Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (37)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-09-12 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Pros: Comfortable, reliable, great bang for the buck, economical, fast, this list could go on for a while. Cons: Exhaust sounds a bit like a Briggs and Stratton, Suspension is not adjustable. I bought this bike in 2007 simply to save money. I wanted a bike that was fuel injected and affordable. The "little" Ninja 650 fit my needs perfectly. I didn't have anything to compare it to but after riding just about everything out there I'm fairly certain that the clutch action on the 650 is about the smoothest in the industry. I knew that this bike wouldn't have "supersport" power but I was pleasantly surprised the first time I opened the throttle fully and about flattened my eyeballs. It moves. Yeah, a good rider on a CBR will beat it but he'll have to try pretty hard. It's fast enough to keep a rider of any skill level entertained but tame enough for a beginner. MPG is around 45-50 or so. Sometimes a little better, I saw 59 MPG once being really nice. Got as low as 39 on a tank whilst beating it like a rented mule. The reliability is amazing. I didn't do anything to it except for a couple of oil changes and maintaining the chain. It's a great bike, I cannot recommend it enough. I did eventually sell it and bought a 2007 CBR. While I love the CBR I do miss the Ninja from time to time.
- Jeremy Bryan, Black Hawk, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-06-17 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Ninja 650 in September 2008 with 1300 miles on it, and couldn't be happier. It's a great commuter, weekend warrior, and with the right mindset, a light sport-tourer. Most of my miles are commuting when the Colorado mountains allow it, but I've done long multi-day rides on it as well. It has a comfortable seating position. The seat isn't the best, but is acceptable. On long days a couple ibuprofen make the seat a bit better ;). The engine is a fantastic, flexible real-world street engine. Great midrange make it an ideal traffic commuter. I get 50-55 MPG on average, but have gotten as high as 75 on multiple tanks during long days where the speeds were kept at 55 or below. The bike is not expensive, but that does not mean cheap. My only complaint is with the fairing, it does create a "buzz" at certain RPM's. Other than that, it is a basic, but great bike that is more than the sum of it's parts. It's also a great value that won't break the bank to own.
- Rich, Rifle , Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-13 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I took the safty course just before buying it. The course is a MUST for new riders! No joke. I think I even had more fun riding on the course than I do around town. The power curve is very flat and the throttle is very responsive. Blipping the throttle for downshifts is very quick and consistant. 0-60 acceleration is just as fast as anything on the road. The brakes are plenty strong. The suspension does its job well for a tourer. I can get anywhere between 40 - 55 mpg depending on my speed and riding style. The exhaust is quiet but not not Goldwing quiet. Cracking the throttle will def get the attention of local law enforcement... in terms of intake/exhaust sound and daylight below the front wheel in the first two gears. Be safe. The bike has become very popular over the few years that it has been produced so there are more and more upgrades and other aftermarket products being made for this model. I have lowered the bike about 2 inches and swapped the factory handle bars for aftermarket clip-ons. This made tucking on the highway more comfortable as the factory bars were too tall for that. It also suited my personal opionion of what is better looking in a sport bike. I purchased this bike (an 07 650R) in May of 08 with 1 mile on the odo. By the end of the season around October I had logged over 2800 miles mostly in town. This bike is a lot of fun to ride. And it is very fun on the highway too. The factory windscreen is not suited for 5'10' riders as the facesheild is buffeted by turbulance (very noisy above 40mph). I purchased an extended flip-up Zero Gravity sport touring screen that fixes that problem. Overall, this is a perfect start bike for me. Decent sport bike looks and ergos. Very efficient when you want it to be. Enough power to scare me but not so much power that would entice me to try showing off or race.
- D O, West Fargo, North Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-10 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this new in May 07. I grew up riding smaller bikes and over 32 years of waiting, my wife allows me and my son to get the 650R. It is a very good compromise for us - plenty of power, fantastic handling, and actually comfortable for this old grandpa (once gel pad insert added in the seat). I couldn't ask for a better commuter bike. I just finished taking a 2,613 mile week long road trip alone through AR, OK, TX, NM and MO. I was very surprised the way it handled loaded down with saddle, tank and tail bags, especially in the mountains of NM. Overall the average mpg with all 17,705 current miles is 54.976 mpg. So far there have been no mechanical issues other than routine maintenance. It is the perfect bike for a new rider or to get reacquainted again! It's not a SS bike and wasn't meant to be, but it will still surprise you!
- D Martin, Carthage, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-17 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After taking the course and having my license for three years I was finally able to obtain the bike I had been searching for. You can easily roll on and off the throttle without the worry you get on the in-lines. I try to ride every opportunity I get; no matter how far the ride I always arrive without having a stiff back. Kawi did an excellent job of giving this machine the sport bike look with the cruiser feel. I can maneuver in and out of any type of traffic without any handling problems.<br /> Everywhere I go I get nothing but compliments on the look and design.<br /> For anyone interested in purchasing any motorcycle I definitely recommend taking the rider safety course, you will walk away knowing far more than you thought you knew.
- Mat G, Fitchburg, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-26 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it! I just started riding about a month ago and have nothing but great things to say. My baby looks great and accelerates fast and smooth...I can keep up with the best of them! The great thing about this bike is that it has so much potential that you can own it for years and not outgrow it. Most 636 parts will fit the 650 and you can change out the handle bars to clip ons. I'm still a ways away from that though. I love the seating position too...not having the traditional sportbike rake allows you to sit more upright making distance riding more comfortable. I ride everywhere. I love my bike! *swoon*
- Bunny, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-06 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine back in October of '07 and I really enjoy it. It's got plenty of power to scoot me around and a passenger without any problems what-so-ever. I had never really ridden a motorcycle (with the exception of dirt bikes) until I got one of these babies. I got it because it was big enough to go places but not too small to be under powered. Plus I really liked the look of it from the start. If you're trying to decide on a bike that you should get, for sure get this one. It's easy to learn on and once you're acquainted you can open 'er up for some road roasting.
- Barrett Estes, West Plains, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-14 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the awesome!!! This was my first bike and I would recommend it to other beginners, and to seasoned riders as well. The riding position is very comfortable, the acceleration is impeccable and the look is very sporty and a strong conversation starter with my neighbors. For my height, it gives me a very easy, comfortable fit. Me and "Lil' Redtake to the road every chance we get. I recommend that everyone take the riding course... that was the best decision I could have made. BE SAFE!!!
- W. Collins, Haymarket, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-09 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike ever. I've wanted one since I was 15, but life didn't work out to incorporate it until now. At 35 I was finally able to just do it. I took the safety course, which I strongly recommend for beginners. Then walked in and bought the 650R. I had researched various bikes and this one just kept calling me back. I had looked at some of the other brands, but the seats were not comfortable. This bike is stable in turns and straight-aways. It rides smooth and is very responsive. I would recommend this bike to any beginner. I ride it almost every day, even if it's just to/from work. I named her Cerridwen.
- krystin, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-03 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great power! This bike is quick. Once you get through the break-in period you can really leave people at the line. I wish the seat was a little softer for long rides, but it has a very comfortable position. The high handlebars reduce strain on the back, but you can still ride in a more aggressive position if desired. I get nothing but compliments about my ride. The blue looks GREAT in the sun. I would recommend it for the beginner or experienced rider.
- Scot, Matthews, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-11 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike Aug. 1st and can't stop riding her. After the break-in period you will see what she's made of. It's fast enough, light-weight and pretty to look at. I get a lot of thumbs-ups and head nods from car and motorcycle riders. Kimi (that's what I named her) is my first bike and at age 45 the riding position is easy on the back. The only issue I have with the bike is the mirriors. It's hard to see behind you, if at all. And the upper inner fairing has cracked around the screw holes. Other than that she's a nice 1st bike for anyone. When I upgrade to a sport touring I'll keep this bike for friends and family to ride because she is a joy to ride.
- Vince, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
FIRST OWNED BIKE. HAD MY LICENSE FOR 6 YEARS BUT NEVER HAD THE CHANCE TO GET A BIKE UNTIL 3 WEEKS AGO. THIS BIKE HANDLES GREAT AND FOR MY HEAVY SIZE NOT BORING AT ALL. ONE DRAW BACK IS IN NEW YORK YOU NEED A LOUDER EXHAUST. GOING TO BUY A TWO BROTHERS. REALLY LIKE WHERE THE EXHAUST IS.
- ANDRE, STATEN ISLAND, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-04 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. This is my first bike and I love it! I look forward to getting home from work every day so I can practice riding it! Highly recommended to anyone.
- Matt , Melbourne, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-30 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a new rider and have put around 2,400 miles on my Ninja. I'm very pleased with the bike. It has great performance and a comfortable ride. I'm very happy I didn't get a 500cc. I know I would have out grown that one very quickly. The 650R has plenty of power but I can't wait to upgrade to a ZX-6R because of my height and weight. I did mod the handle bars to a more traditional sport bike clip on stance. I've gone 120mph and still had plenty more to go. This is a great bike for beginners and non hardcore riders. For its class I can't find anything bad about this bike. Very pleased!
- Stealthy Ninja, Gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-17 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a great bike. It's nimble, powerful at higher speeds, and forgiving to newbie riders. It won't get true newbies in trouble unless they really aren't comfortable on it.
- Antoine, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-28 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was bitten by the motorcycling bug as a teenager and this year I finally have the means and the maturity to act. I did months of research, took the MSF course and examined all of the traditional Beginner Bikes. If you're in the market for a Sportbike, your options are limited in this class. You have the Kawasaki Ninja 250R and 500R, and the Suzuki GS500F. that's pretty much it as far as the typical entry-level Sportbikes go, and great bikes though they may be, I just couldn't bring myself to spend thousands of dollars on 1980s technology. Seriously, carburetors should not exist on any 2007 model vehicle. But then the Ninja 650R comes out. A completely brand new bike, fuel-injected, a completely modern machine. I was very nervous this being my first bike and my first real street riding experience, however after a mile this new Kawasaki made me feel safe and secure. It's got enough power so you won't get bored, but not enough to scare you unless you're reckless. Handles nicely, comfortable seat, upright position. I couldn't be happier. I see myself having this bike for quite a while.
- Jonathan, Flushing, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Ninja 650r for just about 2 weeks now and I've gotten nothing but compliments and looks. Very satisfied with the handling and weight of this bike. I'm a thin person but pretty tall and really have no problem with manuevering this bike. I'm still in the break in period so haven't really got the rpms up there, but can tell you from what I've felt, it is quick. The one and only negative thing I really have to say about the bike is that the seating is a little strange. Or maybe it's that I'm a little too thin for the bike, but having someone on the back of the bike is a little uncomfortable for the passenger. There is too much of a gap from the dip of the front seat to the back seating position but I guess if you're a little heavier you may not have this problem. Overall very satisfied with the bike and have no regrets.
- K Sebald, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-25 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 900 miles on this bike so far. Previous bike was a Kaw 900 cruiser. Before that it was a ZX6R 636, Bandit 1200 and Kaw 1500 cruiser. The 1500 was my first bike and then they got smaller except in HP with the exception of the 900. I realized that cruisers just aren't for me and supersports too uncomfortable for long rides. I was going to get the new Bandit but the Kaw dealer gave me a deal too good to resist. This is a very nice looking bike but I was concerned it would be too slow after having two bikes with over 100 HP. While this is no race bike it does a nice impression of one. All the performance you need for the street unless you're an expert rider. I can ride it fast in the twisties and the handling is very good. I can ride it slow and enjoy the scenery. Try that with a supersport. I gave it 4 stars because of the budget front brake with the two piston setup. After the six piston front brake on the 636 I guess I'm just spoiled. You have to use the rear brake on this bike to stop in a reasonable distance. The riding position is the best part. I can ride this bike just as far as a cruiser but without the sore lower back and sore butt. Farther than a supersport with no sore neck and wrists. I don't believe this is strictly a beginners bike. You can hit triple digits in no time and nobody really needs more for street riding. For the track, yes, but not on the street. There is some vibes in the bars but I don't find it to be a real issue and I'm kinda sensitive to high frequency vibration. Buy one, you'll like it.
- Terry, Iron Mountain, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-24 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is everything that other reviewers say. It definitely is sleek and draws admiration from onlookers. I am driving after a long time (7 years) and I feel perfectly comfortable on it. The seat height is just right for my small frame. The bike is super stable and gives great acceleration at all speeds and gears. I haven't done more than 70mph on the highway as I am still in the break in period. Now the cons: This bike doesn't have a center stand. The rear view mirrors have huge blind spots. The way they are positioned, I see myself covering half of the view. Not many accessories available from Kawasaki for this model. Current mileage is around 45mpg. I couldn't get the mileage numbers from anywhere so I still don't if this is low or high.
- Vik Tyagi, Redmond, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-10 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I went to buy a bigger bike, but fell in love with the 650R. It has great handling and response. Great on cornering and braking. The only bad thing is I'm a little tall for the bike, but still comfortable.
- Jeremy, Seminole , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-06 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently bought my bike a week ago &#038; I am very impressed overall. Looks, comfort A+, speed great, and pricing just can't beat it. I am a new beginner and this bike rocks. On my second day it was so easy to get out of the phase 1 which is the jumping part where you take off. Passed it already. But overall this bike really is a piece of art... HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
- Joe , mcallen, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-03 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. The 650r is my first bike ever but I have rode bikes for a while. This is a fast and flashy bike! All I get is looks and nothing but compliments. It is very fast 0 to 100. Very quick in a matter of seconds. Great bike to buy!!!!
- Mitch, watertown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I couldn't be happier with the 650r. I've rode dirtbikes before, but never a street bike. Within 20 mins of getting on the bike I was completely comfortable riding this bike. The low center of gravity, and suspension make this bike awesome for a first time rider.
- Chris, Wilton, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-09 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for women and for people just starting to ride. I have had mine for 3 weeks and LOVE IT!!!
- tiggrnut93, Williamson, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-07 2007 Kawasaki Ninja 650R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 2006 Ninja 650 in black. I just hit ten thousand eight hundred miles after yesterdays ride. So far flawless in every way except BUZZING IN FRONT FAIRING!! I have taken it to 9000 ft. HALE POHAKU to the shores of VOLCANO NATIOAL PARK up and through KOHALA mountain road. My favorite is the 3 horse shoes along the HAMAKUA high way and the saddle road where the Ninja feels light and flickable in those curves!
- sam, hilo, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: