Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Steve

Fresno, California

Reviewed on 2010-07-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned many bikes and I bought this one new a few years ago. Ninety percent of my riding is 2-up with my wife. The riding position is still a little too far leaning forward even with the risers. I plan on adding a Heli triple clamp this year. The stock BT-021 tires didn't last very long and caused a steering shimmy on decel after some wear. After two sets I now have Roadsmarts. I get 39-45 mpg. The foot pegs are a little low and drag frequently when mountain riding. Other than the ignition switch recall and the ECM replacement per TSB to fix an altitude surge it has had no other problems. Yes, the bike is not light. But it is smooth in the twisty turns with lots of smooth power and almost stalker quiet. We love this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron

Beaumont, Texas

Reviewed on 2009-04-15

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is a great sport touring bike, it does everything well - both sport and touring. Its strong points are: great looking, powerful, great handling, great OEM sounds from the engine and the exhaust, complete dashboard instrumentation. Its weak point is some engine vibration at higher rpm's, not a big problem, but some tingling.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike Todryk

rockford

Reviewed on 2008-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
You cannot find a better blend of performance, reliability and comfort for the money. The first bike I've owned that my wife said was comfortable. Seats are a little high for my height, but that's the trade-off I was willing to make to get a FAST long-hauler.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe

Illinois

Reviewed on 2007-10-31

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
For years I lusted after the FJR1300 but settled for something less costly. That was a big mistake because I was missing the best riding and handling bike I ever rode. This bike is great in the city, on a country road or the interstates. Traveling at 75 mph is easy and putting many miles in a short amount of time is a cinch! Additionally, my wife also likes this bike and has helped me to do some traveling and put miles on the odometer. I highly recommend this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

hornet224

Sarasota, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This rocket is not for beginners. After 8,335 miles and 13 months of ownership, I'm pleased enough to keep it, and I think it is an outstanding bike for me, but that does not mean I recommend it for you. My previous bikes are a Honda Magna VF750 and a VTX1300C. The electric shift & auto clutch system is the wave of the future - available now. If you are old school, and there's nothing wrong with that, you probably will not like it. It takes completely new and different shift/throttle/brake techniques to take full advantage of it's maximum performance potential. Whereas using standard clutch, throttle, and foot-shift skills & habits learned from years of riding will make it hard to change. Overall high points: Prodigous power, exceptionally good ABS braking, high-speed Interstate riding stability and comfort, and the lack of handling quirks. Reliability has been excellent, with no repairs or problems of any kind outside of 600, 4,000, and 8,000 mile maintenance service. Weakness: 680 lb. weight, making it hard to horse around power-off. Would I buy it again? Yes. Now, if you are looking for a comparason to the new Connie-14, the 3rd generation FJR has a larger fuel tank, better fuel consumption mileage (44MPG) and thus greater range, but only 11 less HP. Plus it has dual exhaust, slightly larger bags, better fit and finish, better styling, everthing else being equal except for the heat. Initial reviews of the Concours-14 in mildly cool northern California weather did not expose the HEAT that this engine generates in warm weather above 85 degrees. The latest FJR has tamed this problem but only after the 3rd generation model. So before you buy, try to ride both bikes on a HOT day.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Michael A

Franklin, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2007-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had an 06 Roadliner and while a great cruiser was frustrated with its highway performance. Also, my other bike is a Honda Interceptor so I liked the speed and flickability and wanted something that combined both while offering greater comfort and practicality. Enter FJR. The bike is, in a word, incredible. I can spin her up to almost 90 within break-in guidelines (keep her under 4500 rpm). She runs like a freight train and is rock-steady stable. Absolute comfort on the highway. Love the power port and glove box, full gorgeous instrumentation and electric windshield. Also love the shaft drive, standard ABS and huge very-well-integrated hard bags. Looks good with them on or off. Also the adjustable suspension and twin exhaust cans. Awesome. Twisties are not quite as easy-going as the Interceptor, but darn stable and user-friendly for a big bike (big comapred to the Interceptor). My only gripes - the throttle spring is tight which puts your hand to sleep in 10 minutes - this bike should have the cruise control system on the Royal Star. Also the bike is almost too pretty and gets scratched just by looking at the gorgeous black cherry paint - especially on those bags! I was initially concerned with only having 5 gears to choose from, but they are very well-spaced and there's plenty of power to push you to whatever speed you want whenever you want it...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BW

Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2007-06-02

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got the '07 back in March, and I am liking the bike. Plenty of speed, good performance and a smooth ride and no heat issues so far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob Race

Stone Mountain, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-05-30

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This FJR 1300A is my first bike in over 12 years. I originally wanted a sport bike, but was more comfortable with a cruiser. I decided to get both in this bike. This bike is so so so easy to ride. It has massive power in all gears at all RPMs. I have wound it through tight corners.... been awhile so it was nice to have the stability this bike offers. I have been in bumper to bumper traffic. I have no issues with it, lots of fun. Has a great WOW! factor with co-workers, etc. Best bike I could have chosen, very pleased!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

joe parr

eagle, Idaho

Reviewed on 2007-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The FJR1300A is a motorcycle that can do it all. Want to tour with detachable hardcase luggage, a large fuel tank, adjustable on the fly windscreen, adjustable seat, and more power than most of us will need? Or, do you want to ride like you're on a pure sportbike? Push the FJ on a twisty road and you will be surprised how quickly you will forget there's hard luggage attached. The FJ feels lighter in the corners than it is and is very stable. Once you set the suspension, which has rebound and compression settings, as well as the rear shock having a quick preload, you can ride the FJ like a R1 and truly have the best of both worlds...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sovereign

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2007-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FJR1300A

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Fantastic bike. This bike has incredible power and torque and pulls like a truck at all speeds! The fuel economy has been much better than I thought it would be as I am now averaging around 48mpg while running on the freeway 70-75mph. It is a fairly light and nimble bike so it handles quite well. My wife and I are planning quite a few trips in the future on this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: