Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (25)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-05-17 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 900 LT about two weeks ago, and I don't have one bad thing to say about the bike. In fact, all I have are GOOD things to say! It is comfortable, easy to handle, easy to get used to, has plenty of power, and is fun to ride! After not having ridden for a couple of years, it took no time at all for it to fit like a glove. It is great at highway speed, in town, and creeping along in traffic or through a crowded parking lot too. I highly recommend checking out this class/brand - it has the others beat hands-down.
- Troy K, Winchester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-25 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Talk about smooth and responsive! It is light and agile in the corners, very stylish and a real head turner. It has more than enough power on demand even with my wife on back. This is a medium size cruiser but it is big for me. I never thought I would adapt so easily. I can't wait for summer!
- james powers, centralia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-08 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike 9/17/07 and have 1300 miles on it. Before buying it I had read most of the bike reviews and of course the ones on www.powersportsnetwork.com. I am very pleased with the way it rides and handles the road. Most pleasantly surprised of the performance you get with 2 on board. I was lucky enough to complete a road test before buying it and decided then to replace the original seat with a Mustang. I also added passenger floorboards and a light bar. It's the best bike of it's category for the money and performance. I give it 10/10.
- Lechanceux, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-15 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first new bike, purchased in April 2007 and I couldn't be happier with my choice. It performs great, handling is excellent and it looks awesome. The only problem I have with it is staying off of it - I just want to ride all the time! It has everything I want on it but the seat is a little uncomfortable. It's a lot of bike for the money! I highly recommend it!
- Ronald Brenner, Springfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-08 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding for 38 years, mostly Hondas. Wanted a value-priced, well-equipped mid-size cruiser. Honda had nothing to compete. Purchased the 900LT in May and it was the right choice. Performs great while riding single and not bad with my wife along. Love the black and silver paint scheme. Looks like a big bike and gets lots of compliments. Only complaint - my seat needs a break after about an hour.
- Steve, Dayton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-04 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My friends, I would be hard pressed to locate another bike of this kind for the money. The performance, style and kind words spoken by other brand owners is unbelievable. I get 51mpg or better. I can ride a few hours at a time without getting saddle sore. Kawasaki did an excellent job perfecting the 900LT. If I had to pick on something I would say the fuel gauge is off, but other than that this bike is fun fun FUN!
- Marc, Des Plaines, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-30 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, after almost 4000 miles on this bike, I still love it! It has been performing great and not a single problem out of it. I upgraded the stock seat to a Mustang wide touring with drivers backrest and it's great! Also added Cobra Dragster pipes, Cobra highway bar, Kuryakyn Pilot pegs, and a Garmin quest GPS. Can't beat this bike for what it comes with at this price. If you are travelling interstate at 75 mph you so tend to want a 6th gear. Scootworks has solved this buy producing a new front pully that will decrease the RPMs at high speeds. I will be ordering one soon as I will be taking a 2000 mile round trip to Daytona in October.
- Brandon, Anderson, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As you can tell this is a very early review. As a new rider I was a little nervous making a major purchase. But from the get go I can tell you it has been worth every penny. Freinds who have been riding for thirty years on $20k bikes jaws dropped when I pulled in the lot. None could believe that it was a 900cc and came outfitted for this price. As the experts inspected and tested two words kept comming up, holy ****! For a first bike, this is the Caddie with all the dressing. With great power, dead on tracking, a leviathian tank, and all the bells I can't recommend this bike enough. For anyone built like myself (i.e. bean pole) don't be afraid of the 600lbs. With the balancing of the bike from the factory and massive rubber it does the work for you. I'll try to update this review as it breaks in. Anyone who's thinking about their first bike and have the slightest inkling about this being it, feel free to email me.
- Stan, Somewhere, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had only been riding for a year when I purchased one of these brand new. Even at my large size, and with a passenger, this bike has more power than most need. My only complaints are that the seat could be better and it seems like it should have a 6th gear. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wants an out of the box cruiser for a great price!
- Opie, Springfield, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had my bike for about 2 weeks now. Had not ridden for about 15 years and wanted a bike that would be good for getaways and commuting. I have been totally impressed with this purchase. The power is very strong throughout. My friend purchased a Honda 1300 the same time, and could not believe that I could run with him neck and neck (only to about 80, still in break in). The only down side is the seat, which would start to really hurt after about an hour of riding. So I purchased a Firehawk seat cushion and my problem was solved. Finished a 5 hour ride today with not even a hint of soreness. I get compliments on the look of the bike every time I take it out, and people cannot believe that it is only 900cc's. Once again, comparing it to the Honda, the Vulcan handles in town more like a sport bike compared to the heavy feeling you get with the Honda. Also, by it being below the magic 1000 cc mark, my insurance is about half of my friends. Because I perfer to wear a full face helment, I cannot see the signal light flasher on the tank and wish it could have been at the top of the speedometer.
- Gary, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-11 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To begin with I have been riding Harleys for the past 22 years, & other brands before that. I had both knees totally replaced in March of 2006, & after finishing rehab I got back to riding by buying a Kymco 250cc Scooter, & now, up-graded to the Classic 900 LT. I could not be more pleased. Love the sound, styling, mileage, 53 to 59 MPG, & where can you get a motorbike with the standard equipment, for the money, that the Classic has. I was totally amazed with the power the 903cc has when needed. I owned a 95 1500cc Kaw a few years back, & I swear this bike is ever bit as strong. My only complaints are the seat, while not the poorest I have had, is a bit lacking, & the fuel gauge. So, I just ignore it & use the odometer.
- Vern Rourke, Mission

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-06 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 2007 Kaw 900 Classic LT just one week ago. After not having been on a bike for 30 years and never having been on anything larger than a 350cc bike, I have to say that this bike is a great fit for the returning rider and has been a fantastic 'welcome back' to riding for me! I bought the bike with the intent of using it for commuting and weekend joy rides in the country side either alone or with my wife. With only a couple hundred miles under my belt, I can say without reservation that I made the right choice. I could not have equipped the bike for the package price that I got, so value gets a solid 5 star rating as well! This bike delivers more bang for the buck than any other I researched -- EFI, a rear disk brake, belt drive, floor boards, windshield, passenger seat with sissy bar, saddle bags, heel and toe shifter, and a host of technological surprises that I did not expect. Show me a better value out there in this size and insurance costs of less than $250 a year, and I'll trade. It's a safe bet I'll be hanging on to this one! As for ride, it's rock solid! The day I picked her up, it was raining cats and dogs here, so my first ride was not under the best conditions, but the solid feel and smooth acceleration gave way to confidence and a safe ride home. The next day, with the rain cleared, it was time to head out and get used to. Again, the solid ride that this machine delivers brought me back home with a big smile on my face! As others have said, the acceleration through all gears is smooth and easily pulls past the break-in limits that Kaw wants you to follow (have had, on a number of rides, to check my enthusiasm a bit!). Corners are smooth and the bike 'sits down' through them as you apply throttle at the apex of each turn -- gotta love the meaty rear tire on this bike! This bike fits me well. The low seating allows me to feel firmly in control of bike when at a stop and as the passenger hops on. Seating position and handle bars fit nicely too! OK, it's true, the seat has a little something to be desired. It does fine for my current limited ride length uses, but I can tell that it won't take long past an hour or so and my own rear end will begin to complain. Early wishes and thoughts on additions -- wish the turn signals had an audible feature, and, well, there's always that seat thing. The other 'wish it had' is passenger floorboards -- almost seems Kawasaki stopped short on the package. So, passenger floor boards become an early thought for additions as well as a light bar, signal dynamics' back-off brake controller, and the same company's LED license frame.....and, when the rides get longer, a more comfortable seat. For now, this is more than the 'welcome back to riding' I had hoped for....I'm very pleased in all aspects and longing to get out and ride her some more!
- Bjorn, Olathe, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the bike on 6/2/07. I love it! Rides like a dream. The bike sounds great. I'm getting about 50 MPG. Have had people think it's a H.D. Can't believe it's only 900cc's.
- RSR, Charleston, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-27 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike handles like a charm, but the seat is very uncomfortable, both driver and passenger seats. Picked up a travelcade gel pad and have had some improvement. Overall excellent bike for the money and surprisingly very powerful.
- Rich H, Coventry, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike after taking a drivers training course where a 250cc bike was used. I was intimidated with the bike at first, but after I rode it around the parking lot a few times, I got up enough courage to ride it home. I have had the bike for about 10 days and have already put 600 miles on it. Right now it's in the shop for its 600 mile break-in service. The tank is 5.3 gallons. I took a trip this weekend and for 425 miles and filled up twice. The first time it took 2.6 gallons and the second time it took 2.3 gallons. I am guessing I have used 2.3 gallons upon my return, as I didn't refill. This means I averaged about 60 mpg for my trip. I would estimate my average speed was between 70 - 80 mph with me and my wife. I'm 250lbs and she 180lb. I'm sure we'd get better gas mileage if we lost a few pounds. We hit heavy traffic for a couple hours. After a speed check point, I had a straight away with no turn and no traffic, so I tested the speed. The bike made it up to 105 mph, which is plenty fast as this exceeds all the posted speed limits, but I had to test it out. We have the dealership looking into the gas gauge because when it reflects empty the bike still has 1/2 a tank of gas. The service department states they have been having problems with the gauge being accurate. The bike does have a Low fuel light, but I filled up just in case. It's better to have gas than to be stuck on the side of the road. Insurance rates for this bike are decent compared to the sport and sport touring bikes. I was quoted $1200/year for a sport touring Yamaha FZ6 and only $500/year for the Vulcan 900. For me, the bike was very comfortable, after a few hours of riding, my rump got soar due to no circulation, once I hit a stoplight and stood up, I could go longer. I have the Custom LT w/studded accessories. I need to get the passenger floorboards. The studded seat for the passenger seems ok only for an hour or two. The saddle bags are nice but you can only put 5 lbs. in each bag. We were able to pack clothes and some accessories (i.e. purse, wallet, cell phones). This is also a good place to store hats/gloves etc... I can't wait until I get it out of the shop this Memorial Day weekend. Hopefully the weather is nice. I am really glad I got this bike versus the Yamaha FZ6, which probably wouldn't have been as comfortable. Hope this helps. This will eventually be the wife's bike, I know she can handle it also. Hopefully you find this helpful with this information. This is what I feel should be in the reviews. Enjoy and happy riding.
- C. Krause, Waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for the price. I have ridden on short rides, the longest being 200 miles. The bike handles very well and for it's size some times you think you're on a bigger bike than you are. I do think that they need to add a better seat for comfort. I think how great this bike is and wonder how the 2000 would be. Maybe too much power but I think in about another year I'm going to trade the 900 in for one. If the 900 holds up like I think it will, it will be a great bike for someone else. I have not had a problem with the bike yet. I bought it in June 2006 and have 7300 miles on it. I would have more but the weather has not been cooperating.
- rbunit, Abilene, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got it last week and I'm very impressed. I had the Vulcan 800 for 4 years so it took a bit to get used to this bigger bike as it handles so differently. But it's very smooth and the torque makes a huge difference when you peg the throttle. My husband has a Nomad 1500 and I pull away from him no problem!
- Evelyn, Rodeo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike on April 7, 2007 and in two weeks put almost 500 miles on her. She's very reliable and a smooth ride. The ONLY vibration I feel is in the seat from the engine. The bags are very accomodating for what I need them for. (Work related items.) There isn't a whole lot of things that need to be added to this very well equipped bike. However, an engine guard and a flashing auxiliary brake light are in the immediate future.
- Phil Woody, Montesano, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-08 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My girlfriend and I bought a new 2007 Kawasaki 900 Classic LT about 3 weeks ago. I have been riding bikes for about 35 years, and I have owned all makes of motorcycles. This 900 Kawasaki Classic LT has a different kind of power, a very smooth ride and a lot of style. Even with a passenger the bike has an incredible power band. Kawasaki hit it on the nail on the head with this bike. We will be enjoying this bike for a long time.
- James King, Flint, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-03 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just a quick update concerning the Pipes I bought for this bike. I love the look of the Cobra Power Pro HP 2 into 1, however, I wasn't able to hear this pipe before I bought it. I had Cobra Low Boys on an 2001 Vulcan 1500 and they sounded great. I didn't realize the HP 2 into 1 is a Performance Tuned muffler with the baffle encased in a steel cone... for Volume! After discussing how to silence this pipe with the Cobra techs and trying to wrap the cone with motocross exhaust packing, it was still wake the dead loud. My dealer installed a honey coned baffle, wrapped it in Moose exhaust packing and it sounds exactly like I had wanted from the beginning. Beware of the HP 2 into 1 if you don't like LOUD. By the way, if you removed the original baffle/cone it would have been 40% louder still!
- Gary Stewart, Senoia, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought a 07 900 classic Candy Caribbean Blue and it is gorgeous!! Handles superbly, even at slow speeds. I love the feel of the bike and the power is enough for me. I am in the break in stage, so it can only get better. I was somewhat surprised at the amount of plastic chrome, though it looks like the real thing...I just wonder how well it will hold up. I will buy a backrest, and am contemplating a windshield. And what a wrinkle remover!!!! Just haul and they just dissapear!!! I think this bike has the market cornered in this size, with the looks, fuel injection, belt drive, and water cooled. I especially like the way the radiator is slim profiled. You really have to look twice too see it. If you are thinking of a bike in this size range...this is the one to get...hands down!!!!
- bill, albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-10 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded in my 06 VN750 for 900LT. I needed a real cruiser. It's a great bike. It has plenty of power, even two up. The paint finish is great. It rides great and draws a lot of attention.
- Wayne Tryon, Paisley, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-09 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I tavelled from Vancouver to Washinton State on to Idaho, Montana to Glacier Park to the Boader. My son lives in Lethbridge, Alberta, and then to Calgary to visit my daughter. I then took Hwy 3 through the crows nest back to Vancouver. I found the bike was stable on the highway at speeds up to 120 kms, I have not exceeded this speed. The windshield provided great coverage. The seat was comfortable and I managed about 4 hour stints before stopping to stretch my legs and bottom. For a man my size, the forward controls are positioned just right. The handle bars I raised about 3/4 of an in. for my position comfort. The only small problem I had was a loose battery connection which was causing the motor to flutter. I fixed this at a motel at night. I averaged about 45mpg on this trip. A great bike so far.
- George Carscadden, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded to the VN 900 LT from a VN 750, and really appreciated all I got for the price. Very much a big bike feel, and even the performance seems better than the engine size would indicate. I've put quite a few miles on the bike in a very short time and have no problems with the reliability. It starts every time (even in very cold weather) and runs smooth and easy down the road. Acceleration is also very smooth through all the power bands, though it doesn't give you a good kick when you roll hard on the throttle. But once you get going, it pulls my big frame (and sometimes a rider) right along. Freeway speeds are not a problem, with plenty of throttle left when you need it. My only complaint is that the original seat isn't the most comfortable, especially for long trips. It seems to put my hips in an odd forward-tilt, plus the padding is a bit lacking. I switched out the stock seat for a Mustang, and now I can go several hours without fatigue.
- BZ, Des Moines, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-20 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Classic LT Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike. I have had rice rockets in the past and moved to the Honda Shadow 600 a little over a year ago. I wanted something that was bigger and more set up. I found this bike and was in love with it. I don't have many miles yet, I will update as I go through the break in.
- Shelton, Panama City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: