Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-11-27 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used late summer this year and I'm very amazed how easy it is to ride and turn. My inseam is 30 and yes, you can ride it with an 1-1/2 riding boots or higher. I found that out by accident.
- Mass Rider, Danvers, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-12 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently rode 426 miles in a day to go to a deposition in north Louisiana. Comfort was pretty good until the last 30 miles or so. Only real complaint (other than having to put a Mastead bracket on the windshield) is that it loves false neutrals.
- warprints, New Iberia, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-23 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I now have 7000 and it has been one year since my purchase. I still feel that, for the money, there is no beating the V-Strom. Pound for pound, it's the best all-arounder out there. The Swiss Army Knife of Motorcycles. I had three bikes from a different manufacturer before buying my Strom. I have to say that the Strom is the best performing, most agile, most comfortable bike out of them all. I recently tracked 700 miles of straights, twisties and everything in between in one day. I find myself constantly looking for reasons to take the bike out of the garage. If you're looking for an outstanding all-arounder that can do it all, I don't see how you could go wrong with this bike.
- Danny, Manteca, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-11 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ever since these bikes came out in 04 I have wanted one. Well I finally found a good deal on a blue 07 that's like mint condition. My last bike was a 82 GS 650 G w/44K. There is no comparison between the two. The V-Strom is much quicker on takeoff, handles like a sportbike and gets 57-60 MPG. It is rock solid reliable with tractor-like torque. It's all the bike I'll ever need. Whenever you get tired of wrenching and just want to ride, get one of these, you won't be sorry.
- Bruce Liberatore, Asheboro, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-12 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike handles great and the power is snappy and smooth. I like the nimble feel of balance and control around the curves. I ride in the northern Georgia mountains. Cruising the interstate is a relaxing ride. I want to add an aftermarket exhaust pipe for a sportier growl. Overall I'm very pleased to own such a fine dual sport bike.
- Tony Teague, Ellijay, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-30 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up the '07 V-Strom in February of this year. I ride a very challenging highway along the north coast every other day for a total of 64 miles. This highway includes a ton of twists and turns. The V-Strom rides as smooth as can be and is incredibly reliable. I've made no additions or alterations to the bike; it's just the way it rolled off the showroom floor. I rode it on my first long distance ride on the Washington Hwy 101 loop. The first few hours were great, but then the seat started attacking my backside. I'm considering trying out the OEM gel seat that's offered. don't let the seat issue dissuade you; this is a fantastic bike and it's the best part of my work day.
- Dan Druge, Neah Bay, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-02 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last bikes I owned were: Honda's 750F (80), GS750(82), and the GSX-R750(86). Well 20 years later I bought the V-Strom DL650. It is everything you need and more. With a 10,500 rpm redline, if you want untamed rocket, fast shift @ 10,000 and hold on. If torque is your thrill, at any speed, in any gear at a modest 4,000 rpm you feel the engine just waiting for the command to take-off (roll-on power will make you grin). The upright, motocross riding position is the ideal position for nimble, quick turns, commuting in the city or the burbs: these attributes will save your life! The bikes reaction time is as fast as your ability to tell it which way you want to go. Pulled up next to an 1800 Boulevard, the rider looked over at me at a red light and shouted, "Wow! Awesome! What kind of bike is that?We rode together for a few miles but I couldn't take that slow cruiser style riding so I gave a head nod, down shifted two, wheeled-up, and took off. This 650 looks and feels like a big brother, but can be as tame and gas conscious as a scooter. At 40 to 50 mpg even my wife could not argue with the logic of riding again. This bike is perfect for the newbie as well as the seasoned pro. Tracking into corners like a train on a rail, your confidence will grow with every sweeping turn. The bike is smart too, turning it on with the key allows the on-board computer to make sure you're in neutral, the kick stand is up, and the thumb switch is on. Cool! Easy LED read-outs are icing on the cake. My wife and son agree the passenger seat is welcoming and comfy. Highway miles are smooth as silk. 6th gear lets you cruise @ 70mph, at only 5k rpm. Duck behind the wind screen and it drops to 4,500. Wow! Nice. Check the upgrade list for making an awesome bike - spectacular!
- Darrell Gilbert, Wynnewood, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-Strom 650 about three weeks ago and love it. After much research, the 650 seemed to best to fit all my needs. It's small and nimble enough to make a great 'around town' transporter, yet big enough to take on the open road for longer trips. Power is good and maintenance fairly easy. I have absolutely no regrets with this purchase and highly recommend the DL650 V-Strom.
- Joe, Roseburg, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The first 8 years of our marriage my wife and I rode 2up. Then the children came. We quit riding for 24 years. During this time I searched for the ultimate bike. One that would ride 80% street and 20% dirt roads. When she finally said o.k. she bought me a 2007 650 V-Strom. I have had it for 11 days and it has not failed me. I am 275# and my son is 250#. We ride in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada Mts. 2up. This bike pulls the grades all day long at any speed you desire with power to spare and I am still not revving over 7g. The only change is going to be a smaller sprocket for the front. I don't need to go 110mph but the 0 to 60 in less than 4 sec. is nice. Good luck. Thank you honey!!!
- Gary Harp, Diamond Springs, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-01 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my 650 on March 15th. Prior to that I had a very nice Kawasaki Vulcan 500. This was a peppy light weight cruiser. It was very maneuverable and did 0 to 60 mph in 6 seconds and was a great commuter bike. However, it was uncomfortable after about 45 minutes of riding. It didn't have a tach, fuel gauge nor a clock and required high octane gas. On one day while driving to a local bridge game, I had to struggle to pass a SUV. I constantly had my eye out for a faster cruiser had didn't weigh more than 500 pounds. Then one day last November while visiting with the inactive and totally bored motorcycle salesmen at my local shop, they showed me the two Vstrom models. Wow, two very peppy motorcycles that I could still ride in an upright position! Then I had to decided which one the 1000 or the 650, and I could easily afford to pay cash for either. Then I did a lot of research on the web about these two Vstroms. The extra power of the DL1000 was nice but the power of the DL650 is more than adequate. But what was more important to me was the maneuverability of the 650. I use the bike primarily for short trips around the Washington DC metro area. I haven't really gone on a ride of more than 250 miles in one day yet, but I could. The dealer made me a sweetheart deal on accessories; 15% off of list price with free installation. Thus I had the DL configured as per the attached file. The 32 inch seat height was just too unmanageable so I had it lowered by two inches with the lowering links. The center stand I had to have the dealer remove because it was now scraping the ground if I carried a passenger and I don't have the strength to get the bike up on the center stand in the first place. I don't take my 650 off of the pavement. I just think of it as a very light, agile and fast cruiser!
- Roger Laumark, Silver Spring, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-23 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased '05 new at end of season under MSRP. Have put 13.5K miles on in 1.5 yrs. So far no problems. Ride mostly on pavement with a litte on gravel roads. Only problem so far as been the electrical connection to clutch coming loose during washing...easily pluged back in...but if you have a bike that won't start check this connection at the left grip. It inserts from under the grip so has gravity working against it and may come loose under some conditions. Love the power, handling (stable on highway at 80mph with guts to pass fully loaded with three hard bags and great on twisties), gas mileage (50mpg), outstanding headlights, large gas tank, comfortable seat and price. This is a relatively tall bike so may not be for short people. I've checked the chain and find no wear on chain or sproket at this point...I'm keeping it clean and lubed but still expected more wear at that point. Original tires lasted 11K miles replaced with Anakees which are great in rain. I would recommend this bike for anyone wanting to do touring mostly on pavement with some gravel....have not done really bad dirt, mud, sand....doubt if this bike is the one for that....get a Honda XR650L for that.
- Leo Shaw, Seattle

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-22 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, it does whatever I ask of it. The first weekend I put over 1000 miles on it. A 720 mile trip in one day. The Tail Of The Dragon in that same weekend and another 1300 miles in the wext week in a half. It did everthing it was asked without skipping a beat. While my off roading is limited to gravel roads, I have no doubt that it will handle much rougher roads I am personally capable of doing. Great bike and I am in no way displeased.
- Jonathan McKinney, Dover AFB, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 15 months and 8,500 miles. and about $3,000 worth of accesories I finally finished adding all the accesories I want. I've added a V Strom tank pad, Suzuki hand guards, a windshield, Suzuki hard trunk and saddle bags, a tour seat, LED turn signals, back off module and LED brake light license plate frame, and full system exhaust from LEO Vince. And after 8,500 miles I can tell you this bike is awesome. It still runs like the day I bought it. It's a total kick. It's the kind of bike that everyone can love. I've had cruisers and crotch rockets checking it out. It really has something that can appeal to everyone. And with an unlimited amout of accessories you can personalize it to your style.
- Jeff Wane, zillah, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-22 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I pruchased this bike the weekend of Thanksgiving 2006. I have driven it several days a week through the winter and almost every day since the weather changed. Mileage is in the 50's no matter how I ride-even 2 up. The bike is a little less than I would like for 2 up riding, if you plan to do a bunch, get the 1000. I live about 70 miles from the mountains and have some great rides out there I love to take. This is the first bike I have been on that I can ride out, ride hard on the twisty roads, and ride back in one sitting and still be able to walk the next day. I am even planning to do an iron butt ride on it. Bottom line, it is a great all around bike, and with gas going well over $3/gallon, who can argue with 50+ MPG?
- Scott, Richmond, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-02 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third V-Strom, and it's the best all-around bike I've owned in 42 years of riding. It's not the best at anything, but it does just about everything well. It's not by any means a dirt bike, but it will get you down some gravel roads. Best of all, it's off the charts on the fun to ride meter. Ideal as a commuter bike, mine gets 55 MPG on the road and 45 in town.
- Reverendbiker, Georgetown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-28 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like this bike. The powerband is great, power is very smooth. It is not the fastest bike but fun to ride. I commute to work and this bike is much better to ride in town than a sportbike. Deals Gap and Cherohala Skyway is a blast too. Handles GREAT! Good fuel range, 240-250 miles(easily) on about 4.8 gal fillup (holds 5.8) Very comfortable too.
- John V, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just 100 miles to date; however, after owning a 2005 Yamaha FZ1 and an 04 FZ6, I can tell you this is a way more comfortable bike. I was worried at first, I didn't get the 1000 because of my weight and the possibility of riding two up. After a 75 miles ride the other day in twisty two lane roads and some interstate, I can tell you this, it doesn't lack on power. It will cruise at 75mph on about 5500 rpms and it seems relaxed - no buzzy sounds just quiet. I love this bike so far.
- jeff, killen, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-14 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Having owned 2 Harleys and a number of sport bikes, I wanted something different. I don't want to go a bazillion mph and I don't always want to cruise on a Harley. So I looked at the Vstrom; it is a great bike, to say the least. The little wee strom is a big bike. Did I say big? I meant huge.. so I had it lowerd after the 1st day of having it. My leg slipped and the bike fell at a stand still causing minimal damage to a turn signal. I got home and taped it up, and still works fine. And still is a huge bike, just lower. Around town it is a joy to ride, easy to control. At 1st, the height of the bike is intimidating, and it seems like you riding 12ft in the air. After awhile, it is a joy to say the least. On the freeway, it can get up to a 100mph pretty easy with out over working the engine or any buffiting, and I'm still breaking the engine in. I hear a lot of complaints about the windshield but I haven't any. I haven't noiticed any excess noise or turbulence coming from the windshield. The general riding position for me is slightly lean forward, about 15 degs, and my legs are slightly in the sport bike position, but with out too much cramping. All in all, for cruising, this bikes rocks. In the comfort area, after having 2 Harleys, I can honestly say this bike can keep up with them pretty easily. Even though the cc is lower. The wee strom is a great jack of all trades. It doesn't seem to excel in 1 discipline, but it makes a great tour bike. I haven't taken it off road, and have no intention of doing so, because I want and need a bike for roads. This is my 1st bike out of many that I feel comfortable doing many tasks on; be it canyon carving, cruising, or intown work, it is good at them all. I have been riding in winter and I live in Oregon. Although I do my very best to avoid ice, it is inevitable that I will hit ice, the Vstrom is easy to correct in these dangerous times and easy to pull the bike to an immediate upright postion. While the gears help to slow the bike down, if you use a slight back brake to help keep the bike in a straight line, with almost uncanningly agility, the bike manages to do this. I will be definitely keeping my wee strom for a number of years. I can't say enough how good this bike is. It is in essence the perfect machine for everyday use. Think of the wee strom as an suv, it is good at all diciplines, but not a master at 1 dicipline. The looks of the bike mean little to me. Some people say the bike looks ugly, but that is in the eye of the beholder. I could look at some Harleys with all the chrome on them and think they're ugly. With out doubt, the Vstrom has a very unusual look. It looks like a sport bike and near handles like like a sport bike as well. It just depends on how you look at the bike. If you want a bike for looks, maybe this isn't your machine. To me, it looks like a huge sport bike. The little 650cc engine is a rock solid unit that has been proven. It was the engine to power the SV and has been proven to put up with a lot of abuse through the years. Controling this engine, is a little finicky in the 1st gear as it tends to jerk slightly, but this can easly be managed with slipping the clutch and letting the clutch come out slowly. Overall once again, is a great ride, and I will be getting another or keeping this 1 for many years to come.
- Iain Noonan, winchester, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-08 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I BOUGHT MY BIKE IN DECEMBER. IT IS AN 05 AND I CAN'T TELL YOU WHAT KIND OF PERFORMANCE IT HAS. WENT RIDING WITH SOME LARGE BIKES AND THEY TOO WERE AMAZED AT THE PERFORMANCE OF THE 650. THE ONLY THING THAT IS A DISLIKE ABOUT THE BIKE IS THE REALLY SHORT WINDSHIELD. THAT SHOULD NOT BE PUT ON A BIKE FROM THE FACTORY. MOST PEOPLE THAT PURCHASE THIS BIKE ARE 5'10 OR BETTER. OTHERWISE THEY WILL NOT BE TOUCHING THE GROUND TOO WELL. THAT IS WHEN I DECIDED TO GET SOME EXTRAS. THIS BIKE FOR THE PRICE, YOU CAN'T BEAT IT.
- DAVE, COPPERAS COVE, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-07 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding all kinds of motorcycles for 30 years and as of today, this is my favorite. It handles the street almost as good as my VFR and the dirt roads almost as good as my KLR. It is more comfortable than either of the others and gets great mileage and can go a long way between gas stops. For off road, it is too heavy for anything but a fairly good fire road. For street, it is a real joy in the mountain winding roads - this is where it shines. The perfect weight to throw around yet very stable and with the fuel injection, a great power band. I road the 1000 Vstrom and the extra weight took away some of the handling so I went with the 650. If I lost this one tomorrow I would buy the same bike again. It ranks as # 1 out of the over 50 bikes I have owned.
- Rich, Lake Tahoe, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-01 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for a month now and have done 5000 kilometres on it. Nothing has gone wrong, it is reliable, fun and amazingly fuel efficient. I am a new to riding, this is the first bike I have owned and am very happy with it. I ride on the highway and in the city and it handles all situation really well. I have also done some riding in the wet and do not find it too terrifying. I have also done some two up riding and this has not been a problem either. The only complaint I have is the seat of the bike, after about 150 my bum gets sore. The seat is not the most comfortable, it is okay under 150 km but above this I need to get of the bike for a short break. I am looking into options for the seat but have not really started to investigate it as yet. Too busy riding rather than researching. I recommend this bike to any one. It is fun and really, very economical. I easily get 450 km to a tank of fuel and on every refill have never put more than 17 litres of fuel in. The stats say it takes 22 litres so I am very impressed with the bikes economy. One of the major reasons I bought the bike. I strongly recommend this bike to all people.
- Paul, Brisbane, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-07 2007 Suzuki V-Strom 650 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With only 1250 miles on the bike I can't honestly rate reliability but thus far, no break downs. The bike handles awesome. Light, quick and easy to handle. Buffeting from the stock windshield is a problem but I solved it with a laminar touring lip which sticks firmly onto the stock windshield. The bike sits high (which I like). Gear range is good and the bike rides smooth. The only thing that bothers me about the 07 model is the engine produces a knock when warm and at low rpms, this maybe due to the double plugs? Other owners I've talked to experience the same thing. The knock isn't wrong octane or bad fuel, etc... The bike is strong and fun to ride.
- R. Duke, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: