Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bike reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Shawn

Jasper, Indiana

Reviewed on 2012-02-23

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Like many others - I passed my MSF basic course and looked for a practical, sporty, light bike that I would not outgrow too soon. That was four years ago. It's easy to operate, fun, good torque, quick, fast when you want it to be. It's reliable and oh my gosh - such a value! It's the best kept secret for mid-level sport-touring/commuting/carving. I've taken mine to Montana, Alabama, Ohio, and it's a great tourer (your butt will get used to it eventually) and commuter. You can pick one up for around $3,500-4,000 on e-bay. What a steal! Put a Cal-Sci windshield and crampbuster throttle pad on it and your good to go cross country. The underseat exhaust allows you to use inexpensive soft luggage easily. Strap on a tank bag. I now have four bikes, but I'll never get rid of "Hector", and I taught all three of my boys to ride on him (16-23 yrs. old). Enjoy!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martin

Toronto, Ontario

Reviewed on 2010-11-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I hope I die before my FZ6, it's that perfect for me. It has its flaws so I can't honestly give it 5/5 stars, but first, the good; It has fantastic power. It's docile and manageable in the city and a screaming rocket at higher RPM. It's light, has responsive handling, is very well planted in the corners and with plenty of clearance for track days. The brakes are crazy strong. It's a very good tourer, has a nice upright riding position with just enough wind protection, not so much that you sit in turbulent air. It has fantastic fuel range, 350 km. per tank at a calm cruising speed (52 mpg). There are nice features like a center stand, oil cooler, fuel gauge, good passenger grab rails (aka tie downs) and a nice bun warmer (aka undertail exhaust). The cons; uncomfortable seat. I can bare it for a day long ride, but I don't enjoy it. Also, the shifting is problematic. There are lots of false neutrals and the occasional popping out of gear. It would have been nice to have adjustable front forks too. It's not a suitable bike for dirt roads due to peaky engine, firm suspension and performance tires.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Malik

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2008-10-25

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first motorcycle. I purchased it new in October of 2007 and have logged over 11K miles on it thus far. I wanted a bike that could serve both as a recreational and commuter bike and this is the perfect combination bike. The bike can roar fast with other sport bikes, and cruise well with the less tame bikes. It also handles well on the twisties. I have taken a few long distance trips on the bike and it rides comfortably. The best feature to me is having the fuel gauge; you will appreciate it more when you're riding with other riders and they are pulling over to switch on their reserve fuel supply. Easy break-in period, smooth gear operation, and a good gas mileage bike. I purchased a maintenance pkg. when I got my bike, so I haven't spent anything for maintenance yet. I got my first set of new tires at around 9k. I highly recommend this bike for the new beginner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mots

Imperial, Missouri

Reviewed on 2008-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The bike is truly fun to ride! It's great for whatever mood I'm in. If I want to go for a back road ride it handles great and is very quick to whip back and forth. The bike took a little practice to be able to get a good wheelie, remember to slip the clutch at 8,000 RPM. A 300-mile day ride on the highway is was a little rough at first, and then I bought the Corbin Gunfighter seat and WOW what a difference it has made. The bike truly can be whatever you want it to be with the huge difference between the lower and higher RPM. I suggest a new wind screen, I put the Puig racing screen on it. It takes the wind resistance down to nothing. 120 MPH feels like 60 MPH with it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

JT

Asbury Park, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2007-08-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm a 22 year old who learned how to ride on my dad's enormous BMW. As soon as I got my full time job I started shopping. I was amazed by the look of the FZ6 and all of the good reviews it had gotten. I began doing my research and agree that it's a great bike. I couldn't ask for a better first bike, with its great power for its size. Only complaint is its comfort on longer rides. My bum got pretty numb after 150 miles or so. Other than that I recommend the bike to anyone.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bluwbt

Key West, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-08-14

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Maybe an R6 can catch it. I've noticed the performance of the two is not that different, and that it is very close to rider reaction time. God bless dunlop, Yamaha uses all they got. I've toured lightly and rode around town. Taken an evening stroll and screamed across south Florida. There is a very secure and reliable feeling on the road and you always get exactly what you asked for. Never mind the affordable price, this is the bike I want to ride.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kollar

Brantford, Ontario

Reviewed on 2007-08-12

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My prior bikes were a Suzuki Katana 750 and a Yamaha Vmax. I traded the Vmax in for a 2007 FZ6. Best move I ever made. The FZ6 is a blast to drive - quick and nimble. Fun for the experienced rider (and I would think newbies as well - the midrange is just powerful enough to be fun, but not 'dangerously' fun). The bike screams when past the 8k-10k rpms. My passion for biking has returned. Great riding position, and comfy on long or short trips. My only complaint is what seems to be excessive vibration around 6000-8000rpm. Liked the Vmax - but when not accelerating it was a bore. LOVE the FZ6!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Henry

Waynesboro, Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-08-08

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I use my bike for commuting, riding backroads on my days off and light sport-touring. It performs all of these jobs without missing a beat. The bike is comfortable and smooth handling with a strong motor. I recently finished a trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway and over to Deal's Gap. My FZ6 showed her versatility by making me look like I knew what I was doing in both locations.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Biggcheddar

Rogers, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2007-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Overall this is a wonderful piece of equipment. The bike has great low and mid-range power that is great for mountain runs, and deals well with the tight corners that I have put it up against. The factory seat can make you a bit saddle sore on a ride of more than 100 miles, but they do make an OEM replacement GEL seat that I am looking to purchase. Would like to see more color options for 08, but being a RAZORBACK fan I love the Shift Red (GO HOGS!!!). With this bike's performance, price, & looks you can't go wrong.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Lee

Plainwell, Michigan

Reviewed on 2007-07-28

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha FZ6

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
It's my first bike, took the MSF course...helped a lot, bought the bike and have been loving it ever since. It's got some pretty looks but could use a bit more personality...lower plastics please. It handles well and shifts as smooth as silk...I love it. Still in the break-in period so nothing outrageous, which is fine by me. The bike is well mannered enough for a beginner like me, but with enough power to keep me thrilled for quite some time. Although I like the looks and placement of the exhaust it can get a little warm on the seat after awhile.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: