Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.1

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Mavrik3

Longmont, Colorado

Reviewed on 2009-07-16

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike for 500 miles now. I grew up riding dirt. I love the handling and get up and go. As others have posted...the seat sucks. It starts wearing on you after 10 miles or so. I'm gonna get the gel seat this weekend. Also I agree that first gear is pretty big for off road. I took it on a trail last weekend and it was a lot of clutch, throttle and brake work. But that being said...it's an awesome bike. I enjoy riding it. The throttle response is great.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Owen Smith

Lynchburg, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my Dr650 since February, and I drive it every day. I have put almost 3500 miles on the bike since I got it, and I only have one complaint. The seat is very uncomfortable after about 30 minutes of riding. I have been told that upgrading to the corbin seat will eliminate that problem, but I think that is going to have to wait until next year. Again, I did a ton of research on this bike, and there is no better dual purpose motorcycle for the money!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Eric

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-08-20

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my DR650SE for about 5 months now and with each passing day I enjoy it more and more. In that short time I've already put 3000 miles on it and it has run without issue. I have ridden dirt bikes for the last 15 years of my life and wanted to move to the street. After doing my research, the DR was the obvious choice. Price, reliability, ease of maintenance, value for money, and fun factor are all part of the package. In stock form the bike is very forgiving and easy to ride, an excellent choice for any beginner or a dirt rider looking to get out on the road. Power is very smooth and easy to control. There are no unexpected surges in the powerband, just tractable, useable, torque-y, grunt. The bike can tackle twisty backroads as well as cruise at 60-70mph on the hightway all day long without even trying and plenty of revs left for passing if needed. In the dirt, it's geared a bit tall, but it will do ok. Fire breaks, jeep roads, logging trails, etc it will do. Tight single track would likely require a gearing change. The stock tires are good on the street but not so hot in the dirt. Again, wide dirt roads should be ok but tight rocky stuff is going to be a problem. Easy fix for that in new tires. Brakes are solid and do their job well. Lighting is adequate, but could be a little better. My only big gripes are: 1.) The stock seat is AWFUL, and 2.) The front forks are terribly soft. I remedied the seat with a cover. Still not perfect, but it's a lot easier on the backside. For the forks, I ordered stiffer springs. Installation was very easy and it helped a LOT. No more diving when hitting the front brakes. Overall the DR is a great all around bike that I plan to keep for a long time.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Asheville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2007-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding since 68 and this is one of my all time favorite rides -- that is, AFTER I ditched the sadistically uncomfortable stock seat. I have fairly short legs (29 inch inseam) and even with the seat in the low position I can't put both feet flat on the ground. This is not a big deal to me, but could be an issue for a new rider. I've put 8200 miles on it in 18 months with the only service being change of oil and tires. Previous singles I've owned include Honda XL 250 and Yamaha XT 500 and the DR is WAY smoother at highway speeds. The only other nit I have to pick is that a wider ratio transmission with a lower first gear would be better for the dirt. Top gear is spot on perfect to me. So sprocket changes don't provide the desired effect. Fortunately the clutch seems pretty bullet proof, but you WILL need to slip it in technical sections.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BUDNICKS

Eugene, Oregon

Reviewed on 2007-08-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great Bike!! Sweet power. Just roll on the throttle and your gettn-r-dunn. Smooth manageable grunt. I have had many bikes. RM's CR's, KX's, and now DR's. This is a well made machine. haven't had much offroad time with it but I'm sure it will be fine. I bought it to commute to work. I only work 6 miles away from home so it only takes 8 to 12 minutes to get to work but, for some reason it takes me an hour to get home!!! It's basicly a street bike you can ride off road. If you want more of an offroad bike then look into the DR400. that's an offroad bike that you can ride on the street. Anyway you cut it, Suzuki has got the key to dual sport.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Anonymous

Woodinville, Washington

Reviewed on 2007-08-04

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought the bike in Febuary after doing lots of research on dual sport bikes. Been riding off and on road for 30 years and wanted a bike I could ride to work but also ride off road with my son. Also looked at the KLR 650, BMW F650 GS and KTM. Went with the DR due to the lower price, lighter weight (than KLR or BMW) and smoothness on road (much better than KTM). After 5 months of on and off road riding I am VERY happy with my decision. Just finished a 135 mile dual sport ride where the bike performed very well on single track, double track and fire road conditions. Blew past a number of BMW 1200 GS, KTM Adventure and KLRs on the tight fire roads and double track. Also took a 300 mile round trip road ride last weekend and had no problems averaging 70MPH the entire ride. Very smooth and very comforable with new Corbin seat. I would recommend this bike to anyone that is looking for a solid on and off road experience!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David Reid

Richmone, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I ride my bike for transportation as well as recreation. Mostly street, with some long trips so far, and would like to get off road more. I looked at a lot of bikes, and have owned a number over the years, but this one stands out as the coolest so far. Easy maintenance and excellent handling. More than adequate performance! I'm not aware of anything else that offers as much value. I doubt that it is the ultimate bike for any one type of riding, but if you need one bike that can do urban combat, drone down the freeway, carve backroads and jump stumps, it'll do it! I've put 6,000 miles on mine in four months and can highly recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Orion

Austin, Texas

Reviewed on 2007-06-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I got my bike new in February. Stock it's like a big moped. Ultra quiet, low torque and real smooth. I bought the bike planning on using the factory lowering option, but once I added the optional gel seat it made the bike low enough for me to put one foot flat, or both toes. Now that I have added a few things to the bike it runs like a beast. It will pull the front wheel right up in 2nd, and 3rd if you try hard enough. It is kind of a heavy bike to have on the trails, depending on what you like to ride. I would strongly suggest anyone who has this bike to put the dyno jet kit in and open up the airbox, using K&N filter and high flow exhaust. Totally changed my bike. Four stars just because I had to do so much work to get the thing to run the way I want. I also understand Suzuki has to make the bike the way they do so that people can buy the bike and have an ultra quiet street capable dirt bike with enough power to ride the highway.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Matthew Wood

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2007-06-07

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the bike I was looking for, and when I did research of the market in all manufacturers the Suzuki was the Dual Sport for me! Appearance, quality, power and relablilty - this machine is the best! The seat on my bike is a bit stiff for my tail bone, and since have found a factory gel seat that should do the trick. Best motorcycle for dual sport, street and dirt! My wife was the one whom said I should have one, needing a hobby!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

George

Rochester, New York

Reviewed on 2007-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike is smooth going down the road, yet fun in the dirt. I have had a few different dual sport bikes and this is the best for the money so far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: