Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (32)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-01-31 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
i upgraded from a Yamaha PW80 to a Yamaha YZ85. I purchased the YZ85 used, but wow it really blew me away. I love the comfort, speed, power and everything about this bike. I plan on racing this summer of 2011 at Birch Creek Motorsports in Danville, Virginia so watch out everyone!
- DirtcycleMaster92, forest, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-01-30 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has literaly sent me flying. It's a great race bike. One day I was messing around in first gear and gave her about half throttle and great day, mamma, she bucked up like an angry bull that just walked over a cactus.
- thrillbilly92, Forest, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-15 2007 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was far and away the best bike I ever owned. It was my first high performance 4-stroke, and I was unsure about going to a 4-stroke, but I couldn't have been happier. I went for the Yamaha in the 250F class because of its well known reliability and all around great performance, and it did NOT let me down a bit. I am a Yamaha rider for life. I have owned them all and Yamaha just seems to continually put out great products with few issues.
- Matt Lozon, Flushing, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-20 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I raced this bike all year with out one break down. I just changed the oil & air filters and put a good chain on. I just did the valve adjustment after a whole season of racing and only 3 valves were out of spec and not by much at all. My old bike would never have held up as well as this Yamaha. By the way my old bike was a 2004 CRF-450.
- Chris Lane, Livonia, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-20 2007 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is so awesome. It goes through sand, water, mud and over rocks and off cliffs. This bike just keeps going. I keep up easily with my bro while he's on his 450. It has great fuel economy, suspension and looks. Lots of adjustments can be made to cater to your style of riding. This bike can rip you off the seat if you're not careful. It's perfect.
- joe richard, paso robles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-06 2007 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a 2 stroke holdout I was apprehensive about buying another YZ250, man am I glad I did. This bike is raw power and handling off the showroom floor. With very little tweaking and setup my YZ was holding it's own with other modified racers. I'm over 40 now but still stupid enough to ride MX every now and again. On the track, all go and what a suspension, eats up the whole track. No front end push like previous models, balanced in the air and turns on a dime. This bike is awesome.
- Ed Huffine, Olympia, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-31 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Yamaha is not only fast but it's best in its class. Yamaha has great suspension. It has a real easy clutch to pull and a perfect seat height for all kids that want to get serious about motocross. It's a perfect bike to choose if you go from a CRF 100F or a CRF 80F.
- mike, patchogue, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-19 2007 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This has to be the best so far. Great horsepower, super suspension, just a great bike overall. Set this bike up for Hare Scramble/Enduro.
- Rbeckett, Bronson, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike today and I love it. It has a lot of power and lots of kick. I DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR BEGINNERS. Great racing bike! GREAT JOB YAMAHA!!!
- mike, Leominster, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-29 2007 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Yamaha lately has been putting out clutch performance bikes. The YZ 125 is the leader in best bike for the 125 class. I moved up from a Honda CRF100 to this and at first I thought it had too much power, but trust me, after a week of riding I was ripping. It has a good amount of low-mid end power per gear. It always starts right up. So far it's been a very durable bike, no problems. Of course it is a race bike and it won't be as comfortable as a crusier, but it'll do. If you're looking for a: fast, durable, reliable, high quality, and over all fun bike, this has your name on it.
- Chris Urmston, montgomery, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2007 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So much power delivered in such a light weight package. I wouldn't suggest riding a 125 2 stroke then jumping into the 4 stroke and expect to be a natural due to so much compression braking. But it handles like a dream. BEST INVESTMENT I HAVE EVER MADE!!!
- Rider, Anderson, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-25 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At first, the bike didn't seem to have much bite. After a fuel screw adjustment to 21/2 turns out, the power came to life! You have to ride the bike differently than earlier Yamaha 450 models. Not as much bite and raw power down low like older Yamahas, but the mid and top really pull! The biggest difference is the cornering... the bike really responds in cornering and riding ruts in turns. I can come in to turns much faster, still in control and be able to drop the bike into the turn without popping up out of the rut. The dealership sales staff were helpful and courteous during the complete transaction and contacted me afterwards to make sure I was a completely satisfied customer! Thanks!
- Phil Smith, Somerset, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2007 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only been riding for a year and a half now. I went from Suzuki, Honda, Yamaha and stayed with Yamaha. You can't compromise quality and reliability when it comes to Yamahas four strokes. That is why I decided to go with their new 07 250F. I took it out this last weekend to delta and all I can say about the bike is that it has definitely exceeded my expectations. It's fast, agile, good looking (white and silver), revs forever, and again reliable...so far. Anyone who is looking to buy a new 07 four stroke, go with this bike. You won't be disappointed. Great bike, two thumbs way up!
- Rob, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-11 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is not for starters. You have to have guts to ride this little puppy. It has a lot of pop and has a sick power band.
- troy urffer, sellersville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Yamaha, and my first racing 4-stroke. The power is ultra-smooth from off-idle till shut-down, with more than enough power to smoke the tire or loft the front end on command. The balance of the aluminum frame is awesome. Switchback corners and chicanes are a breeze. It is one of the easiest wheelie machines ever! The suspension is better than my Pro-Circuit modified suspension. Just set the sag and hammer down! I raised the forks in the clamps up to the first line (5mm) and it helped the cornering considerably. I disassembled my bike before riding it, and recommend greasing the linkage before riding, as there is no grease on the bolts and pins. The bearings were greased from the factory though. Quality of manufacturing is top-notch. Extreme engineering thought has obviously been given to every part, no matter how small or large. I would recommend an adjustable fuel screw when you buy this bike. It makes all the difference in the way it runs, as five degrees temperature throws off your throttle response, and adjusting it with a screwdriver is frustrating. The power will also sack the stock chain in just a few rides. I have trail-rode, hillclimbed, and moto-ed this bike hard. I am truly Blown Away by it's prowess. I love my YZ450F!!!
- Timber Pesterfield, Cloverdale, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike really suprised me, the power is great through every gear, very easily handled and easy on the eyes. And cheap to keep up with verse's a 2 stroke. What else could a guy ask for?!
- Rocky Brandes, huffman, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-15 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this for my fat butt! I love this little thing! Only problem I have with it is keeping the front end down! When it comes on the pipe, it does so in a rush and if you are not seated correctly on the bike...it'll leave you! Just nothing really like a two stroke! I also have a YZ250 and 450F and enjoy this just as much! Fouling plugs like candy?...Switch to a racing version of your type of plug...fixed mine!
- Tom Stewart, Wetumpka, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-09 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rips! Awesome power band! Best 85 out there. I race both desert and motocross and this bike rocks on both! Anyone who wants to win races, buy this bike! If you're just a free rider, it's still perfect. I used to free ride all the time until I got FAST! Look at the picture! It's me at a desert race called RHR!
- Brent, T-town, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-11 2007 Yamaha YZ250 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe the craziness of this bike. It is so fast, easily upgradable, and very torquey. I have so many upgrades on it. It is also very loud. Can't beat me, I'm ballin.
- Some Random Kid, Stratford, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2007 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing! I've always owned Yamahas and this is the best one yet! Feels very lightweight, has great suspension, and is very well designed. I race harescrambles (vchss) and this bike is great in the woods or on the track. It is the best all around 250F out there, buy one now!
- Robert, boonesmill, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-06 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike flies. My friend has a KX 85 and I blow him away. It has great suspension and brakes. The engine is sweet. Overall, the bike is mad fast. I got 6th in points at Sleepy Hollow this year with it. I can't wait to see what my YZ 85 brings me this racing season in 2007.
- darren, quarryville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2007 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, once I decided I wanted the Yamaha YZ450F 2 years ago, I knew I had to have one. Took 2 years to get the money but I finally picked one up about a month ago. It's the fastest and most powerful bike I've ever ridden. They've toned the bite down on it a little bit but I heard it needed it, but don't get me wrong, it's not a slow bike whatsoever. I weigh 165 lbs and I have a problem keeping the front down under heavy acceleration around the track. I had a hard time in the beginning because the suspension was fairly stiff for me, so I loosened the rebound, preload, and compression a little. I didn't touch anything out back except preload though. Overall, it's a very fast bike that feels light and you'll fall in love with it if you ride it.
- Cameron, Marysville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-01 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best Yamaha for me so far. I used to do trail racing with a Yamaha TTR125LE, but I just wanted somehing with a ton more power. Well, I found it!!! The resson I gave comfort a 3 is because the seat was hard as a rock the fist time I got on. The power is awesome. I'm a big kid and I got this up to 82.7 mph. With a couple more upgrades, this bike will be a beast.
- joey, middleton, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2007 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a couple of weeks ago and I've ridden it on really hard trails and some hard tracks and it held up well on all of it. It's got awesome power that rolls on very nicely. The suspension is awesome too. I'm coming off of a TTR-125L and it's a completely different bike. It's not scary or anything, though. I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Aaron, Newark, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-16 2007 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
YZ85 is the best bike out there. It beats all the other 85s. I have an 05 KLX110 and a PW50. This bike will clear anything you throw at it. The reason I gave it a 3 on comfort is because the seat is like a rock when you first get it. Over all, it's a sick bike. It beats all the other 85s out there.
- james derstine , harlesville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: