Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (32)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-07-31 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow, what can I say, got my 900 custom used and in great shape. This bike rides nice and smooth with great handling and power. I'm 6-2 and it fits me great. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a mid size cruiser.
- David Hayes, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just sold my 900 Custom. It was a great bike that had awesome performance and fuel economy. It just wasn't suited for two up riding for any great distance. I replaced it with a Nomad and I really wish I could have kept both. If you're looking for an entry level bike or just an economical around town cruiser that can do the occasional highway run, get yourself a 900 Custom. You won't be sorry.
- Lindsay, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-03-09 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A great bike purchased used. I have been extremely pleased with my purchase and the overall experience.
- Roger Helgerson, Longview, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-05 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last year after researching for weeks (months?) I determined this was the bike for me. A few weeks later, my wife buys a zero mile '07 model for my birthday. Needless to say, she's a keeper (the wife!) My checklist was : cruiser style, aircooled, belt drive, tubeless tires (no spoked wheels), leg room, fuel-injected, and less than a 1200cc engine. Perfection...or, almost. The seat just can't be used for more than 45 min or 1 hour...the gearbox makes some extra noise when shifting gears (so what) and they didn't put enough chrome on it stock for my taste. However, I could not ask for a better fit to my criteria. Well done, Kawasaki.
- Larry, Brandon, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-04 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned and ridden many bikes and have even done the coast-to-coast thing a time or two. I've always been a sportbike kind of guy but after my last coast-to-coast I started seriously considering a cruiser. I spent probably 3 months comparing similar bikes in this size range and really couldn't find anything better. You just can't beat a fuel injected, liquid cooled, belt-driven bike that looks and sounds this darn good. It's literally the best of all worlds. You don't have to worry about whether or not the bike will start in the mornings (no matter how cold or hot). You don't have to worry about greasing a chain or not being able to change the final gearing as with a shaft drive. The motor runs a little high in 5th gear, but you become used to it, or go and buy the pulleys from Scootworks. Many have complained about the seat but I have found it to be plenty comfortable, even on my 500 mile rides. The one thing that I would probably change is the handlebars though. She could use a little more pull-back and maybe another inch or two in height. don't worry about the front tire either, it's got plenty of grip. It's a great bike, especially for taller people. It's hard to find a cruiser that feels this big unless you sit on Suzuki's M109. No Harley will compare to how this thing stretches out. If you can find one give it a shot.
- Bryan , Athens, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First a disclaimer. I'm a new motorcycle rider and owner, so apply that to this review accordingly. How I interpret the rating system. 5 stars is a near flawless bike, 4 stars is a above average bike, 3 stars is an average bike, 2 stars a below average bike and 1 star is a pile of junk. First the cons: 1. The speedometer is off; as much as 10%. At a speedometer reading above 70, the bike begins to vibrate. If you read any of the online motorcycle reviews, you'll see people wishing for a 6th gear. Scootworks is selling a front and rear pulley that reduces highway RPMs and improves the speedometer accuracy. This is the primary reason I gave the bike 4 stars instead of 5. Why didn't Kawasaki fix this to begin with, if Scootworks can? 2. The seat is uncomfortable. I added a gel pad and a memory foam insert from knoplace. I know all stock seats suck. I didn't count this against the rating. 3. A lot of plastic. I would have liked to see more chrome. 4. The exhaust spits and putters when decelerating. This is due to all the EPA regulations, so I didn't count this against the rating. Now the good stuff: 1. The bike looks great. I love the wide rear tire and the skinny narrow front tire. 2. The bike runs great (other than the vibration above 70). 3. The bike is reliable. Always starts. Shifting is smooth and easy. 4. The bike handles great. I disagree with some online reviews about the skinny front tire does not inspire confidence. I have no trouble in the winding hilly roads around Austin. 5. The bike has plenty of torque for a newbie like me. 6. The price is right. If this is the style bike your looking for, I highly recommend it.
- David , Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-09 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. Everyone that has ridden it comments on how smooth it is and how it has little to no vibration at high speeds. I fell in love with the drag bars and front rim. By the way it is my first bike.
- Scott, Hiram, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-08 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I was looking for a bike, I narrowed it down to a ZZR600 and a Vulcan 900 custom. I know- two totally different bikes and the Vulcan won! I have had sport bikes before and now, a bit older and wiser, did not want to kill myself on a sportbike like I almost had a few times before. I did test drive both, and the ZZR600 was the most uncomfortable bike I have ever ridden..but to the Vulcan now. I love this bike. I get comments wherever I stop and it is a head turner. It sounds great with stock pipes (will upgrade though for more power). This bike will take corners like you would not believe. My brother rides a 1200 Sportster and while he spanks me off the line, I kill him in the corners (when I catch up). This leads me to the one downfall, this is not a powerful bike. It is a 900cc cruiser and most cruisers are a bit bigger and faster. I have driven many bikes in my day and I am impressed by this bike. If you want a solid comfortable bike that is great to drive, I would recommend this one. It does have some vibration at highway speed and is a bit noisy, but you get over this quick once you start riding. Only down fall is the power but again it is a 900cc cruiser. All in all I am glad I bought this bike and would recommend it to anyone.
- Tim D, Syracuse , New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-21 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought this bike last Wednesday, so I'm still breaking it in and getting used to it. So far, I love it. The bike is smooth and comfortable and makes the drive to work a lot more fun. Only complaint I have, and it's a minor one, is I wish I had a tach on it to keep better tabs on revs. Not a big deal, but I miss having one. Price was a major concern in getting this bike...it was a lot easier to handle than say, a Harley that I don't think is as well made. I'm VERY pleased with the bike as a whole.
- Budd4766, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not a novice rider. I've had various bikes growing up, but this one beats them all. I have read several reviews from this web site regarding the various manufacturers out there and went to the dealers to test ride and visually see the bikes (you can't judge by looking at brochures). For me, all of the Metric bikes will give you pretty much the same reliability, minus a lemon in the bunch (IT DOES HAPPEN). For me it's the maintainance and appearance. I didn't want to buy a bike that you have to service every time you want to go ride(HARLEY) or have it be an act of congress to maintain (COST)(HARLEY). But all that aside it boils down to what appeals to what the individual thinks. don't get me wrong Harley has some fantastic looking bikes, even had two myself, but what they are asking for them now and as tempermental as they are, I'll pass. The 900 custom was a new design for 2007. I didn't know about it until I passed by a dealer and saw one on display outside. NICE...I thought. The whole design was outstanding. I test rode it the following weekend, talked to the service techs (a must for any new bike or someone who's just starting out) and then bought it. Now 2000 miles later it's still a great ride. Power, stability, comfort, it's all there. First bike or just adding it to the collection, do it, you will not be disappointed, go ride one, you'll see what I'm talking about. The bike I purchased was fixed up a bit. Cobra Slashdown Speedsters and a sissy bar. The exhaust added more power according to the tech who installed them and then rode it. I had to see the difference, so I took one out that had the factory exhaust. The difference was like night and day. I was amazed at the difference.
- Paul Brinkman, Azle, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-15 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife purchased this for her first bike. I notice most reviews rate it 5 Star (They're right). It walks away from my Road Glide, no problem. It has lots of low end torque. It would be nice if it had more gear for highway speeds (70+). The Hard Krome pipes really made the difference.
- Eric, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up this bike for my wife in April. If I would have spent 13-16 grand to get a bike like this as some of the HD guys do, I would say, well, okay it's nice. But, for the price, this thing is simply incredible. Very smooth at 65-75 mph highway riding. Handling is neutral, which makes it perfect for anyone to ride. Roll on the power at 60 mph, and it out run my bother-in-laws 1500 Wing until we backed off at 95 mph...GREAT! The wife hasn't ridden much cause I need to move the front pegs back a couple inches as her 5 feet of tall put her legs all the way out. I own an 03 Wing, Rocket3, and a ZRX1200 and this beauty still inpressed me, which usually takes a lot. Slap on some bags, fill it with gas, and I'd leave Iowa for the west coast in a flash!
- Barry, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've spent years looking around and visiting many dealerships- most were sick of seeing me until the 900 Custom came out. I was determined not to buy a carburetor system again and was thrilled that Kawasaki went to fuel injection. I knew I didn't want a bike trying to imitate Harley Davidson style. The 900 gives me my own style and new age technologies that Honda and Yamaha didn't offer. Sound great, feels great, looks great and was affordable.
- Mike Frey, Meriden, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-31 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Finally got just what I wanted. One of the best looking bikes on the road, especially at the price. The ride seems more at home under 125 km/hr, but I got this for comfort and style. Couldn't be happier!
- J. Elliott, Edmonton, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-27 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Should have gotten this ride as soon as it was available. Sweet is a good description. It did vibrate a little more than I thought was usual for first 300 mi. during the break-in period, but after that it smoothed out very nicely. The more miles the smoother the ride. It has great torque thought out the lower RPM range, but I have found that that the gearing could be a little bit more for highway speeds (75+). Ergo's seem to be fine for my style of riding posture and extra pounds, but it would be nice if the handlebars were adjustable vs. fixed. All in all though, very pleased with it, and would highly reccommend this bike to anyone looking for a middleweight size cruiser. Easy at the gas pump (50.9 mpg. avg. Premium fuel), plenty of power, and handling is very light and sure. I look forward to more pleasurable miles on my 900 Custom. Kudo's Kawasaki!
- Wayneo, Boiling Springs, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-19 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One of the best decisions I have made to date. I bought the plasma blue. I am new to riding. My quest started out as a quest to find better fuel economy, now it has turned to pure fun. This is my first bike and the only bike I have ever ridden. It was easy to ride. I got the hang of it just riding it around the block. However, I just completed the motorcycle safety course. Please take the course if you are a beginner like me. I have 580 miles on it now and I have become very attached to it. Plenty of power and a smooth ride, not to mention it turns many heads. After taking the MSC, a couple of riders are going to buy one. They are out of luck though, the local dealer is sold out. If you are in the market for a cruiser, this is a can't miss bike at a great price. I know this post is all over the place, I just like to spill my thoughts on digital paper.
- Sonnie, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-18 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had (1) Intruder 800, (2) Intruder 1400s, the 1400s are very nice bikes and so was the 800. They were very good bikes, 1400s had a lot of bottom and mid power and sounded good. The 2005 Bandit 1200s was a very fast bike and had a lot of torque, it would send you into orbit if you did not hang on, then I said to myself you are going to get into trouble if you keep the Bandit so I went and bought a 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 custom.<br /> The bike has turned more heads than any bike I have had, the Cobra drag pipes are awesome sounding and I had the bike lowered, what a bike. It has good power in low and will get up and go not as fast as the 1400s or the Bandit but it is a cruiser, but with a little hyper charger and power commander it will be very close to the Intruder. I am telling any of you who is thinking of buying a bike to just go look at the Vulcan 2007 custom, you will not be sorry. <br /> THANK YOU<br /> FASTBANDIT
- Jay Tyndall, Berlin, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-15 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden bikes of all shapes and sizes. This bike is, bar none, the greatest value for the money out there right now. Kawasaki nailed this one. The gearbox is silky smooth, the powerband is broad and delivers that great torque all the way through. Roll-on at 80+ mph is fantastic!! The bike is very stable at low speeds and corners great. I'd recommend this bike to anyone who doesn't want to pay big bucks for an overpriced Harley. This bike will smoke any HD cruiser out there from 0-80 (after that I dunno, they're always too far in my rearview). It's comfortable, the seat is great, and ergos are fantastic. If you're wanting to take longer trips I'd strongly suggest investing in a windshield and some bags. Vance &#038; Hines makes a great after-market exhaust if you're looking for a bit more noise out of the pipes (I was). Anyway, great bike, great price...recommend to anyone for a single person cruiser. If you're gonna be doing serious 2-up riding I'd go with a bigger displacement, but this bike is a perfect 50mpg commuter. Enjoy!!!
- Clay Faris, North Pole, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-28 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote the first review posted on the Vulcan 900 Custom and want to address some reservations I had at that time. First of all - the front tire width/size. It looks very narrow, but don't let that fool you, it grabs just fine. That tire was chosen for a reason besides its looks - I believe it is one of the main reasons the bike corners so well, so neutrally, and so easily. Most of the Victory's come with the same tire. The bottom line, it's a plus, not a negative. I broke the engine in as recommended, and the vibration has gone down at every rpm level as it was broken in. Now at 80 plus, the bike is very comfortable, and 75 is very smooth. Have not gone over 90, so can't say anything about that speed. If you want to ride two up, you will definitely need to replace the rear footpegs with floorboards - the right peg is just above the exhaust and you will get shoe melt. I purchased the Kuryakyin passenger floor boards (with their Kawasaki Vulcan 750 rear passanger mounting adapters, and they work and look great. For me, the handlebars need another 1 inch in pull back. Have bought some extensions that I will try. The stock seat was good for about 2 hours and then I started getting tb, so I went to Corbin and got their dual touring seat. The stock seat was pretty narrow for a passenger. Have ridden for 3 hours straight (yes the bike easily does that - 75 mph at 48-50 mpg means you can go 200 miles and still have a gallon in the tank (havn't gotten the fuel warning light to come on yet as the gauge shows empty with still a gallon in it). And the Corbin back rest provides great support (had lower back surgery years ago that bothers me when I drive a car, but not on this seat/bike combination). My wife is also very comfortable on the Corbin passanger seat, but we are using the Kawasaki sissy bar back rest as it is a little higher. This is one bike that has just gotten better as the miles go on.
- Keith Sutton, Hayward, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-19 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first real bike. I've had a few junker hand me downs and got sick of wrenching on them so I went out and bought this brand new. I almost bought Honda 750C2 but after test riding both, the VN900C wins hands down. Much more comfortable and more powerful stock. I have been riding my bike as much as possible and so far don't really have any complaints. It rides very smoothly, and handles very well (you will scrape the footpegs quite a bit so get used to it). Seat isn't too bad after 100+ miles straight. Riding 2-up is comfortable for me, the ol lady says her butt hurts after awhile but she still gets back on so... The only thing I would like is more power to keep up with my buddy, but then again hes got a Harley that is putting over a 100HP to the ground. Very solid fist bike or if you're just looking for an inexpensive cruiser. Just a heads up to everyone, a lot of the parts are plastic (fenders, etc..) which is expected for this price, just an FYI though. If you can upgrade to some Cobra pipes and a chip, Made a huge difference in power above 60 MPH. I'm still glad I bought it though!
- jfecht, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-14 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where do I begin? Let's say I traded in an 1100cc bike (carburetor) and I could not be happier. This bike is OUTSTANDING! It rides like a much larger bike. It makes my friends Harley Sportster look like a little girls bike and it is much faster from 0 to 60. It also rides great at 80mph. I have had it up to 100 with plenty of power and it was still pulling. This is more bike than anyone needs unless they ave an ego problem that just gives them no rest unless they have the biggest dog on the street. After 80mph what is the point?? These are cruisers not race bikes. And speeding tickets cost too much. Anyway, you can't beat this bike for the money. It looks awesome, rides great and has many features only found on much larger more expensive bikes. Kawasaki really got it right this time! This bike handles great in corners and out accelerates or hangs with any bike except crotch rockets, which are not really motorcycles anyway. They are for kids to show off and act stupid with. Anyway, do yourself a favor and get this bike! You'll be very very happy you did!
- letsride, lynn, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-25 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really love this bike. The most bang for your buck. It's easy to handle and very agile. I have about 963 miles on it and no problems. I was out for a ride and was hanging with the crotch rockets 90 mph with little vibration considering the 21 inch front wheel. Simply put, this is a great bike.
- GhostRider, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-19 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Howdy, I got this bike as my x-mas gift this past December. I couldn't be happier with my decicion. I first was looking in to the Honda Shadow Spirit 750C2 but was not totally convinced (a little too small). Then came across the Honda Sabre but did not have the agressive looks that I was looking for. Then I saw the new Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom on the web and called the dealer right away. So far I have put about 1000 miles and no problems at all!!! The bike rides very smooth and has more than enough power at all speeds. Stock seat is very comfy for me (that's a plus). I love that it has a fuel gauge, big gas tank, belt drive, fuel ejected, water cool system, sensors on the engine to shut down the bike just in case you drop it and the most important, a digital clock/ODO. Most of the bikes out there with all these cool options cost way more. Kawasaki did a great job keeping this full size bike in the mid size price range!
- jesse webb, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-16 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike ever and I mean ever. A little intimidating at first because of the size of it, but once I got on the road the bike takes care of it's self. Handles great, shifts nice, and for my size..it actually fits. Thank god I waited this long. I almost bought something smaller just because. Living in Ohio I have to wait on the weather, but as soon as it's nicer(50's and no rain) lol...I'll see you all on the roads... P.S. Thanks Kawasaki for bigger bike at an affordable price...
- Bill, Canton, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-29 2007 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I've ridden a few other cruisers and sportbikes, but this is by far the best. Smooth, comfortable ride with power. What more can you ask for in a bike? This bike will be with me until the wheels fall off!
- James, Atoka, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: