Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (27)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-10-21 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike. I got it new in 2008. Two years and over 30,000 miles later, I love it. It handles like a sport bike and still cruises at 90 mph. There is no problem but now I feel a pop when I put it in first. This is the only bike I ever had. Is this normal after breaking in the bike?
- vic, L a , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-06 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not unlike most, I'm still on my quest to find the perfect bike! The Stratoliner S is a fantastic machine, but with some shortfalls. In the last year, I've ridden several multi-day tours including several 500+ mile consecutive days. The stock seat is terrible. It's incredibly light weight and, compared to a Mustang seat, is a joke. The passenger seat is even worse. Mustang seats were a must. Also, the handlebars, after a longer time riding, are really not positioned anywhere close to where they need to be. I like it that they're spread out wide, but they're too low and too far foward. I had to put raisers on to make the bike comfortable for long distance rides. Aside from these comfort preferences, the bike performs like a champ and improves with every mile. I started running Amsoil and the bike loves higher RPM's. Around 9k it was like a switch flipped and all of a sudden it really started running great. It loves to accellerate and sounds better and better all the time. Engine vibration seems to be less now too as the ride is noticably smoother as the bike was broken in. I test rode a Goldwing last week and, using the Wing as a basis for comparison, am very pleased with the power and smoothness of the Stratoliner. But remember, this is a cruiser that can do touring, not a tourer. I'm still test riding touring bikes, but can't get past this huge V-twin that is running smoother and better everyday. My answer to ths perfect bike? If Yamaha would mount this engine in their Venture model.
- Rob K, Alton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-06 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought an 07 Strat S new just last week overstock, still sitting on the showroom floor with 30 miles on it. I also test rode and seriously considered the Honda VTX 1800, HD Road King, Yamaha Tour Delux, and Victory's V92C, so I have a basis for comparison. Since then, exactly one week of owning the Strat, I've managed to tally up almost 1k miles, including a trip from St. Louis to Chicagoland and back. Here's what I think. First impressions: the bike is HUGE but incredibly well balanced, especially compared to the Honda. It handles better than my Honda 1300 did. It is a smooth ride, but does create some engine noise and vibrations. The air cooled engine puts off a LOT of heat during these typical Midwest summer days. Off the line performance is great, but not nearly as noticeable as the cruising speed acceleration capability. The stock seat isn't all that uncomfortable, especially compared to the Honda stock seats, and the S model comes very nicely dressed in chrome, a lot of money to add on to the Road King. Oil filter and drain bolts are easy to reach. Servicing the bike is a breeze. The windshield does create a fair amount of buffeting. A more slanted shield might have prevented this. The bike feels exceptionally stable on the interstate and is pretty nimble for getting around town on as well. I would have liked a larger fuel tank, but I'm usually ready to get off and stretch after 120 to 150 miles anyway. My best MPG so far was 47 riding solo with a great tail wind on a state route going 60mph and my worst was 36 riding 2up coming South out of Chicago with a strong headwind on I55 in heavy traffic. The side bags are a little deceptive. When you open them up, you'll find yourself saying, Huh, I thought they'd be bigger, based on how they look from the outside. So far I'm very happy with my purchase. No motorcycle is perfect, but this one will suit me just fine for a few years, until I get the itch again.
- Rob K, Alton, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-04 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Strat is a very strong bike. At speed it handles very well. Like all heavy bikes at slow speed it is a bit cumbersome. For almost 5,000 miles my '07 (bought new in '08) has never failed to start on the first push of the starter button. No breakdown or issue of any kind. No backfires no nothing. The bike throws off too much heat to be called comfortable in the summer in FL. But that may be an issue regardless of your ride. The seat is the reson I gave this bike a four instead of a five for comfort. The padding/foam is not top notch. My old Honda VTX was much more comfortable. The quality issues are small, the windshiled bracket and fasteners are showing some rust (this on a garage kept bike that has only seen rain twice in a year). that's why I gave four stars for quality not five. All in all it is a very quick, strong bike that serves the Two-up larger riders well. The bike is worth the money they ask for it (compared to what else is out there). I however might have gone another route if I had the chance to test it for a few hundred miles before buying. My next bike if there is one might be a Sport Touring Bike. I looked closely at the BMW 1200RT That can be set up to be closer to what I want, the issue is it would cost over $20,000 & that to be fair to the Strat, is far more than I paid it. If you like cruisers. If you demand power. You will like this bike...
- Steve S., New Port Richey, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-19 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 07 midnight last year and have put 7,000 miles on her. The bike performs well and is smooth at any speed. I love the rumble and the room. I sit very comfortably except for stock seat. Too hard for long rides. I use a sheep skin gel pad. Plenty of power and turns heads as well. Gas mileage is poor and could use a 6th gear. Tank too small as well for the big beast. A head gasket was replaced at 7,000 miles and Yamaha would not cover under warranty because it had just expired 4 months earlier.
- Rob, Jonesboro, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-03 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently I made a trip of about 5000 km in 10 days with my Stratoliner. Everyday I spent approx. 5 hours in the saddle. I came into snow and heavy storms. The bike just works and works. Riding was comfortable, there is enough space to move around or change the position. By riding normally with 100 - 120 kmh the fuel consumption was okay. The saddlebags could take all of my luggage. And everybody admires your bike.
- Peter Klausli, Durban, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-06 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been thoroughly impressed by the Stratoliner S. The quality, fit, finish, attention to detail and beauty of this motorcycle is second to none. I've compared it to other and it always stands above the rest. The power, handling and comfort while riding, sets the standard of what cruising on a large bike should feel like. Yamaha's Star division has truly set the standard for cruisers.
- Tdubya, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-31 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a Yamaha 350 back in my 20s, then with kids and work, just gave up riding. When I decided to buy a bike and start riding again everyone told me to get a Harley, but after test driving Harleys, Hondas and Kawasaki's I settled on the Stratoliner S. After the first 50 miles of riding, I knew I had made the right choice. It has great power, smooth ride and handling. I've rode 400 miles in 3 weeks just taking weekend short trips in the early mornings when it is cool. I'm sold on this bike as the best cruiser on the market.
- Yorkpad, Wylie, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned a Yamaha since 1972. This is the best riding and handling bike I have ever ridden, period. It is so well balanced that the 800 lbs.+ is not a problem to handle. Now, it will surprise you with its 100 hp and massive torque. It just doesn't have a top end. As you can see above, I am not a small fellow and this bike is still pulling at 135 mph. Try that on another bike.
- Murel Hall, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-19 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put over 3500 miles on the Strat with no problems to date. I ride the curvy roads in Ventura County and the power is always there. The floor boards have scraped a few times. My gas mileage varies from 43 to 49. The only complaint is the poor factory seat. I purchased an Airhawk which helps quit a bit. I am considering a custom seat. Overall this is the best bike I have owned even better than my Gold Wing.
- Bob, Moorpark, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-20 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I owned a Road Star previously and wanted more power for passing and cornering clearance for the mountains. I certainly got it with the Roadliner. It will corner better than most cruisers including the Harleys I frequently ride with but of course not like a sport bike. On the interstates it is solid and stable. The only place I have misgivings is in the dirt where its awesome power sometimes has difficulty getting to the ground and it is a bit higher off the ground in slow speed maneuvers. For passing, it gives me a new level of confidence on those small back roads and guys I ride with cannot believe the way I can blast off. My first rear tire lasted about 7500 mi which is not real good but okay. Another aspect I should mention is 2-up riding where my wife finds this bike the best yet. The suspension is far better than the Road Star's and we both enjoy the sound of the exhaust.
- mack, columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-23 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I researched all different kinds of motorcycles for about 1 year before I purchased the Stratoliner. I almost went with the Road Star, but am very glad I didn't. One reason I changed my mind is, I found out the Stratoliner is longer and you have more leg room. And reason two - the motor. The torque and power this bike has to offer is remarkable; just twist the throttle and hold on. It doesn't matter what speed you are at - 30 mph or 80 mph - you twist the throttle you get nothing but pure acceleration. You don't stop accelerating until about 125 mph, but if you wanted to push it, it would probably touch 130, but that is winding it up tight, and if you need to go faster than that get a sport bike. Like I said this is my first road bike and I would not be happy with anything less. People say this is not a good starter bike, but I disagree, as long as you respect the bike and the power it wouldn't matter what size you got. In my opinion if you are going to spend money on a bike you might as well spend the extra money and get something that you will get your money out of, because once you ride this bike you will not want anything else. I get tons of compliments and when people hear the deep throaty exhaust they think it's a Harley. The bags have lots of room and can be removed very easily along with the windshield and the sissy bar. I am a younger guy (23) so I love the idea that you can take the windshield on and off in less than 30 sec. because I rarely ride with the windshield unless I'm going on a road trip or if it's really cold. But other than that, no windshield. TONS of CHROME, that's all I need to say about that. Can't forget about the handling. It handles like a bike that weighs 200 to 300 lbs. less. I had an Ultimate seat put on and it is so comfortable, I could ride all day and still be ready for more. My wife is also very comfortable on the back, plenty of leg room for her as well (considering my wife is only 5'1 I guess she doesn't need a lot of leg room). But seriously, there is plenty of leg room for the passenger. Well if there is any thing I didn't like about the bike it is whenever you shift gears, sometimes it makes a noise like a backfire (but that is on all Stratoliners). And the glare on the windshield. Those are the only two things I could think of.
- max morris, gulfport, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-12 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I went to the dealer, I had no plans on purchasing anything. I work at a Harley dealership part time so naturally my preference was to get a H-D Road King Classic. If you want the mystique, sound, and name then that's your bike. However, if you want unbelievable handling, power and value for your buck, then the Stratoliner S is your bike. The dealer simply gave me a deal that I could not pass up. So I bought it without ever riding it, since apparently there is a rescission period (they said I could take it out for a spin and if I didn't like it I could bring it back and rip up the paperwork). But when I took it out of the dealer, there was no way I was going back (and they knew that). I've only put 300 miles on it but could not wait to post a review because the bike is simply awesome. It handles like a dream. When I lean it it's like it becomes an extension of me on curves and turns. The torque is unreal, even at a mere 2,000 RPM. I haven't opened it up on the highway yet since I'm still well within the break in period, but when I roll that throttle to get another quick 15 miles per hour, it responds amazingly, again, even at low RPM. If you get this bike, you won't be regretting it. See you in another 300 miles!
- Edward Aviles, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-28 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have the 07 S model. It looks great, rides great and has phenomenal power. The torque is truly incredible. Going on long hauls up long mountain roads is a breeze. I routinely pass other crusers/tourers sucking for air. The Strat is simply the Lexus of all rides. I love it! I would like to have ABS Brakes and a more comfortable seat. Other than that, it is truly perfect...
- Joe Kormis, Kingston, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-26 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
All the power you need... A group of friends and I took a trip to Tahoe and not a Harley could keep up with me. Once there, we all washed the bikes and turned heads for two days. The ride is comfortable, handles great, and the weight is distributed just right.
- George F.L. Geyer, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-08 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
HELLO RIDERS: I PUT OVER 33000 MILES ON A 2004 VULCAN 2000 I BOUGHT NEW THREE YEARS BEFORE GETTING MY ROADLINER. WHEN THE WEATHER LETS ME, I RIDE EVERY CHANCE I GET. IN MINNESOTA, IT GOES QUICK; SUMMER. I GOT THE ROADLINER WITH HESITATION AFTER RIDING MY GOOD FRIENDS HE PURCHASED. SEEMS HE WENT FOR A TEST DRIVE AT STURGIS AND LOVED THE ROADLINER SO MUCH HE HAD TO SELL HIS WORN OUT HARLEY TO GET ONE. ANYWAY, LONG STORY SHORT THE VULCAN 2000 WAS A GRAND BIKE BUT NOT JUST AS REFINED AS THE ROADLINER. THE ROADLINER IS BY FAR THE MOST CADILLAC OR LEXUS LIKE OF THE BIG INCH STROKERS. SURE THE STOCK SEAT SUCKS BUT WHO CARES? FOR THE COST YOU SAVE BUYING A ROADLINER OVER A HARLEY YOU CAN BUY 10 GRAND WORTH OF EXTRAS. YOU won't NEED TO BECAUSE THIS BIKE IS THE REAL DEAL. POWER, STYLE, REFINEMENT, ATTITUDE, AND YAMAHA QUALITY. AT LEAST TAKE ONE FOR A LONG TEST DRIVE IF YOU ARE IN THE MARKET FOR A NEW BIG INCH CRUISER. I DO NOT THINK YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. WHEN NOT GOING TO MUCH OVER THE SPEED LIMITS I GET CLOSE TO 50 MPG. SOLID BIKE AND REALLY CAN RIP WHEN YOU GOOSE THE THROTTLE. HAVE FUN RIDING - BE SAFE - ALL THAT BORING LINGO.
- SKILLZ33, MANKATO, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-13 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden many bikes over the years and have never been so completely satisfied with a cruiser like I am with this one. This machine is not for the faint of heart! It combines great looks with guts. I've been on a couple of rides which were mostly dominated by HD's and I have received nothing but very positive feedback from the other riders - especially when I leave the line or pass them on the road. I will never ditch this bike, but will continue to customize and ride it.
- David Dedmore, Clovis, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-15 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Style, muscle, smooth, and stable. With 3000 miles on it, the only thing that kept this motorcycle from being great was the seat. After 1.5 to 2 hrs. riding my tailbone was crying for relief. My wife was good for about an hour. A Mustang seat fixed that and now there is no limit to saddle time. The result is one truly awesome motorcycle.
- David Howell, Wauconda, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! I haven't ridden in quite some time and being a tall individual this bike delivers with comfort and power. The chrome on this bike is in abundance! I don't care for the pointy rear lights and might modify those in the future. Overall a great bike and I would highly recommend for a rider over 6'2.
- Jerry, Cedar Park, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-10 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome, bottom line....the only draw back is I'm too short and my feet just barely set level on the ground. This bike is just a hair higher than my previous V-Star 1100. However not a problem. I love everything about this bike. Power, looks, performance, and features. I give this bike a 5 star and then some. This bike will take you where you want to go and give you the power to enter the highway on time everytime.
- Roy Mixon, Humble, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-07 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my V-Star 1100 Classic for the Stratoliner in July 2006. The V-Star just felt too small, although it was a great bike. First thought when I test drove the Stratoliner was, HOLY SMOKES!! I have driven other bikes and none compare to this bike. Ultra smooth ride and exceptional power, and don't forget lots of factory CHROME!! SWEET!! I would recommend this bike to anyone.
- Travis Muchow, LeSueur, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-31 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I believe that this bike may just be the best cruiser on the market today. It is easy to handle in tight spots and with a passenger. I have 10000 miles on mine and feel now that it is fully broken in. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a cruiser.
- Jimmy Lawson, Denton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-07 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got into the 2006 Stratoliner S. I casually traded in my 2004 Roadstar (yes, my wife wants to shoot me!) If this were the perfect world the Strato needs: 1) better helmet lock (cord loop is time consuming-a hook alone is good enough.) 2) Saddlebags, I love the styling, but need more room - at least a leather jacket fits in it, the mink oil jar is a sweet treat, 3) air filter servicing must have been a compromise, 'cause you need to loosen the tank to get to it, and at 4K checks, it'll be a pain 3) transfer fluid replacement involves removing the EXUP, can a backyard mech. do that? Hmmm. I am now officially a Yamaha rider for life, the Roadstar had just 11K mi. and only broke the seat release (embarrassing at trade-in time.)
- Twoosy18, Fremont, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-29 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now that I have some time on the machine, I am overall impressed. First, I must say that this is the first non-Kawasaki street bike I have ever owned. I switched last year due to 2 primary reasons. 1) I was riding a Vulcan 1600 classic and it felt every bit as heavy as its behemoth wieght was. The bike wore me out! 2) At the time I traded it, there were very few after market items for it. I now ride a Stratoliner Midnight. You would never know this bike weighs as much as it does. The handling is superb for a bike of its size. The torque is amazing. Mechanical reliability has been very good but not exceptional. I say this due to the fact that at about 5,000 miles, the hydraulic clutch got moisture in it and has been not quite right ever since. I am disappointed that Yamaha's view is that this is a maintenance issue and not a warranty issue, at 5,000 miles. I will remember that. My dealer has been wonderful in taking care of issues as best they can. (I have done business with them on several ocassions). Upon delivery of the Stratoliner, I had issues with the fit and finish. The windshield lock did not work well, and the front fender stuts were loose. Speaking of the windshield, I have to nominate it for the worst engineered part of the bike. It seems that Yamaha put form over function in respect to the windshield. I have never ridden a bike where the windshield gives so much input into the steering. I am disappointed in that. My issue with the comfort is with the seat. Yes, I know that one should never expect too much out of a factory seat, but the fact is that I have had factory seats that were quite comfortable, but not this one. 3-4 hours in the saddle and I feel it (and I have my own factory padding!). As I mentioned early, the Stratoliner handles wonderfully. Unlike the Vulcan, this machine loves the curvies and is balanced. It will take you straight on down the hiway if let go. The brakes are awesome and controllable. I really had to work at it to get the rear end to lock up. Torque? If one needs more than this machine has, there's some compensation for other things going on there somewhere! A word of advice, if you buy the leather tank bra from Yamaha. The leather is quality, and looks really good but the method of securing the underside ends is really poor. Stick on velcro is used and the strips need to be replaced frequently. How about sewing magnets into the underside ends? I plan to have my Stratoliner for some time. Another reason I went to Yamaha is for their extensive line of accessories and I expect many things to spend my money on in the future. My Stratoliner is currently having vandalism damage repaired, and when it is done, it will also have hiway lights and the big bar hiway bar and a Vance and Hines 2 into 1 Exhaust. My future accessory goals, a new seat and Corbin Neo windscreen. I can't wait!
- Nickel, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-28 2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a 750 Magna for seven years, and many 650-750's previously, this is a very big change. This bike handles very easily for the size and weight. The difference comes in when you twist the grip, WOW. I have test driven a Victory Kingpin and a Harley Roadking and these bikes do not even belong on the same planet. Give me a year or so to get used to this beast and I will be able to give you a more meaningful review on my Stratoliner S.
- Joe La, Westminster, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: