Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (109)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-02-23 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like many others - I passed my MSF basic course and looked for a practical, sporty, light bike that I would not outgrow too soon. That was four years ago. It's easy to operate, fun, good torque, quick, fast when you want it to be. It's reliable and oh my gosh - such a value! It's the best kept secret for mid-level sport-touring/commuting/carving. I've taken mine to Montana, Alabama, Ohio, and it's a great tourer (your butt will get used to it eventually) and commuter. You can pick one up for around $3,500-4,000 on e-bay. What a steal! Put a Cal-Sci windshield and crampbuster throttle pad on it and your good to go cross country. The underseat exhaust allows you to use inexpensive soft luggage easily. Strap on a tank bag. I now have four bikes, but I'll never get rid of "Hector", and I taught all three of my boys to ride on him (16-23 yrs. old). Enjoy!
- Shawn, Jasper, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-07-15 2007 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I replaced my VRod with the FJR 1300 AE. Rider comfort is the biggest gain for me, but I do love the ABS brakes and the futuristic styling and the body fairing. With the added trunk, it is an awesome touring bike. You can ride this bike in a rainstorm and not worry about it. Remove the side suitcases and trunk, you have a beautiful sport bike. Open it up on the freeway, tuck in behind the windscreen and marvel at the little Japanese 4 cylinder purring under your legs. If you've ridden a cruiser for a while and know something's just not quite as good as it could be, try the FJR 1300 AE .
- kim allman, Springville, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-25 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I very impressed. Compared to others that I have talked to, this bike is very comfortable; after 4.5 hours of riding with three stops. I have not installed any bolt-ons and I'm still able to do about the same as a Honda CBR 600RR and GSXR 600, that both have power commanders and exhust work. With that said, I am not getting rid of this bike no time soon.
- Beginner, Orangeburg, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-04-10 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was my first bike that I owned and paid off. It's also been four years just about since I first picked it up. There hasn't been any time that it has caused me to complain about it in any way. I still ride in the canyons on the weekends, track days every other month, and use it to get me to and from school during the week. After several thousand miles into the bike, it still runs great. I've put on quite a few bolt ons and upgrades over the past years to make it unique and even more powerful. My previous review still stands from the 2k mark on this bike. The only difference being is that I was a little naive when suggesting anyone lower the bike. It changes the handling characteristics if you use it for track or canyon riding. If it is used just around town, lowering it isn't too bad. My bike is stock height and I can almost touch the ground flat with my feet. I know a few girls that are shorter than I am, who own this bike, and feel comfortable tip toeing on it. One in particular is too short and could only put one foot down. She managed for a while but eventually lowered it a little. She had to shorten the kickstand after that, but feels more confident when riding. She doesn't do any serious riding to notice any difference from lowering it. I'd say this would probably be one of the only situations you might want to lower it. And for Pete's sake, don't stretch this bike. It is beautiful as it is. If you happen to come by one of these used, I would definitely say to grab it. It is a very track worthy bike. It will lay down for you in just a flick in the corners. Get some new rear-sets though. You will end up grinding your toe slider down or peg eventually. The tank is awesome for knee placement and your upper body while in a corner. You definitely feel solid on the bike. My only complaint (if anything) would still be the seat. I've ridden over 800 miles or more in one day. Let me tell you, my butt was definitely sore. Other than that, this bike is glory all around.
- Mike S., El Centro, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-11-19 2007 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I hope I die before my FZ6, it's that perfect for me. It has its flaws so I can't honestly give it 5/5 stars, but first, the good; It has fantastic power. It's docile and manageable in the city and a screaming rocket at higher RPM. It's light, has responsive handling, is very well planted in the corners and with plenty of clearance for track days. The brakes are crazy strong. It's a very good tourer, has a nice upright riding position with just enough wind protection, not so much that you sit in turbulent air. It has fantastic fuel range, 350 km. per tank at a calm cruising speed (52 mpg). There are nice features like a center stand, oil cooler, fuel gauge, good passenger grab rails (aka tie downs) and a nice bun warmer (aka undertail exhaust). The cons; uncomfortable seat. I can bare it for a day long ride, but I don't enjoy it. Also, the shifting is problematic. There are lots of false neutrals and the occasional popping out of gear. It would have been nice to have adjustable front forks too. It's not a suitable bike for dirt roads due to peaky engine, firm suspension and performance tires.
- Martin, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-10-08 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my left-over 2007 YZF as an inexpensive second bike. I converted it into a mini-sport tourer with smaller rear sprocket, touring windscreen, Givi Bags, etc. Once I got the engine broken in and the exhaust opened up slightly the bike really started to perform well. This bike is one of the smoothest and best shifting bikes I have ever owned. I have also gotten 60 mpg. several times. The seat and riding position is comfortable even for my 6 ft.+ frame. The suspension has all the adjustments of today's high-tech sport bikes. It's a nice solid bike.
- Crooz, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-25 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this motorcycle from a local dealer on 8/24/10 and all I can say is "Wow, this is a great bike." I'm a bigger guy and it's fairly comfortable. Mine had an aftermarket seat when I got it and an MIIV aftermarket exaust which sounds great as far as performance. It's a 1000cc bike in a straight line. It's extremely fast in the turns. It could be better. It's a very good-looking bike and it's very smooth. It is well suited for sport touring. I will give this bike a 4 out of 5. It's overall a solid bike and I definitely recommend it.
- Chris , Christiansburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-15 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned many bikes and I bought this one new a few years ago. Ninety percent of my riding is 2-up with my wife. The riding position is still a little too far leaning forward even with the risers. I plan on adding a Heli triple clamp this year. The stock BT-021 tires didn't last very long and caused a steering shimmy on decel after some wear. After two sets I now have Roadsmarts. I get 39-45 mpg. The foot pegs are a little low and drag frequently when mountain riding. Other than the ignition switch recall and the ECM replacement per TSB to fix an altitude surge it has had no other problems. Yes, the bike is not light. But it is smooth in the twisty turns with lots of smooth power and almost stalker quiet. We love this bike.
- Steve, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-12 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike can take pin point turns with ease - 9.98 stock quarter mile. I own the charcoal/silver R1 and it looks awesome, but you will have to change the huge ugly fender and turn signals. There is supposed to be a governor at 189mph, but I have personally taken mine to 191 before I felt like I was floating above the ground, and decided to slow down. I race anyone on the road and have yet to meet my match.
- Zim Zimma, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-25 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I live in London England. I commute and get around town by motorbike, and I also like a good burn at the weekend. This bike really does kick arse. Yamaha have got so much right about this bike. It is a pleasure to ride around town, even in fairly heavy traffic. It just feels so comfortable stable and secure, even on pretty crap roads. It is really agile, nimble and well balanced. The best bike I have ridden round town, and that includes a lot of bikes. On the open road, what a buzz! What an engine. It will do whatever you want, and whatever you want to do, suits the bike. It is an animal if you want it to be, it is a refined and controlled sports tourer if you want it to be. You can even ride very sedately and with the smooth engine it can really pull that off too. It seems that however you want to ride the bike, it suits being ridden in that way. Round town or on the open road, this bike has style and character, and it feels good! I think this is already a modern classic model and I can't recommend it highly enough. The suspension could possibly do with a small amount of adustment from standard. I'm not sure what yet. I guess I am just trying to imagine a better version of perfection. I can agree with others that the seat is hard, and after just a couple of hours, you can start to get a numb arse, but that's to be tolerated, and anyone'e tolerance will increase/arse will toughen up with time.
- nopaultaylor1975, London, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-18 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2007 R1 with 4,500 miles on it. I have ridden the bike for a year and love the top end performance. The bike's handling is razor sharp and it devours high speed curves. I do wish the bike had more mid-range and bottom end torque for those low speed curves. The under seat exhausts will also cook your thighs. This is my sixth bike and have only ridden Honda up until I bought this bike. The bike is definitely better than my previous Honda liter bikes. I have recently ridden the 08 CBR 1000RR and think it is a better bike.
- John, Knightdale, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-01-14 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike up new in April 09. I am very happy I purchased the bike. There is a glitch at 5500 rpm in second gear, the dealer fixed this for me. It took about a week to get it fixed. Other than that, the seat gets pretty hot. Fixed that by getting rid of cat. Bike handles pretty awsome. Sexy looking bike that has insane acceleration.
- some guy, North BC, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-09 2007 Yamaha FJR1300AE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden cruisers for years and didn't realize what I was missing! The electric clutch was a little tricky for me at first, but once I got used to it I loved it. This bike handles like nothing I have ever ridden! What an awesome machine. The power is incredible, and the handling superb! If you want a super sport tourer, this is the one!
- Randy Watkins, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-04 2007 Yamaha YZF600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best. It handles just the way I want it. It's not big and just fast enough. I love my bike. I would not trade it for anything. The only thing that I would change would be the exhaust because I want that deep sound so that people can not only see but hear me also.
- Magic, Cambridge, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-14 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike you could ever want for all around use. Insurance is cheap! Way, way, way cheaper than the R1. Comfortable riding with high bars. For the money it's your best friend. I laugh when people try to compare the FZ1 to the race version R1. Apples and oranges to say the least.
- wayne rhodes, florence, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-21 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Performance: Power is everywhere. You have to be really watching the speedo as speed climbs quickly and you don't even notice it. I don't feel like I am riding a much powerful bike in the sense of being fearful. The 06 had a throttle snatch where power used to dip and surge at 6K rpm. This is called the fuel-cutoff. Ivan's FCE is the solution. 07 and beyond don't have it much as Yamaha slowed down the rate at which the secondary flies are opened. However FCE will make a difference on the 07 FZ1s too. I got the Ivan's performance package cheap from ebay so I will report back the difference. Handling: Handles like a dream, so compact. It tracks and holds a line great. The front end on the FZ6 hangs out too much. For the FZ6 I had to point the front end in the right direction in the curves even with R6 forks. FZ1 falls into a line almost automatically. Riding Position, Handlebars, Footpegs: The riding position is very natural for touring as well as carving the twisties. Though I may still rotate up the bars a little bit. Actually not needed once your muscle memory builds up. A little more aggressive stance than the FZ6. That is the reason I put FZ1 bars on the FZ6. PERFECT RIDING POSITION among the many bikes I have tried and sat on. I feel like I am ONE with the bike which I didn't feel with the FZ6. The FZ1 is very compact in the front. Wind Protection: The stock screen is great so far. Less turbulence. Have to ride one with a aftermaket double bubble screen to know whether to get it or not. I actually got the MRA Vario and it has eliminated the turbulence totally. Beauty is that it is the same height as the stock and the 7 position adjustable laminar lip makes it comfy for the pillion too. Seat: The seat may need to be changed but I was fine after a 180 miles interstate ride. You feel like you are sitting on the bike rather than into it. But then the stock FZ6 seat was the same too. Stock brakes are awesome. 2up: My wife actually feels more comfortable on the FZ1 stock seat compared to the FZ6 Top Saddlery seat as she sits a bit higher. I have bought a Sargent seat already for the rider. Suspension: Suspension is good too but will become gr8 after it is properly dialed in. But the stock setup with the rear shock on preload 5 is working great for me. Actually it is the best I have seen on a stock bike. It absorbs bumps much better than the R6 suspension on my FZ6. Could actually adjust the rebound and compression a bit for the twisties. MPG: Ohh did I mention: 43 mpg interstate avg speed 75mph (95-100 tops) even with 10 less psi in both tires (forgot to check b4 leaving). I bet you could get 50 at 55-65mph speeds on local roads. On spirited twisty rides the FZ6 returned 48mpg whereas the FZ1 returned 44mpg which is freaking cool. Lights, Controls: The headlights are like a volcano. Amazing visibillity and spread with the dual H4s. Tail light is good with the dual pods. Controls are good quality, easy to use and standard. Instrument cluster is great with lots of details like air and coolant temp, fuel gauge, tacho, odo, two trip meters, f-trip/reserve, battery, oil, maintenance, high beam, neutral, adjustable brightness, clock. Could do with a gear indicator and trip computer for a sport touring bike. In Short: I will say anyone who is on the verge, should upgrade to the FZ1. I betcha this bike is more suitable for the tracks in terms of handling if not in terms of excess power compared to the FZ6. It handles much much better. You will forget the FZ6 quickly. I can say this as I own both and can ride them back to back. Even though I loved the FZ6 I always used to be confused if it was really the bike I wanted, whether it was my perfect bike and I used to always look at other bikes. At least now I will stop lusting/looking at other bikes. It is the ultimate bike I wanted. Trust me, I don't look at other bikes any more on ebay, CL, cycletrader, etc. Some reasons being it is a FZ1 - an icon, legendary bike, it is such a looker and then the power. Go test ride one! If you don't want to upgrade then you better don't as that test ride will make you think about getting the FZ1 all the time.
- Akshay Dabholkar, Brentwood, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-02 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just traded my S4 Monster in for a pre owned perfect condition Lava Red FZ1 Fazer 06 with 4000 miles on the clock, only had it just over a week and cannot keep off it. This bike is the perfect blend off usable performance comfort and handling, what a bike.
- CameraMAN, Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-04 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike as it fits me like a glove at 5'9. The engine has long legs and really pulls hard from 5000 and up. Agile and comfortable, perfect mix of sport and comfort! I see keeping this one for a LOOOOOOOOOONG time!
- Jimbo, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-04 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's my second sportbike and it's no doubt my fav so far. It's fast, fun, sounds great, looks great, feels great, etc. I ride with a lot of liter bikes and 750's and have zero problem keeping up. It's very flickable and strong though the corners. Could use a better headlight but hey, it's a sport bike. Be safe ride hard ride long.
- scott , cuyahoga falls, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-02 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a 07 r1 with 700 mi. on it and have put only 18 mi. on it in 2 days but love the bike. It rides like a dream. I was looking at getting a 09 but came across the 07 and figured save some money and get a great bike with 700 mi. I love how smooth it is and I wanted the yamaha blue but found it in red and the more I looked at it the more I liked it. I would recommend this bike to any experienced rider.
- Adam, New Haven, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-15 2007 Yamaha FJR1300A Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great sport touring bike, it does everything well - both sport and touring. Its strong points are: great looking, powerful, great handling, great OEM sounds from the engine and the exhaust, complete dashboard instrumentation. Its weak point is some engine vibration at higher rpm's, not a big problem, but some tingling.
- Ron, Beaumont, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-22 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I love it. I would recommend it to anyone.
- Chandler, Fulton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-21 2007 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being so used to cruisers, I decided to buy a sportbike. Many people told me a 1000cc was too much power and to go with a 600cc. So to make a long story short, I went to a dealership that had a gray/black R1 with 1000 miles. So I decided to buy it. don't get me wrong; this bike is powerful and fast, but it is easy to manage. I'm only 19 years old and have ridden 650cc cruisers. The 1st gear is amazing. I can go way beyond 70 mph on one gear. The braking, handling and visibility (HID headlights are real nice and give you a wide range of light at night) features on the R1 are superb. This bike gives you tons of confidence and makes you feel like you own the streets. Yamaha did an amazing job with the design of this bike. It is definitely a smooth ride and attention grabber. If you decide to get this masterpiece you won't be disappointed. I'm loving this bike.
- TONY, LOS ANGELES, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-01-13 2007 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike about six months ago and have been commuting with it to work. It has been a great bike and I find myself riding it as much as possible - garaged my truck for road trips only. The handling is awesome, the power is smooth and gutsy (though you won't be screaming off the line with it) and it has been zero trouble in the time I have ridden it. I consistently get 30 mpg commuting, about 33-35 cruising. I am usually not easy on the throttle. It has been easy to learn and adapt on this bike - the more I ride, the better the riding gets.
- Blackflyrancher, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-11-21 2007 Yamaha YZF-R6S Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sportbike. I have a 07 red R6S and I love it. I have ridden other "crotch rocketsand none of them are this comfortable. It has a prefect match of power, speed, cornering and braking to suit the inexperienced to most experienced riders. I definitely recommend this bike to anyone as a first bike and I plan on having mine for a long time. It has plenty of power in every gear and will bring the front wheel up in first gear if you are not careful.
- Adam Estrada, Cordova, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: