Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes Reviews (22)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-02-23 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like many others - I passed my MSF basic course and looked for a practical, sporty, light bike that I would not outgrow too soon. That was four years ago. It's easy to operate, fun, good torque, quick, fast when you want it to be. It's reliable and oh my gosh - such a value! It's the best kept secret for mid-level sport-touring/commuting/carving. I've taken mine to Montana, Alabama, Ohio, and it's a great tourer (your butt will get used to it eventually) and commuter. You can pick one up for around $3,500-4,000 on e-bay. What a steal! Put a Cal-Sci windshield and crampbuster throttle pad on it and your good to go cross country. The underseat exhaust allows you to use inexpensive soft luggage easily. Strap on a tank bag. I now have four bikes, but I'll never get rid of "Hector", and I taught all three of my boys to ride on him (16-23 yrs. old). Enjoy!
- Shawn, Jasper, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-19 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hope I die before my FZ6, it's that perfect for me. It has its flaws so I can't honestly give it 5/5 stars, but first, the good; It has fantastic power. It's docile and manageable in the city and a screaming rocket at higher RPM. It's light, has responsive handling, is very well planted in the corners and with plenty of clearance for track days. The brakes are crazy strong. It's a very good tourer, has a nice upright riding position with just enough wind protection, not so much that you sit in turbulent air. It has fantastic fuel range, 350 km. per tank at a calm cruising speed (52 mpg). There are nice features like a center stand, oil cooler, fuel gauge, good passenger grab rails (aka tie downs) and a nice bun warmer (aka undertail exhaust). The cons; uncomfortable seat. I can bare it for a day long ride, but I don't enjoy it. Also, the shifting is problematic. There are lots of false neutrals and the occasional popping out of gear. It would have been nice to have adjustable front forks too. It's not a suitable bike for dirt roads due to peaky engine, firm suspension and performance tires.
- Martin, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-25 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle. I purchased it new in October of 2007 and have logged over 11K miles on it thus far. I wanted a bike that could serve both as a recreational and commuter bike and this is the perfect combination bike. The bike can roar fast with other sport bikes, and cruise well with the less tame bikes. It also handles well on the twisties. I have taken a few long distance trips on the bike and it rides comfortably. The best feature to me is having the fuel gauge; you will appreciate it more when you're riding with other riders and they are pulling over to switch on their reserve fuel supply. Easy break-in period, smooth gear operation, and a good gas mileage bike. I purchased a maintenance pkg. when I got my bike, so I haven't spent anything for maintenance yet. I got my first set of new tires at around 9k. I highly recommend this bike for the new beginner.
- Malik, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-11 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike is truly fun to ride! It's great for whatever mood I'm in. If I want to go for a back road ride it handles great and is very quick to whip back and forth. The bike took a little practice to be able to get a good wheelie, remember to slip the clutch at 8,000 RPM. A 300-mile day ride on the highway is was a little rough at first, and then I bought the Corbin Gunfighter seat and WOW what a difference it has made. The bike truly can be whatever you want it to be with the huge difference between the lower and higher RPM. I suggest a new wind screen, I put the Puig racing screen on it. It takes the wind resistance down to nothing. 120 MPH feels like 60 MPH with it.
- Mots, Imperial, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-21 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a 22 year old who learned how to ride on my dad's enormous BMW. As soon as I got my full time job I started shopping. I was amazed by the look of the FZ6 and all of the good reviews it had gotten. I began doing my research and agree that it's a great bike. I couldn't ask for a better first bike, with its great power for its size. Only complaint is its comfort on longer rides. My bum got pretty numb after 150 miles or so. Other than that I recommend the bike to anyone.
- JT, Asbury Park, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-14 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Maybe an R6 can catch it. I've noticed the performance of the two is not that different, and that it is very close to rider reaction time. God bless dunlop, Yamaha uses all they got. I've toured lightly and rode around town. Taken an evening stroll and screamed across south Florida. There is a very secure and reliable feeling on the road and you always get exactly what you asked for. Never mind the affordable price, this is the bike I want to ride.
- bluwbt, Key West, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-12 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My prior bikes were a Suzuki Katana 750 and a Yamaha Vmax. I traded the Vmax in for a 2007 FZ6. Best move I ever made. The FZ6 is a blast to drive - quick and nimble. Fun for the experienced rider (and I would think newbies as well - the midrange is just powerful enough to be fun, but not 'dangerously' fun). The bike screams when past the 8k-10k rpms. My passion for biking has returned. Great riding position, and comfy on long or short trips. My only complaint is what seems to be excessive vibration around 6000-8000rpm. Liked the Vmax - but when not accelerating it was a bore. LOVE the FZ6!
- Kollar, Brantford, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use my bike for commuting, riding backroads on my days off and light sport-touring. It performs all of these jobs without missing a beat. The bike is comfortable and smooth handling with a strong motor. I recently finished a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway and over to Deal's Gap. My FZ6 showed her versatility by making me look like I knew what I was doing in both locations.
- Henry, Waynesboro, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-06 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall this is a wonderful piece of equipment. The bike has great low and mid-range power that is great for mountain runs, and deals well with the tight corners that I have put it up against. The factory seat can make you a bit saddle sore on a ride of more than 100 miles, but they do make an OEM replacement GEL seat that I am looking to purchase. Would like to see more color options for 08, but being a RAZORBACK fan I love the Shift Red (GO HOGS!!!). With this bike's performance, price, & looks you can't go wrong.
- Biggcheddar, Rogers, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-28 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my first bike, took the MSF course...helped a lot, bought the bike and have been loving it ever since. It's got some pretty looks but could use a bit more personality...lower plastics please. It handles well and shifts as smooth as silk...I love it. Still in the break-in period so nothing outrageous, which is fine by me. The bike is well mannered enough for a beginner like me, but with enough power to keep me thrilled for quite some time. Although I like the looks and placement of the exhaust it can get a little warm on the seat after awhile.
- Lee, Plainwell, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-17 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new rider. I finished the MSF Premier course 2 weeks ago. I picked up my bike last Sat. and a friend rode behind me on the way. I immediately felt comfortable on this bike. I was riding a 250 Honda in the MSF course and this was actually easier to get used to. This bike is forgiving and comfortable. It is not at all intimidating, especially considering if you buy it new you will need to keep the rpms below 6k for 600 miles. I have racked up a lot of city riding and have even felt comfortable enough on it to go over the Bay Bridge twice now. This bike is THE most comfortable and good looking 600 on the market...GET ONE NOW!
- BW, San Francisco, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-14 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street motorcycle, although I have been racing dirtbikes for 3 years. We bought this bike because it was the least expensive and had the best look. Me being a sport guy liked the sporty look. After the first 1000 miles there are no regrets. Runs, rides, and wheelies like a $20,000 motorcycle. So it just comes down to, get cha some! P.S. I also went through the MSF rider saftey course and would GREATLY advise it to any rider experienced or not. I know it helped me a TON!!
- Jeremy Tyler, Burns, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Rode the 04 FZ for 3 years and 26,000 mi. Loved that one so much that I picked out an 07 FZ6 and the dealer gave me a fair trade for the 04. This IS one bike for those of us with a one bike life. Does everything well. And for a great price! BUY and FLY.
- Dave N, Dillsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-05 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm relatively new to street motorcycles, and I recently purchased this motorcycle after taking the MSF course. Although I haven't put many miles on it yet, I love everything about this bike! It has plenty of power, yet no so much that it's scary. Also it is very solidly built. Still in the break-in period right now but I have been very satisfied with this bike. Definitely glad I went with Yamaha. Overall I give the FZ-6 an A+.
- Michael K., Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-31 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a comfortable, mid-sized rocket. It seems as though I could ride all day. The FZ6 is different, having a comfortable touring like posture, a high performance engine, and European styling, this bike is awesome in every way. First bike or fifth bike, the fz6 is kick ass!
- Travis, Aliso Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-24 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well what can I say? It's my first and sure won't be the last. First off, research the bike and AVOID dealer add-ons! The basic 6,900 should get you everywhere. When I drove off the lot, it was my first time ever on a motorcycle. The ride... Now a days gas is expensive. The tank holds 5.1 gallons and at 2.95 a gallon, it will usually take 12 dollars to top it off. At a round trip, I usually get 160 miles each tank full plus emergency. The seat... It could be better. I use my bike for work which is 30 miles away from home. In one typical day I put around 70 miles a day. And after a long ride my rear needs something comfy. Could use more cushion. Speed... Well I got er up to 158 on IH10 and it wasn't as scary as I thought it would be. Except for the bumps, the shocks could be a more soft ride. I'm not sure if it slips or what, but once in a while in first gear it will have a slow take off, but other than that great handling, accleration, and braking.
- Marc Garcia, Seguin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-14 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm starting to love this bike. It was bought as a shared machine for my wife and I, me looking at the Suzuki SV650S, her finding the Yamaha to be a lot prettier, and I have to agree! Yamaha has done a great job with the design, a look that is contemporary and seemingly timeless. Still running the thing in, but these first miles have been a lot of fun. My only complaint is the suspension. I wish I had some adjustment on the forks and a little more on the shock, but I guess I can't expect too much for the price I paid. The wife, at 5ft 2in fits into it comfortably but we may need to lower it about an inch for her, but the more she rides it the more comfortable she becomes with the height. Overall, thus far, we think it's a great bike for the money, performance is more than we'll ever need or use on the street, and the Yamaha would seem to be capable of most things thrown it's way, save for maybe an intense track day due to the limited suspension, but then again, you could do a track day on it knowing it's limitations. More to come as we put more miles on it.
- Jones, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-13 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the 04 FZ6 when they first came stateside and have loved it for almost 23 thousand miles now. Am looking hard at the 07. They have made it sound improved. But am wondering if the wind protection will still be good. Just looking hard at it now. April is buy month in this region.
- Dave N, Dillsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-04 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased this bike a week ago, glad I waited for the 07. Had a chance to compare the 06 & 07 side by side, what a difference! Kudos to Yamaha for a job well done! Bike looks great, runs great, stops great, handles great, wind protection is great, I wouldn't change a thing. Even the seat is comfortable! This is my second bike, bought it for around town riding mostly. My other bike is a BMW R1200RT, and I can honestly say that the FZ6 is more fun to ride and an amazing bargin! Yamaha is going to sell a lot of these. I looked at all competitive models, to me no comparison, Yamaha gives you much more. To sum it up, if you want a fast little hooligan that sits upright and won't cost much to maintain, this is the bike for you. don't tell Yamaha... but I would have paid more for it!
- gj, boynton beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the 2005 version of this bike, my first. Have enjoyed the ease of handling, responsiveness. Without the fairing, tends to get the pipes dirty quickly. Avoid dealer add-ons, this bike is perfect as is.
- Phil Irwin, Micanopy, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-25 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I picked up my bike on the 23rd of this month and going from a great cruiser - an XVS1100 - I can definitely say this bike rocks. I've only ridden cruisers in the last 20+ years so all I have to compare this bike to is what I've ridden and comparitively there's power everywhere from down low to 110 mph (max speed so far). You don't feel the torque or the weight like you would on a cruiser - you're just down the road in a hurry where you would have just about been building momentum to shift to second on a cruiser. It's also easy to ride at a bit slower pace if you just want to ride at a more sedate pace. Can't wait to tackle the twisties on the way to Lake Baryessa...very soon. NO complaints here.
- Sanebiker, Vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-16 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The FZ6 is my first motorcycle. Every vehicle I have owned prior to this bike has been used, so I chose to reward myself with something off a showroom floor for once. This review is being written at the initial break-in interval (600 miles). I have not been disappointed one bit by my purchase. The motor is powerful, but easily manageable, even for a novice rider. It is too early to judge reliability, but nothing feels loose or even hints at future issues as of the review. The only place I cannot give the bike five stars is comfort. This is not because the bike is uncomfortable. It simply isn't five star comfortable. The saddle and seating position are exceptionally plush in contrast to anything sold with the word sport in its advertisements. While it may not be a Gold Wing, it is more comfortable than it looks. Taken together, the package is almost unbeatable. Even at the sticker price, the FZ6 is a bargain for the level of performance and quality it offers. It handles short commuter rides like a champ, and joy is hardly adequate to describe how well it handles twisty country roads. Even on long straight rides, the bike is comfortable enough to avoid needing a stretch every 50 miles. Overall, the FZ6 is a wonderful ride. For this rider, the bike is perfect, and I recommend it without reservation.
- Andrew, Eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: