got the bike back it was like riding a different bike from a performance stand point. This is still only my personal subjective evaluation I did not have it put on a Dyno. All of the issues I had before the 1000 mile service were addressed and taken care of to my satisfaction. I understand the heat issue that other Ultra's have but now it is gone from my bike. I understand the frustration of paying so much for a bike and then getting poor service from the dealership you bought the bike from. I have not experienced that at all. I have purchased several H-D bikes for myself and my wife (she rides her own bike). The ownership where I purchased these bikes has given me Gold Metal Service. They have also given me sage advice about the bikes I have purchased and have not abandoned me after the sale. I do understand that all dealerships are not the same and some are as useless as udders on a bull. The 2008 H-D motorcycles are on Harley's web site but I have to say I love the color of my 2007 Ultra, Fire Red Pearl and Black Pearl, which is not available on the 2008 Ultra. Please remember that this review is my personal opinion based solely on my experiences. My Ultra is a pleasure to ride. It is mechanically sound, gives me that sense of freedom, stress relief, and euphoria that you can only get on two (and sometimes three) wheels.
- Mark, Hilltown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
You can say what you want but I don't think a person could argue the curb appeal of this motorcycle. The attention to detail is obvious and it is definitely eye-candy. High gear is best used above 70 mph...it does improve fuel economy at the expense of engine torque at lower revs. Yes, you can hear the valve train particularly if you're running in 6th at 60 mph...the engine will lug. That being said, the gears are very broad. Engine heat could be a problem depending on driving conditions and locale. For highway cruising, I didn't find it bothersome. Speaking for myself, I think I'll be enjoying possessing this motorcycle long after the mundane experience of owning a (example) Gold Wing would have worn off. This bike is not a cafe racer, crotch rocket, et al! It is designed for highway cruising (at reasonable rpm's). Utilized in its design niche, I think most people would be happy owning one...cost not withstanding.
- GDJ, Halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-21 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding HD big twins for 12 years (5 bikes) and this Ultra Classic is the best - heard no 5th gear noise, have done two 1000 km days and get off the bike feeling great. Space is good, stereo is great and the cruise control on outback highways is fantastic. I wanted a black bike (had to wait 3 months) so I got the blue & white ~ looks fantastic ~ I'm in love.
- tim, melbourne australia, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've taken my '07 FLHTCU through the break in period, then I found the reviews here and I'm wondering if we're all talking about the same motorcycle. All of my miles have been in temperatures over 90 degrees and often above 100. Hey, it's Summertime. I've had no heat problems, no transmission problems but I did make a few adjustments at the start. Before accepting delivery I had SE slip-ons exchanged for the stock mufflers and a remapping of the EFI. I took off the devices on the front crash bars since they seemed to serve no real purpose. I may put them back on next winter. I had a taller windshield installed since the stock windshield caused considerable wind buffeting. Works well with the 15 incher. Gas mileage for the break-in period was about 48 mpg. The bike is quick but handles like one would expect an 840 lb bike to handle. The single cylinder hit at idle speed can rock your eyeballs but once you understand what's happening it becomes a non-event. My only complaint, and it isn't really a complaint, is the oil pressure gauge quit. It turned out to be a plug-in wire that fell off. Lastly, I had a Harley oil cooler installed. It has a thermostat that kicks in at 185 degrees. The oil cooler on any air cooled two cylinder motorcycle is a good idea because it adds a quantity of oil to the crankcase system, of course there is the obvious advantage of engine heat control. This is a touring vehicle built for comfort. It delivers.
- Kootiej, Oroville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I like my Ultra. Been ridin mcs for about 35yrs. Must say my riding style had to change a bit though. Never rode a 2 lunger that didn't like to lug. I use brand name gas & it still pings, also don't even think about 5th gear below 60mph. That noise you hear is a lugging engine not the tranny. Keep her around 2700-3000rpm and it's fine. I can sympathize with long time H-D riders, it's definitely a different beast. Not bad, just different.
- pete, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-10 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2005 RoadKing Classic that I thought was the perfect bike until I got my Ultra Classic, now I have 2 prefect bikes. I love feel of the V Twin when I roll on the power, while I have nothing against a GoldWing it just didn't feel the same or look like a motorcycle (can't see the engine). The heat issue a lot of people talk about has not been a problem for me, I added an oil cooler and dual exhaust and saddle shields which not only work but look great. I have the same add ons to my 05 RCC. The comfort level of this bike is great, can't imagine any bike being so much more that I would notice. I have only been on one trip of 180 miles on the stock seat but I will be leaving on a trip to the west coast and will know for sure then. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Gene Chandler, Griffith , Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-07 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Folks, I too have been riding for nearly 30 years and average about 20,000 miles per year. I traded in my Heritage for a loaded Ultra with only a few performance modifications, V&H Slip-On's and the Screaming Eagle air cleaner kit. I did upgrade the stereo by adding the Hawg-Wired Amps and speakers. Now I have 300 watts and 4 high-end front speakers. At 90 mph, you can hear it as clear as a bell. OK, I took delivery of the bike in December of 2006 and now have over 10,000 miles. I just rode from New Jersey to Key West, about 3,500 miles in total. I hit some VERY hot days, but with the adjustable wind deflectors, I have to say I was fine. Sure, sit in traffic and it gets hot, but it is what it is. I did add the oil cooler to help, but the engine heat while standing still does get warm. All-in-all, I have no complaints about the heat. Also, all the rumor about the 'loud' tranny, give me a break. It's a Harley, it makes noise. I took the bike in for the 'required smooth torque fix but declined. The head tech told me that it's for riders that drop in to 6th around 50 to 60 mph. So the fix is to add more fuel and lower RPM's. Frankly I never go in to 6th unless I'm above 65. With that I am totally OK with the sound and performance. If you want to keep stock pipes and ride a quite bike Honda has the Gold Wing. Not for me but maybe all the folks whining about the noise should think about it. In summary this is the nicest bike I've ever owned and after 30 years that's quite a few. It's VERY comfortable great at 85 mph for tank-to-tank rides and looks like the classic it is. I really can't think of any thing I would change. Well maybe replace the Air Temp gauge with an Oil Temp gauge. that's next on my list of to-do's.
- Philip Spear, Medford, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-16 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this bike!! Bought it 1n July of 2006. After carefully breaking it in for 1,000 miles, I dumped all the fluids and switched to Red Line Synthetics. This made a big difference especially in the trans. Nice smooth shifting, less clunking and no whine. Also added the redline to the motor. Next came the Stage 1 package. I put on a Arlen Ness Big Sucker air filter, Rinehart True Dual Exhaust, and a Power Commander. This improved the all around performance of the bike as well as produced a deep sound, but it's not obnoxious. You can still hear the tunes! No heat problems whatsoever.
- Ed, Lake Hopatcong , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-05 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third review here, gave it a four the first time and now two fives. Rode all day in Panama city Beach, in the 80s today, good test for the heat, wife on the back, crowds, lots of waiting around in traffic. I installed the Kuraykyn heat guards. The guards/shields help deflect some of that heat away from my legs, not all, but was better this time. 8000 miles, no issues, I get around 38 MPG in the city and 42 mpg city and highway and 45 highway.
- Joe T, FT Walton Bch , Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had the recall done and that fixed the heat to a degree. Love my ride. Had an 883 Sportster before. Rode it 1927 miles last year in 10 days. Rode it 687 miles in one day! My Ultra is all Harley. Only way to Go. Love it. Those who don't, probably rode wannabes before!
- bob tadlock, batesville, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-16 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2002 HD Deuce. I was looking for something more comfortable for 2-up riding with my wife. We are thrilled with this bike! Very smooth and comfortable for both of us. Owning the Deuce taught me what I would want for the Ultra. I ordered all upgrades and had them installed before I took delivery. I think if they all came equipped new like mine, all the reviews would be 5 stars. Heat was very noticeable at first, but it has cooled down nicely. I never noticed the 5th gear noise until I read about it here. No big deal. We love this bike!
- Emmett, Yuma, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-04 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Received my ride as a 50th birthday present in Oct 06. What a gift huh? I immediately noticed the 5th gear whine and heat on my right thigh from back cylinder. It's a bummer but what can be done now? Around 50 mph the whine is very noticeable. At 60 it quiets down nicely. In 6th gear this bike just purrs...90 mph and 3200 rpm's...that is sweet for the open road. Maybe Harley is making up for the lousy pipes with more power and purr on the top end. I was almost sick after being given this beautiful bike only to read the negative reviews. I only had 50+ miles on the ride then. Some of the issues I relate with. Some I can't. Now, 1000 miles later, I have had a ping lately... only to remember I put in unleaded regular instead of unleaded supreme gas due to being in a crazy hurry to fill up. No ping on supreme for my ride however. My biggest disappointment is the SE 2 pipes I purchased at the strong recommendation of Harley shop. They have decent idle purr but are really limited in mid range and top end roar. They are too mellow. Even my wife is complaining about the lack of Harley noise. Any ideas how to enhance the SE's for better sound? I've been told it's about $1400 to do V & H slip on's with SE Tuner; SE Air filter kit and Dyno testing.
- Jon Oletzke, Yakima, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-19 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my bike in February. Since then I have put 800 miles on the clock. I would've put more but the weather wasn't cooperating. I love this bike. Does it make noise? Yes, it's a Harley Davidson. If I wanted a quiet bike I would've purchased a BMW. I love the sound of the pipes as I am cruising down the highway in 6th gear, at 75mph, and around 2300rpm. I can't say enough about the bike. I love the 96 cu. in. motor. I love the six speed transmission. I think that people who complain about this bike are spoiled or I was blessed and got the bike that has no problems. I am used to the whine in 5th gear. that's just they way the gears are designed. I can work with the heat from the motor too. The bike is air cooled. In my opinion there are two types of motorcycles, Harley Davidsons and everyone else.
- Bagger Sam/happy customer, Severn, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-17 2007 Harley-Davidson Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded Honda ST1300 last Sept. after brief test ride....sold. First Harley-'07 Ultra...great power, smooth ride, no odd noises, no rattles...everything works as it should or better. Rode to fall rally in Myrtle Beach and back through heavy rains...no problems, solid on the road wet or dry. Some excess heat on the legs, but it is an air-cooled engine and expected although HD does sale deflector shields for that recognized problem...I just go faster!
- KW, Boone, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: