Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (29)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-25 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fantastic machine, runs like a tank, but smooth as silk. Gobs of torque and lots of power (see upgrades). Wife and I rode two up to our rally in South Dakota (5500 kms)trouble free, wonderful cruiser. Best bike I've owned in 30 years and at a great price. Did have to upgrade the seat though, bought a mustang set with backrest and that cured the sore butt problem.
- KB Clark, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded my Suzuki M50 for a 2007 black Nomad. I was looking to upgrade in order to take some road trips and this was the perfect bike. The Nomad has plenty of power and torque. The weight of the Nomad took a little getting use to but it's amazingly stable at low speeds. I encourage people to shop around but you won't find a better bang for the buck than the Nomad.
- boomer, lucas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-05 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sold an 07 2000 Classic Lt, white with the titanium trim, and bought this black and silver Nomad, as I've had two earlier ones, a 99 and 02, and felt that I wanted another one although I really liked the LT. Have had the Nomad now for about 2,000 miles and have really enjoyed it. Put on V&Hs, got the mustang seat and backrest ordered, although the stock seat isn't bad. It's been a slow go getting my wife to accept that I sold the LT as she really liked it and feels that it was more comfortable (and better looking) than the Nomad, thus the mustang seat, hoping it will make her like it more. Have added the studded tank bra, saddlebag chaps and windshield bag, so with the studded mustang seat and matching passenger backrest, it's coming along and is looking pretty good. I regret selling the LT sometimes as it was a great looking bike, very comfortable even with the stock seats especially the passenger seat according to my wife. don't let anyone fool you, the 1600 Nomads will not run with the 2000's, I know from experience, but I really like my Nomad and am glad that I made the trade. The Nomads are just really nice riding bikes, run very well and mine isn't too bad on fuel, usually getting high 30's and low 40's and they are easy to maintain and reliable. The hard bags are hard to beat and a great benefit on these bikes. If you go with the Nomad, you won't regret it.
- r.t., groesbeck, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-02 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I am in my third year with this bike and love it more today then when I bought it. It just seems to get better and better. Performance is great, Ride is smooth, LOOKS GREAT. This bike is everything I thought it would be after months and months of research back in 07. If there is anything I could say negative, it would be the heat that comes off the engine when sitting at stop light or in traffic in HOT weather.
- Ted, Louisville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-16 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my first Kawasaki Vulcan Nomad in 2008. It was a used 2007 bike with approx. 6500 miles on it. It was love at first sight. A great ride and all the power you'd ever want. I liked the bike so much that I ended up buying another. I got a great price in January of 2009 on a new 2006(new non-current), which included tax and a 24 month warranty. If all the bikes that I've ridden, the Nomad is the most comfortable and best looking bike that I've had the pleasure to ride and own.
- Randy Olson, Spokane, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-29 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned the 1600 Nomad since September of 2007 and have not regretted the purchase one bit. This bike has power, handling, and looks. I replaced the stock mufflers with Vance and Hines Bagger Duals earlier this year, but just reinstalled the stocks mufflers and find I like the quiet presence better. The bike runs and rides like a dream and I would recommend it to anyone looking for touring or just for weekend cruises.
- Wayne Morse, Titusville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-11 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
more like a locomotive I have been very pleased with our '07 Nomad, purchased new-in-the-box in February '08. I take issue with some who say the seat is uncomfortable, and the paint isn't up to snuff. EXCELLENT paint job! Seat is the most comfortable OEM seat out there. Like all new seats, it takes a while to break in. This bike's forte is all day, long-distance cruising at highway speeds. Gobs of torque and great stability on the road. This is definitely one of the very best motorcycles I've owned in 50 years of riding. A KEEPER!
- Smokey, Selma, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-27 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since I was 15 years old. I was brought up on British bikes and owned a Harley Sportster 1972 in California. Velocette, BSA, Matchless, Nortons, Kawasaki 1000, and Yamaha FZ1. I spent a year on the internet and road tested new Harleys and new Yamaha Stars. At the end of my search for a cruiser I purchased the Nomad. The Harleys were cool, the Yamaha's transmission and power were impressive, but the Nomad had it all, plus it is water-cooled to boot. I love riding this machine. I now own a 2005 FZ 1000 and the Nomad. I cannot stay off of the Nomad. Fun in the Florida sun.
- czvet, Venus, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-03 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 50 yrs old and have just completed a 6700 km (4163 miles) ride during Sept 07 including riding all around Victoria and Tasmania and then riding back from Melbourne in 4 days with the wife. Had the bike since new and it had performed faultlessly, comfortably, economically and with great style. I could have also sold it 10 times over to onlookers! Previous bike was a 1996 Vulcan Classic but this has been the best of all the bikes I have owned. Highly recommend it to anyone looking at buying a touring cruiser. She comes with everything you would need and we carried all our gear in the 2 panniers easily. Brilliant bike!
- Paul Bachman, Perth, West Australia, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-20 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a perfect touring cruiser. It has speed, power, and with a few additions, comfort. I never had a miscue from this machine. My longest ride has been 3500 miles and I also ride it daily. It gets me to work or play in style and comfort.
- Tom Shelly, League City, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-16 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding since I was 10 years old and I am now 50. I have owned every kind of motorcycle you can think of. My last bike was an 1800 VTX and I love it, but I have been wanting to try a Nomad for about two years. I love the ride. The only complaint I had was the power; that might be because I was used to the 1800. I changed the pipes out to Cobra. This helped a lot. But I would buy this bike again for the looks and the ride. This is a great bike!
- EDDIE, FLORENCE, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 1500 and I love it! I upgraded from a 2000 Shadow Spirit and am so glad I did! This bike is classy, fun to ride and will take you cross-country and back if you want. It is even great on slow-speed maneuvers! If you buy one, you won't be sorry! You don't need many options because this one comes loaded really well. Low maintenance with the hydraulic lifters!
- Steve Jaeger, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-12 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike a couple of weeks ago and already have 1010 miles on it. So far, not a single complaint! We (the wife and I) have gone on a couple of poker runs, as well as ridden around the local area. Enjoy!
- Mike Floyd, Peoria, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-20 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second bike after returning to the saddle following a 20 year hiatus. I bought a new 05 Honda VTX 1300C last December, great bike as well, but traded up to the Vulcan the end of June. Oh boy what a bike! Very smooth riding due to the counter balanced, rubber mounted engine. Very powerful bike also. The heel/toe shifter took a little getting used to, but I love it. My only real complaint is that it gets a little warm riding this bike. I have not read any reviews anywhere about the Nomads running hot, and I've never owned a big touring style bike, so I have nothing to compare it to. It's just that it gets a little warm between the legs. All in all an absolutely fabulous bike to ride! I'd recommend it to anybody looking to upgrade to a nice touring cruiser style of motorcycle!
- Bill Elsholz, Fayetteville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Only had it 3 days so still running it in, but am so impressed I needed to send in my initial thoughts. Coming from a background of Honda and BMW tourers I was expecting the handling and performance to be tame by comparison. I was so completely wrong. It is so comfortable and stable on the twisties that it gives you confidence where I expected the weight to make me nervous. Best of all is the proven 41MPG. Fuel warning light comes on after 148 miles having used 3.6 Gallons. This leaves me 1.7 Gallons still in the tank or another 70 Miles, Fantastic.
- Lance Edwards, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-04 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went shopping for an upgrade from my 750 Honda Shadow A.C.E. so that I may start doing some long distance, overnite & 2 up traveling. I came across 2 bikes that met my needs. With help from the sales person at the dealership, I decided that the '06 Nomad was the perfect fit for me. Within this past year I have ridden over 10,000 miles and everyone of them has been smooth and trouble free.
- Legend, Plainsboro, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-25 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I first saw the Nomad at a motorcycle show and immediately I knew I had to have it. When I first rode the bike home from the dealership the ride was really smooth. I have been on a road trip to La. and it handled great. I get a lot of compliments when I ride (even from HD owners). This bike will be with me for a good time to come. Love the liquid cool and the shaft drive. Great bike to own.
- Jeff, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great. I love the way it rides and sounds. With stock pipes, it purrs like a kitten both on the street and on the interstate. Hits 90 MPH like it was nothing. This is the largest bike I have ever owned and I am loving it. Took my first over night trip a few weeks ago through the TN hills and loved every minute of it. I am surprised a bike this large can get 41 mpg but I'm glad it does. The hard bags provide an unexpected safety feature that I didn't recognize at first, but they prevent the passenger and grand kids from getting burned by the pipes.
- Ray Ezell, Athens, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 2007 Nomad 1600 last Saturday and proceeded to put over two hundred miles on it in the next two days. I absolutely love it. I have been riding for 24 years, but took the last 12 years off because of having children, a career and other priorities. Wow, what a way to jump back in the saddle! The bike is comfortable, cruises great and turns heads all over. What a great value too. I've already started making upgrades...chrome chrome and more chrome. See you on the road.
- Mark Brundage, Palermo, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I ride two up most of the time. Our combined weight is nearly 400 lbs. I looked at several bikes before settling on the Nomad. It came with just about everything I wanted at a more than reasonable price. I use it to commute 60 miles a day to work and on weekends we average about 300 - 500 miles. We both love the bike, it has no trouble cruising at highway speeds although I wish it had a sixth gear. It seems happiest at about 80-85mph. But if needed it has more than enough power to push us both to 100mph with no hesitation. I will put a rear rack and maybe a tourpack so we can extend our rides. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a classic touring cruiser. I get compliments all the time from Harley owners.
- Ron Zuniga, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-05 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a Suzuki V-Strom 1000, wanted a cruiser type. After months of research decided on the Nomad and not disappointed at all. I have rode it for about a month and once past the 500 mile breakin period, the ride only gets better. Plenty of pickup even at 70+, smooth comfortable ride and a joy to be on.
- Paul, West Richland, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-29 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 21 years riding Goldwings (and they are fantastic motorcycles) I wanted a narrower, lower and lighter bike that would still do what the Wing did. I settled on the Nomad after over a year of shopping. It is a remarkable motorcycle with a dual personality. Big V-twin grunt down low and great straight line stability combined with the smooth and nimble ride of a multi-cylinder touring machine. I am only 1,100 miles into ownership so the honeymoon is not over yet, but so far I am very happy with the Nomad.
- T. Ross , Charlotte, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-23 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Rode home (400 miles) from dealership where I bought it and smiled the whole way. Seat is very comfy for me and all the controls are in the right place. Best looking bike on the market. Gets lots of looks and compliments everywhere you go. Would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Dexter, Littlefield, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-18 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is beautiful and powerful. I traded in a Suzuki C50, which was a good bike to start with, but the Nomad 1600 is so smooth. Plenty of power. Fairly easy to handle for a big bike. Great looks. It is basically a metric Road King, yet much better and a lot less expensive. A great combination of accessories on the bike.
- ccmjr77, Anthem, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-18 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded a Honda Spirit 1100VTC and I have not been disappointed yet. More power, better braking, better handling, more comfortable, better windshield and saddlebags, and overall design make this bike stand out. The price was right! If considering this bike get it in black, the looks and complients I get from other drivers and bikers make me feel so GOOD.
- Mel Davis, Lanham, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: