Yamaha V Max Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (7)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Max Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha V Max Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-08-28 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
More power than any other cruiser for thousands of dollars less. If it's a power cruiser you want, why would you buy anything else? I bought a new 2004 model V-Max. This is really an awesome bike, especially for a bike in the price range. Handling was not and issue for me. It handles the twisties better than most cruisers. I can guaranty you that your cruiser riding buddies will only want to race you once. Mr. Max will run the quarter mile in the 10 second range. Good bye, v-rods. I am not one to be putting down Harleys. I like Harleys. I have owned a couple and I liked them both. I just like to try something different once in a while. I do like the V-Max and it will blow the door off of a v-rod. Guess the only cruiser that will take a v-max is the Truimp Rocket III at 2300 c.c. and then only slightly. These bikes cost several thousand dollars more than a V-Max. Talk about bang for the buck. It's V-Max hands down. One issue I had with the V-Max was steering wobble.
- Gary, Kimberling City, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-20 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have wanted a V MAX for 20 years but raising kids, paying mortage etc dictated otherwise. Now at the age of 51 I got it, this bike is everything and way more than I dreamed it would be. A comfortable cruising speed for the Max is 65 mph, and just hitting 4.75 rpm, if you need to pass there's no need to down-shift at this speed, just crack open the throttle and hold on, it just keeps getting stronger. A perfect 45 degree upright seating position with a very well padded seat keeps the stress off the lower back and legs. The power band delivers unbelieveable muscle and speed when needed. If you don't get too crazy you can get a little over 40 mpg, but if you open that v-boost often you will cut the mileage in half. Was it worth the wait? Hell yeah. Will never ride anything else but the MAX.
- Mike A, Springfield, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've read several reviews by both private riders and publications about the Vmax. After buying one however, I find it necessary to set the record straight on a few things that I believe are inaccurate in many of the reviews that harp on and on about the same things. So, from top to bottom, let's review some of the myths: Myth 1: This bike is not for the novice. Inaccurate. The bike is a pure joy to ride when ridden reasonably. Keeping the bike below 5000 RPM results in a ride very much like a V-twin cruiser bike of any make. It's not overpowered, throttle response is smooth and easy and it's a very comfortable ride. To hear some tell it, if you barely touch the throttle you wind up flat on your back with 600 lbs. of Max sitting on your chest. Nothing could be further from the truth. In fact, it may just be the perfect bike for a novice in that the novice will never outgrow Max. It's very well behaved below 5000. Day to day riding to work is a pleasure. That leaves plenty of miles and years for the novice to grow into the bike and discover a new level of performance for years to come, rather than getting a smaller bike in the 750cc range and two years later winding up totally disappointed with the performance. Myth 2: The Vmax doesn't handle. Inaccurate. This was one of the big concerns for me going into buying this bike after reading a great many reviews. Sport Bikes not being an option for me (neck and back problems), I was more than a bit wary of this. As it turns out, it's a total NON-issue. I think that people who went out and wrote the handling issue reviews were comparing Max to an R1/RR/Gixxer. In writing a review, one has to compare to bikes in class...not bikes that handle better by being 200 lbs. lighter with race slicks on them. For a bike tipping the scales at 600 lbs., Max gets into and out of corners amazingly well. But let's be reasonable: This is NOT a sport bike. If you're idea of a good time is 50 degree-plus lean angles, get on an R bike. At speed, handling is actually very smooth. Just a slight slip of the hip and Max goes right where you want him to. Again, don't get the idea that you're going to keep on your buddy's tail end while he and his RR tear up the mountain. It's NOT going to happen. Be reasonable. BUT...there aren't any other cruisers out there that are going to hang with you and Max. That much I can promise you. Myth 3: The Vmax brakes aren't up to snuff. Somewhat true. PLENTY of rear brake, but the front brake could be upgraded. I'm of the opinion that another 10+ mm of front brake would go a long way towards giving Max the whoa it really needs. It is a heavy bike. Under heavy braking (which I've only had to do once so far thanks to a make-up-putting-on-soccer-mom-in-an-suv) it does get a bit dicey. This is an area that I will definitely look into upgrading in the years to come. I've already read about a few aftermarket upgrades, and I'll check them out eventually. Myth 4: The Vmax has more power than you can imagine. True. Take what you read and add some. I've only opened Max up a couple of times as I'm taking it easy on the wear-in period, but already it is impressive. Enough power to rip down small buildings, make you bow down before graven images, grow hair on your hands and keep the country from winning the war. I've not had that much power at my wrist since I rode a buddy of mines customized 954RR...and personally, I'll take that RR to the bloody cleaners in a straight line and not break a sweat. Although VERY well behaved under 5000 rpm, if you grab a fist full of Max you'd better eat your Wheaties, put your game face on, squeeze those legs against the tank, say a few hail Mary's (stations of the cross and a quick trip to Lourdes wouldn't be a bad idea either), and hang on tight...because Max flat gets with the program after 6000 rpm. It's like waking my wife in the early morning: Something only the very brave need do. OVERALL EVALUATION: Great bike in every way. Meets or exceeds expectations on every level save one: Brakes. Max could definitely use more front brake.
- Tom Owens, Suwanee, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-08 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
By far the best fun on 2 wheels! If you want speed, torque and looks get a V-Max!! Beware: This beast is not for the novice. I bought a used one in 2000 (99 model) with silver rims and no red flames. After purchasing it and taking it for a 10 minutes test drive, the salesman was impressed with me. He said there are 2 kinds of people: the real good drivers and the duds who think they can ride! I guess he was suprised I came back riding as opposed to puking...LOL! After a few days of getting used to the power I was abble to lift up the wheel at just about every gear!! If I twisted the throttle too hard from 0 to 60 I would get a weird yet addicting feeling in my gut...it was the massive torque propelling me forward! After a few hair raising rides, I decided to let someone else enjoy it...yes, I sold it. :( Yet to this day, I have not found an engine that can measure up to the V-Max. I have had a vast amount of really fast cars and none of them compared to the power of the Max! I had a Mustang Cobra: 345 HP, Mercedes Benz E55(AMG): 349 HP, Jaguar XJR(Supercharged): 375HP...you get the gist!
- Madmax, Potomac, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-26 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is totally AMAZING. I love it. It's fun and powerful. Wow. It's got my bang for the buck vote. I would definitely recommend this bike to anyone looking.
- Ryan OHagan, Whitecourt, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-29 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For me, a ride consists of no less than 500 miles below 8 hours. Started riding on the west coast. Break in trip was 1970 on a single cylinder Harley 250 to Salton Sea from Pasadena Calif. as a member of 4 Horsemen mc club of Pasadena, Ca. Shortly after moved to a 70 Kaw 500 (smokin), then a 74 Z-1 Kaw (smokin x 4). Purchased bare 89 MAX (22360 orig mi.) from individual in Knoxville, Tn. and rode it to Houston, Tx. Left Tn. 9am Nov. 25, 2006, arrived in Houston 11pm same evening, safely. I am impressed with everything about the bike except cruising range. This machine has earned my respect, so I will keep it. I was in the market for a BMW1200K model until the MAX roughed up a couple of them Feb 2007. This Ugly MAX put straight faces on my Bimmer ridin' buddies. Now I only drive a Bimmer. I can not find a V-Max Scart (V-max powered car). Lucky them.
- Reginald L. Spates, Houston , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-24 2007 Yamaha V Max Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've only got 75 miles so far, but I am very impressed. The VMAX is very tame under 6000rpm. It is comparable to most torquey V-Twins, but at 5800rpms VBOOST starts kickin in. That is where I start to get wood. The bike is very smooth and responsive, unlike big V-Twins. I get a lot of rubber-neckin at stop lights. People are curious to what kind of bike I'm riding. I just grin and twist the throttle. The VMAX handles much better in turns than I expected. So far, so good. The seating position is a little tight, but much better than my old crotch rockets. This bike is not for beginners. Your feet will be flappin in the wind if your not careful. I will give an updated review at 300 miles.
- Scott, Elizabeth City, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: