Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Triumph America Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

8 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Gus

Ashburn, Virginia

Reviewed on 2010-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a 47 year old fellow who last owned a bike back in college. So when I started looking into getting back on a bike, I wasn't really sure where to start. I knew that I couldn't afford a Harley (nor wanted to buy one) and the metrics just didn't do it for me. I was looking for a bike with a sense of history and personality which brought me to the Triumph brand. Once I saw the America, my decision was made. It had great looks at a manageable size. I've put on just over 5,500 miles in less than three years and have no complaints. Adding a few after-market upgrades at a reasonable pace has kept the newness factor just where it needs to be as well and, to boot, the family is on board. Just the other day, my wife asked if she could inherit the America when the time came to upgrade. Are you kidding me??? I'll have the best of all worlds. I get to ride with my wife and keep my other love nice and close.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Doug Whitney

Tipp City, Ohio

Reviewed on 2010-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my 2nd America - what happened with the first one is too long a story (I did not crash it). Anyway my wife knew my heart was broken, so the new 2007 was waiting for me when I got back from Afghanistan, bless her heart. I remain in love with this bike - it is everything I have ever wanted in a motorcycle, from looks to performance and handling. I rode Run for the Wall and Rolling Thunder this spring - 1500 miles of pure fun and comfort.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Butch Stevens

Tallahassee , Florida

Reviewed on 2007-08-10

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Like most people I know I looked at Harleys and all the others. When I stop for gas or where ever, I get one of three comments. People stop me to talk about this bike, it's a real good feeling. One: that's not a HARLEY, but Triumphs are good bikes. Two: Hey, that's a Triumph. I used to have one and loved it. Three: Man I didn't even know they still made Triumph. Where did you find it? It's a beautiful bike. After twenty years of not riding I decided to get back to what made me feel good on the road, so I bought a small bike (250) and loved the feeling it gave me, but felt in danger in traffic, but I was satisfied just riding again. Then I took my wife on a short road trip to the beach, when we got there she said baby you need a bigger bike. That one just doesn't have the power for the two of us. So I began to search online and went to every dealer I knew of in town. Of course Harley was my first chioce until I went, saw, and priced. I was not impressed and didn't feel like paying for a name. Next was Triumph. One look and I was sold. It's a classic, real motorcycle. Looks, handling, balance, power, and comfort. I mention balance because I was so impressed at how well (easy) the America is to handle in traffic. It brakes well, the balance is unbelieveable, and it changes lanes if I just think about it. I do want to change the pipes, just a bit too quiet; I can't even hear them when I'm riding. It only took me about 3 days to really get used to and understand what I had, a great motorcycle. Anyone thinking of getting a bike for what ever reason or need, if you don't check out Triumph you will miss out on what riding a bike is all about. The only thing I would offer to Triumph, is advertise what you got more - just don't raise the price.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Constantine

Shropshire, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2007-07-05

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had my 2007 a little over a week now and it is sublime. As I was returning to biking I was concerned about the handling and I must say it hasn't taken me long to start to get comfortable with it at all. Which must be testament to its build. I've already been caught out in horrendous rain and although I've obviously slowed down, the bike has never once given me any cause for concern. I've had no issues with the build quality and although I'm still running it in and taking it gently, you can feel the power that's at your control - plenty enough for me. I can't recommend this enough, and the smile that's left on my face feels engrained. It's a real head turner too. Everyone who speaks comments on how good it looks, and I think the 2007 model seems to flow together perfectly. All in all 10/10 so far. The Triumph off road exhausts are a must, they are not stupidly loud, but a major improvement over the standard ones, and give a beautiful tone as you apply the gas out of the corner. The standard ones sound like a sewing machine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tony

Perth, Australia

Reviewed on 2007-06-24

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
It came down to a choice between the Kawasaki VN 900 custom and the Triumph America. I chose the Triumph, the major factor being the looks. The VN 900 rode well, had good features the Triumph did not; like fuel injection and belt drive, it was even cheaper on road. In the end, the attitude of the Trumpy won me over with hot rod looks and retro styling. I am forty years old, and like most people buying mid size cruisers, riding again after about a twenty year break. Therefore, I am no expert but give my impression so far. The America handles well and it did not take long for me to get confidence. The brakes seem adequate, although I seem to give myself much more time to brake than I did twenty years ago. The bike has more than enough power for my needs. I travel on the freeway to work, sitting on 100kph/63mph speed limit, if I want to pass traffic, I just twist the throttle and the bike will have me at 120/75 in a few seconds. When doing this I have to hang on for dear life or be blown of the back, which brings me to my next observation, the sail effect. With wide bars and upright seating your body catches the wind, so I decided to get a Triumph Summer screen. I did not like it, the small screen caused too much buffeting around my head, drummed on my helmet and made me nauseous, so I removed the screen and have not regretted the decision. I accept meeting the wind head on is part of the experience for cruisers and now enjoy the feel. The windblast is comfortable to about 90kph/56 mph, although, going on a long tour I would consider using a full-length screen. The bike does respond slower with a pillion but still has no problem pulling away from traffic. My wife complains of a numb bum after half an hour on the back, but I would not use this as a judge for the comfort of the seat as it seems well padded. Originally, when purchasing the bike I was not going to change the exhaust because I wanted to be a good neighbour. After riding with the stock system, I realised it sounded like a scooter, so I fitted Triumph long slash-cuts. The bike sounds a lot better, has more midrange power and if I gradually idle away from the neighbourhood, not too noisy. My wife says I love my bike more than her, which I swear is not true, but I must admit I do love my Triumph. When parked it at the shops, I cannot resist looking back, admiring it until out of sight. I've had it for about a month and I think I've ridden it every day and cleaned it every second day. There were times prior to the purchase that I was getting a little anal about which bike I wanted, going over every online and magazine review. Comparing all the features, this bike has alloys, that bike has tubeless, fuel injection shaft drive, belt drive, corners better, accelerates better, will be superseded soon. Talk about confusing, so in the end I decided to buy the America and modify to suit my wants with after market parts, shocks, belt-drive etc. However, after riding my Triumph all that confusion has gone, I realise all those differences don't matter and add to the bikes character. The important thing was just getting a bike and enjoying the ride. Making those modifications are not as important anymore, maybe I will do them, maybe not. One thing certain, I have no regrets with this bike and never wonder if I have made the right choice.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Bayonne, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2007-06-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a wonderful bike. Great for around town and on the highways. Not too big that it's too hard to corner, and not so small that you feel nervous on major roads. It looks brilliant and has that unique Triumph-ness about it. For the price, it's a winning bike that comes from an old world motorcycle company with more history than the Romans. Riden by S.McQueen, Brando, James Dean, Clark Gable, Lee Marvin & Presley just to name a few. You will definitely need to purchase the after market pipes as the factory issues are just too quiet. If you're after a new ride for the summer treat yourself to this baby, you won't be sorry. Comes with a nice 2 year warranty as well.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sandy Scott

Seminole, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding motorcycles for over 40 years. I used to be one of those Harley nuts who thought motorcycle meant Harley Davidson, but then I met the Honda Valkyrie which converted me away from the Harley world. The Bonneville is the smallest bike I have owned, but is also is the most stylish and best handling bike I have owned. It is the first motorcycle that I have purchased new that I didn't feel the immediate need to put on an after market seat. I find the seat and riding position to be perfect for me. It is the kind of bike that draws lookers and comments when on the road. My first day on the bike, another biker on a Honda rode alongside me and began asking questions about the bike. I think for the money, it is one of the best values out there, and it is fun to be on a motorcycle which is not the typical Harley clone. There is a fantastic users group on-line which is very helpful with any question that might arise. This bike is so beautiful that I ocasionally visit it in my garage just to look at it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Zohar Rennert

Merion Station, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-04-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Triumph America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought it in March 2007; just got it out of the 500 miles first service from the dealer (great guys, honest, modest and reliable). I started riding in May 2006 (age 47, never too late...) on a 2006 Honda Rebel 250 (too small), moved to a 2003 Kawasaki Vulcan 800A (great bike) and than to the Triumph. What can I say, life is good. Triumph handles like butter - smooth engine, very quiet for a chain driven bike, very easy in twists and turns, comfortable seat (rode 2.5 hr's w/out stopping and not the slightest fatigue), wide handlebar, etc etc. I will update this review as I put on more miles. Unfortunately the weather turned cold again so I can't ride as much as I'd like to. The only complaint is that there is some vibration felt through the grips - I will replace them with grips that have more substance on them.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 8 of 8 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: