Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

27 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Rob K

Alton, Illinois

Reviewed on 2010-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Not unlike most, I'm still on my quest to find the perfect bike! The Stratoliner S is a fantastic machine, but with some shortfalls. In the last year, I've ridden several multi-day tours including several 500+ mile consecutive days. The stock seat is terrible. It's incredibly light weight and, compared to a Mustang seat, is a joke. The passenger seat is even worse. Mustang seats were a must. Also, the handlebars, after a longer time riding, are really not positioned anywhere close to where they need to be. I like it that they're spread out wide, but they're too low and too far foward. I had to put raisers on to make the bike comfortable for long distance rides. Aside from these comfort preferences, the bike performs like a champ and improves with every mile. I started running Amsoil and the bike loves higher RPM's. Around 9k it was like a switch flipped and all of a sudden it really started running great. It loves to accellerate and sounds better and better all the time. Engine vibration seems to be less now too as the ride is noticably smoother as the bike was broken in. I test rode a Goldwing last week and, using the Wing as a basis for comparison, am very pleased with the power and smoothness of the Stratoliner. But remember, this is a cruiser that can do touring, not a tourer. I'm still test riding touring bikes, but can't get past this huge V-twin that is running smoother and better everyday. My answer to ths perfect bike? If Yamaha would mount this engine in their Venture model.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (8)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

vic

L a , California

Reviewed on 2010-10-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love my bike. I got it new in 2008. Two years and over 30,000 miles later, I love it. It handles like a sport bike and still cruises at 90 mph. There is no problem but now I feel a pop when I put it in first. This is the only bike I ever had. Is this normal after breaking in the bike?
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob K

Alton, Illinois

Reviewed on 2009-08-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought an 07 Strat S new just last week overstock, still sitting on the showroom floor with 30 miles on it. I also test rode and seriously considered the Honda VTX 1800, HD Road King, Yamaha Tour Delux, and Victory's V92C, so I have a basis for comparison. Since then, exactly one week of owning the Strat, I've managed to tally up almost 1k miles, including a trip from St. Louis to Chicagoland and back. Here's what I think. First impressions: the bike is HUGE but incredibly well balanced, especially compared to the Honda. It handles better than my Honda 1300 did. It is a smooth ride, but does create some engine noise and vibrations. The air cooled engine puts off a LOT of heat during these typical Midwest summer days. Off the line performance is great, but not nearly as noticeable as the cruising speed acceleration capability. The stock seat isn't all that uncomfortable, especially compared to the Honda stock seats, and the S model comes very nicely dressed in chrome, a lot of money to add on to the Road King. Oil filter and drain bolts are easy to reach. Servicing the bike is a breeze. The windshield does create a fair amount of buffeting. A more slanted shield might have prevented this. The bike feels exceptionally stable on the interstate and is pretty nimble for getting around town on as well. I would have liked a larger fuel tank, but I'm usually ready to get off and stretch after 120 to 150 miles anyway. My best MPG so far was 47 riding solo with a great tail wind on a state route going 60mph and my worst was 36 riding 2up coming South out of Chicago with a strong headwind on I55 in heavy traffic. The side bags are a little deceptive. When you open them up, you'll find yourself saying, Huh, I thought they'd be bigger, based on how they look from the outside. So far I'm very happy with my purchase. No motorcycle is perfect, but this one will suit me just fine for a few years, until I get the itch again.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve S.

New Port Richey, Florida

Reviewed on 2009-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The Strat is a very strong bike. At speed it handles very well. Like all heavy bikes at slow speed it is a bit cumbersome. For almost 5,000 miles my '07 (bought new in '08) has never failed to start on the first push of the starter button. No breakdown or issue of any kind. No backfires no nothing. The bike throws off too much heat to be called comfortable in the summer in FL. But that may be an issue regardless of your ride. The seat is the reson I gave this bike a four instead of a five for comfort. The padding/foam is not top notch. My old Honda VTX was much more comfortable. The quality issues are small, the windshiled bracket and fasteners are showing some rust (this on a garage kept bike that has only seen rain twice in a year). that's why I gave four stars for quality not five. All in all it is a very quick, strong bike that serves the Two-up larger riders well. The bike is worth the money they ask for it (compared to what else is out there). I however might have gone another route if I had the chance to test it for a few hundred miles before buying. My next bike if there is one might be a Sport Touring Bike. I looked closely at the BMW 1200RT That can be set up to be closer to what I want, the issue is it would cost over $20,000 & that to be fair to the Strat, is far more than I paid it. If you like cruisers. If you demand power. You will like this bike...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob

Jonesboro, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2009-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought an 07 midnight last year and have put 7,000 miles on her. The bike performs well and is smooth at any speed. I love the rumble and the room. I sit very comfortably except for stock seat. Too hard for long rides. I use a sheep skin gel pad. Plenty of power and turns heads as well. Gas mileage is poor and could use a 6th gear. Tank too small as well for the big beast. A head gasket was replaced at 7,000 miles and Yamaha would not cover under warranty because it had just expired 4 months earlier.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (7)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Peter Klausli

Durban, South Africa

Reviewed on 2008-12-03

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Recently I made a trip of about 5000 km in 10 days with my Stratoliner. Everyday I spent approx. 5 hours in the saddle. I came into snow and heavy storms. The bike just works and works. Riding was comfortable, there is enough space to move around or change the position. By riding normally with 100 - 120 kmh the fuel consumption was okay. The saddlebags could take all of my luggage. And everybody admires your bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tdubya

Colorado Springs, Colorado

Reviewed on 2008-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been thoroughly impressed by the Stratoliner S. The quality, fit, finish, attention to detail and beauty of this motorcycle is second to none. I've compared it to other and it always stands above the rest. The power, handling and comfort while riding, sets the standard of what cruising on a large bike should feel like. Yamaha's Star division has truly set the standard for cruisers.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Yorkpad

Wylie, Texas

Reviewed on 2008-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I had a Yamaha 350 back in my 20s, then with kids and work, just gave up riding. When I decided to buy a bike and start riding again everyone told me to get a Harley, but after test driving Harleys, Hondas and Kawasaki's I settled on the Stratoliner S. After the first 50 miles of riding, I knew I had made the right choice. It has great power, smooth ride and handling. I've rode 400 miles in 3 weeks just taking weekend short trips in the early mornings when it is cool. I'm sold on this bike as the best cruiser on the market.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Murel Hall

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2008-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned a Yamaha since 1972. This is the best riding and handling bike I have ever ridden, period. It is so well balanced that the 800 lbs.+ is not a problem to handle. Now, it will surprise you with its 100 hp and massive torque. It just doesn't have a top end. As you can see above, I am not a small fellow and this bike is still pulling at 135 mph. Try that on another bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Moorpark, California

Reviewed on 2008-05-19

Motorcycle reviewed2007 Yamaha Stratoliner S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have put over 3500 miles on the Strat with no problems to date. I ride the curvy roads in Ventura County and the power is always there. The floor boards have scraped a few times. My gas mileage varies from 43 to 49. The only complaint is the poor factory seat. I purchased an Airhawk which helps quit a bit. I am considering a custom seat. Overall this is the best bike I have owned even better than my Gold Wing.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 27 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: