Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (11)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Kevin Currigan from Lakewood, Colorado says:

I bought this machine with 2k on the odometer in Arlington, Texas and rode it home to Lakewood, Colorado; just south of 1,000 miles in two days. I

Read More (11 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this machine with 2k on the odometer in Arlington, Texas and rode it home to Lakewood, Colorado; just south of 1,000 miles in two days. I rode it to California that same summer three years ago; again two years ago and then up through the Missouri River Valley and down through central Wyoming this past summer. I've replaced oil and tires and two lower farings. The farings have a well nut adjacent to the air filter assembly. I am guessing if this is fastened too tight it will break the plastic holding it. This design flaw is the only real problem I've had with the bike. Yamaha replaced the farings without even a whimper. However, I was told they would not replace a third one. Sounded fair to me. I had the dealer replace the oil this last oil change and being the level has to be checked while the bike is upright and takes two people I figured it was good; the dealer did it. What could go wrong? Well, the crankcase, as I discovered upon returning home, was 3/4 of a quart over filled. That is why oil kept coming out of the air intake assembly breather hoses. Took them apart, cleaned the mess and it's good as new. I also used 10-30w Castrol full synthetic on my second trip to the coast complete with all of the additives that are supposed to make the clutch slip and wear, etc. It never ran so well and included 5 days of 100 plus degree temps. I did go back to motorcycle oil from the dealer this last change. So, I've run everything possible through the engine on the five oil changes I've done including two with the bad additive stuff; not a whiff of trouble. Comfort is a little off only because I would rather my feet be under me rather than out front. The shifter has a heel peg that doesn't allow me to use the entire floor board on that side also. Bags are giant and of high quality. Wind screen is a see through type and does give me a little buffeting. The screen does have lowers and combined with the lower farings it really keeps the cold off the lower body. Fit and finish overall is first class. The paint is even better. The entire bike still feels and looks new and I got it for a song; a great bargain. I've had it for three years and still have two left on the factory warranty-which was the main reason I bought it.
- Kevin Currigan, Lakewood, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-24 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the Royal Star used at a Harley Dealer (no kidding) here on Long Island. I traded in a 2005 Suzuki S-83 which was too small for a man my height. The Royal Star is much more comfortable and rides better while not as nimble as the S-83. The Royal Star had 1,370 miles on the odometer when purchased. I have ridden it about 2,100 miles in the year I have owned it. I would recommend the Royal Star to those who want a real tourer.
- Vince, Shelter Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-03 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There is nothing quite like the feel of a V-4. The V-twins can talk a good game, but when it comes to smooth power and high end that is incredible, the RSTD is the leader. This is a great bike. For what you get standard, there is no match. Elec cruise, removable windshield with lowers, hard locking saddle bags, wide handle bars, adjustable rear shock, a 5 YEAR WARRANTY!!!! There are too many pro's to this great ride to list here. I would get another one in a heart beat. Smooth acceleration, plenty of power, versatility, easy to work on, 5 YEAR WARRANTY and great looks. Minor Con's, having four carbs is ok, but it would be better with EFI, standard brake and turn signal bulbs too dim. I am tall with long arms and it fits great. If you are looking for a touring/cruiser that performs 1 and 2 up, take a look at this ride.
- James Baker, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-06 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in October 2008 and have averaged 1000 miles per month. I use the bike for commuting and pleasure. The more I ride, the more I like this bike. It was very easy to adapt from my 89 Honda Shadow 1100 even though the weight is double. I thought it would be a little hard to get used to the extra weight so I told the wife who loves to ride with me that I would need a week or so to adjust before we went two-up. But much to my surprise the drive home from the dealer was all I needed. As soon as I got home I told the wife, "Let's go,and she climbed on and away we went. This bike will cruise effortlessly down the highway with both of us at 85 mph or higher if you choose to, but I try to keep it under 90 for safety's sake. No vibration; it just floats along. It's just amazingly smooth and, like I said, the more I ride, the more I want to ride. I really don't have anything bad to say about this bike. It does everything I ask it to and better than I expected from a bike this heavy. I guess the only thing I could ask for would be a better exhaust note. Quiet is nice but it seems a bike of this size should be a little throaty.
- CHUCK KNEECE, ALEXANDRIA, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-02 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I can't believe how great this bike rides. I am more than pleased with the smooth quiet ride. It could use a little more rumble but that is an easy fix. The versatility is excellent with the quick release windshield and backrest. Whether touring or cruising this bike fits both. I found MPG can be dramatically improved if I drive 55 mph.... 52mpg on the flat roads of Florida. This could very well be the last bike I ever buy. The 5 year warranty speaks loudly of Yamaha's faith in this bike. Other bikes in this group have only one or two year warranty. I feel like I have gotten my dollars' worth.
- Greg Boatright, Valdosta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-30 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say that I have owned a few bikes, but this one is one of the best. The ride is smooth. Bumps aren't a problem here. In the rain my legs are dry as a bone and plenty warm when it is colder. I did have to lower it 2 inches for my height, but now it's great! I kind of thought that this bike would be hard to get used to based on my small size, but it was like 1-2-3. I love this ride, and would recommend it to anyone.
- Amy, NPR, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-05 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this bike for a little over a year. I routinely disappear on it for hours at a time. The handling is phenomenal for such a large bike and there is plenty of power. I once rode it from my home to Waterville Valley, NH for the Northeast Star-B-Que and the cruise control is great. I've added the stock passing lamps & rear luggage rack. After the trip to New Hampshire, and getting caught in the rain, I purchased the 7 inch shorter windshield and it is perfect for someone my height. In the warmer weather & short drives around town I strip the windsield and back-rest off. I get a lot of compliments about the bike, and usually people ask What kind of a Harley is that?; I usually answer A Yama-Harley! About my only complaint is that it could use a reverse gear mainly for parking, you really have to consider where & how you park it well in advance. It's been very good to me thus far and never a problem yet.
- Mario Sticca, Pine Bush, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is everything I had hoped for and more. It is a boat, but one that is very enjoyable to ride. The cruise is a great plus because now, I don't know if I'll ever get a bike without it. The versatility of the bike is an advantage as well. Being able to change the look in a few seconds is nice. Changing from a touring bike to a sharp looking, meaty, roadster is a cinch. The ride enables me to go and go. Putting air in the shocks makes a difference. The power is plenty sufficient. I'll see what happens around 50,000 or so or until the warranty runs out. I may very well get another. The size is massive yet impressive. Reverse would be nice on occasion. Again, I am very pleased with my purchase. I studied this bike for over 2 years before purchase and am not disappointed.
- Kyle Duncan, Ridgeville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-03 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A keeper, this machine is unique among motorcycles with its smooth V4 and shaft drive. 5th gear unnecessary until you reach about 60 mph, cruises best at about 85 mph. She does not roll on like the higher torque v twin, but in the higher RPM range will accelerate with the best of them. (Remember, this engine was designed for the V-max). The saddle bags are absolutely the finest construction and shape on the market. The tank slants upwards ever so slightly towards the handlebars and beautiful digital speedo. I wish the exhaust note had a bit more kick....she is totally quite at idle. I understand that altering the exhaust would require simultaneous manipulation of the air intake and carb jets, which sounds risky with regard to performance. There was a clicking rub in the shaft drive until reaching nearly 4,000 miles which resolved on its own...did get inspected and re-torqued early on without improvement. The quick release fairing and sissy bar are key essentials, you can switch from highway mode to back street cruiser in 30 seconds. They'll never make another bike with this unique combination of attributes.
- Michael, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-12 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have gone to Reno, Nv., and Scottsdale, AZ., from Vancouver, WA. It was a great ride. The Royal Star is great in the wind. I rode with a friend who had a BMW. The Royal Star did as well or better in the wind. It is a load in parking lots, but just slow down and it does well. I think it is a great buy and would buy another.
- Michael Jolly, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-13 2007 Yamaha Royal Star Tour Deluxe Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
That is the best review I can give in a single word - WOW. The balance and comfort are outstanding. I went from an '85 1000cc Virago to this bike. What a difference! This bike weighs twice as much but you don't even notice it as long as you are moving. The cruise control is incredible, and the overall performance is flawless.
- KBS, portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: